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§ 14-8-7. Good time., AL ST § 14-8-7

Code of Alabama
Title 14. Criminal Correctional and Detention Facilities. (Refs & Annos)
Chapter 8. Temporary Release Programs.
Article 1. . Work Release for State Inmates. (Refs & Annos)

Ala.Code 1975 § 14-8-7
§ 14-8-7. Good time.
Currentness

Inmates employed under this article shall be eligible for good time credit in the same manner as other inmates under the
jurisdiction of the board.

Credits
(Acts 1971, 3rd Ex. Sess., No. 307, p. 4595, § 8.)

Editors' Notes
LIBRARY REFERENCES
American Digest System:
Prisons #=245(3).
Corpus Juris Secundum:
C.J.S. Prisons and Rights of Prisoners §§ 142 to 144, 147, 151.

Ala. Code 1975 § 14-8-7, AL ST § 14-8-7
Current through Act 2013-301 of the 2013 Regular Session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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Code of Alabama
Title 14. Criminal Correctional and Detention Facilities. (Refs & Annos)
Chapter 8. Temporary Release Programs.
Article 2. . Work Release for County Inmates and State Inmates in County Custody. (Refs & Annos)

Ala.Code 1975 § 14-8-38
§ 14-8-38. Eligibility of inmates for good time credit.
Currentness
County inmates employed under this article shall be eligible for good time credit in the same manner as other inmates confined

or detained in the county jail or other county correctional facility. State inmates so employed shall be eligible for good time
credit in the same manner as other inmates confined or detained in state prisons or other state correctional facilities.

Credits
(Acts 1976, No. 637, p. 883,§ 9.)

Editors' Notes
LIBRARY REFERENCES
American Digest System:
Prisons &=245(3).
Corpus Juris Secundum:
C.J.S. Prisons and Rights of Prisoners §§ 142 to 144, 147, 151.

Ala. Code 1975 § 14-8-38, AL ST § 14-8-38
Current through Act 2013-301 of the 2013 Regular Session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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Code of Alabama
Title 14. Criminal Correctional and Detention Facilities. (Refs & Annos)
Chapter 9. Deductions from Sentences.
Article 3. . Deductions from Sentences of Correctional Incentive Time. (Refs & Annos)

Ala.Code 1975 § 14-9-41
§ 14-9-41. Computation of incentive time deductions.

Currentness

(a) Each prisoner who shall hereafter be convicted of any offense against the laws of the State of Alabama and is confined,
in execution of the judgment or sentence upon any conviction, in the penitentiary or at hard labor for the county or in any
municipal jail for a definite or indeterminate term, other than for life, whose record of conduct shows that he has faithfully
observed the rules for a period of time to be specified by this article may be entitled to earn a deduction from the term of his
sentence as follows:

(1) Seventy-five days for each 30 days actually served while the prisoner is classified as a Class I prisoner.

(2) Forty days for each 30 days actually served while the prisoner is a Class II prisoner.

(3) Twenty days for each 30 days actually served while the prisoner is a Class III prisoner.

(4) No good time shall accrue during the period the prisoner is classified as a Class IV prisoner.

(b) Within 90 days after May 19, 1980, the Commissioner of the Department of Corrections shall establish and publish in
appropriate directives certain criteria not in conflict with this article for Class I, II, III, and IV prisoner classifications. Such
classifications shall encompass consideration of the prisoner's behavior, discipline, and work practices and job responsibilities.

(c)(1) Class I is set aside for those prisoners who are considered to be trustworthy in every respect and who, by virtue of their
work habits, conduct, and attitude of cooperation have proven their trustworthiness. An example of a Class I inmate would
be one who could work without constant supervision by a security officer.

(2) Class II is that category of prisoners whose jobs will be under the supervision of a correctional employee at all times.
Any inmate shall remain in this classification for a minimum period of six months before being eligible for Class I.

(3) Class III is for prisoners with special assignments. They may not receive any of the privileges of Class I and Class II
inmates. Any inmate shall remain in this classification for a minimum period of three months before being eligible for Class II.

Mext



Brazil, Sean 7/29/2013
For Educational Use Only

§ 14-9-41. Computation of incentive time deductions., AL ST § 14-9-41

(4) Class 1V is for prisoners not yet classified and for those who are able to work and refuse, or who commit disciplinary
infractions of such a nature which do not warrant a higher classification, or inmates who do not abide by the rules of the
institution. Inmates who are classified in this earning class receive no correctional incentive time. This class is generally
referred to as “flat time” or “day-for-day.” Any inmate shall remain in this classification for a minimum period of 30 days
before being eligible for Class III.

(5) No inmate may reach any class without first having gone through and meeting the requirements of all lower classifications.

(d) As a prisoner gains a higher classification status he shall not be granted retroactive incentive credit based on the higher
classification he has reached, but shall be granted incentive credit based solely on the classification in which he was serving at
the time the incentive credit was earned. Nothing in this article shall be interpreted as authorizing an inmate incentive credits
based on the highest classification he attains for any period of time in which he was serving in a lower classification or from
the date of his sentence.

(e) Provided, however, no person may receive the benefits of correctional incentive time if he or she has been convicted of
a Class A felony or has been sentenced to life, or death, or who has received a sentence for more than 15 years in the state
penitentiary or in the county jail at hard labor or in any municipal jail. No person may receive the benefits of correctional
incentive time if he or she has been convicted of a criminal sex offense involving a child as defined in Section 15-20-21(5).
No person may be placed in Class I if he or she has been convicted of an assault where the victims of such assault suffered the
permanent loss or use or permanent partial loss or use of any bodily organ or appendage. No person may be placed in Class
I if he or she has been convicted of a crime involving the perpetration of sexual abuse upon the person of a child under the
age of 17 years.

The court sentencing a person shall note upon the transcript to accompany such prisoner the fact that he or she has been sentenced
as a result of a crime that forbids his or her being classified as a Class I prisoner.

(f)(1) If during the term of imprisonment a prisoner commits an offense or violates a rule of the Department of Corrections,
all or any part of his correctional incentive time accrued pursuant to this section shall be forfeited.

(2) The Commissioner of the Department of Corrections shall have the power to restore to any prisoner who has heretofore,
or who may hereafter, forfeit the deductions allowed him or her for good behavior, work habits and cooperation, or good
conduct, by violating any existing law or prison rule or regulation such portion of his deduction for good conduct or good
behavior as may be proper in his judgment, upon recommendation and evidence submitted to him by the warden in charge.

(g)(1) When a prisoner is serving two or more terms of imprisonment and the sentences run consecutively, then all such
sentences shall be combined for the purpose of computing deductions for correctional incentive time and release date;
however, the actual deduction from sentence for correctional incentive time provided by this section shall apply only to
sentences to be served.

(2) When a prisoner is serving two or more sentences which run concurrently, the sentence which results in the longer period
of incarceration yet remaining shall be considered the term to which such prisoner is sentenced for the purpose of computing
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his release date and correctional incentive time under the provisions of this article. When computing the deductions allowed
in this section on indeterminate sentences the maximum sentence shall be the basis for the computation. The provisions of
this section shall be administered by the chief administrative officer of the penal institution as it applies to prisoners in any
state penal institution, by the sheriff of the county as it applies to prisoners in any county jail, and by the chief of police as
it applies to prisoners in any municipal jail.

(h) Deductions for good behavior, work habits and cooperation, or good conduct shall be interpreted to give authorized good
time retroactively, to those offenders convicted of crimes committed after May 19, 1980, except those convicted of crimes of
the unlawful sale or distribution of controlled substances as enumerated in Title 13A and in former Chapter 2 of Title 20, and
for any sexual offenses as enumerated in Chapter 6, Title 13A, provided however that the Commissioner of the Department of
Corrections shall have the prison records of all inmates, who become eligible under this article, reviewed and shall disqualify
any such inmate from being awarded good time under this article at his discretion.

Credits
(Acts 1980, No. 80-446, p. 690, § 2; Acts 1991, No. 91-637, p. 1201, § 1; Act 2005-301, 1st Sp. Sess., p. 571, § 1.)

Notes of Decisions (44)

Ala. Code 1975 § 14-9-41, AL ST § 14-9-41
Current through the end of the 2013 Regular Session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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Code of Alabama
Title 15. Criminal Procedure. (Refs & Annos)
Chapter 22. Pardons, Paroles, and Probation. (Refs & Annos)
Article 2. . Pardons and Paroles. (Refs & Annos)

Ala.Code 1975 § 15-22-26
§ 15-22-26. Standards for release of prisoners on parole.
Currentness
No prisoner shall be released on parole merely as a reward for good conduct or efficient performance of duties assigned in
prison, but only if the Board of Pardons and Paroles is of the opinion that there is reasonable probability that, if such prisoner is
released, he will live and remain at liberty without violating the law and that his release is not incompatible with the welfare of
society. If the board shall so determine, such prisoner shall be allowed to go upon parole outside of prison walls and enclosure
upon such terms and conditions as the board shall prescribe, but to remain while thus on parole in the legal custody of the

warden of the prison from which he is paroled until the expiration of the maximum term specified in his sentence or until he
is fully pardoned.

Credits
(Acts 1939, No. 275, p. 426; Code 1940, T. 42, § 7; Acts 1951, No. 599, p. 1030.)

Editors' Notes
LIBRARY REFERENCES
American Digest System:
Pardon and Parole &=49.
Corpus Juris Secundum:

C.J.S. Pardon and Parole §§ 48 to 51.

Notes of Decisions (29)

Ala. Code 1975 § 15-22-26, AL ST § 15-22-26
Current through Act 2013-301 of the 2013 Regular Session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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Code of Alabama
Title 15. Criminal Procedure. (Refs & Annos)
Chapter 22. Pardons, Paroles, and Probation. (Refs & Annos)
Article 2. . Pardons and Paroles. (Refs & Annos)

Ala.Code 1975 § 15-22-27.1

§ 15-22-27.1. Parole of persons convicted of certain felonies or attempts and having
been previously convicted of felonies or attempts resulting in serious physical injury.

Currentness
Any person convicted of any act, or attempt to commit the act, of murder, rape, robbery or assault with a deadly weapon,
the commission of which directly and proximately resulted in serious physical injury to another and the commission of which
follows within five years a previous conviction of another felony, or attempt thereof, resulting in serious physical injury to

another, shall upon conviction serve such sentence as may be imposed without benefit of parole, notwithstanding any law to
the contrary.

Credits
(Acts 1977, No. 639, p. 1087.)

Editors' Notes
LIBRARY REFERENCES
American Digest System:
Pardon and Parole &=44.
RESEARCH REFERENCES
Treatises and Practice Aids

Criminal Offenses and Defenses in Alabama § H10, Habitual Felony Offender.

Notes of Decisions (5)

Ala. Code 1975 § 15-22-27.1, AL ST § 15-22-27.1
Current through Act 2013-301 of the 2013 Regular Session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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Code of Alabama
Title 15. Criminal Procedure. (Refs & Annos)
Chapter 22. Pardons, Paroles, and Probation. (Refs & Annos)
Article 2. . Pardons and Paroles. (Refs & Annos)

Ala.Code 1975 § 15-22-27.2
§ 15-22-27.2. Parole of persons sentenced to life imprisonment upon second convictions of Class A felonies.

Currentness

In all cases where a criminal defendant has been convicted of a Class A felony committed after a previous conviction of another
Class A felony, and such second conviction results in a sentence to imprisonment for life, he shall not be eligible for parole.

Credits
(Acts 1977, No. 640, p. 1088.)

Editors' Notes
LIBRARY REFERENCES
American Digest System:
Pardon and Parole 4=44.
RESEARCH REFERENCES
Treatises and Practice Aids

Criminal Offenses and Defenses in Alabama § H10, Habitual Felony Offender.

Notes of Decisions (5)

Ala. Code 1975 § 15-22-27.2, AL ST § 15-22-27.2
Current through Act 2013-301 of the 2013 Regular Session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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Code of Alabama
Title 15. Criminal Procedure. (Refs & Annos)
Chapter 22. Pardons, Paroles, and Probation. (Refs & Annos)
Article 2. . Pardons and Paroles. (Refs & Annos)

Ala.Code 1975 § 15-22-27.3
§ 15-22-27.3. Parole of persons convicted of sex offense involving a child.

Currentness

Any person convicted of a criminal sex offense involving a child as defined in subdivision (5) of Section 15-20-21 which
constitutes a Class A or B felony shall not be eligible for parole.

Credits
(Act 2005-301, 1st Sp. Sess., p. 571, § 2.)

Editors' Notes
LIBRARY REFERENCES
American Digest System:
Pardon and Parole 4=44.
Law Review Articles:
Child Sexual Abuse: Moving Toward a Balanced and Rational Approach. 34 Am. J. Trial Advoc. 517 (2011).
RESEARCH REFERENCES
Treatises and Practice Aids

Criminal Offenses and Defenses in Alabama § S60, Sexual Abuse.

Notes of Decisions (1)

Ala. Code 1975 § 15-22-27.3, AL ST § 15-22-27.3
Current through Act 2013-301 of the 2013 Regular Session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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Code of Alabama
Title 15. Criminal Procedure. (Refs & Annos)
Chapter 22. Pardons, Paroles, and Probation. (Refs & Annos)
Article 2. . Pardons and Paroles. (Refs & Annos)

Ala.Code 1975 § 15-22-27
§ 15-22-27. Pardon or parole of person having death sentence commuted to life imprisonment.
Currentness
(a) Any person whose sentence to death has been commuted by the Governor shall not be eligible for a pardon unless sufficient
evidence is presented to the Board of Pardons and Paroles to satisfy it that the person was innocent of the crime for which he

or she was convicted, the board votes unanimously to grant the person a pardon, and the Governor concurs in and approves
the granting of the pardon.

(b) Any person whose sentence to death has been commuted by the Governor shall not be eligible for a parole.

(c) This section shall not be construed to deny any person whose sentence of death has been commuted the right to apply to the
courts of this state for any remedy that the person is entitled to under the laws of Alabama.

(d) The Board of Pardons and Paroles shall not grant a parole or pardon to a person whose sentence of death has been commuted
by the Governor unless the provisions of subsection (a) are applicable.

Credits
(Acts 1951, No. 804, p. 1401, §§ 1, 2; Act 2003-300, p. 717,§ 1.)

Editors' Notes
LIBRARY REFERENCES
American Digest System:
Pardon and Parole &=44.
RESEARCH REFERENCES
Treatises and Practice Aids
Criminal Offenses and Defenses in Alabama § D10, Death Penalty.

Ala. Code 1975 § 15-22-27, AL ST § 15-22-27
Current through Act 2013-301 of the 2013 Regular Session.
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Code of Alabama
Title 15. Criminal Procedure. (Refs & Annos)
Chapter 22. Pardons, Paroles, and Probation. (Refs & Annos)
Article 2. . Pardons and Paroles. (Refs & Annos)

Ala.Code 1975 § 15-22-28

§ 15-22-28. Investigation for parole; cooperation with Board of Corrections; temporary
leave; restrictions on paroling; minimum sentence to be served prior to eligibility for parole.

Currentness

(a) It shall be the duty of the Board of Pardons and Paroles, upon its own initiative, to make an investigation of any and all
prisoners confined in the jails and prisons of the state with a view of determining the feasibility of releasing the prisoners on
parole and effecting their reclamation. Reinvestigations shall be made from time to time as the board may determine or as the
Board of Corrections may request. The investigations shall include such reports and other information as the board may require
from the Board of Corrections or any of its officers, agents or employees.

(b) It shall be the duty of the Board of Corrections to cooperate with the Board of Pardons and Paroles for the purpose of
carrying out the provisions of this article.

(c) Temporary leave from prison, including Christmas furloughs, may be granted only by the Commissioner of Corrections to a
prisoner for good and sufficient reason and may be granted within or without the state; provided, that Christmas furloughs shall
not be granted to any prisoner convicted of drug peddling, child molesting or rape, or to any maximum security prisoner. A
permanent, written record of all such temporary leaves, together with the reasons therefor, shall be kept by such commissioner.
He shall furnish the Pardon and Parole Board with a record of each such leave granted and the reasons therefor, and the same
shall be placed by the board in the prisoner's file.

(d) No prisoner shall be released on parole except by a majority vote of the board, nor unless the board is satisfied that he will be
suitably employed in self-sustaining employment or that he will not become a public charge if so released. The board shall not
parole any prisoner for employment by any official of the State of Alabama, nor shall any parolee be employed by an official
of the State of Alabama and be allowed to remain on parole; provided, however, that this provision shall not apply in the case
of a parolee whose employer, at the time of the parolee's original employment, was not a state official.

(e) The board shall not grant a parole to any prisoner who has not served at least one third or 10 years of his sentence, whichever
is the lesser, except by a unanimous affirmative vote of the board.

Credits
(Acts 1939, No. 275, p. 426; Code 1940, T. 42, § 8; Acts 1951, No. 599, p. 1030; Acts 1971, 3rd Ex. Sess., No. 308, p. 4597.)
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Editors' Notes
LIBRARY REFERENCES
American Digest System:
Pardon and Parole @=50, 58.
Corpus Juris Secundum:

C.]J.S. Pardon and Parole §§ 48 to 54.

Notes of Decisions (14)

Ala. Code 1975 § 15-22-28, AL ST § 15-22-28
Current through Act 2013-301 of the 2013 Regular Session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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Code of Alabama
Title 15. Criminal Procedure. (Refs & Annos)
Chapter 22. Pardons, Paroles, and Probation. (Refs & Annos)
Article 2. . Pardons and Paroles. (Refs & Annos)

Ala.Code 1975 § 15-22-29
§ 15-22-29. Conditions of parole; adoption of rules concerning conditions.

Currentness

(a) The Board of Pardons and Paroles, in releasing a prisoner on parole, shall specify in writing the conditions of his parole,
and a copy of such conditions shall be given to the parolee. A violation of such conditions may render the prisoner liable to

arrest and reimprisonment.

(b) The Board of Pardons and Paroles shall adopt general rules with regard to conditions of parole and their violation and
may make special rules to govern particular cases. Such rules, both general and special, may include, among other things, a

requirement that:

(1) The parolee shall not leave the state without the consent of the board;

(2) He shall contribute to the support of his dependents to the best of his ability;

(3) He shall make reparation or restitution for his crime;

(4) He shall abandon evil associates and ways; and

(5) He shall carry out the instructions of his parole officer and in general so comport himself as such officer shall determine.

Credits
(Acts 1939, No. 275, p. 426; Code 1940, T. 42, § 9; Acts 1951, No. 599, p. 1030.)

Editors' Notes

LIBRARY REFERENCES
American Digest System:

Pardon and Parole &=64.
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Corpus Juris Secundum:

C.J.S. Pardon and Parole §§ 58 to 59.

Notes of Decisions (3)

Ala. Code 1975 § 15-22-29, AL ST § 15-22-29
Current through Act 2013-301 of the 2013 Regular Session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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Code of Alabama
Title 15. Criminal Procedure. (Refs & Annos)
Chapter 22. Pardons, Paroles, and Probation. (Refs & Annos)
Article 2. . Pardons and Paroles. (Refs & Annos)

Ala.Code 1975 § 15-22-31
§ 15-22-31. Warrant for retaking parolee; arrest without warrant; execution of warrant and fees therefor.

Currentness

(a) If the parole officer having charge of a paroled prisoner or any member of the Board of Pardons and Paroles shall have
reasonable cause to believe that such prisoner has lapsed, or is probably about to lapse, into criminal ways or company or
has violated the conditions of his parole in an important respect, such officer or board member shall report such fact to the
Department of Corrections, which shall thereupon issue a warrant for the retaking of such prisoner and his return to the prison
designated.

(b) Any parole officer, police officer, sheriff or other officer with power of arrest, upon the request of the parole officer, may
arrest a parolee without a warrant; but, in case of an arrest without a warrant, the arresting officer shall have a written statement
by said parole officer setting forth that the parolee has, in his judgment, violated the conditions of parole, in which case such
statement shall be sufficient warrant for the detention of said parolee in the county jail or other appropriate place of detention
until the warrant issued by the Department of Corrections has been received at the place of his detention; provided, however,
that in no case shall a parolee be held longer than 20 days on the order of the parole officer awaiting the arrival of the warrant
as provided for in this section.

(c) Any parole officer, any officer authorized to serve criminal process or any peace officer to whom such warrant shall be
delivered is authorized and required to execute such warrant by taking such prisoner and returning him to the prison designated
by the Department of Corrections, there to be held to await the action of the Board of Pardons and Paroles.

(d) Such officer, other than an officer of the prison or parole officer, shall be entitled to receive the same fees therefor as upon
the execution of a warrant of arrest at the place where said prisoner shall be retaken and as for transporting a convict from the
place of arrest to the prison, in case such officer also transports the prisoner to the prison. Such fees shall be paid out of the
funds standing to the credit of the Department of Corrections.

Credits
(Acts 1939, No. 275, p. 426; Code 1940, T. 42, § 10; Acts 1951, No. 599, p. 1030; Acts 1953, No. 734, p. 993; Acts 1989,
No. 89-945,p.1858,8 1.)

Editors' Notes

LIBRARY REFERENCES
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American Digest System:
Pardon and Parole &=69.
Corpus Juris Secundum:

C.J.S. Pardon and Parole § 65.

Notes of Decisions (8)

Ala. Code 1975 § 15-22-31, AL ST § 15-22-31
Current through Act 2013-301 of the 2013 Regular Session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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Code of Alabama
Title 15. Criminal Procedure. (Refs & Annos)
Chapter 22. Pardons, Paroles, and Probation. (Refs & Annos)
Article 2. . Pardons and Paroles. (Refs & Annos)

Ala.Code 1975 § 15-22-32
§ 15-22-32. Parole court; hearing officers.

Currentness

(a) Whenever there is reasonable cause to believe that a prisoner who has been paroled has violated his or her parole, the
Board of Pardons and Paroles, at its next meeting, shall declare the prisoner to be delinquent, and time owed shall date from
the delinquency. The warden of each prison shall promptly notify the board of the return of a paroled prisoner charged with
violation of his or her parole. Thereupon, the board, a single member of the board, a parole revocation hearing officer, or a
designated parole officer shall, as soon as practicable, hold a parole court at the prison or at another place as it may determine
and consider the case of the parole violator, who shall be given an opportunity to appear personally or by counsel before the
board or the parole court and produce witnesses and explain the charges made against him or her. The board member, parole
revocation hearing officer, or a designated parole officer, acting as a parole court, shall, within a reasonable time, conduct
the parole revocation hearing to determine guilt or innocence of the charges and may recommend to the board revocation or
reinstatement of parole. Upon revocation of parole, the board may require the prisoner to serve out in prison the balance of
the term for which he or she was originally sentenced, calculated from the date of delinquency or the part thereof as it may
determine. The delinquent parolee shall be deemed to have begun serving the balance of the time required on the date of his
or her rearrest as a delinquent parolee.

(b) The position of Parole Revocation Hearing Officer is created and established, subject to provisions of the state Merit System.

(c) The board may appoint or employ, as the board deems necessary, three hearing officers who shall conduct a parole court
with authority to determine guilt and recommend revocation of parole or reinstatement of parole to the board. The first three
appointments shall be provisional appointments made by the board pending job analysis and compilation of the examination
for the state Merit System classification, or a licensed practicing attorney with a minimum of 3 years’ experience practicing
criminal law.

(d) A hearing officer shall receive an annual salary to be determined by the board but not exceeding the maximum salary now
or hereafter established for Probation and Parole Officer V. The salary and expenses of the hearing officers shall be paid from
the State Treasury in the same manner that the salary and expenses of the state Merit System employees are paid.

Credits
(Acts 1939, No. 275, p. 426, § 12; Code 1940, T. 42, § 12; Acts 1951, No. 599, p. 1030, § 12; Acts 1975, No. 184, § 1; Acts
1981, 3rd Ex. Sess., No. 81-1121, p. 385, § 1; Act 99-400, p. 667, § 1.)
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Editors' Notes
LIBRARY REFERENCES
American Digest System:
Pardon and Parole &=69.
Corpus Juris Secundum:

C.J.S. Pardon and Parole § 65.

Notes of Decisions (23)

Ala. Code 1975 § 15-22-32, AL ST § 15-22-32
Current through Act 2013-301 of the 2013 Regular Session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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§ 15-22-33. Discharge from parole; relief from reports; permission..., AL ST § 15-22-33

Code of Alabama
Title 15. Criminal Procedure. (Refs & Annos)
Chapter 22. Pardons, Paroles, and Probation. (Refs & Annos)
Article 2. . Pardons and Paroles. (Refs & Annos)

Ala.Code 1975 § 15-22-33
§ 15-22-33. Discharge from parole; relief from reports; permission to leave state or county.

Currentness
No person released on parole shall be discharged from parole prior to the expiration of the full maximum term for which he
was sentenced unless he is sooner fully pardoned. The Board of Pardons and Paroles, however, may relieve a prisoner on parole

from making further reports and may permit such prisoner to leave the state or county if satisfied that this is for the best interests
of society.

Credits
(Acts 1939, No. 275, p. 426; Code 1940, T. 42, § 13; Acts 1951, No. 599, p. 1030.)

Editors' Notes
LIBRARY REFERENCES
American Digest System:
Pardon and Parole €=93.
Corpus Juris Secundum:
C.J.S. Pardon and Parole § 64.

Ala. Code 1975 § 15-22-33, AL ST § 15-22-33
Current through Act 2013-301 of the 2013 Regular Session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Arkansas Code Annotated
Title 16. Practice, Procedure, and Courts
Subtitle 6. Criminal Procedure Generally (Chapters 80 to 104)
Chapter 93. Probation and Parole (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 1. General Provisions

A.C.A. § 16-93-101
§ 16-93-101. Definitions

Effective: July 27, 2011
Currentness

As used in this act:

(1) “Case plan” means an individualized accountability and behavior change strategy for supervised individuals that:

(A) Targets and prioritizes the specific criminal risk factors of the offender based upon his or her assessment results;

(B) Matches the type and intensity of supervision and treatment conditions to the offender's level of risk, criminal risk
factors, and individual characteristics, such as gender, culture, motivational stage, developmental stage, and learning style;

(C) Establishes a timetable for achieving specific behavioral goals, including a schedule for payment of victim restitution,
child support, and other financial obligations; and

(D) Specifies positive and negative actions that will be taken in response to the supervised individual's behaviors;

(2) “Criminal risk factors” are characteristics and behaviors that affect a person's risk for committing crimes and may include
without limitation the following risk and criminogenic need factors:

(A) Antisocial personality;

(B) Criminal thinking;

(C) Criminal associates;

(D) Dysfunctional family;
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(E) Low levels of employment or education; and

(F) Substance abuse;

(3) “Evidence-based practices” means policies, procedures, programs, and practices proven by scientific research to reliably
produce reductions in recidivism;

(4) “Intermediate sanctions” means a nonprison accountability measure imposed on an offender in response to a violation of
supervision conditions. Such measures may include without limitation:

(A) The use of electronic supervision tools;

(B) Drug and alcohol testing or monitoring;

(C) Day or evening reporting;

(D) Restitution;

(E) Forfeiture of earned discharge credits;

(F) Rehabilitative interventions such as substance abuse and mental health treatment;

(G) Reporting requirements to probation or parole officers;

(H) Community service or community work project;

(I) Secure or unsecure residential treatment facilities; and

(J) Short-term, intermittent incarceration;

(5) “Jacket review” means the review of the file of a transfer-eligible inmate located at any correctional facility in the state by
an individual staff member or team of staff members of the Department of Community Correction for purposes of preparing
the inmate's application for parole consideration by the Parole Board;
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(6) “Parole” means the release of the prisoner into the community by the board prior to the expiration of his or her term,
subject to conditions imposed by the board and to the supervision of the Department of Community Correction. When a
court or other authority has filed a warrant against the prisoner, the board may release him or her on parole to answer the
warrant of the court or authority;

(7) “Probation” means a procedure under which a defendant, found guilty upon verdict or plea, is released by the court without
imprisonment, subject to conditions imposed by the court and subject to the supervision of the Department of Community
Correction, but only if the supervision is requested in writing by the court;

(8) “Recidivism” means the return to incarceration in a Department of Correction or Department of Community Correction
community correctional facility other than a technical violator program within a three-year period;

(9) “Risk needs assessment review’’ means an examination of the results of a validated risk-needs assessment;

(10)(A) “Treatment” means targeted interventions that focus on criminal risk factors in order to reduce the likelihood of
criminal behavior.

(B) Treatment options may include without limitation:

(i) Community-based programs that are consistent with evidence-based practices;

(i1) Cognitive behavioral programs;

(iii) Inpatient and outpatient substance abuse and mental health programs; and

(iv) Other available prevention and intervention programs that have been scientifically proven to reliably reduce
recidivism; and

(11) “Validated risk-needs assessment” means a determination of a person's risk to reoffend and the needs that, when
addressed, reduce the risk to reoffend through the use of an actuarial assessment tool that assesses the dynamic and static
factors that drive criminal behavior.

Credits
Acts of 1968 (1st Ex. Sess.), Act 50, § 23; Acts of 2005, Act 1994, § 286, eff. Aug. 12, 2005; Acts of 2011, Act 570, § 84,
eff. July 27, 2011.

Formerly A.S.A. 1947, § 43-2801.
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Editors' Notes

LAW REVIEW AND JOURNAL COMMENTARIES

Deitchler, Comment: You Can't Manage What You Don't Measure: An Evaluation of Arkansas's Drug Courts, 64 Ark. L.
Rev. 715 (2011).

LIBRARY REFERENCES

Pardon and Parole &=41.

Sentencing and Punishment 4=1811, 1819.
Westlaw Topic Nos. 284, 350H.

C.J.S. Criminal Law § 2145.

C.J.S. Pardon and Parole § 42.

A.C.A.§16-93-101, AR ST § 16-93-101

Current through 2012 Fiscal Sess. and 11/6/2012 election, including changes made by Ark. Code Rev. Comm. received through
11/1/2012, and emerg. eff. acts from 2013 Reg. Sess.: 7, 38, 39, 40, 41, 67, 109, 111, 135, 136, 139, 145, 147, 153, 169, 171,
176,210, 234, 276, 282, 290, 304, 308, 315, 332, 336, 350, 378, 427, 442, 457, 458, 461, 500, 504, 512, 521, 522, 528, 539,
556,557,575, 600 to 602,713,747, 969, 990,999, 1018, 1042, 1065, 1081, 1093, 1095, 1100, 1109, 1169, 1173, 1180, 1184,
1227, 1241, 1271, 1302, 1311, 1315, 1334, 1405, 1413, 1444, 1497, 1498, 1500.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.

Mext



Graf, Vanessa 7/19/2013
For Educational Use Only

§ 16-93-102. Applicability of provisions, AR ST § 16-93-102

West's Arkansas Code Annotated
Title 16. Practice, Procedure, and Courts
Subtitle 6. Criminal Procedure Generally (Chapters 80 to 104)
Chapter 93. Probation and Parole (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 1. General Provisions

A.C.A. § 16-93-102
§ 16-93-102. Applicability of provisions
Currentness
The provisions of this act are extended to any person who as of March 1, 1968, may be on parole or eligible to be placed on

parole under existing laws, with the same force and effect as if this act had been in operation at the time the person was placed
on parole or became eligible to be placed thereon, as the case may be.

Credits
Acts of 1968 (1st Ex. Sess.), Act 50, § 33.

Formerly A.S.A. 1947, § 43-2812.

Editors' Notes
LIBRARY REFERENCES

Sentencing and Punishment &=1870.
Westlaw Topic No. 350H.

A.C.A.§16-93-102, AR ST § 16-93-102

Current through 2012 Fiscal Sess. and 11/6/2012 election, including changes made by Ark. Code Rev. Comm. received through
11/1/2012, and emerg. eff. acts from 2013 Reg. Sess.: 7, 38, 39,40, 41, 67, 109, 111, 135, 136, 139, 145, 147, 153, 169, 171,
176, 210, 234, 276, 282, 290, 304, 308, 315, 332, 336, 350, 378, 427, 442,457,458, 461, 500, 504, 512, 521, 522, 528, 539,
556,557,575, 600 to 602,713,747,969, 990,999, 1018, 1042, 1065, 1081, 1093, 1095, 1100, 1109, 1169, 1173, 1180, 1184,
1227, 1241, 1271, 1302, 1311, 1315, 1334, 1405, 1413, 1444, 1497, 1498, 1500.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Arkansas Code Annotated
Title 16. Practice, Procedure, and Courts
Subtitle 6. Criminal Procedure Generally (Chapters 80 to 104)
Chapter 93. Probation and Parole (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 2. Parole Board (Refs & Annos)

A.C.A. § 16-93-201
§ 16-93-201. Creation--Members--Qualifications and training

Effective: July 27, 2011
Currentness

(a)(1) There is created the Parole Board, to be composed of seven (7) members to be appointed from the state at large by the
Governor and confirmed by the Senate.

(2) Seven (7) members shall be full-time officials of this state, one (1) of whom shall be designated by the Governor as the
chair of the board.

(3) Each member shall serve a seven-year term, except that the terms shall be staggered by the Governor so that the term
of one (1) member expires each year.

(4)(A) A member must have at least a bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university, and the member should
have no less than five (5) years' professional experience in one (1) of the following fields:

(i) Parole supervision;

(ii) Probation supervision;

(iii) Corrections;

(iv) Criminal justice;

(v) Law;

(vi) Law enforcement;

(vii) Psychologys;
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(viii) Psychiatry;

(ix) Sociology;

(x) Social work; or

(xi) Other related field.

(B) If the member does not have at least a bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university, he or she must have
no less than seven (7) years' experience in a field listed in subdivision (a)(4)(A) of this section.

(5)(A) A member appointed after July 1, 2011, whether or not he or she has served on the board previously, shall complete
a comprehensive training course developed in compliance with guidelines from the National Institute of Corrections, the
Association of Paroling Authorities International, or the American Probation and Parole Association.

(B) All members shall complete annual training developed in compliance with guidelines from the National Institute of
Corrections, the Association of Paroling Authorities International, or the American Probation and Parole Association.

(C) Training components shall include an emphasis on the following subjects:

(i) Data-driven decision making;

(ii)(a) Evidence-based practice.

(b) As used in this section, “evidence-based practice” means practices proven through research to reduce recidivism;

(iii) Stakeholder collaboration; and

(iv) Recidivism reduction.

(b) If any vacancy occurs on the board prior to the expiration of a term, the Governor shall fill the vacancy for the remainder
of the unexpired term, subject to confirmation by the Senate at its next regular session.

(c) The members of the board may receive expense reimbursement and stipends in accordance with § 25-16-901 et seq.
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(d) Four (4) members of the board shall constitute a quorum.

Credits

Acts of 1989, Act 937, §§ 2,3, 5; Acts of 1993, Act 530, § 1; Acts of 1993, Act 547, § 1; Acts of 1995, Act 285, § 1, eff. Feb.
13, 1995; Acts of 1995, Act 381, § 1, eff. Feb. 20, 1995; Acts of 1997, Act 250, § 120, eff. Feb. 24, 1997; Acts of 1999, Act
979, § 1, eff. March 31, 1999; Acts of 2005, Act 1033, § 1, eff. Aug. 12, 2005; Acts of 2007, Act 697, § 3, eff. July 1, 2007,
Acts of 2011, Act 570, § 86, eff. July 27, 2011.

A.C.A.§16-93-201, AR ST § 16-93-201

Current through 2012 Fiscal Sess. and 11/6/2012 election, including changes made by Ark. Code Rev. Comm. received through
11/1/2012, and emerg. eff. acts from 2013 Reg. Sess.: 7, 38, 39, 40, 41, 67, 109, 111, 135, 136, 139, 145, 147, 153, 169, 171,
176,210, 234,276, 282, 290, 304, 308, 315, 332, 336, 350, 378, 427,442, 457, 458, 461, 500, 504, 512, 521, 522, 528, 539,
556,557,575, 600 to 602, 713,747,969, 990, 999, 1018, 1042, 1065, 1081, 1093, 1095, 1100, 1109, 1169, 1173, 1180, 1184,
1227,1241, 1271, 1302, 1311, 1315, 1334, 1405, 1413, 1444, 1497, 1498, 1500.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Arkansas Code Annotated
Title 16. Practice, Procedure, and Courts
Subtitle 6. Criminal Procedure Generally (Chapters 80 to 104)
Chapter 93. Probation and Parole (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 2. Parole Board (Refs & Annos)

A.C.A. §16-93-202
§ 16-93-202. Official seal--Record and notice--Reports

Currentness

(a) The Parole Board shall adopt an official seal of which the courts shall take judicial notice.

(b) The board shall keep a record of its acts and shall notify each institution and facility of its decisions relating to persons
who have been confined therein.

(c)(1) An annual report in writing shall be made by the board on or before February 1 of each year for the preceding year.

(2) The report shall be directed to the Governor and to the General Assembly and shall contain statistical and other data
concerning its work, including research studies which it may make on parole or related functions.

(d)(1) A presentence report, a preparole report, and a supervision history obtained in the discharge of official duty by any
member or employee of the board shall be privileged and shall not be disclosed, directly or indirectly, to any person other than
the board, a court, or others entitled under this chapter to receive the information.

(2) However, the board or a court, at its discretion, may permit the inspection of the report or parts thereof by a person having
a proper interest therein whenever the interests or welfare of the person involved makes that action desirable or helpful.

Credits
Acts of 1968 (1st Ex. Sess.), Act 50, §§ 26, 27; Acts of 1993, Act 530, § 3; Acts of 1993, Act 547, § 3.

Formerly A.S.A. 1947, §§ 43-2805, 43-2806.

A.C.A. §16-93-202, AR ST § 16-93-202

Current through 2012 Fiscal Sess. and 11/6/2012 election, including changes made by Ark. Code Rev. Comm. received through
11/1/2012, and emerg. eff. acts from 2013 Reg. Sess.: 7, 38, 39, 40, 41, 67, 109, 111, 135, 136, 139, 145, 147, 153,169, 171,
176, 210, 234, 276, 282, 290, 304, 308, 315, 332, 336, 350, 378, 427, 442,457,458, 461, 500, 504, 512, 521, 522, 528, 539,
556,557,575, 600 to 602,713,747,969, 990,999, 1018, 1042, 1065, 1081, 1093, 1095, 1100, 1109, 1169, 1173, 1180, 1184,
1227,1241, 1271, 1302, 1311, 1315, 1334, 1405, 1413, 1444, 1497, 1498, 1500.
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West's Arkansas Code Annotated
Title 16. Practice, Procedure, and Courts
Subtitle 6. Criminal Procedure Generally (Chapters 80 to 104)
Chapter 93. Probation and Parole (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 2. Parole Board (Refs & Annos)

A.C.A. §16-93-203
§ 16-93-203. Access to prisoners--Communications and observation facilities--Conduct and character reports

Currentness

It shall be the duty of any correctional official to:

(1) Grant access at all reasonable times to any prisoner over whom the board has jurisdiction under this chapter to the members
of the Parole Board or its properly accredited representatives;

(2) Provide the board and its representatives facilities for communicating with and observing the person; and

(3) Furnish the board with:

(A) The reports the board requires concerning the conduct and character of any prisoner in his or her custody; and

(B) Any facts the board deems pertinent in determining whether:

(i) The prisoner shall be transferred and under what conditions the prisoner shall be transferred; or

(ii) The prisoner shall be paroled.

Credits
Acts of 1968 (1st Ex. Sess.), Act 50, § 30; Acts of 1993, Act 530, § 4; Acts of 1993, Act 547, § 4.

Formerly A.S.A. 1947, § 43-2809.

Editors' Notes

LIBRARY REFERENCES

Pardon and Parole &=55.1.
Prisons #=390.

Mext



Graf, Vanessa 7/19/2013
For Educational Use Only

§ 16-93-203. Access to prisoners--Communications and..., AR ST § 16-93-203

Westlaw Topic Nos. 284, 310.
C.J.S. Pardon and Parole §§ 45 to 47.
C.J.S. Prisons and Rights of Prisoners §§ 12, 14, 17, 22.

A.C.A.§16-93-203, AR ST § 16-93-203

Current through 2012 Fiscal Sess. and 11/6/2012 election, including changes made by Ark. Code Rev. Comm. received through
11/1/2012, and emerg. eff. acts from 2013 Reg. Sess.: 7, 38, 39, 40, 41, 67,109, 111, 135, 136, 139, 145, 147,153, 169, 171,
176,210, 234,276, 282, 290, 304, 308, 315, 332, 336, 350, 378, 427, 442,457, 458, 461, 500, 504, 512, 521, 522, 528, 539,
556,557,575, 600 to 602,713,747, 969, 990, 999, 1018, 1042, 1065, 1081, 1093, 1095, 1100, 1109, 1169, 1173, 1180, 1184,
1227,1241,1271, 1302, 1311, 1315, 1334, 1405, 1413, 1444, 1497, 1498, 1500.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Arkansas Code Annotated
Title 16. Practice, Procedure, and Courts
Subtitle 6. Criminal Procedure Generally (Chapters 80 to 104)
Chapter 93. Probation and Parole (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 2. Parole Board (Refs & Annos)

A.C.A. § 16-93-204
§ 16-93-204. Executive clemency

Currentness

(a)(1)(A) All applications for pardon, commutation of sentence, reprieve, respite, or remission of fine or forfeiture shall be
signed by the applicant under oath.

(B) For purposes of § 5-53-102, the application shall be deemed an official proceeding.

(2) An applicant shall obtain and include with his or her application a certified copy of the applicant's judgment and
commitment order or comparable document.

(3) Applications shall be referred to the Parole Board for investigation.

(b) The board shall thereupon investigate each case and shall submit to the Governor its recommendation, a report of the
investigation, and all other information the board may have regarding the applicant.

(c)(1) As part of the board's investigation, the chair of the board or his or her designee shall have the power to issue oaths and
subpoena witnesses to appear and testify and to bring before the board any relevant books, papers, records, or documents.

(2)(A) The subpoena shall be directed to any sheriff, coroner, or constable of the county in which the designated witness
resides or is found.

(B) The endorsed affidavit on the subpoena of any person shall be proof of the service of the subpoena.

(C) The subpoena shall be served and returned in the same manner as subpoenas in civil actions in the circuit courts are
served and returned.

(d)(1) Before the board shall consider an application for a pardon or recommend a commutation of sentence, the board shall
solicit the written or oral recommendation of the committing court, the prosecuting attorney, and the sheriff of the county from
which the person was committed.
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(2)(A) Before considering an application for a pardon or recommending a commutation of sentence of a person who was
convicted of capital murder, § 5-10-101, or a Class Y, Class A, or Class B felony, the board shall notify the victim of the
crime or the victim's next of kin, if he or she files a request for notice with the prosecuting attorney.

(B) When the board provides notice under subdivision (d)(2)(A) of this section, the board shall solicit the written or oral
recommendations of the victim or the victim's next of kin regarding the granting of a pardon or commutation of sentence.

(3) The board shall retain a copy of the recommendations in the board's file.

(4) The recommendations shall not be binding upon the board in advising the Governor whether to grant a pardon or commute
a sentence but shall be maintained in the inmate's file.

(5)(A) If a hearing will be held on the application, the board shall notify the victim or the victim's next of kin of the date,
time, and place of the hearing.

(B) The notice shall be given when soliciting the recommendations of the victim of the crime or the victim's next of kin.

(e) At least thirty (30) days before submitting to the Governor a recommendation that an application for pardon, commutation
of sentence, or remission of fine or forfeiture be granted, the board shall:

(1) Issue a public notice of its intention to make such a recommendation; and

(2) Send notice of its intention to the circuit judge who presided over the applicant's trial, the prosecuting attorney, and the
sheriff of the county in which the applicant was convicted and, if applicable, to the victim or the victim's next of kin if the
victim or the victim's next of kin registered for notification with the prosecuting attorney under § 16-21-106(c).

(f) Whether the board recommends that an application for pardon, commutation of sentence, or remission of fine or forfeiture
be granted or denied by the Governor, the board shall issue public notice of each recommendation.

Credits
Acts of 1968 (1st Ex. Sess.), Act 50, § 32; Acts of 1991, Act 706, § 2; Acts of 1993, Act 530, § 5; Acts of 1993, Act 547, §
5; Acts of 2005, Act 1975, § 3, eff. Aug. 12,2005.

Formerly A.S.A. 1947, § 43-2811.
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Editors' Notes

LIBRARY REFERENCES

Pardon and Parole &=21 to 28.
Westlaw Topic No. 284.
C.J.S. Pardon and Parole §§ 1 to 41.

Notes of Decisions (6)

A.C.A.§16-93-204, AR ST § 16-93-204

Current through 2012 Fiscal Sess. and 11/6/2012 election, including changes made by Ark. Code Rev. Comm. received through
11/1/2012, and emerg. eff. acts from 2013 Reg. Sess.: 7, 38, 39, 40, 41, 67, 109, 111, 135, 136, 139, 145, 147, 153, 169, 171,
176, 210, 234, 276, 282, 290, 304, 308, 315, 332, 336, 350, 378, 427, 442,457, 458, 461, 500, 504, 512, 521, 522, 528, 539,
556,557,575, 600 to 602,713,747, 969, 990,999, 1018, 1042, 1065, 1081, 1093, 1095, 1100, 1109, 1169, 1173, 1180, 1184,
1227,1241, 1271, 1302, 1311, 1315, 1334, 1405, 1413, 1444, 1497, 1498, 1500.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Arkansas Code Annotated
Title 16. Practice, Procedure, and Courts
Subtitle 6. Criminal Procedure Generally (Chapters 80 to 104)
Chapter 93. Probation and Parole (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 2. Parole Board (Refs & Annos)

A.C.A. § 16-93-205
§ 16-93-205. Arkansas inmates in other prison systems--Parole or transfer

Currentness

(a) The Parole Board may request the appropriate board or commission having jurisdiction over parole or transfer matters in
other states or the United States Parole Commission to make recommendations concerning whether Arkansas inmates confined
in prison systems of the other states or in federal prisons should be granted parole or transfer when eligible under Arkansas law.

(b) The board may take action at its option on the application of an inmate for parole, using as its criteria the recommendations
received from the appropriate board or commission of the other states or the United States Parole Commission in lieu of the
personal appearance before the board of the inmate seeking parole or transfer.

Credits
Acts of 1983, Act 700, § 1; Acts of 1993, Act 530, § 6; Acts of 1993, Act 547, § 6.

Formerly A.S.A. 1947, § 43-2809.1.

Editors' Notes
LIBRARY REFERENCES

Pardon and Parole 4=48.1,55.1.
Westlaw Topic No. 284.
C.J.S. Pardon and Parole §§ 45 to 51.

A.C.A.§16-93-205, AR ST § 16-93-205

Current through 2012 Fiscal Sess. and 11/6/2012 election, including changes made by Ark. Code Rev. Comm. received through
11/1/2012, and emerg. eff. acts from 2013 Reg. Sess.: 7, 38, 39, 40, 41, 67, 109, 111, 135, 136, 139, 145, 147, 153, 169, 171,
176,210, 234,276, 282, 290, 304, 308, 315, 332, 336, 350, 378, 427, 442, 457, 458, 461, 500, 504, 512, 521, 522, 528, 539,
556,557,575, 600 to 602, 713,747,969, 990, 999, 1018, 1042, 1065, 1081, 1093, 1095, 1100, 1109, 1169, 1173, 1180, 1184,
1227,1241, 1271, 1302, 1311, 1315, 1334, 1405, 1413, 1444, 1497, 1498, 1500.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Arkansas Code Annotated
Title 16. Practice, Procedure, and Courts
Subtitle 6. Criminal Procedure Generally (Chapters 80 to 104)
Chapter 93. Probation and Parole (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 2. Parole Board (Refs & Annos)

A.C.A. § 16-93-206
§ 16-93-206. Parole revocation review--Jurisdiction

Effective: July 27, 2011
Currentness

(a) The Parole Board shall serve as the revocation review board for any person subject to either parole or transfer from prison.

(b) Revocation proceedings for either parole or transfer shall follow all legal requirements applicable to parole and shall be
subject to any additional policies, rules, and regulations set by the board.

Credits

Acts of 1993, Act 530, § 2; Acts of 1993, Act 547, § 2; Acts of 1994, 1st Ex. Sess., Act 8, § 1, eff. March 4, 1994; Acts of
1994, 1st Ex. Sess., Act 9, § 1, eff. March 4, 1994; Acts of 1999, Act 1035, § 1, eff. July 30, 1999; Acts of 2003, Act 1390,
§ 9, eff. July 16, 2003; Acts of 2007, Act 600, § 1, eff. July 31, 2007; Acts of 2007, Act 866, § 1, eff. July 31, 2007; Acts of
2011, Act 570, § 87, eff. July 27,2011.

Editors' Notes
LIBRARY REFERENCES

Pardon and Parole &=48.1 to 54,57.1 to 62.
Westlaw Topic No. 284.
C.J.S. Pardon and Parole §§ 48 to 57.

A.C.A. § 16-93-206, AR ST § 16-93-206

Current through 2012 Fiscal Sess. and 11/6/2012 election, including changes made by Ark. Code Rev. Comm. received through
11/1/2012, and emerg. eff. acts from 2013 Reg. Sess.: 7, 38, 39, 40,41, 67, 109, 111, 135, 136, 139, 145, 147, 153, 169, 171,
176, 210, 234, 276, 282, 290, 304, 308, 315, 332, 336, 350, 378, 427, 442,457,458, 461, 500, 504, 512, 521, 522, 528, 539,
556,557,575, 600 to 602,713,747,969, 990,999, 1018, 1042, 1065, 1081, 1093, 1095, 1100, 1109, 1169, 1173, 1180, 1184,
1227,1241, 1271, 1302, 1311, 1315, 1334, 1405, 1413, 1444, 1497, 1498, 1500.
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West's Arkansas Code Annotated
Title 16. Practice, Procedure, and Courts
Subtitle 6. Criminal Procedure Generally (Chapters 80 to 104)
Chapter 93. Probation and Parole (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 6. Parole--Eligibility

A.C.A. § 16-93-609
§ 16-93-609. Effect of more than one conviction for certain felonies

Currentness

(a) Any person who commits murder in the first degree, § 5-10-102, rape, § 5-14-103, or aggravated robbery, § 5-12-103,
subsequent to March 24, 1983, and who has previously been found guilty of or pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to murder
in the first degree, § 5-10-102, rape, § 5-14-103, or aggravated robbery, § 5-12-103, shall not be eligible for release on parole
by the Parole Board.

(b)(1) Any person who commits a violent felony offense or any felony sex offense subsequent to August 13, 2001, and who
has previously been found guilty of or pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to any violent felony offense or any felony sex offense
shall not be eligible for release on parole by the board.

(2) For purposes of this subsection, “a violent felony offense or any felony sex offense” means those offenses listed in §
5-4-501(d)(2).

Credits
Acts of 1983, Act 772, § 1; Acts of 2001, Act 1805, § 1, eff. Aug. 13,2001.

Formerly A.S.A. 1947, § 43-2807.1.

Editors' Notes

LIBRARY REFERENCES
Pardon and Parole &=44.
Westlaw Topic No. 284.
RESEARCH REFERENCES
Encyclopedias

82 Am. Jur. Trials 1, Defending Against Claim of Ineffective Assistance of Counsel.
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A.C.A. § 16-93-609, AR ST § 16-93-609

Current through 2012 Fiscal Sess. and 11/6/2012 election, including changes made by Ark. Code Rev. Comm. received through
11/1/2012, and emerg. eff. acts from 2013 Reg. Sess.: 7, 38, 39,40, 41, 67, 109, 111, 135, 136, 139, 145, 147, 153, 169, 171,
176, 210, 234, 276, 282, 290, 304, 308, 315, 332, 336, 350, 378, 427, 442,457,458, 461, 500, 504, 512, 521, 522, 528, 539,
556,557,575, 600 to 602,713,747,969, 990,999, 1018, 1042, 1065, 1081, 1093, 1095, 1100, 1109, 1169, 1173, 1180, 1184,
1227,1241, 1271, 1302, 1311, 1315, 1334, 1405, 1413, 1444, 1497, 1498, 1500.
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West's Arkansas Code Annotated
Title 16. Practice, Procedure, and Courts
Subtitle 6. Criminal Procedure Generally (Chapters 80 to 104)
Chapter 93. Probation and Parole (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 6. Parole--Eligibility

A.C.A. § 16-93-610
§ 16-93-610. Computation of sentence

Currentness

(a) Time served is deemed to begin on the day sentence is imposed, not on the day a prisoner is received by the Department of
Correction. It shall continue only during the time in which a prisoner is actually confined in a county jail or other local place
of lawful confinement or while under the custody and supervision of the department.

(b) When the sentencing judge imposes sentence, he or she is to direct that the time already served by the defendant in jail or
other place of detention is to be credited against the defendant.

Credits
Acts of 1968 (1st Ex. Sess.), Act 50, § 34; Acts of 2005, Act 1994, § 440, eff. Aug. 12, 2005.

Formerly A.S.A. 1947, § 43-2813.

Editors' Notes

LIBRARY REFERENCES
Pardon and Parole &=50.
Westlaw Topic No. 284.
C.J.S. Pardon and Parole §§ 48 to 51.
RESEARCH REFERENCES

Treatises and Practice Aids

3 A Trial Handbook for Arkansas Lawyers § 98:24, Credit for Jail Time or Other Confinement.

Notes of Decisions (19)

A.C.A.§16-93-610, AR ST § 16-93-610

Current through 2012 Fiscal Sess. and 11/6/2012 election, including changes made by Ark. Code Rev. Comm. received through
11/1/2012, and emerg. eff. acts from 2013 Reg. Sess.: 7, 38, 39, 40, 41, 67,109, 111, 135, 136, 139, 145, 147,153, 169, 171,
176, 210, 234, 276, 282, 290, 304, 308, 315, 332, 336, 350, 378, 427, 442,457, 458, 461, 500, 504, 512, 521, 522, 528, 539,
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556,557,575, 600 to 602,713,747, 969, 990,999, 1018, 1042, 1065, 1081, 1093, 1095, 1100, 1109, 1169, 1173, 1180, 1184,
1227, 1241, 1271, 1302, 1311, 1315, 1334, 1405, 1413, 1444, 1497, 1498, 1500.
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West's Arkansas Code Annotated
Title 16. Practice, Procedure, and Courts
Subtitle 6. Criminal Procedure Generally (Chapters 80 to 104)
Chapter 93. Probation and Parole (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 6. Parole--Eligibility

A.C.A. § 16-93-612
§ 16-93-612. Parole eligibility--Date of offense
Effective: July 27, 2011

Currentness

(a) A person's parole eligibility shall be determined by the laws in effect at the time of the offense for which he or she is
sentenced to the Department of Correction.

(b) For an offender serving a sentence for a felony committed before April 1, 1977, § 16-93-601 governs that person's parole
eligibility.

(c) For an offender serving a sentence for a felony committed between April 1, 1977, and April 1, 1983, § 16-93-604 governs
that person's parole eligibility.

(d) For an offender serving a sentence for a felony committed on or after April 1, 1983, but before January 1, 1994, § 16-93-607
governs that person's parole eligibility.

(e) For an offender serving a sentence for a felony committed on or after January 1, 1994, § 16-93-614 governs that person's
parole eligibility, unless otherwise noted and except:

(1) If the felony is murder in the first degree, § 5-10-102, kidnapping, if a Class Y felony, § 5-11-102(b)(1), aggravated
robbery, § 5-12-103, rape, § 5-14-103, or causing a catastrophe, § 5-38-202(a), and the offense occurred after July 28, 1995,
§ 16-93-618 governs that person's parole eligibility; or

(2) If the felony is manufacturing methamphetamine, § 5-64-423(a) or the former § 5-64-401, or possession of drug
paraphernalia with the intent to manufacture methamphetamine, the former § 5-64-403(c)(5), and the offense occurred after
April 9, 1999, § 16-93-618 governs that person's parole eligibility;

(f) For an offender serving a sentence for a felony committed on or after January 1, 1994, § 16-93-615 governs that person's
parole eligibility procedures.
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Credits
Acts of 2011, Act 570, § 97, eff. July 27, 2011.

Editors' Notes
LIBRARY REFERENCES

Pardon and Parole &=50.
Westlaw Topic No. 284.
C.J.S. Pardon and Parole §§ 48 to 51.

A.C.A.§16-93-612, AR ST § 16-93-612

Current through 2012 Fiscal Sess. and 11/6/2012 election, including changes made by Ark. Code Rev. Comm. received through
11/1/2012, and emerg. eff. acts from 2013 Reg. Sess.: 7, 38, 39, 40, 41, 67,109, 111, 135, 136, 139, 145, 147,153, 169, 171,
176, 210, 234,276,282, 290, 304, 308, 315, 332, 336, 350, 378, 427, 442,457, 458, 461, 500, 504, 512, 521, 522, 528, 539,
556,557,575, 600 to 602,713,747, 969, 990,999, 1018, 1042, 1065, 1081, 1093, 1095, 1100, 1109, 1169, 1173, 1180, 1184,
1227,1241, 1271, 1302, 1311, 1315, 1334, 1405, 1413, 1444, 1497, 1498, 1500.
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West's Arkansas Code Annotated
Title 16. Practice, Procedure, and Courts
Subtitle 6. Criminal Procedure Generally (Chapters 80 to 104)
Chapter 93. Probation and Parole (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 6. Parole--Eligibility

A.C.A. § 16-93-613
§ 16-93-613. Parole eligibility--Class Y, Class A, or Class B felonies
Effective: July 27, 2011

Currentness

(a) A person who commits a Class Y, Class A, or Class B felony, except those drug offenses addressed in § 16-93-619 or those
Class Y felonies addressed in § 16-93-614 or § 16-93-618, and who shall be convicted and incarcerated for that felony, shall
be eligible for release on parole as follows:

(1) An inmate under sentence of death or life imprisonment without parole is not eligible for release on parole but may be
pardoned or have his or her sentence commuted by the Governor, as provided by law; and

(2)(A) An inmate sentenced to life imprisonment is not eligible for release on parole unless the sentence is commuted to a
term of years by executive clemency.

(B) Upon commutation, the inmate is eligible for release on parole as provided in this subchapter.

(b) For parole eligibility purposes, consecutive sentences by one (1) or more courts or for one (1) or more counts are to be
considered as a single commitment reflecting the cumulative sentence to be served.

Credits
Acts of 2011, Act 570, § 98, eff. July 27, 2011.

Editors' Notes
LIBRARY REFERENCES

Pardon and Parole &=49.
Westlaw Topic No. 284.
C.J.S. Pardon and Parole §§ 48 to 51.

A.C.A.§16-93-613, AR ST § 16-93-613
Current through 2012 Fiscal Sess. and 11/6/2012 election, including changes made by Ark. Code Rev. Comm. received through
11/1/2012, and emerg. eff. acts from 2013 Reg. Sess.: 7, 38, 39,40, 41, 67, 109, 111, 135, 136, 139, 145, 147, 153, 169, 171,
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556,557,575, 600 to 602,713,747, 969, 990, 999, 1018, 1042, 1065, 1081, 1093, 1095, 1100, 1109, 1169, 1173, 1180, 1184,
1227, 1241, 1271, 1302, 1311, 1315, 1334, 1405, 1413, 1444, 1497, 1498, 1500.
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West's Arkansas Code Annotated
Title 16. Practice, Procedure, and Courts
Subtitle 6. Criminal Procedure Generally (Chapters 80 to 104)
Chapter 93. Probation and Parole (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 6. Parole--Eligibility

A.C.A. §16-93-614
§ 16-93-614. Parole eligibility--Offenses committed after January 1, 1994

Effective: July 27, 2011
Currentness

(a) As used in this section and §§ 16-93-615 -- 16-93-617, “felonies” means those crimes classified as Class Y, Class A, Class
B, Class C, Class D, or unclassified felonies by the laws of this state.

(b)(1) A person who committed a felony before January 1, 1994, and who was convicted and incarcerated for that felony shall
be eligible for release on parole under this section and §§ 16-93-615 -- 16-93-617 in accordance with the parole eligibility law
in effect at the time the crime was committed.

(2) A person who committed a target offense under the Community Punishment Act, § 16-93-1201 et seq., before January
1, 1994, and who has not been sentenced to a term of incarceration may waive the right to be released under the parole
eligibility law in effect at the time the crime was committed and shall become eligible for judicial transfer pursuant to the
transfer provisions provided in subdivision (c)(2) of this section.

(3) A person who has committed a felony who is within a target group as currently defined under § 16-93-1202(10) and who
is released on parole shall be eligible, pursuant to rules and regulations established by the Parole Board, for commitment to a
community correction facility if he or she is found to be in violation of any of his or her parole conditions, unless the parole
violation constitutes a nontarget felony offense.

(c) A person who commits a felony on or after January 1, 1994, and who shall be convicted and incarcerated for that felony
shall be eligible for transfer to community correction as follows:

()(A) An inmate under sentence of death or life imprisonment without parole shall not be eligible for transfer, but may be
pardoned or have his or her sentence commuted by the Governor as provided by law.

(B) An inmate sentenced to life imprisonment shall not be eligible for transfer unless his or her sentence is commuted to
a term of years by executive clemency.

(C) Upon commutation, an inmate shall be eligible for transfer as provided in this section;
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(2)(A)(1)(a) An offender convicted of a target offense under the Community Punishment Act, § 16-93-1201 et seq., may
be committed to the Department of Correction and judicially transferred to the Department of Community Correction by
specific provision in the commitment that the trial court order such a transfer.

(b) No other offender is eligible for transfer to a Department of Community Correction facility.

(ii) A copy of the commitment shall be forwarded immediately to the Department of Correction and to the Department
of Community Correction.

(iii) In the event that an offender is sentenced to the Department of Correction without judicial transfer on one (1)
sentence and concurrently sentenced to the Department of Correction with judicial transfer on another sentence, the
offender shall remain in the Department of Correction, and the sentence with judicial transfer may be discharged in the
same manner as that of an offender transferred back to the Department of Correction.

(B) The Department of Community Correction shall take over supervision of the offender in accordance with the order
of the court.

(C) The Department of Community Correction shall provide for the appropriate disposition of the offender as expeditiously
as practicable under rules and regulations developed by the Board of Corrections.

(D) The offender shall not be transported to the Department of Correction on the initial placement in a Department of
Community Correction facility pursuant to a judicial transfer.

(E) An offender who is transferred back to the Department of Correction for disciplinary reasons may be considered for
transfer to Department of Community Correction supervision after earning good-time credit equal to one-half ( /2 ) of the
remainder of his or her sentence.

(F) An offender who is sentenced after July 31, 2007, and who is transferred back to the Department of Correction for
administrative reasons is eligible for transfer to Department of Community Correction supervision in the same manner as
an offender who is sentenced to the Department of Correction without a judicial transfer to the Department of Community
Correction; and

(3)(A) Every other classified or unclassified felon who is incarcerated therefor shall be eligible for transfer to community
punishment after having served one-third ( # ) or one-half ( }2 ), with credit for meritorious good time, of his or her sentence
depending on the seriousness determination made by the Arkansas Sentencing Commission, or one-half ( % ), with credit for
meritorious good time, of the time to which his or her sentence is commuted by executive clemency.
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(B) For example, a six-year sentence with optimal meritorious good-time credits will make the offender eligible for transfer
in one (1) year if he or she is required to serve one-third ( # ) of his or her sentence, or one and one-half (1 %2 ) years if
he or she is required to serve one-half ( %2 ) of his or her sentence.

Credits
Acts of 2011, Act 570, § 99, eff. July 27, 2011.

Editors' Notes

LIBRARY REFERENCES

Pardon and Parole &=49.
Westlaw Topic No. 284.
C.J.S. Pardon and Parole §§ 48 to 51.

A.C.A.§16-93-614, AR ST § 16-93-614

Current through 2012 Fiscal Sess. and 11/6/2012 election, including changes made by Ark. Code Rev. Comm. received through
11/1/2012, and emerg. eff. acts from 2013 Reg. Sess.: 7, 38, 39, 40, 41, 67,109, 111, 135, 136, 139, 145, 147,153, 169, 171,
176, 210, 234, 276, 282, 290, 304, 308, 315, 332, 336, 350, 378, 427, 442, 457, 458, 461, 500, 504, 512, 521, 522, 528, 539,
556,557,575, 600 to 602,713,747, 969, 990,999, 1018, 1042, 1065, 1081, 1093, 1095, 1100, 1109, 1169, 1173, 1180, 1184,
1227, 1241, 1271, 1302, 1311, 1315, 1334, 1405, 1413, 1444, 1497, 1498, 1500.
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West's Arkansas Code Annotated
Title 16. Practice, Procedure, and Courts
Subtitle 6. Criminal Procedure Generally (Chapters 80 to 104)
Chapter 93. Probation and Parole (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 6. Parole--Eligibility

A.C.A. § 16-93-615
§ 16-93-615. Parole eligibility procedures--Offenses committed after January 1, 1994
Effective: February 20, 2013

Currentness

(a)(1)(A) An inmate under sentence for any felony, except those listed in subsection (b) of this section, shall be transferred from
the Department of Correction to the Department of Community Correction under this section, § 16-93-614, § 16-93-616, and
§ 16-93-617, subject to rules promulgated by the Board of Corrections and conditions set by the Parole Board.

(B) The determination under subdivision (a)(1)(A) of this section shall be made by reviewing information such as the result
of the risk-needs assessment to inform the decision of whether to release a person on parole by quantifying that person's
risk to reoffend, and if parole is granted, this information shall be used to set conditions for supervision.

(C) The Parole Board shall begin transfer release proceedings or a preliminary review under this subchapter no later than
six (6) months before a person's transfer eligibility date, and the Parole Board shall authorize jacket review procedures no
later than six (6) months before a person's transfer eligibility at all institutions holding parole-eligible inmates to prepare
parole applications.

(D) This review may be conducted without a hearing when the inmate has not received a major disciplinary report against
him or her that resulted in the loss of good time, there has not been a request by a victim to have input on transfer conditions,
and there is no indication in the risk-needs assessment review that special conditions need to be placed on the inmate.

(2)(A) When one (1) or more of the circumstances in subdivision (a)(1) of this section are present, the Parole Board shall
conduct a hearing to determine the appropriateness of the inmate for transfer.

(B) The Parole Board has two (2) options:

(i) To transfer the individual to the Department of Community Correction accompanied by notice of conditions of the
transfer, including without limitation:

(a) Supervision levels;
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(b) Economic fee sanction;

(c) Treatment program;

(d) Programming requirements; and

(e) Facility placement when appropriate; or

(ii) To deny transfer based on a set of established criteria and to accompany the denial with a prescribed course of action
to be undertaken by the inmate to rectify the Parole Board’s concerns.

(C) Upon completion of the course of action determined by the Parole Board and after final review of the inmate's file
to ensure successful completion, the Parole Board shall authorize the inmate's transfer to the Department of Community
Correction under this section, § 16-93-614, § 16-93-616, and § 16-93-617, in accordance with administrative policies and
procedures governing the transfer and subject to conditions attached to the transfer.

(3) Should an inmate fail to fulfill the course of action outlined by the Parole Board to facilitate transfer to community
correction, it shall be the responsibility of the inmate to petition the Parole Board for rehearing.

(4)(A) The Parole Board shall conduct open meetings and shall make public its findings for each eligible candidate for parole.

(B)(i) Open meetings held under subsection (a)(2)(A) of this section may be conducted through video-conference
technology if the person is housed at that time in a county jail and if the technology is available.

(ii) Open meetings utilizing video-conference technology shall be conducted in public.

(5) Inmate interviews may be closed to the public.

(b)(1) An inmate under sentence for one (1) of the following felonies is eligible for discretionary transfer to the Department of
Community Correction by the Parole Board after having served one-third ( # ) or one-half ( %4 ) of his or her sentence, with credit
for meritorious good time, depending on the seriousness determination made by the Arkansas Sentencing Commission, or one-
half ( 2 ) of the time to which his or her sentence is commuted by executive clemency, with credit for meritorious good time:

(A) Unless the offense is listed under § 16-93-612(e)(1), the following homicide offenses:

(i) Capital murder, § 5-10-101;
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(ii) Murder in the first degree, § 5-10-102;

(iii) Murder in the second degree, § 5-10-103;

(iv) Manslaughter, § 5-10-104; or

(v) Negligent homicide, § 5-10-105;

(B) An offense for which the inmate is required upon release to register as a sex offender under the Sex Offender
Registration Act of 1997, § 12-12-901 et seq., unless the offense is listed under § 16-93-612(e)(1);

(C) Battery in the first degree, § 5-13-201;

(D) Domestic battering in the first degree, § 5-26-303;

(E) Unless the offense is listed under § 16-93-612(e)(1), the following Class Y felonies:

(i) Kidnapping, § 5-11-102;

(ii) Aggravated robbery, § 5-12-103; or

(iii) Causing a catastrophe, § 5-38-202(a);

(F) Engaging in a continuing criminal enterprise, § 5-64-405; or

(G) Simultaneous possession of drugs and firearms, § 5-74-106.

(2) The transfer of an offender convicted of an offense listed in subdivision (b)(1) of this section is not automatic.

(3)(A) Review of an inmate convicted of the enumerated offenses in subdivision (b)(1) of this section shall be based
upon policies and procedures adopted by the Parole Board for the review, and the Parole Board shall conduct a risk-needs
assessment review.
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(B) The policies and procedures shall include a provision for notification of the victim or victims that a hearing shall be
held and records kept of the proceedings and that there be a listing of the criteria upon which a denial may be based.

(4) Any transfer of an offender specified in this subsection shall be issued upon an order, duly adopted, of the Parole Board
in accordance with such policies and procedures.

(5) After the Parole Board has fully considered and denied the transfer of an offender sentenced for committing an offense
listed in subdivision (b)(1) of this section, the Parole Board may delay any reconsideration of the transfer for a maximum
period of two (2) years.

(6) Notification of the court, prosecutor, sheriff, and the victim or the victim's next of kin for a person convicted of an offense
listed in subdivision (b)(1) of this section shall follow the procedures set forth below:

(A)(i) Before the Parole Board shall grant any transfer, the Parole Board shall solicit the written or oral recommendations
of the committing court, the prosecuting attorney, and the sheriff of the county from which the inmate was committed.

(ii) If the person whose transfer is being considered by the Parole Board was convicted of one (1) of the offenses
enumerated in subdivision (b)(1) of this section, the Parole Board shall also notify the victim of the crime or the victim's
next of kin of the transfer hearing and shall solicit written or oral recommendations of the victim or his or her next of
kin regarding the granting of the transfer unless the prosecuting attorney has notified the Parole Board at the time of
commitment of the prisoner that the victim or his or her next of kin does not want to be notified of future transfer hearings.

(iii) The recommendations shall not be binding upon the Parole Board in the granting of any transfer but shall be
maintained in the inmate's file.

(iv) When soliciting recommendations from a victim of a crime, the Parole Board shall notify the victim or his or her
next of kin of the date, time, and place of the transfer hearing;

(B)(1) The Parole Board shall not schedule transfer hearings at which victims or relatives of victims of crimes are invited
to appear at a facility wherein inmates are housed other than the Central Administration Building of the Department of
Correction at Pine Bluff.

(ii) Nothing herein shall be construed as prohibiting the Parole Board from conducting transfer hearings in two (2)
sessions, one (1) at the place of the inmate's incarceration for interviews with the inmate, the inmate's witnesses, and
correctional personnel, and the second session for victims and relatives of victims as set out in subdivision (b)(6)(B)
(i) of this section;
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(C)(1) At the time that any person eligible under subdivision (c)(1) of this section is transferred by the Parole Board, the
Department of Community Correction shall give written notice of the granting of the transfer to the sheriff, the committing
court, and the chief of police of each city of the first class of the county from which the person was sentenced.

(ii) If the person is transferred to a county other than that from which he or she was committed, the Parole Board shall
give notice to the chief of police or marshal of the city to which he or she is transferred, to the chief of police of each
city of the first class and the sheriff of the county to which he or she is transferred, and to the sheriff of the county from
which the person was committed; and

(D)) It shall be the responsibility of the prosecuting attorney of the county from which the inmate was committed to
notify the Parole Board at the time of commitment of the desire of the victim or his or her next of kin to be notified of
any future transfer hearings and to forward to the Parole Board the last known address and telephone number of the victim
or his or her next of kin.

(ii) It shall be the responsibility of the victim or his or her next of kin to notify the Parole Board of any change in address
or telephone number.

(iii) It shall be the responsibility of the victim or his or her next of kin to notify the Parole Board after the date of
commitment of any change in regard to the desire to be notified of any future transfer hearings.

(c)(1) In all other felonies, before the Parole Board sets conditions for transfer of an inmate to community punishment, a victim,
or his or her next of kin in cases in which the victim is unable to express his or her wishes, who has expressed the wish to be
consulted by the Parole Board shall be notified of the date, time, and place of the transfer hearing.

(2)(A) A victim or his or her next of kin who wishes to be consulted by the Parole Board shall inform the Parole Board in
writing at the time of sentencing.

(B) A victim or his or her next of kin who does not so inform the Parole Board shall not be notified by the Parole Board.

(3)(A) Victim input to the Parole Board shall be limited to oral or written recommendations on conditions relevant to the
offender under review for transfer.

(B) The recommendations shall not be binding on the Parole Board, but shall be given due consideration within the
resources available for transfer.

(d)(1) The Parole Board shall approve a set of conditions that shall be applicable to all inmates transferred from the Department
of Correction to the Department of Community Correction.
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(2) The set of conditions is subject to periodic review and revision as the Parole Board deems necessary.

(e)(1) The course of action required by the Parole Board shall not be outside the current resources of the Department of
Correction nor the conditions set be outside the current resources of the Department of Community Correction.

(2) However, the Department of Correction and Department of Community Correction shall strive to accommodate the
actions required by the Board of Corrections to the best of their ability.

(f) Transfer is not an award of clemency, and it shall not be considered as a reduction of sentence or a pardon.

(g) Every inmate while on transfer status shall remain in the legal custody of the Department of Correction under the supervision
of the Department of Community Correction and subject to the orders of the Parole Board.

(h) An inmate who is sentenced under the provisions of § 5-4-501(c) or § 5-4-501(d) for a serious violent felony or a felony
involving violence may be considered eligible for parole or for community correction transfer upon reaching regular parole or
transfer eligibility, but only after reaching a minimum age of fifty-five (55) years.

(i) Decisions on parole release, courses of action applicable prior to transfer, and transfer conditions to be set by the Parole
Board shall be based on a reasoned and rational plan developed in conjunction with an accepted risk-needs assessment tool
such that each decision is defensible based on preestablished criteria.

Credits
Acts of 2011, Act 570, § 100, eff. July 27,2011; Acts of 2013, Act 136, § 1, eff. Feb. 20, 2013.

Editors' Notes
LIBRARY REFERENCES

Pardon and Parole &=57.
Westlaw Topic No. 284.
C.J.S. Pardon and Parole §§ 52 to 57.

A.C.A.§16-93-615, AR ST § 16-93-615

Current through 2012 Fiscal Sess. and 11/6/2012 election, including changes made by Ark. Code Rev. Comm. received through
11/1/2012, and emerg. eff. acts from 2013 Reg. Sess.: 7, 38, 39, 40, 41, 67,109, 111, 135, 136, 139, 145, 147,153, 169, 171,
176, 210, 234, 276, 282, 290, 304, 308, 315, 332, 336, 350, 378, 427, 442, 457, 458, 461, 500, 504, 512, 521, 522, 528, 539,
556,557,575, 600 to 602, 713,747,969, 990, 999, 1018, 1042, 1065, 1081, 1093, 1095, 1100, 1109, 1169, 1173, 1180, 1184,
1227,1241,1271, 1302, 1311, 1315, 1334, 1405, 1413, 1444, 1497, 1498, 1500.
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West's Arkansas Code Annotated
Title 16. Practice, Procedure, and Courts
Subtitle 6. Criminal Procedure Generally (Chapters 80 to 104)
Chapter 93. Probation and Parole (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 6. Parole--Eligibility

A.C.A. § 16-93-616
§ 16-93-616. Parole eligibility procedures--Offenses committed after January 1, 1994--Computation of sentence
Effective: July 27, 2011

Currentness

(a)(1) Time served for a sentence shall be deemed to begin on the day sentence is imposed, not on the day a prisoner is received
by the Department of Correction.

(2) Time served shall continue only during the time in which an individual is actually confined in a county jail or other local
place of lawful confinement or while under the custody and supervision of the department.

(3) Once sentenced to the department, the department shall retain legal custody of the inmate for the duration of the original
sentence.

(b) The sentencing judge shall direct, when he or she imposes sentence, that time already served by the defendant in jail or
other place of detention shall be credited against the sentence.

Credits
Acts of 2011, Act 570, § 101, eff. July 27,2011.

Editors' Notes
LIBRARY REFERENCES

Pardon and Parole &=57.
Westlaw Topic No. 284.
C.J.S. Pardon and Parole §§ 52 to 57.

A.C.A.§16-93-616, AR ST § 16-93-616

Current through 2012 Fiscal Sess. and 11/6/2012 election, including changes made by Ark. Code Rev. Comm. received through
11/1/2012, and emerg. eff. acts from 2013 Reg. Sess.: 7, 38, 39, 40, 41, 67,109, 111, 135, 136, 139, 145, 147,153, 169, 171,
176, 210, 234, 276, 282, 290, 304, 308, 315, 332, 336, 350, 378, 427, 442, 457, 458, 461, 500, 504, 512, 521, 522, 528, 539,
556,557,575, 600 to 602, 713,747,969, 990, 999, 1018, 1042, 1065, 1081, 1093, 1095, 1100, 1109, 1169, 1173, 1180, 1184,
1227, 1241, 1271, 1302, 1311, 1315, 1334, 1405, 1413, 1444, 1497, 1498, 1500.
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West's Arkansas Code Annotated
Title 16. Practice, Procedure, and Courts
Subtitle 6. Criminal Procedure Generally (Chapters 80 to 104)
Chapter 93. Probation and Parole (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 6. Parole--Eligibility

A.C.A. § 16-93-617
§ 16-93-617. Parole eligibility procedures--Offenses committed after January 1, 1994--Revocation of transfer

Effective: July 27, 2011
Currentness

(a) In the event an offender transferred under this section, §§ 16-93-614 -- 16-93-616, or § 16-93-618 violates the terms or
conditions of his or her transfer, a hearing shall follow all applicable legal requirements and shall be subject to any additional
policies, rules, and regulations set by the Parole Board.

(b)(1) In the event an offender transferred under this section and §§ 16-93-614 -- 16-93-617, or § 16-93-618 is found to be
or becomes ineligible for transfer into a Department of Community Correction facility, he or she shall be transported to the
Department of Correction to serve the remainder of his sentence.

(2) Notice of the ineligibility and the reasons therefor shall be provided to the offender, and a hearing may be requested before
the board if the offender contests the factual basis of the ineligibility. Otherwise, the board may administratively approve
the transfer to the Department of Correction.

(c) An offender who is judicially transferred to a Department of Community Correction facility and subsequently transferred
back to the Department of Correction by the board for disciplinary or administrative reasons may not become eligible for any
further transfer under § 16-93-614(c)(2)(E) and (F).

Credits
Acts of 2011, Act 570, § 102, eff. July 27,2011.

Editors' Notes

LIBRARY REFERENCES

Pardon and Parole &=57.
Westlaw Topic No. 284.
C.J.S. Pardon and Parole §§ 52 to 57.

A.C.A.§16-93-617, AR ST § 16-93-617
Current through 2012 Fiscal Sess. and 11/6/2012 election, including changes made by Ark. Code Rev. Comm. received through
11/1/2012, and emerg. eff. acts from 2013 Reg. Sess.: 7, 38, 39, 40, 41, 67,109, 111, 135, 136, 139, 145, 147,153, 169, 171,

Mext



Graf, Vanessa 7/19/2013
For Educational Use Only

§ 16-93-617. Parole eligibility procedures--Offenses committed..., AR ST § 16-93-617
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556,557,575, 600 to 602,713,747, 969, 990, 999, 1018, 1042, 1065, 1081, 1093, 1095, 1100, 1109, 1169, 1173, 1180, 1184,
1227, 1241, 1271, 1302, 1311, 1315, 1334, 1405, 1413, 1444, 1497, 1498, 1500.
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West's Arkansas Code Annotated
Title 16. Practice, Procedure, and Courts
Subtitle 6. Criminal Procedure Generally (Chapters 80 to 104)
Chapter 93. Probation and Parole (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 6. Parole--Eligibility

A.C.A. §16-93-618

§ 16-93-618. Parole eligibility--Certain Class Y felony offenses
and certain methamphetamine offenses--Seventy percent crimes

Effective: July 27, 2011
Currentness

(a)(1) Notwithstanding any law allowing the award of meritorious good time or any other law to the contrary, any person who
is found guilty of or pleads guilty or nolo contendere to subdivisions (a)(1)(A)-(H) of this section shall not be eligible for parole
or community punishment transfer, except as provided in subdivision (a)(3) or subsection (c) of this section, until the person
serves seventy percent (70%) of the term of imprisonment to which the person is sentenced, including a sentence prescribed
under § 5-4-501:

(A) Murder in the first degree, § 5-10-102;

(B) Kidnapping, Class Y felony, § 5-11-102;

(C) Aggravated robbery, § 5-12-103;

(D) Rape, § 5-14-103;

(E) Causing a catastrophe, § 5-38-202(a);

(F) Manufacturing methamphetamine, § 5-64-423(a) or the former § 5-64-401;

(G) Trafficking methamphetamine, § 5-64-440(b)(1); or

(H) Possession of drug paraphernalia with the purpose to manufacture methamphetamine, the former § 5-64-403(c)(5).

(2)(A) The seventy-percent provision of subdivision (a)(1) of this section has no application to any person who is found
guilty of or pleads guilty or nolo contendere to kidnapping, Class B felony, § 5-11-102, regardless of the date of the offense.
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(B) The provisions of this section shall apply retroactively to all persons presently serving a sentence for kidnapping, Class
B felony, § 5-11-102.

(3)(A)(i) Regardless of the date of the offense, the seventy-percent provision under subdivision (a)(1) of this section shall
include credit for the award of meritorious good time under § 12-29-201 to any person who is found guilty of or pleads
guilty or nolo contendere to:

(a) Manufacturing methamphetamine, § 5-64-423(a) or the former § 5-64-401;

(b) Trafficking methamphetamine, § 5-64-440(b)(1); or

(c) Possession of drug paraphernalia with the purpose to manufacture methamphetamine, the former § 5-64-403(c)(5).

(ii) Regardless of the date of the offense and unless the person is sentenced to a term of life imprisonment, the seventy-
percent provision under subdivision (a)(1) of this section may include credit for the award of meritorious good time
under § 12-29-202 to any person who is found guilty of or pleads guilty or nolo contendere to:

(a) Manufacturing methamphetamine, § 5-64-423(a) or the former § 5-64-401;

(b) Trafficking methamphetamine, § 5-64-440(b)(1); or

(c) Possession of drug paraphernalia with the purpose to manufacture methamphetamine, the former § 5-64-403(c)(5).

(B) In no event shall the time served by any person who is found guilty of or pleads guilty or nolo contendere to
manufacturing methamphetamine, § 5-64-423(a) or the former § 5-64-401, trafficking methamphetamine, § 5-64-440(b)
(1), or possession of drug paraphernalia with the purpose to manufacture methamphetamine, § 5-64-443(a)(2)(B), be
reduced to less than fifty percent (50%) of the person's original sentence.

(4)(A) When any person sentenced under subdivision (a)(3) of this section becomes eligible for parole, the Department of
Community Correction shall send a notice of the parole hearing to the prosecuting attorney of the judicial district or districts
in which the person was found guilty or pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to an offense listed in subdivision (a)(1) of this

section.

(B) The notice shall contain the following language in 12-point capital letters bold type: “INMATE SENTENCED UNDER
ARKANSAS CODE § 16-93-618”.
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(b) A jury may be instructed under § 16-97-103 regarding the awarding of meritorious good time under subdivision (a)(3) of
this section.

(c) The sentencing judge, in his or her discretion, may waive subsection (a) of this section under the following circumstances:

(1) The defendant was a juvenile at the time of the offense;

(2) The juvenile was merely an accomplice to the offense; and

(3) The offense occurred on or after July 28, 1995.

(d) The awarding of meritorious good time under § 12-29-201 or § 12-29-202 shall not be applicable to persons sentenced
under subdivisions (a)(1)(A)-(H) of this section.

(e) A person who commits the offense of possession of drug paraphernalia with the intent to manufacture methamphetamine,
§ 5-64-443, after the effective date of this act shall not be subject to the provisions of this section.

Credits
Acts of 2011, Act 570, § 103, eff. July 27,2011.

Editors' Notes
LIBRARY REFERENCES

Pardon and Parole &=50.
Westlaw Topic No. 284.
C.J.S. Pardon and Parole §§ 48 to 51.

A.C.A.§16-93-618, AR ST § 16-93-618

Current through 2012 Fiscal Sess. and 11/6/2012 election, including changes made by Ark. Code Rev. Comm. received through
11/1/2012, and emerg. eff. acts from 2013 Reg. Sess.: 7, 38, 39, 40, 41, 67, 109, 111, 135, 136, 139, 145, 147, 153, 169, 171,
176,210, 234,276, 282, 290, 304, 308, 315, 332, 336, 350, 378, 427, 442, 457, 458, 461, 500, 504, 512, 521, 522, 528, 539,
556,557,575, 600 to 602, 713,747,969, 990, 999, 1018, 1042, 1065, 1081, 1093, 1095, 1100, 1109, 1169, 1173, 1180, 1184,
1227,1241, 1271, 1302, 1311, 1315, 1334, 1405, 1413, 1444, 1497, 1498, 1500.
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West's Arkansas Code Annotated
Title 16. Practice, Procedure, and Courts
Subtitle 6. Criminal Procedure Generally (Chapters 80 to 104)
Chapter 93. Probation and Parole (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 7. Parole

A.C.A. § 16-93-701
§ 16-93-701. Authority to grant and parameters

Effective: July 27, 2011
Currentness

(a)(1) The Parole Board may release on parole any individual eligible under the provisions of § 16-93-601 who is confined in
any correctional institution administered by the Department of Correction, when in its opinion there is a reasonable probability
that the prisoner can be released without detriment to the community or himself or herself.

(2) All paroles shall issue upon order, duly adopted, of the board.

(b)(1) Before ordering the release of any prisoner, the prisoner shall be interviewed by the board or a panel designated by the
board and, for all parole decisions after January 1, 2012, the board shall conduct a risk-needs assessment review of all parole

applicants.

(2)(A) The parole shall be ordered only for the best interest of society and not as an award for clemency.

(B) The parole shall not be considered as a reduction of sentence or a pardon.

(3) A prisoner shall be placed on parole only when the board believes that he or she is able and willing to fulfill the obligations
of a law-abiding citizen.

(4) Every prisoner, while on parole, shall remain in the legal custody of the institution from which he or she was released,
but shall be subject to the orders of the board.

Credits
Acts of 1968 (1st Ex. Sess.), Act 50, § 29; Acts of 1989, Act 937, § 6; Acts of 2011, Act 570, § 104, eff. July 27,2011.

Formerly A.S.A. 1947, § 43-2808.
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Editors' Notes

LIBRARY REFERENCES

Pardon and Parole &+49,55.1, 66.
Westlaw Topic No. 284.
C.J.S. Pardon and Parole §§ 45 to 51, 60.

Notes of Decisions (11)

A.C.A.§16-93-701, AR ST § 16-93-701

Current through 2012 Fiscal Sess. and 11/6/2012 election, including changes made by Ark. Code Rev. Comm. received through
11/1/2012, and emerg. eff. acts from 2013 Reg. Sess.: 7, 38, 39, 40, 41, 67, 109, 111, 135, 136, 139, 145, 147, 153, 169, 171,
176, 210, 234, 276, 282, 290, 304, 308, 315, 332, 336, 350, 378, 427, 442,457, 458, 461, 500, 504, 512, 521, 522, 528, 539,
556,557,575, 600 to 602,713,747, 969, 990,999, 1018, 1042, 1065, 1081, 1093, 1095, 1100, 1109, 1169, 1173, 1180, 1184,
1227,1241, 1271, 1302, 1311, 1315, 1334, 1405, 1413, 1444, 1497, 1498, 1500.
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West's Arkansas Code Annotated
Title 16. Practice, Procedure, and Courts
Subtitle 6. Criminal Procedure Generally (Chapters 80 to 104)
Chapter 93. Probation and Parole (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 7. Parole

A.C.A. § 16-93-702
§ 16-93-702. Procedures--Required recommendations
Effective: July 27, 2011

Currentness

(a) Before the Parole Board shall grant any parole, the board shall solicit the written or oral recommendations of the committing
court, the prosecuting attorney, and the sheriff of the county from which the inmate was committed.

(b) If the person whose parole is being considered by the board was convicted of capital murder, § 5-10-101, or of a Class Y,
Class A, or Class B felony, or any violent or sexual offense, the board shall also notify the victim of the crime, or the victim's
next of kin, of the parole hearing and shall solicit written or oral recommendations of the victim or the victim's next of kin
regarding the granting of the parole, unless the prosecuting attorney has notified the board at the time of commitment of the
prisoner that the victim or the victim's next of kin does not want to be notified of future parole hearings.

(c) The board shall retain a copy of the recommendations in the board's file.

(d) The recommendations shall not be binding upon the board in the granting of any parole but shall be maintained in a file that
shall be open to the public during reasonable business hours.

(e) When soliciting recommendations from a victim of a crime, the board shall notify the victim or the victim's next of kin of
the date, time, and place of the parole hearing.

Credits
Actsof 1969, Act 153, 8 1; Acts of 1981, Act 530, 8§ 1; Acts of 1983, Act8,§ 1; Acts of 1983, Act 246, 8§ 1; Acts of 1985, Act 269,
§ 1; Acts of 1985, Act 917, § 1; Acts of 1997, Act 1262, § 17, eff. Jan. 1, 1998; Acts of 2011, Act 570, § 104, eff. July 27,2011.

Formerly A.S.A. 1947, § 43-2819.

Editors' Notes
LIBRARY REFERENCES
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Westlaw Topic No. 284.
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C.J.S. Pardon and Parole §§ 48 to 54.

A.C.A.§16-93-702, AR ST § 16-93-702

Current through 2012 Fiscal Sess. and 11/6/2012 election, including changes made by Ark. Code Rev. Comm. received through
11/1/2012, and emerg. eff. acts from 2013 Reg. Sess.: 7, 38, 39, 40,41, 67, 109, 111, 135, 136, 139, 145, 147, 153, 169, 171,
176, 210, 234, 276, 282, 290, 304, 308, 315, 332, 336, 350, 378, 427, 442,457,458, 461, 500, 504, 512, 521, 522, 528, 539,
556,557,575, 600 to 602,713,747,969, 990,999, 1018, 1042, 1065, 1081, 1093, 1095, 1100, 1109, 1169, 1173, 1180, 1184,
1227,1241, 1271, 1302, 1311, 1315, 1334, 1405, 1413, 1444, 1497, 1498, 1500.
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West's Arkansas Code Annotated
Title 16. Practice, Procedure, and Courts
Subtitle 6. Criminal Procedure Generally (Chapters 80 to 104)
Chapter 93. Probation and Parole (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 7. Parole

A.C.A. § 16-93-703
§ 16-93-703. Procedures--Place of hearings

Effective: July 27, 2011
Currentness

(a) The Parole Board shall not schedule parole hearings at which victims or relatives of victims of crime are invited to appear
at a facility wherein inmates are housed other than the Central Administration Building of the Department of Correction at
Pine Bluff.

(b) Nothing in this section shall be construed as prohibiting the board from conducting parole hearings in two (2) sessions, one
(1) at the place of the inmate's incarceration for interviews with the inmate, the inmate's witnesses, and correctional personnel,
and the second session for victims and relatives of victims as set out in subsection (a) of this section.

Credits
Acts of 1983, Act 525, §§ 1, 2; Acts of 2011, Act 570, § 104, eff. July 27, 2011.

Formerly A.S.A. 1947, §§ 43-2819.1, 43-2819.2.

Editors' Notes
LIBRARY REFERENCES

Pardon and Parole &=59.
Westlaw Topic No. 284.
C.J.S. Pardon and Parole § 55.

A.C.A.§16-93-703, AR ST § 16-93-703

Current through 2012 Fiscal Sess. and 11/6/2012 election, including changes made by Ark. Code Rev. Comm. received through
11/1/2012, and emerg. eff. acts from 2013 Reg. Sess.: 7, 38, 39, 40, 41, 67,109, 111, 135, 136, 139, 145, 147,153, 169, 171,
176,210, 234,276, 282, 290, 304, 308, 315, 332, 336, 350, 378, 427, 442,457, 458, 461, 500, 504, 512, 521, 522, 528, 539,
556,557,575, 600 to 602,713,747, 969, 990,999, 1018, 1042, 1065, 1081, 1093, 1095, 1100, 1109, 1169, 1173, 1180, 1184,
1227, 1241, 1271, 1302, 1311, 1315, 1334, 1405, 1413, 1444, 1497, 1498, 1500.
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West's Arkansas Code Annotated
Title 16. Practice, Procedure, and Courts
Subtitle 6. Criminal Procedure Generally (Chapters 80 to 104)
Chapter 93. Probation and Parole (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 7. Parole

A.C.A. § 16-93-704
§ 16-93-704. Procedures--Notice to law enforcement personnel and committing court

Effective: July 27, 2011
Currentness

(a) At the time that any person is paroled by the Parole Board, the board shall give written notice of the granting of the parole
to the sheriff, the committing court, and the chief of police of all cities of the first class of the county from which the person
was sentenced.

(b) If the person is paroled to a county other than that from which he or she was committed, the board shall give notice to the
chief of police or marshal of the city to which he or she is paroled, to the chief of police of all cities of the first class, to the
sheriff of the county to which he or she is paroled, and to the sheriff of the county from which the person was committed.

Credits
Acts of 1969, Act 153, § 2; Acts of 1971, Act 33, § 1; Acts of 2011, Act 570, § 104, eff. July 27, 2011.

Formerly A.S.A. 1947, § 43-2820.

A.C.A.§16-93-704, AR ST § 16-93-704

Current through 2012 Fiscal Sess. and 11/6/2012 election, including changes made by Ark. Code Rev. Comm. received through
11/1/2012, and emerg. eff. acts from 2013 Reg. Sess.: 7, 38, 39, 40, 41, 67,109, 111, 135, 136, 139, 145, 147, 153,169, 171,
176, 210, 234, 276, 282, 290, 304, 308, 315, 332, 336, 350, 378, 427, 442,457,458, 461, 500, 504, 512, 521, 522, 528, 539,
556,557,575, 600 to 602, 713,747,969, 990,999, 1018, 1042, 1065, 1081, 1093, 1095, 1100, 1109, 1169, 1173, 1180, 1184,
1227,1241, 1271, 1302, 1311, 1315, 1334, 1405, 1413, 1444, 1497, 1498, 1500.
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West's Arkansas Code Annotated
Title 16. Practice, Procedure, and Courts
Subtitle 6. Criminal Procedure Generally (Chapters 80 to 104)
Chapter 93. Probation and Parole (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 7. Parole

A.C.A. § 16-93-705
§ 16-93-705. Revocation-- Procedures and hearings generally

Effective: July 27, 2011
Currentness

(a)(1) At any time during a parolee's release on parole, the Parole Board may issue a warrant for the arrest of the parolee for
violation of any conditions of parole or may issue a notice to appear to answer a charge of a violation.

(2) The warrant or notice shall be served personally upon the individual.

(3) The warrant shall authorize all officers named in the warrant to place the parolee in custody at any suitable detention
facility pending a hearing.

(4) Any parole officer may arrest a parolee without a warrant or may deputize any officer with power of arrest to do so by
giving him or her a written statement setting forth that the parolee, in the judgment of the parole officer, violated conditions
of his or her parole.

(5) The written statement delivered with the parolee by the arresting officer to the official in charge of the detention facility
to which the parolee is brought shall be sufficient warrant for detaining him or her pending disposition.

(6) If the board or its designee finds, by a preponderance of the evidence, that the parolee has inexcusably failed to comply
with a condition of his or her parole, the parole may be revoked at any time prior to the expiration of the period of parole.

(7) A parolee for whose return a warrant has been issued by the board shall be deemed a fugitive from justice if it is found
that the warrant cannot be served.

(8) The board shall determine whether the time from the issuance of the warrant to the date of arrest, or any part of it, shall
be counted as time served under the sentence.

(b)(1) A parolee arrested for violation of parole shall be entitled to a preliminary hearing to determine whether there is reasonable
cause to believe that he or she has violated a condition of parole.
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(2) The hearing shall be conducted by the parole hearing examiner for the board as soon as practical after arrest and reasonably
near the place of the alleged violation or arrest.

(3) The parolee shall be given prior notice of the date, time, and location of the hearing, the purpose of the hearing, and the
conditions of parole he or she is alleged to have violated.

(4) Except as provided in subsection (d) of this section, the parolee shall have the right to hear and controvert evidence against
him or her, to offer evidence in his or her own behalf, and to be represented by counsel.

(5) If the hearing examiner finds that there is reasonable cause to believe that the parolee has violated a condition of parole,
the hearing examiner may order the parolee returned to the custody of the Department of Correction for a revocation hearing
before the board.

(6) If the hearing examiner finds that there is reasonable cause to believe that the parolee has violated a condition of parole,
the hearing examiner may return the offender to parole supervision rather than to the custody of the Department of Correction
and may impose additional supervision conditions in response to the violating conduct.

(7) If the hearing examiner does not find reasonable cause, he or she shall order the parolee released from custody, but that
action shall not bar the board from holding a hearing on the alleged violation of parole or from ordering the parolee to appear
before it.

(8) The hearing examiner shall prepare and furnish to the board and the parolee a summary of the hearing, including the
substance of the evidence and testimony considered.

(c)(1) A parole shall not be revoked except after a revocation hearing, which shall be conducted by the board or its designee
within a reasonable period of time after the parolee's arrest.

(2) The parolee shall be given prior notice of the date, time, and location of the hearing, the purpose of the hearing, and the
conditions of parole he or she is alleged to have violated.

(3) Except as provided in subsection (d) of this section, the parolee shall have the right to hear and controvert evidence against
him or her, to offer evidence in his or her own defense, and to be represented by counsel.

(4) If parole is revoked, the board or its designee shall prepare and furnish to the parolee a written statement of evidence
relied on and the reasons for revoking parole.

(d) At a preliminary hearing under subsection (b) of this section or a revocation hearing under subsection (c) of this section:
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(1) The parolee shall have the right to confront and cross-examine adverse witnesses unless the hearing examiner or the board
or its designee specifically finds good cause for not allowing confrontation; and

(2) The parolee may introduce any relevant evidence of the alleged violation, including letters, affidavits, and other
documentary evidence, regardless of its admissibility under the rules governing the admission of evidence.

(e) A preliminary hearing under subsection (b) of this section shall not be required if:

(1) The parolee waives a preliminary hearing; or

(2) The revocation hearing under subsection (c) of this section is held promptly after the arrest and reasonably near the place
where the alleged violation occurred or where the parolee was arrested.

(f) A preliminary hearing under subsection (b) of this section and a revocation hearing under subsection (c) of this section shall
not be necessary if the revocation is based on the parolee's conviction, guilty plea, or plea of nolo contendere to a felony offense
for which he or she is sentenced to the Department of Correction or to any other state or federal penal institution.

Credits
Acts of 1968 (1st Ex. Sess.), Act 50, § 31; Acts of 1983, Act 771, § 1; Acts of 2011, Act 570, § 104, eff. July 27,2011.

Formerly A.S.A. 1947, § 43-2810.

Editors' Notes

LIBRARY REFERENCES

Pardon and Parole =69 to 92.
Westlaw Topic No. 284.
C.J.S. Pardon and Parole §§ 65 to 93.

Notes of Decisions (19)

A.C.A.§ 16-93-705, AR ST § 16-93-705

Current through 2012 Fiscal Sess. and 11/6/2012 election, including changes made by Ark. Code Rev. Comm. received through
11/1/2012, and emerg. eff. acts from 2013 Reg. Sess.: 7, 38, 39, 40, 41, 67, 109, 111, 135, 136, 139, 145, 147, 153, 169, 171,
176,210, 234, 276, 282, 290, 304, 308, 315, 332, 336, 350, 378, 427, 442, 457, 458, 461, 500, 504, 512, 521, 522, 528, 539,
556,557,575, 600 to 602,713,747, 969, 990,999, 1018, 1042, 1065, 1081, 1093, 1095, 1100, 1109, 1169, 1173, 1180, 1184,
1227, 1241, 1271, 1302, 1311, 1315, 1334, 1405, 1413, 1444, 1497, 1498, 1500.
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West's Arkansas Code Annotated
Title 16. Practice, Procedure, and Courts
Subtitle 6. Criminal Procedure Generally (Chapters 80 to 104)
Chapter 93. Probation and Parole (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 7. Parole

A.C.A. § 16-93-708
§ 16-93-708. Parole alternative--Home detention

Effective: July 27, 2011
Currentness

(a) As used in this section:

(1) “Approved electronic monitoring or supervising device” means any electronic device approved by the Board of
Corrections that meets the minimum Federal Communications Commission regulations and requirements, and that is limited
in capability to recording or transmitting information as to the criminal defendant's presence in the home;

(2) “Permanently incapacitated” means an inmate who, as determined by a licensed physician:

(A) Has a medical condition that is not necessarily terminal but renders him or her permanently and irreversibly

incapacitated; and

(B) Requires immediate and long-term care; and

(3) “Terminally ill” means an inmate who, as determined by a licensed physician:

(A) Has an incurable condition caused by illness or disease; and

(B) Will likely die within two (2) years due to the illness or disease.

(b)(1)(A) Subject to the provisions of subdivision (b)(2) of this section, a defendant convicted of a felony or misdemeanor
and sentenced to imprisonment may be incarcerated in a home detention program when the Director of the Department of
Correction or the Director of the Department of Community Correction shall communicate to the Parole Board when, in the
independent opinions of either a Department of Correction physician or Department of Community Correction physician and
a consultant physician in Arkansas, an inmate is either terminally ill or permanently incapacitated and should be considered
for transfer to parole supervision.
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(B) The Director of the Department of Correction or the Director of the Department of Community Correction shall make
the facts described in subdivision (b)(1)(A) of this section known to the Parole Board for consideration of early release
to home detention.

(2) The Board of Corrections shall promulgate rules that will establish policy and procedures for incarceration in a home
detention program.

(c)(1) In all instances where the Department of Correction may release any inmate to community supervision, in addition to all
other conditions that may be imposed by the Department of Correction, the Department of Correction may require the criminal
defendant to participate in a home detention program.

(2)(A) The term of the home detention shall not exceed the maximum number of years of imprisonment or supervision to
which the inmate could be sentenced.

(B) The length of time the defendant participates in a home detention program and any good-time credit awarded shall
be credited against the defendant's sentence.

(d) The Board of Corrections shall establish policy and procedures for participation in a home detention program, including,
but not limited to, program criteria, terms, and conditions of release.

Credits
Acts of 1991, Act 263, §§ 1 to 3; Acts of 1991, Act 307, §§ 1 to 3; Acts of 2005, Act 680, § 3, eff. Aug. 12, 2005; Acts of
2011, Act 570, § 104, eff. July 27,2011.

Editors' Notes
LIBRARY REFERENCES

Pardon and Parole &=:64.1.
Sentencing and Punishment &=2047.
Westlaw Topic Nos. 284, 350H.
C.J.S. Pardon and Parole § 59.

Notes of Decisions (2)

A.C.A.§16-93-708, AR ST § 16-93-708

Current through 2012 Fiscal Sess. and 11/6/2012 election, including changes made by Ark. Code Rev. Comm. received through
11/1/2012, and emerg. eff. acts from 2013 Reg. Sess.: 7, 38, 39, 40, 41, 67, 109, 111, 135, 136, 139, 145, 147, 153, 169, 171,
176,210, 234, 276, 282, 290, 304, 308, 315, 332, 336, 350, 378, 427, 442, 457, 458, 461, 500, 504, 512, 521, 522, 528, 539,
556,557,575, 600 to 602,713,747, 969, 990,999, 1018, 1042, 1065, 1081, 1093, 1095, 1100, 1109, 1169, 1173, 1180, 1184,
1227,1241, 1271, 1302, 1311, 1315, 1334, 1405, 1413, 1444, 1497, 1498, 1500.
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West's Arkansas Code Annotated
Title 16. Practice, Procedure, and Courts
Subtitle 6. Criminal Procedure Generally (Chapters 80 to 104)
Chapter 93. Probation and Parole (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 7. Parole

A.C.A. § 16-93-709
§ 16-93-709. Sex offender may not reside with minors

Effective: July 27, 2011
Currentness

(a) Whenever an inmate in a facility of the Department of Correction who has been found guilty of or has pleaded guilty or
nolo contendere to any sexual offense defined in § 5-14-101 et seq., or incest as defined by § 5-26-202, and the sexual offense
or incest was perpetrated against a minor, becomes eligible for parole and makes application for release on parole, the Parole
Board shall prohibit, as a condition of granting the parole, the parolee from residing upon parole in a residence with any minor,
unless the board makes a specific finding that the inmate poses no danger to the minors residing in the residence.

(b) If the board, upon a hearing under § 16-93-705, finds, by a preponderance of the evidence, that the parolee has failed to
comply with this condition of parole, the parole may be revoked and the parolee returned to the custody of the department.

Credits
Acts of 1997, Act 1188, § 2, eff. April 8, 1997; Acts of 2011, Act 570, § 104, eff. July 27, 2011.

Editors' Notes
LIBRARY REFERENCES

Pardon and Parole 4=64.1,70.1.
Westlaw Topic No. 284.
C.J.S. Pardon and Parole §§ 59, 67 to 68.

A.C.A.§16-93-709, AR ST § 16-93-709

Current through 2012 Fiscal Sess. and 11/6/2012 election, including changes made by Ark. Code Rev. Comm. received through
11/1/2012, and emerg. eff. acts from 2013 Reg. Sess.: 7, 38, 39, 40, 41, 67, 109, 111, 135, 136, 139, 145, 147, 153, 169, 171,
176,210, 234,276, 282, 290, 304, 308, 315, 332, 336, 350, 378, 427, 442, 457, 458, 461, 500, 504, 512, 521, 522, 528, 539,
556,557,575, 600 to 602, 713,747,969, 990, 999, 1018, 1042, 1065, 1081, 1093, 1095, 1100, 1109, 1169, 1173, 1180, 1184,
1227,1241, 1271, 1302, 1311, 1315, 1334, 1405, 1413, 1444, 1497, 1498, 1500.
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West's Arkansas Code Annotated
Title 16. Practice, Procedure, and Courts
Subtitle 6. Criminal Procedure Generally (Chapters 80 to 104)
Chapter 93. Probation and Parole (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 7. Parole

A.C.A. § 16-93-710

§ 16-93-710. Parole for inmates who have served their term of imprisonment
in a county jail prior to being processed into the Department of Correction

Effective: July 27, 2011
Currentness

(a)(1) Subject to conditions set by the Parole Board, an offender convicted of a felony and sentenced to a term of imprisonment
of two (2) years or less in the Department of Correction, and who has served his or her term of imprisonment in a county jail prior
to being processed into the Department of Correction, may be paroled from the Department of Correction county jail backup
facility directly to the Department of Community Correction under parole supervision, and upon eligibility determination,
processed for release by the board.

(2) Transfer release proceedings or a preliminary review under this subchapter shall begin no later than six (6) months prior
to a person's transfer eligibility date, and the Parole Board shall authorize jacket review procedures at all institutions holding
parole-eligible inmates to prepare parole applications to comply with this time frame.

(3) The jacket review will be conducted by staff either from the Department of Community Correction or by Department
of Correction.

(b) An offender who has been found guilty of or pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to a violent offense as defined by § 5-4-501(c)
(2) or a Class Y felony offense shall be ineligible under this section.

(c) As determined by the county sheriff, an offender who has committed violent or sexual acts while incarcerated in a county
jail facility shall be ineligible to participate in the program established by this section.

Credits
Acts of 2011, Act 570, § 104, eff. July 27,2011.

Editors' Notes
LIBRARY REFERENCES
Pardon and Parole &=44.

Westlaw Topic No. 284.
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A.C.A.§16-93-710, AR ST § 16-93-710

Current through 2012 Fiscal Sess. and 11/6/2012 election, including changes made by Ark. Code Rev. Comm. received through
11/1/2012, and emerg. eff. acts from 2013 Reg. Sess.: 7, 38, 39, 40, 41, 67,109, 111, 135, 136, 139, 145, 147,153, 169, 171,
176, 210, 234,276,282, 290, 304, 308, 315, 332, 336, 350, 378, 427, 442,457, 458, 461, 500, 504, 512, 521, 522, 528, 539,
556,557,575, 600 to 602,713,747, 969, 990,999, 1018, 1042, 1065, 1081, 1093, 1095, 1100, 1109, 1169, 1173, 1180, 1184,
1227,1241, 1271, 1302, 1311, 1315, 1334, 1405, 1413, 1444, 1497, 1498, 1500.
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West's Arkansas Code Annotated
Title 16. Practice, Procedure, and Courts
Subtitle 6. Criminal Procedure Generally (Chapters 80 to 104)
Chapter 93. Probation and Parole (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 7. Parole

A.C.A. § 16-93-711
§ 16-93-711. Parole alternatives--Electronic monitoring of parolees

Effective: July 27, 2011
Currentness

(a) As used in this section, “approved electronic monitoring or supervising device” means a device described in § 16-93-708(a).

(b)(1)(A) Subject to the provisions of subdivision (b)(2) of this section, an inmate serving a sentence in the Department of
Correction may be released from incarceration if the:

(i) Sentence was not the result of a jury or bench verdict;

(i) Inmate has served one hundred twenty (120) days of his or her sentence;

(iii) Inmate has an approved parole plan;

(iv) Inmate was sentenced from a cell in the sentencing guidelines that does not include incarceration in the presumptive
range;

(v) Conviction is for a Class C or Class D felony;

(vi) Conviction is not for a crime of violence, regardless of felony level;

(vii) Conviction is not a sex offense, regardless of felony level;

(viii) Conviction is not for manufacturing methamphetamine, § 5-64-423(a) or the former § 5-64-401;

(ix) Conviction is not for possession of drug paraphernalia with the purpose to manufacture methamphetamine, §
5-64-443, if the conviction is a Class C felony or higher;
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(x) Conviction is not a crime involving the threat of violence or bodily harm;

(xi) Conviction is not for a crime that resulted in a death; and

(xii) Inmate has not previously failed a drug court program.

(B) The Director of the Department of Correction or the Director of the Department of Community Correction shall make
the facts described in subdivision (b)(1)(A) of this section known to the Parole Board for consideration of electronic
monitoring.

(2) The Board of Corrections shall promulgate rules that will establish policy and procedures for an electronic monitoring
program.

(c)(1) An inmate released from incarceration on parole under this section shall be supervised by the Department of Community
Correction using electronic monitoring until the inmate's transfer eligibility date or for at least ninety (90) days of full compliance
by the inmate, whichever is sooner.

(2)(A) The term of electronic monitoring shall not exceed the maximum number of years of imprisonment or supervision
to which the inmate could be sentenced.

(B) The length of time the defendant participates in an electronic monitoring program and any good-time credit awarded
shall be credited against the defendant's sentence.

Credits
Acts of 2011, Act 570, § 104, eff. July 27,2011.

Editors' Notes

LIBRARY REFERENCES

Pardon and Parole &=64.
Westlaw Topic No. 284.
C.J.S. Pardon and Parole §§ 58 to 59.

A.C.A.§16-93-711, AR ST § 16-93-711

Current through 2012 Fiscal Sess. and 11/6/2012 election, including changes made by Ark. Code Rev. Comm. received through
11/1/2012, and emerg. eff. acts from 2013 Reg. Sess.: 7, 38, 39, 40, 41, 67, 109, 111, 135, 136, 139, 145, 147, 153, 169, 171,
176,210, 234, 276, 282, 290, 304, 308, 315, 332, 336, 350, 378, 427, 442, 457, 458, 461, 500, 504, 512, 521, 522, 528, 539,
556,557,575, 600 to 602,713,747, 969, 990,999, 1018, 1042, 1065, 1081, 1093, 1095, 1100, 1109, 1169, 1173, 1180, 1184,
1227,1241, 1271, 1302, 1311, 1315, 1334, 1405, 1413, 1444, 1497, 1498, 1500.
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West's Arkansas Code Annotated
Title 16. Practice, Procedure, and Courts
Subtitle 6. Criminal Procedure Generally (Chapters 80 to 104)
Chapter 93. Probation and Parole (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 7. Parole

A.C.A. §16-93-712
§ 16-93-712. Parole supervision

Effective: July 27, 2011
Currentness

(a)(1) The Parole Board shall establish written policies and procedures governing the supervision of parolees designed to
enhance public safety and to assist the parolees in reintegrating into society.

(2)(A) The supervision of parolees shall be based on evidence-based practices including a validated risk-needs assessment.

(B) Decisions shall target the parolee's criminal risk factors with appropriate supervision and treatment designed to reduce
the likelihood of reoffense.

(b) A parole officer shall:

(1) Investigate each case referred to him or her by the Director of the Parole Board, the Department of Community Correction,
or the prosecuting attorney;

(2) Furnish to each parolee under his or her supervision a written statement of the conditions of parole and instruct the parolee
that he or she must stay in compliance with the conditions of parole or risk revocation under § 16-93-705;

(3) Develop a case plan for each individual who is assessed as being moderate to high risk to reoffend based on the risk and
needs assessment that targets the criminal risk factors identified in the assessment, is responsive to individual characteristics,
and provides supervision of offenders according to that case plan;

(4) Stay informed of the parolee's conduct and condition through visitation, required reporting, or other methods and shall
report to the board that information upon request;

(5) Use practicable and suitable methods that are consistent with evidence-based practices to aid and encourage a parolee to
improve his or her conduct and condition and to reduce the risk of recidivism;
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(6)(A) Conduct a validated risk-needs assessment of the parolee, including without limitation criminal risk factors and specific
individual needs.

(B) The actuarial assessment shall include an initial screening and, if necessary, a comprehensive assessment;

(7) Make decisions with the assistance of the risk-needs assessment that are consistent with evidence-based practices on the
type of supervision and services necessary to each parolee; and

(8) Receive annual training on evidence-based practices and criminal risk factors, as well as instruction on how to target
these factors to reduce recidivism.

(c)(1) The department shall allocate resources, including the assignment of parole officers, to focus on moderate-risk and high-
risk offenders as determined by the validated risk-needs assessment provided in subdivision (b)(6) of this section.

(2) The department shall require each public and private treatment and service provider that receives state funds for the
treatment of or service for parolees to use evidence-based programs and practices.

(d)(1) The department shall have the authority to sanction a parolee administratively without engaging the revocation process
under § 16-93-705.

(2)(A) The department shall develop an intermediate sanctions procedure and grid to guide a parole officer in determining
the appropriate response to a violation of conditions of supervision.

(B) Intermediate sanctions administered by the department are required to conform to the sanctioning grid.

(3) Intermediate sanctions shall include without limitation:

(A) Day reporting;

(B) Community service;

(C) Increased substance abuse screening or treatment, or both;

(D) Increased monitoring, including electronic monitoring and home confinement; and

(E)() Incarceration in a county jail for no more than seven (7) days.
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(ii) Incarceration as an intermediate sanction shall not be used more than ten (10) times with an individual parolee,

and no parolee shall accumulate more than thirty (30) days incarceration as an intermediate sanction before the parole
officer files for revocation under § 16-93-706.

Credits
Acts of 2011, Act 570, § 104, eff. July 27,2011.

Editors' Notes

LIBRARY REFERENCES

Pardon and Parole &=68.
Westlaw Topic No. 284.
C.J.S. Pardon and Parole § 62.

A.C.A.§16-93-712, AR ST § 16-93-712

Current through 2012 Fiscal Sess. and 11/6/2012 election, including changes made by Ark. Code Rev. Comm. received through
11/1/2012, and emerg. eff. acts from 2013 Reg. Sess.: 7, 38, 39, 40, 41, 67, 109, 111, 135, 136, 139, 145, 147, 153, 169, 171,
176,210, 234, 276, 282,290, 304, 308, 315, 332, 336, 350, 378, 427, 442, 457, 458, 461, 500, 504, 512, 521, 522, 528, 539,
556,557,575, 600 to 602,713,747, 969, 990,999, 1018, 1042, 1065, 1081, 1093, 1095, 1100, 1109, 1169, 1173, 1180, 1184,
1227, 1241, 1271, 1302, 1311, 1315, 1334, 1405, 1413, 1444, 1497, 1498, 1500.
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2013 Arkansas Laws Act 131 (H.B. 1254)
ARKANSAS 2013 SESSION LAWS
89th GENERAL ASSEMBLY, GENERAL SESSION, 2013

Additions are indicated by Text; deletions by
Text .
Vetoes are indicated by -Text ;
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ACT 131
H.B. 1254
TECHNICAL CORRECTIONS—PAROLE BOARD RULES

AN ACT TO MAKE TECHNICAL CORRECTIONS TO § 16-93-207; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES
Subtitle
TO MAKE TECHNICAL CORRECTIONS TO § 16-93-207.
BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

SECTION 1. Arkansas Code § 16-93-207(c)(3)(B), concerning what agency shall promulgate rules that will establish a waiver
of a waiting period for an application for pardon, commutation of sentence, or remission of a fine or forfeiture, is amended
to read as follows:

<< AR ST § 16-93-207 >>

(B)(i) The Board-of Corrections Parole Board shall promulgate rules that will shall establish policies and procedures
for waiver of the waiting period.

(ii) The Board-of Corrections Parole Board may make additions, amendments, changes, or alterations to the rules
in accordance with the Arkansas Administrative Procedure Act, § 25-15-201 et seq.

SECTION 2. Arkansas Code § 16-93-207(d)(3)(B), concerning what agency shall promulgate rules that will establish a waiver
of a waiting period for an application for pardon, commutation of sentence, or remission of a fine or forfeiture, is amended
to read as follows:

<< AR ST § 16-93-207 >>

(B)(i) The Board-of Correetions Parole Board shall promulgate rules that will shall establish policies and procedures
for waiver of the waiting period.

(ii) The Board-of Corrections Parole Board may make additions, amendments, changes, or alterations to the rules
in accordance with the Arkansas Administrative Procedure Act, § 25-15-201 et seq.
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ACT 130
H.B. 1253
PAROLE—REVOCATION HEARING—WAIVER

AN ACT CONCERNING A WAIVER OF A PAROLE REVOCATION HEARING; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.
Subtitle
CONCERNING A WAIVER OF A PAROLE REVOCATION HEARING.
BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

SECTION 1. Arkansas Code § 16-93-705(c)(1), concerning the waiver of a parole revocation hearing, is amended to read
as follows:

<< AR ST § 16-93-705 >>

(©)(1)(A) A Unless a parole revocation hearing is knowingly and intelligently waived by the parolee, a parole shall not be
revoked except after a revocation hearing, which shall be conducted by the board or its designee within a reasonable period
of time after the parolee's arrest.
(B) If a waiver is granted under subdivision (c)(1)(A) of this section, the parolee may subsequently appeal the waiver to
the board.

SECTION 2. Arkansas Code § 16-93-705(e), concerning the waiver of a parole revocation hearing, is amended to read as
follows:

<< AR ST § 16-93-705 >>
(e) A preliminary hearing under subsection (b) of this section shall not be required if:
(1) The parolee waives a preliminary hearing; or

(2) Unless a parole revocation hearing is knowingly and intelligently waived by the parolee under subsection (c) of this
section, The the parole revocation hearing under subsection (c) of this section is held promptly after the arrest and reasonably
near the place where the alleged violation occurred or where the parolee was arrested.
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ACT 485
S.B. 259
SEX OFFENSES—PAROLE—ELIGIBILITY

AN ACT TO INCLUDE SEXUAL OFFENSES AND OTHER SERIOUS FELONIES AS
OFFENSES NOT ELIGIBLE FOR MANDATORY PAROLE; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.

Subtitle

TO INCLUDE SEXUAL OFFENSES AND OTHER SERIOUS FELONIES
AS OFFENSES NOT ELIGIBLE FOR MANDATORY PAROLE.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

SECTION 1. Arkansas Code § 16-93-615(b)(1), regarding certain discretionary transfers of inmates to the Department of
Community Correction by the Parole Board, is amended to read as follows:

<< AR ST § 16-93-615 >>

(b)(1) An inmate under sentence for one (1) of the following felonies shall-be is eligible for discretionary transfer to the
Department of Community Correction by the Parole Board after having served one-third ( # ) or one-half ( %2 ) of his or her
sentence, with credit for meritorious good time, depending on the seriousness determination made by the Arkansas Sentencing
Commission, or one-half ( /4 ) of the time to which his or her sentence is commuted by executive clemency, with credit for

meritorious good time:
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(A) Unless the offense is listed under § 16-93-612(e)(1), the following homicide offenses:

(i) Capital murder, § 5-10-101, or attempted capital murder;
(ii) Murder in the first degree, § 5-10—102, or attempted murder in the first degree;
(iii) Murder in the second degree, § 5—10-103;
(iv) Manslaughter, § 5-10-104;
(v) Negligent homicide, § 5-10-105; or
(vi) An offense under § 5-54-201 et seq.;
(B) Unless the offense is listed under § 16-93-612(e)(1), the following Class Y felonies:
(i) Kidnapping, § 5-11-102;
(ii) Aggravated robbery, § 5—12—103, or attempted aggravated robbery;
(>iii) Terroristic act, § 5-13-310;
(iv) Causing a catastrophe, § 5-38-202(a);
(v) Arson, § 5-38-301;
(vi) Aggravated residential burglary, § 5-39-204; or
(vii) Unlawful discharge of a firearm from a vehicle, § 5-74-107;

(C) Unless the offense is listed under § 16-93-612(e)(1), an offense for which the inmate is required upon release to
register as a sex offender under the Sex Offender Registration Act of 1997, § 12-12-901 et seq.;

(D) Battery in the first degree, § 5-13-201;
(E) Domestic battering in the first degree, § 5-26-303;
(F) Engaging in a continuing criminal enterprise, § 5-64-405; or

(G) Simultaneous possession of drugs and firearms, § 5-74—106.
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ACT 132
S.B. 242
TRAFFICKING—HUMAN TRAFFICKING ACT OF 2013

AN ACT ESTABLISHING THE HUMAN TRAFFICKING ACT OF 2013; CONCERNING
THE OFFENSE OF HUMAN TRAFFICKING; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.

Subtitle

ESTABLISHING THE HUMAN TRAFFICKING ACT OF 2013;
CONCERNING THE OFFENSE OF HUMAN TRAFFICKING.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:
SECTION 1. DO NOT CODIFY. Title.

This act shall be cited as the “Arkansas Human Trafficking Act of 2013”.

SECTION 2. Arkansas Code § 5-11-108 is repealed.

<< Repealed: AR ST § 5-11-108 >>
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SECTION 3. Arkansas Code Title 5 is amended to add a new chapter to read as follows:

Chapter 18
The Human Trafficking Act of 2013
<< AR ST § 5-18-101 >>

5-18-101. Title.
This chapter shall be known as and may be cited as the “Human Trafficking Act of 2013”.

<< AR ST § 5-18-102 >>

5-18-102. Definitions.
As used in this chapter:
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(1) “Commercial sexual activity” means a sexual act or sexually explicit performance for which anything of value is given,
promised, or received, directly or indirectly, by a person;

(2) “Debt bondage” means the status or condition of a debtor arising from a pledge by the debtor of his or her personal
services or of the personal services of a person under his or her control as a security for debt, if:

(A) The value of the debtor's personal services or of the personal services of a person under his or her control as
reasonably assessed is not applied toward the liquidation of the debt;

(B) The length and nature of the debtor's personal services or of the personal services of a person under his or her control
are not respectively limited and defined; or

(C) The principal amount of the debt does not reasonably reflect the value of the items or services for which the debt
was incurred;

(3) “Extortion” means the obtaining of property, labor, a service, credit, a commercial sexually activity, or a sexually explicit
performance from another person or of an official act of a public officer through a wrongful use of force or fear or under
color of official right;

(4) “Financial harm” means extortion of credit, criminal violation of the usury laws, or employment contracts that violate
the statutes of frauds, § 4-59-101;

(5) “Involuntary servitude” means the inducement or compulsion of a person to engage in labor, services, or commercial
sexual activity by means of:

(A) A scheme, plan, or pattern of behavior with a purpose to cause a person to believe that if he or she does not engage in
labor, services, or commercial sexual activity, he or she or another person will suffer serious physical injury or physical
restraint;

(B) Abuse or threatened abuse of the legal process;

(C) The causing of or the threat to cause serious harm to a person;

(D) Physically restraining or threatening to physically restrain another person;
(E) The kidnapping of or threat to kidnap a person;

(F) The taking of another person's personal property or real property;

(G) The knowing destruction, concealment, removal, confiscation, or possession of an actual or purported passport,
other immigration document, or other actual or purported government identification document of another person;

(H) Extortion or blackmail;

(I) Deception or fraud;

(J) Coercion, duress, or menace;
(K) Debt bondage;

(L) Peonage; or
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(M) The facilitation or control of a victim's access to an addictive controlled substance;
(6) “Labor” means work of economic or financial value;
(7) “Menace” means a possible danger or threat;
(8) “Minor” means a person less than eighteen (18) years of age;
(9) “Organization” means the same as defined in § 5-2-501;
(10) “Peonage” means holding a person against his or her will to pay off a debt;

(11) “Serious harm” means any harm, whether physical or nonphysical, including without limitation psychological, financial,
or reputational harm, that is sufficiently serious, under all the surrounding circumstances, to compel a reasonable person of
the same background and in the same circumstances as the victim to perform or to continue performing labor or service, a
commercial sex act, or a sexually explicit performance in order to avoid incurring that harm;

(12) “Service” means an act committed at the behest of, under the supervision of, or for the benefit of another person;

(13)(A) “Sex act” means any touching of the sexual or other intimate parts of another person for the purpose of gratifying
the sexual desire of a person.

(B) “Sex act” includes without limitation the touching of the person as well as touching by the person, whether directly
or through clothing;

(14)(A) “Sexually explicit performance” means an act or show, whether public or private, live, photographed, recorded, or
videotaped with a purpose to:
(i) Either:

(a) Appeal to the prurient interest; or
(b) Depict, in a patently offensive way, a sex act; and

(>i1) Do so in a way that lacks literary, artistic, political, or scientific value.

(B) “Sexually explicit performance” includes without limitation any performance that depicts a sex act by a minor or
that would create criminal liability under § 5-27-303 or § 5-27-304; and

(15) “Victim of human trafficking” means a person who has been subjected to trafficking of persons, § 5-18-103.

<< AR ST § 5-18-103 >>

5-18-103. Trafficking of persons.
(a) A person commits the offense of trafficking of persons if he or she knowingly:

(1) Recruits, harbors, transports, obtains, entices, solicits, isolates, provides, or maintains a person knowing that the person
will be subjected to involuntary servitude;
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(2) Benefits financially or benefits by receiving anything of value from participation in a venture under subdivision (a)(1)
of this section;

(3) Subjects a person to involuntary servitude; or

(4) Recruits, entices, solicits, isolates, harbors, transports, provides, maintains, or obtains a minor for commercial sexual
activity.

(b) It is not a defense to prosecution under subdivision (a)(4) of this section that the actor:
(1) Did not have knowledge of a victim's age; or

(2) Mistakenly believed a victim was not a minor.

(c)(1) Trafficking of persons is a Class A felony.

(2) Trafficking of persons is a Class Y felony if a victim was a minor at the time of the offense.

<< AR ST § 5-18-104 >>

5-18-104. Patronizing a victim of human trafficking.
(a) A person commits the offense of patronizing a victim of human trafficking if he or she knowingly engages in commercial
sexual activity with another person knowing that the other person is a victim of human trafficking.

(b)(1) Patronizing a victim of human trafficking is a Class B felony.

(2) Patronizing a victim of human trafficking is a Class A felony if the victim was a minor at the time of the offense.

<< AR ST § 5-18-105 >>

5-18-105. Enhanced liability of an organization.
In addition to any other statutorily authorized sentence or fine, an organization convicted of an offense under this chapter is
subject to any combination of the following:

(1) A suspension or revocation of a license, permit, or prior approval granted to the organization by a state or local government
agency;

(2) A court order to dissolve or reorganize; and

(3) Other relief as is equitable.

SECTION 4. Arkansas Code § 5-70-102 is amended to read as follows:
<< AR ST § 5-70-102 >>

5-70-102. Prostitution.
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(a) A person commits prostitution if in return for or in expectation of a fee he or she engages in or agrees or offers to engage
in sexual activity with any other person.

(b) Prostitution is a:
(1) Class B misdemeanor for the first offense; and

(2) Class A misdemeanor for second-and-subsequent-offenses a second or subsequent offense under this section.

(c) It is an affirmative defense to prosecution that the person engaged in an act of prostitution as a result of being a victim of
trafficking of persons, § 5-18-103.

SECTION 5. Arkansas Code § 5-70-103 is amended to read as follows:
<< AR ST § 5-70-103 >>

5-70-103. Sexual solicitation.
(a) A person commits the offense of sexual solicitation if he or she:

(1) Offers to pay a fee to a person to engage in sexual activity with him or her or another person; or

(2) Solicits or requests a person to engage in sexual activity with him or her in return for a fee.

(b) Sexual solicitation is a:

(1) Class B misdemeanor for the first offense; and
(2) Class A misdemeanor for the-second-and-stbsequent-offenses a second or subsequent offense.

(c) It is an affirmative defense to prosecution under this section that the person engaged in an act of sexual solicitation as a
result of being a victim of trafficking of persons, § 5-18—103.

SECTION 6. Arkansas Code Title 12 is amended to add a new chapter to read as follows:
Chapter 19
Human Trafficking — Prevention and Law Enforcement
<< AR ST § 12-19-101 >>

12-19-101. State Task Force for the Prevention of Human Trafficking.
(a)(1) The Attorney General may establish a State Task Force for the Prevention of Human Trafficking.

(2) The task force shall address all aspects of human trafficking, including sex trafficking and labor trafficking of both United
States citizens and foreign nationals.

(b) If established, representatives on the task force shall be appointed by the Attorney General and may include representatives
from:
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(1) The office of the Attorney General;

(2) The office of the Governor;

(3) The Department of Labor;

(4) The Department of Health;

(5) The Department of Human Services;

(6) The Arkansas Association of Chiefs of Police;

(7) The Arkansas Sheriffs' Association;

(8) The Department of Arkansas State Police;

(9) The Arkansas Prosecuting Attorneys Association;

(10) Local law enforcement; and

(11) Nongovernmental organizations such as:
(A) Those specializing in the problems of human trafficking;
(B) Those representing diverse communities disproportionally affected by human trafficking;
(C) Agencies devoted to child services and runaway services; and

(D) Academic researchers dedicated to the subject of human trafficking.

(c) If the task force is created by the Attorney General, he or she may invite federal agencies that operate in the state to be
members of the task force, including without limitation:

(1) The Federal Bureau of Investigation;
(2) United States Immigration and Customs Enforcement; and

(3) The United States Department of Labor.

(d) If the task force is created by the Attorney General, the task force shall:
(1) Develop a state plan;
(2) Coordinate the implementation of the state plan;

(3) Coordinate the collection and sharing of human trafficking data among government agencies in a manner that ensures
that the privacy of victims of human trafficking is protected and that the data collection shall respect the privacy of victims
of human trafficking;

(4) Coordinate the sharing of information between agencies to detect individuals and groups engaged in human trafficking;
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(5) Explore the establishment of state policies for time limits for the issuance of law enforcement agency endorsements as
described in 8 C.FR. § 214.11(f)(1), as it existed on January 1, 2013;

(6) Establish policies to enable state government to work with nongovernmental organizations and other elements of the
private sector to prevent human trafficking and provide assistance to victims of human trafficking who are United States
citizens or foreign nationals;

(7) Evaluate various approaches used by state and local governments to increase public awareness of human trafficking,
including trafficking of United States citizens and foreign national victims;

(8) Develop curriculum and train law enforcement agencies, prosecutors, public defenders, judges, and others involved in
the criminal and juvenile justice systems on:

(A) Offenses under the Arkansas Human Trafficking Act of 2013, § 5-18-101 et seq.;

(B) Methods used in identifying victims of human trafficking who are United States citizens or foreign nationals,
including preliminary interview techniques and appropriate questioning methods;

(C) Methods for prosecuting human traffickers;

(D) Methods of increasing effective collaboration with nongovernmental organizations and other relevant social service
organizations in the course of investigating and prosecuting a human trafficking case;

(E) Methods for protecting the rights of victims of human trafficking, taking into account the need to consider human
rights and special needs of women and minors;

(F) The necessity of treating victims of human trafficking as crime victims rather than criminals; and
(G) Methods for promoting the safety of victims of human trafficking; and

(9) Submit a report of its findings and recommendations to the Governor, the Speaker of the House of Representatives, and
the President Pro Tempore of the Senate.

SECTION 7. Arkansas Code § 16-93-618(a)(1), concerning sentencing for certain Class Y felonies, is amended to read as
follows:

<< AR ST § 16-93-618 >>

(a)(1) Notwithstanding any law allowing the award of meritorious good time or any other law to the contrary, any a person
who is found guilty of or pleads guilty or nolo contendere to subdivisions (a)(1)(A)—H) (I) of this section shall not be eligible
for parole or community punishment correction transfer, except as provided in subdivision (a)(3) or subsection (c) of this
section, until the person serves seventy percent (70%) of the term of imprisonment to which the person is sentenced, including
a sentence prescribed under § 5—4-501:

(A) Murder in the first degree, § 5-10-102;

(B) Kidnapping, Class Y felony, § 5-11-102;
(C) Aggravated robbery, § 5-12-103;

(D) Rape, § 5-14-103;
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(E) Trafficking of persons, Class Y felony, § 5-18-103;

(E) (F) Causing a catastrophe, § 5-38-202(a);

F) (G) Manufacturing methamphetamine, § 5-64—423(a) or the former § 5-64-401;
6) (H) Trafficking methamphetamine, § 5-64-440(b)(1); or

H (I) Possession of drug paraphernalia with the purpose to manufacture methamphetamine, the former § 5-64—403(c)(5).

SECTION 8. Arkansas Code Title 16, Chapter 118, is amended to add a section to read as follows:
<< AR ST § 16-118-109 >>

16-118-109. Civil cause of action for victims of human trafficking.
(a) As used in this section, “victim of human trafficking” means the same as defined in § 5—18-102.

(b) An individual who is a victim of human trafficking may bring a civil action in any appropriate state court.

(c) The court may award actual damages, compensatory damages, punitive damages, injunctive relief, or any other appropriate
relief.

(d) A prevailing plaintiff shall also be awarded attorney's fees and costs.

(e) Three (3) times actual damages shall be awarded on proof of actual damages when a defendant's acts were willful and
malicious.

(®)(1) A statute of limitation period imposed for the filing of a civil action under this section will not begin to run until the
plaintiff discovers that the human trafficking incident occurred and that the defendant caused, was responsible for, or profited
from the human trafficking incident.

(2) If the plaintiff is a minor, the limitation period will not begin until he or she is eighteen (18) years of age.

(3) If the plaintiff is under a disability at the time the cause of action accrues so that it is impossible or impracticable for him
or her to bring an action, the time of the disability will not be part of the time limited for the commencement of the action.

(4) If the plaintiff is subject to threats, intimidation, manipulation, or fraud perpetrated by the defendant or by any person
acting in the interest of the defendant, the time period during which the threats, intimidation, manipulation, or fraud occurred
will not be part of the statute of limitations for the commencement of this action.

(5) A defendant is estopped to assert a defense of the statute of limitations when the expiration of the statute of limitations is
due to conduct by the defendant that induced the plaintiff to delay the filing of the action or placed the plaintiff under duress.

APPROVED: 2/19/2013
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ACT 1335
H.B. 1350
CORRECTIONAL INSTITUTIONS—CRIMINAL DEFENDANTS

AN ACT AMENDING STATUTES CONCERNING CRIMINAL DEFENDANTS, THE DEPARTMENT OF
CORRECTION, AND THE DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNITY CORRECTION; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.

Subtitle

AMENDING STATUTES CONCERNING CRIMINAL DEFENDANTS, THE DEPARTMENT
OF CORRECTION, AND THE DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNITY CORRECTION.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

SECTION 1. Arkansas Code § 12-27-127(a), regarding judicial transfer to the Department of Community Correction, is
amended to read as follows:

<< AR ST § 12-27-127 >>

(a) All commitments must shall specify that the inmate is to be judicially transferred to the Department of Community

Correction purstantto-§16-93—1206(b)(3) or the commitment will be treated as a commitment to the Department of Correction
and subject to regular transfer eligibility.

SECTION 2. Arkansas Code § 16-90—402 is amended to read as follows:
<< AR ST § 16-90-402 >>

16-90—402. Delivery of defendant and copy of judgment to proper officials.

(a)(1) The-sheriff;in In executing a judgment of confinement, the county sheriff shall deliver the defendant with a certified;
standardized copy of the judgment-and-commitment sentencing order to the-officials—of the Department of Correction,
Department of Community Correction, or to thejatler another detention facility, as indicated in the judgment sentencing order.

(2) If electronic filing of court records has been implemented by the circuit clerk in the county where the defendant's
conviction occurred, the standardized copy of the sentencing order may be electronically transmitted by the circuit clerk to
the Department of Correction, the Department of Community Correction, or to another detention facility, as indicated in the
sentencing order.
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(b) The standardized copy of the sentencing order shall be developed by representatives from the Department of Correction,
the ArkansasJudieial- Council;-and-the-Arkansas Proseeuting-Attorneys-Assoeciation Administrative Office of the Courts, the
Arkansas Sentencing Commission, and the Prosecutor Coordinator's office.

SECTION 3. Arkansas Code § 16-90-1304(b)(1) and (2), regarding certain time frames involved in an inmate's discharge date,
is amended to read as follows:

<< AR ST § 16-90-1304 >>

(b)(1) No less than seven+(7) forty-five (45) days before the discharge date, the Department of Community Correction shall
submit notice to:
(A) The prosecuting attorney,; and

(B) The Parole Board.

(2) Within thirty (30) days before the discharge date, the prosecuting attorney or the Parole Board may file a petition in
the sentencing court stating any reasonable objection to early discharge under this subchapter warranting the forfeiture of
earned-discharge credit.

SECTION 4. Arkansas Code § 16-93-618(d), regarding the reward of meritorious good time, is amended to read as follows:
<< AR ST § 16-93-618 >>

(d) The awarding of meritorious good time under § 12-29-201 or § 12-29-202 shalt-not-be-apptlicable does not apply to
persons sentenced under subdivisions a)(H(A)y—H) (a)(1)(A)—(E) of this section.

SECTION 5. Arkansas Code § 16-93-708(a)(1), concerning the definition of “approved electronic monitoring or supervising
device”, is amended to read as follows:

<< AR ST § 16-93-708 >>

(1) “Approved electronic monitoring or supervising device” means any an electronic device approved by the Board of
Corrections that meets the minimum Federal Communications Commission regulations and requirements, and that is-limited

1

ence-in—the-home utilizes available

technology that is able to track a person's location and monitor his or her location;

SECTION 6. Arkansas Code § 16-93—711(b)(1)(B), regarding who notifies the Parole Board regarding inmates eligible for
electronic monitoring of parolees, is amended to read as follows:

<< AR ST § 16-93-711 >>

(B) The Director of the Department of Correction or-the-Director-of the Department-of Community-Correction shall make the

facts described in subdivision (b)(1)(A) of this section known to the Parole Board for consideration of electronic monitoring.
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SECTION 7. Arkansas Code § 19-5-1139 is amended to read as follows:
<< AR ST § 19-5-1139 >>

19-5-1139. Best Practices Fund.
(a) There is created on the books of the Treasurer of State, the Auditor of State, and the Chief Fiscal Officer of the State a trust
fund to be known as the “Best Practices Fund”.

(b) The Best Practices Fund may consist of the proceeds from the payment of parole or probation supervision fees under §
16-93-104(a).

(c)(1) Expenditures from the Best Practices Fund shall be used to establish and maintain programs and services that implement
practices that are proven to reduce the risk of having repeat offenders or recidivism, including programs that address treatment
needs of offenders.

(2) Programs funded by the Best Practices Fund, whether provided by the Department of Community Correction; or another
state agency; or contracted with a private vendor, shall meet criteria promulgated in Department of Community Correction
rules that establish evidence-based practices.

(3)(A) The funds deposited into the Best Practices Fund supplement and do not replace the state and local resources
that are currently directed toward offender rehabilitation programs through the Department of Community Correction, the
Department of Human Services, or any other state agency.

(B) Any An expenditure from the General Revenue Fund Account of the State Apportionment Fund or the Community
Correction Revolving Fund shall not be reduced based on the availability of funds in the Best Practices Fund.

Is/Williams

APPROVED: 4/18/2013
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ACT 1415
S.B. 860
PAROLE—VIOLATIONS—SANCTIONS

AN ACT CONCERNING SANCTIONS ADMINISTERED TO A PAROLE VIOLATOR; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.
Subtitle
CONCERNING SANCTIONS ADMINISTERED TO A PAROLE VIOLATOR.
BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

SECTION 1. Arkansas Code § 16-93-712(d)(3)(E), concerning parole supervision and the sanctions available for parole
violators, is amended to read as follows:

<< AR ST § 16-93-712 >>
(E)(i) Incarceration in a county jail for no more than seven (7) days.

(i1) Incarceration as an intermediate sanction shall not be used more than ten(40) seven (7) times with an
individual parolee, and no parolee shall accumulate more than thirty(30) twenty-one (21) days incarceration as
an intermediate sanction before the parole officer files for revocation under § 16-93-706.

/s/Rapert

APPROVED: 4/22/2013

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Florida Statutes Annotated
Title XLVII. Criminal Procedure and Corrections (Chapters 900-999) (Refs & Annos)
Chapter 921. Sentence (Refs & Annos)

West's F.S.A. § 921.22
921.22. Determination of exact period of imprisonment by Parole Commission
Currentness
Upon the recommendation of the Department of Corrections, the Parole Commission shall have the authority to determine the

exact period of imprisonment to be served by defendants sentenced under the provisions of s. 921.18, but a prisoner shall not
be held in custody longer than the maximum sentence provided for the offense.

Credits
Laws 1957, c. 57-366, § 6; Laws 1961, c. 61-530, § 18; Laws 1970, c. 70-339, § 129; Laws 1970, c. 70-441, § 1; Laws 1977,
c.77-120, § 17; Laws 1979, c. 79-3, § 29; Laws 1988, c. 88-122, § 46.

Editors' Notes
LAW REVIEW AND JOURNAL COMMENTARIES

Parole in Florida. Vernon G. Clark, 11 U.Fla.L Rev. 68 (1958).

LIBRARY REFERENCES
Pardon and Parole &= 45.
Westlaw Topic No. 284.
C.J.S. Pardon and Parole § 41.
RESEARCH REFERENCES
Encyclopedias

Noncapital Felony--Determination of Period of Imprisonment by Parole Commission, Fla. Jur. 2d Criminal Law Procedure
§ 2269.

Treatises and Practice Aids

16 Florida Practice Series § 1:62, Structured Sentencing, Guidelines, and the Criminal Punishment Code.

Notes of Decisions (4)
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Current with chapters in effect from the 2013 1st Reg.Sess. of the 23rd Legislature through July 2, 2013
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West's Florida Statutes Annotated
Title XLVII. Criminal Procedure and Corrections (Chapters 900-999) (Refs & Annos)
Chapter 944. State Correctional System (Refs & Annos)

West's F.S.A. § 944.275
944.275. Gain-time

Currentness

(1) The department is authorized to grant deductions from sentences in the form of gain-time in order to encourage satisfactory
prisoner behavior, to provide incentive for prisoners to participate in productive activities, and to reward prisoners who perform
outstanding deeds or services.

(2)(a) The department shall establish for each prisoner sentenced to a term of years a “maximum sentence expiration date,”
which shall be the date when the sentence or combined sentences imposed on a prisoner will expire. In establishing this date,
the department shall reduce the total time to be served by any time lawfully credited.

(b) When a prisoner with an established maximum sentence expiration date is sentenced to an additional term or terms without
having been released from custody, the department shall extend the maximum sentence expiration date by the length of time
imposed in the new sentence or sentences, less lawful credits.

(c) When an escaped prisoner or a parole violator is returned to the custody of the department, the maximum sentence expiration
date in effect when the escape occurred or the parole was effective shall be extended by the amount of time the prisoner was
not in custody plus the time imposed in any new sentence or sentences, but reduced by any lawful credits.

(3)(a) The department shall also establish for each prisoner sentenced to a term of years a “tentative release date” which shall
be the date projected for the prisoner's release from custody by virtue of gain-time granted or forfeited as described in this
section. The initial tentative release date shall be determined by deducting basic gain-time granted from the maximum sentence
expiration date. Other gain-time shall be applied when granted or restored to make the tentative release date proportionately
earlier; and forfeitures of gain-time, when ordered, shall be applied to make the tentative release date proportionately later.

(b) When an initial tentative release date is reestablished because of additional sentences imposed before the prisoner has
completely served all prior sentences, any gain-time granted during service of a prior sentence and not forfeited shall be applied.

(c) The tentative release date may not be later than the maximum sentence expiration date.
(4)(a) As a means of encouraging satisfactory behavior, the department shall grant basic gain-time at the rate of 10 days for

each month of each sentence imposed on a prisoner, subject to the following:
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1. Portions of any sentences to be served concurrently shall be treated as a single sentence when determining basic gain-time.

2. Basic gain-time for a partial month shall be prorated on the basis of a 30-day month.

3. When a prisoner receives a new maximum sentence expiration date because of additional sentences imposed, basic gain-time
shall be granted for the amount of time the maximum sentence expiration date was extended.

(b) For each month in which an inmate works diligently, participates in training, uses time constructively, or otherwise engages
in positive activities, the department may grant incentive gain-time in accordance with this paragraph. The rate of incentive
gain-time in effect on the date the inmate committed the offense which resulted in his or her incarceration shall be the inmate's
rate of eligibility to earn incentive gain-time throughout the period of incarceration and shall not be altered by a subsequent
change in the severity level of the offense for which the inmate was sentenced.

1. For sentences imposed for offenses committed prior to January 1, 1994, up to 20 days of incentive gain-time may be granted.
If granted, such gain-time shall be credited and applied monthly.

2. For sentences imposed for offenses committed on or after January 1, 1994, and before October 1, 1995:

a. For offenses ranked in offense severity levels 1 through 7, under s. 921.0012 or s. 921.0013, up to 25 days of incentive gain-
time may be granted. If granted, such gain-time shall be credited and applied monthly.

b. For offenses ranked in offense severity levels 8,9, and 10, under s. 921.0012 or s. 921.0013, up to 20 days of incentive gain-
time may be granted. If granted, such gain-time shall be credited and applied monthly.

3. For sentences imposed for offenses committed on or after October 1, 1995, the department may grant up to 10 days per
month of incentive gain-time, except that no prisoner is eligible to earn any type of gain-time in an amount that would cause
a sentence to expire, end, or terminate, or that would result in a prisoner's release, prior to serving a minimum of 85 percent
of the sentence imposed. For purposes of this subparagraph, credits awarded by the court for time physically incarcerated shall
be credited toward satisfaction of 85 percent of the sentence imposed. Except as provided by this section, a prisoner shall not
accumulate further gain-time awards at any point when the tentative release date is the same as that date at which the prisoner
will have served 85 percent of the sentence imposed. State prisoners sentenced to life imprisonment shall be incarcerated for
the rest of their natural lives, unless granted pardon or clemency.

(c) An inmate who performs some outstanding deed, such as saving a life or assisting in recapturing an escaped inmate, or who
in some manner performs an outstanding service that would merit the granting of additional deductions from the term of his or
her sentence may be granted meritorious gain-time of from 1 to 60 days.

(d) Notwithstanding subparagraphs (b)1. and 2., the education program manager shall recommend, and the Department of
Corrections may grant, a one-time award of 60 additional days of incentive gain-time to an inmate who is otherwise eligible
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and who successfully completes requirements for and is awarded a general educational development certificate or vocational
certificate. Under no circumstances may an inmate receive more than 60 days for educational attainment pursuant to this section.

(5) When a prisoner is found guilty of an infraction of the laws of this state or the rules of the department, gain-time may be
forfeited according to law.

(6)(a) Basic gain-time under this section shall be computed on and applied to all sentences imposed for offenses committed on
or after July 1, 1978, and before January 1, 1994.

(b) All incentive and meritorious gain-time is granted according to this section.

(c) All additional gain-time previously awarded under former subsections (2) and (3) and all forfeitures ordered prior to the
effective date of the act that created this section shall remain in effect and be applied in establishing an initial tentative release
date.

(7) The department shall adopt rules to implement the granting, forfeiture, restoration, and deletion of gain-time.

Credits

Laws 1978, c. 78-304, § 1; Laws 1979, c. 79-3, § 57; Laws 1983, c. 83-131, § 8; Laws 1991, c. 91-281, § 3; Laws 1993, c.
93-406, § 26; Laws 1995, c. 95-184, § 26; Laws 1995, c. 95-294, § 2. Amended by Laws 1996, c. 96-388, § 59, eff. July 1,
1996; Laws 1997, c. 97-102, § 1853, eff. July 1, 1997.

Notes of Decisions (140)

West's F. S. A. § 944.275,FL ST § 944.275
Current with chapters in effect from the 2013 1st Reg.Sess. of the 23rd Legislature through July 2,2013
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West's Florida Statutes Annotated
Title XLVII. Criminal Procedure and Corrections (Chapters 900-999) (Refs & Annos)
Chapter 947. Parole Commission (Refs & Annos)

West's F.S.A. § 947.16
947.16. Eligibility for parole; initial parole interviews; powers and duties of commission

Effective: July 1, 2013
Currentness

(1) Every person who has been convicted of a felony or who has been convicted of one or more misdemeanors and whose
sentence or cumulative sentences total 12 months or more, who is confined in execution of the judgment of the court, and whose
record during confinement or while under supervision is good, shall, unless otherwise provided by law, be eligible for interview
for parole consideration of her or his cumulative sentence structure as follows:

(a) An inmate who has been sentenced for an indeterminate term or a term of 3 years or less shall have an initial interview
conducted by a hearing examiner within 8 months after the initial date of confinement in execution of the judgment.

(b) An inmate who has been sentenced for a minimum term in excess of 3 years but of less than 6 years shall have an initial
interview conducted by a hearing examiner within 14 months after the initial date of confinement in execution of the judgment.

(c) An inmate who has been sentenced for a minimum term of 6 or more years but other than for a life term shall have an initial
interview conducted by a hearing examiner within 24 months after the initial date of confinement in execution of the judgment.

(d) An inmate who has been sentenced for a term of life shall have an initial interview conducted by a hearing examiner within
5 years after the initial date of confinement in execution of the judgment.

(e) An inmate who has been convicted and sentenced under ss. 958.011-958.15, or any other inmate who has been determined
by the department to be a youthful offender, shall be interviewed by a parole examiner within 8 months after the initial date
of confinement in execution of the judgment.

(2) The following special types of cases shall have their initial parole interview as follows:

(a) An initial interview may be postponed for a period not to exceed 90 days. Such postponement shall be for good cause, which
shall include, but need not be limited to, the need for the department to obtain a presentence or postsentence investigation report
or a probation or parole or mandatory conditional release violation report. The reason for postponement shall be noted in writing
and included in the official record. No postponement for good cause shall result in an initial interview being conducted later
than 90 days after the inmate's initially scheduled initial interview.
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(b) An initial interview may be deferred for any inmate who is out to court. Such deferral shall not result in an initial interview
being conducted later than 90 days after the department provides written notice to the commission that the inmate has been
returned from court.

(c) An initial interview may be deferred for any inmate confined in any appropriate treatment facility within the state, public or
private, by virtue of transfer from the department under any applicable law. Such deferral shall not result in an initial interview
being conducted later than 90 days after the department provides written notice to the commission that the inmate has been
returned to the department.

(d) An inmate designated a mentally disordered sex offender shall have an initial interview conducted within 90 days of receiving
written notification by the department to the commission of the need for such interview and that the inmate's file contains all
investigative reports deemed necessary by the commission to conduct such interview.

(e) Any inmate who has been determined to be an incapacitated person pursuant to s. 744.331 shall have an initial interview
conducted within 90 days after the date the commission is provided with written notice that the inmate has been restored to
capacity by the court.

(f) An initial interview may be held at the discretion of the commission after the entry of a commission order to revoke parole
or mandatory conditional release.

(g) For purposes of determining eligibility for parole interview and release, the mandatory minimum portion of a concurrent
sentence will begin on the date the sentence begins to run as provided in s. 921.161. The mandatory minimum portions
of consecutive sentences shall be served at the beginning of the maximum sentence as established by the Department of
Corrections. Each mandatory minimum portion of consecutive sentences shall be served consecutively; provided, that in no
case shall a sentence begin to run before the date of imposition. The commission shall conduct an initial interview for an inmate
serving a mandatory minimum sentence according to the following schedule:

1. An inmate serving a mandatory term of 7 years or less shall have an initial interview no sooner than 6 months prior to the
expiration of the mandatory minimum portion of the sentence.

2. An inmate serving a mandatory term in excess of 7 years but of less than 15 years shall have an initial interview no sooner
than 12 months prior to the expiration of the mandatory minimum portion of the sentence.

3. An inmate serving a mandatory term of 15 years or more shall have an initial interview no sooner than 18 months prior to
the expiration of the mandatory minimum portion of the sentence.

(h) If an inmate is serving a sentence imposed by a county or circuit court of this state concurrently with a sentence imposed
by a court of another state or of the United States, and if the department has designated the correctional institution of the other
jurisdiction as the place for reception and confinement of such person, the inmate so released to another jurisdiction shall be
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eligible for consideration for parole, except that the commission shall determine the presumptive parole release date and the
effective parole release date by requesting such person's record file from the receiving jurisdiction. Upon receiving such records,
the commission panel assigned by the chair shall determine such release dates based on the relevant information in that file.
The commission may concur with the parole release decision of the jurisdiction granting parole and accepting supervision. The
provisions of s. 947.174 do not apply to an inmate serving a concurrent sentence in another jurisdiction pursuant to s. 921.16(2).

(3) Notwithstanding the provisions of ss. 775.021 and 921.16, if an inmate has received a consecutive sentence or sentences
imposed by a court or courts of this state, the inmate shall be eligible for consideration for parole, unless otherwise expressly
prohibited by law.

(4) A person who has become eligible for an initial parole interview and who may, according to the objective parole guidelines of
the commission, be granted parole shall be placed on parole in accordance with the provisions of this law; except that, in any case
of a person convicted of murder, robbery, burglary of a dwelling or burglary of a structure or conveyance in which a human being
is present, aggravated assault, aggravated battery, kidnapping, sexual battery or attempted sexual battery, incest or attempted
incest, an unnatural and lascivious act or an attempted unnatural and lascivious act, lewd and lascivious behavior, assault or
aggravated assault when a sexual act is completed or attempted, battery or aggravated battery when a sexual act is completed
or attempted, arson, or any felony involving the use of a firearm or other deadly weapon or the use of intentional violence, at
the time of sentencing the judge may enter an order retaining jurisdiction over the offender for review of a commission release
order. This jurisdiction of the trial court judge is limited to the first one-third of the maximum sentence imposed. When any
person is convicted of two or more felonies and concurrent sentences are imposed, then the jurisdiction of the trial court judge as
provided herein applies to the first one-third of the maximum sentence imposed for the highest felony of which the person was
convicted. When any person is convicted of two or more felonies and consecutive sentences are imposed, then the jurisdiction
of the trial court judge as provided herein applies to one-third of the total consecutive sentences imposed.

(a) In retaining jurisdiction for the purposes of this act, the trial court judge shall state the justification with individual
particularity, and such justification shall be made a part of the court record. A copy of such justification shall be delivered to
the department together with the commitment issued by the court pursuant to s. 944.17.

(b) Gain-time as provided for by law shall accrue, except that an offender over whom the trial court has retained jurisdiction as
provided herein shall not be released during the first one-third of her or his sentence by reason of gain-time.

(c) In such a case of retained jurisdiction, the commission, within 30 days after the entry of its release order, shall send notice of
its release order to the original sentencing judge and to the appropriate state attorney. The release order shall be made contingent
upon entry of an order by the appropriate circuit judge relinquishing jurisdiction as provided for in paragraphs (d) and (f). If the
original sentencing judge is no longer in service, such notice shall be sent to the chief judge of the circuit in which the offender
was sentenced. The chief judge may designate any circuit judge within the circuit to act in the place of the original sentencing
judge. Such notice shall stay the time requirements of s. 947.1745.

(d) Within 10 days after receipt of the notice provided for in paragraph (c), the original sentencing judge or her or his replacement
shall notify the commission as to whether or not the court further desires to retain jurisdiction. If the original sentencing judge
or her or his replacement does not so notify the commission within the 10-day period or notifies the commission that the court
does not desire to retain jurisdiction, then the commission may dispose of the matter as it sees fit.
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(e) Upon receipt of notice of intent to retain jurisdiction from the original sentencing judge or her or his replacement, the
commission shall, within 10 days, forward to the court its release order, the findings of fact, the parole hearing examiner's report
and recommendation, and all supporting information upon which its release order was based.

(f) Within 30 days of receipt of the items listed in paragraph (e), the original sentencing judge or her or his replacement shall
review the order, findings, and evidence; and, if the judge finds that the order of the commission is not based on competent
substantial evidence or that the parole is not in the best interest of the community or the inmate, the court may vacate the release
order. The judge or her or his replacement shall notify the commission of the decision of the court, and, if the release order
is vacated, such notification shall contain the evidence relied on and the reasons for denial. A copy of such notice shall be
sent to the inmate.

(g) The decision of the original sentencing judge or, in her or his absence, the chief judge of the circuit to vacate any parole
release order as provided in this section is not appealable. Each inmate whose parole release order has been vacated by the
court shall be reinterviewed within 2 years after the date of receipt of the vacated release order and every 2 years thereafter,
or earlier by order of the court retaining jurisdiction. However, each inmate whose parole release order has been vacated by
the court and who has been:

1. Convicted of murder or attempted murder;

2. Convicted of sexual battery or attempted sexual battery;

3. Convicted of kidnapping or attempted kidnapping;

4. Convicted of robbery, burglary of a dwelling, burglary of a structure or conveyance, or breaking and entering, or the attempt
thereof of any of these crimes, in which a human being is present and a sexual act is attempted or completed; or

5. Sentenced to a 25-year minimum mandatory sentence previously provided in s. 775.082,

shall be reinterviewed once within 7 years after the date of receipt of the vacated release order and once every 7 years thereafter,
if the commission finds that it is not reasonable to expect that parole would be granted during the following years and states
the bases for the finding in writing. For an inmate who is within 7 years of his or her tentative release date, the commission
may establish a reinterview date before the 7-year schedule.

(h) An inmate whose parole release order has been vacated by the court may not be given a presumptive parole release date
during the period of retention of jurisdiction by the court. During such period, a new effective parole release date may be
authorized at the discretion of the commission without further interview unless an interview is requested by no fewer than two
commissioners. Any such new effective parole release date must be reviewed in accordance with the provisions of paragraphs

(¢), (d), (o), (), and (g).
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(5) Within 90 days after any interview for parole, the inmate shall be advised of the presumptive parole release date. Subsequent
to the establishment of the presumptive parole release date, the commission may, at its discretion, review the official record or
conduct additional interviews with the inmate. However, the presumptive parole release date may not be changed except for
reasons of institutional conduct or the acquisition of new information not available at the time of the initial interview.

(6) This section as amended by chapter 82-171, Laws of Florida, shall apply only to those persons convicted on or after the
effective date of chapter 82-171; and this section as in effect before being amended by chapter 82-171 shall apply to any person
convicted before the effective date of chapter 82-171.

Credits

Laws 1941, c. 20519, § 12; Laws 1943, ¢. 21775, § 3; Laws 1971, c. 71-110, §§ 1, 2; Laws 1974, c. 74-122, § 2; Laws 1977,
c.77-120, § 88; Laws 1978, ¢c.78-318, § 1; Laws 1978, c. 78-417, § 11; Laws 1979, c. 79-3, § 106; Laws 1979, c. 79-42, § 5;
Laws 1979, c. 79-164, § 195; Laws 1979, c. 79-310, § 2; Laws 1979, c. 79-341, § 8; Laws 1981, c. 81-30, § 1; Laws 1981, c.
81-322,§ 4; Laws 1982,¢.82-171,§8 9, 19; Laws 1982, c. 82-401, 8§ 1,2; Laws 1983, ¢c. 83-131, § 9; Laws 1983, c. 83-216, §
189; Laws 1985, c. 85-107, § 1; Laws 1985, c. 85-295, § 3. Amended by Laws 1989, c. 89-96, § 111; Laws 1997, c. 97-102, §
1673, eff. July 1, 1997; Laws 1997, c. 97-289, § 1, eff. Oct. 1, 1997; Laws 2010, c. 2010-95, § 1, eff. July 1,2010; Laws 2010,
c.2010-117, § 45, eff. July 1, 2010; Laws 2013, ¢c.2013-119, § 1, eff. July 1, 2013.

Editors' Notes
LAW REVIEW AND JOURNAL COMMENTARIES

Administrative Procedure Act due process in parole determinations. 56 Fla.B.J. 285 (1982).

Criminal law reform--1971. 45 Fla.B.J. 405 (1971).

Due process in correctional administrative hearings. Thompson H. Gooding, Jr., 33 U.Fla.L.Rev. 151 (1981).
Instruction as to possibility of parole as reversible error. 7 Miami L.Q. 120 (1952).

Parole. James H. Burke, Jr., 57 Fla.B.J. 245 (1983).

Probation in Florida. Vernon W. Clark, 14 U Fla.L Rev. 213 (1961).

LIBRARY REFERENCES

Pardon and Parole &=44 to 62.

Prisons &=243.

Westlaw Topic Nos. 284, 310.

C.J.S. Pardon and Parole §§ 44 to 57.

C.J.S. Prisons and Rights of Prisoners §§ 142 to 144, 147 to 151.

RESEARCH REFERENCES
ALR Library

143 ALR 1486, Statute Conferring Power Upon Administrative Body in Respect to the Parole of Prisoners, or the Discharge
of Parolees, as Unconstitutional Infringement of Power of Executive or Judiciary.
101 ALR 1402, Constitutionality of Statute Conferring on Court Power to Suspend Sentence.
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Encyclopedias

Retention of Jurisdiction, Fla. Jur. 2d Criminal Law Procedure § 2430.

Generally; Effect of Sentencing Guidelines, Fla. Jur. 2d Criminal Law Procedure § 2984.

Persons Subject to Consecutive Sentences, Fla. Jur. 2d Criminal Law Procedure § 2986.

Limited Jurisdiction, Fla. Jur. 2d Criminal Law Procedure § 2990.

Necessity for Statement Justifying Retention of Jurisdiction, Fla. Jur. 2d Criminal Law Procedure § 2991.
Effect of Court's Retention of Jurisdiction, Fla. Jur. 2d Criminal Law Procedure § 2993.

Inmate's Request for Review by Parole Commission, Fla. Jur. 2d Criminal Law Procedure § 3006.
Review at Discretion of Parole Commission, Fla. Jur. 2d Criminal Law Procedure § 3008.

Forms

Florida Pleading and Practice Forms § 96:30, Statutory Judgment and Sentence Form.
Florida Pleading and Practice Forms § 96:40, Motion to Reduce or Suspend Sentence--Sentence Where No Mitigation Shown.

Treatises and Practice Aids

11 Florida Practice Series App. G, Judgment and Sentence Forms, Including Costs.

16 Florida Practice Series § 1:44, Judicial Discretion in the Imposition of Sentence--Post-Sentence Jurisdiction.
16 Florida Practice Series § 12:19, Parole--Eligibility for Parole.

16 Florida Practice Series § 12:20, Parole--Presumptive Parole Release Date.

Notes of Decisions (328)

West's F. S. A. § 947.16, FL ST § 947.16
Current with chapters in effect from the 2013 1st Reg.Sess. of the 23rd Legislature through July 2,2013
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West's Florida Statutes Annotated
Title XLVII. Criminal Procedure and Corrections (Chapters 900-999) (Refs & Annos)
Chapter 947. Parole Commission (Refs & Annos)

West's F.S.A. § 947.18
947.18. Conditions of parole

Effective: October 1, 2008
Currentness

No person shall be placed on parole merely as a reward for good conduct or efficient performance of duties assigned in prison.
No person shall be placed on parole until and unless the commission finds that there is reasonable probability that, if the person
is placed on parole, he or she will live and conduct himself or herself as a respectable and law-abiding person and that the
person's release will be compatible with his or her own welfare and the welfare of society. No person shall be placed on parole
unless and until the commission is satisfied that he or she will be suitably employed in self-sustaining employment or that he
or she will not become a public charge. The commission shall determine the terms upon which such person shall be granted
parole. If the person's conviction was for a controlled substance violation, one of the conditions must be that the person submit
to random substance abuse testing intermittently throughout the term of supervision, upon the direction of the correctional
probation officer as defined in s. 943.10(3). In addition to any other lawful condition of parole, the commission may make the
payment of the debt due and owing to the state under s. 960.17 or the payment of the attorney's fees and costs due and owing
to the state under s. 938.29 a condition of parole subject to modification based on change of circumstances. If the person's
conviction was for a crime that was found to have been committed for the purpose of benefiting, promoting, or furthering the
interests of a criminal gang, one of the conditions must be that the person be prohibited from knowingly associating with other
criminal gang members or associates, except as authorized by law enforcement officials, prosecutorial authorities, or the court,
for the purpose of aiding in the investigation of criminal activity.

Credits

Laws 1941, c. 20519, § 14; Laws 1977, c. 77-452, § 4; Laws 1983, c. 83-256, § 2; Laws 1988, c. 88-122, § 72; Laws 1990,
¢.90-337, § 15. Amended by Laws 1996, c. 96-232, § 4, eff. Jan. 1, 1997; Laws 1997, c. 97-102, § 1875, eff. July 1, 1997;
Laws 1997, c. 97-271, § 43, eff. July 1, 1997; Laws 2003, c. 2003-402, § 135, eff. July 1, 2004; Laws 2008, c. 2008-238, §
22, eff. Oct. 1, 2008.

Editors' Notes
LAW REVIEW AND JOURNAL COMMENTARIES
Concern renewed for victim. Eric Smith, 52 Fla.B.J. 16 (1978).
LIBRARY REFERENCES

Pardon and Parole &=64.1.
Westlaw Topic No. 284.
C.J.S. Pardon and Parole § 59.
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RESEARCH REFERENCES
Encyclopedias

Factors that May be Considered in Granting or Denying Parole; Invalid Factors, Fla. Jur. 2d Criminal Law Procedure § 2979.
Necessity to Explain Consideration of Aggravating Circumstances, Fla. Jur. 2d Criminal Law Procedure § 3005.
Particular Terms and Conditions, Fla. Jur. 2d Criminal Law Procedure § 3012.

Treatises and Practice Aids

16 Florida Practice Series § 12:22, Parole--Terms and Conditions of Parole.

Notes of Decisions (35)

West's F. S. A. § 947.18, FL ST § 947.18
Current with chapters in effect from the 2013 1st Reg.Sess. of the 23rd Legislature through July 2,2013
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West's Florida Statutes Annotated
Title XLVII. Criminal Procedure and Corrections (Chapters 900-999) (Refs & Annos)
Chapter 947. Parole Commission (Refs & Annos)

West's F.S.A. § 947.19
947.19. Terms of parole

Currentness

(1) The commission, upon authorizing an effective parole release date, shall specify in writing the terms and conditions of the
parole, a certified copy of which shall be given to the parolee.

(2) A parolee may, within 120 days of receipt of the certified copy of the terms and conditions of parole, request that the
commission modify the terms and conditions of parole; the parolee must specify in writing the reasons for requesting such
modifications.

(3) A panel of no fewer than two commissioners appointed by the chair shall consider requests for review of the terms and
conditions of parole, render a written decision to continue or to modify the terms and conditions of parole, specifying the reasons
therefor, and inform the parolee of the decision in writing within 30 days of the date of receipt of request for review. Such panel
shall not include those commissioners who authorized the original conditions of parole.

(4) During any period of requested review of terms and conditions of parole, the parolee shall be subject to the authorized terms
and conditions of parole until such time according to the provisions of this section a decision is made to continue or modify
the terms and conditions of parole.

Credits
Laws 1941, c. 20519, § 15; Laws 1945, c. 22858, § 7; Laws 1978, c. 78-417, § 17; Laws 1979, c¢. 79-42, § 10; Laws 1982, c.
82-171, § 15. Amended by Laws 1997, c. 97-102, § 1678, eff. July 1, 1997.

Editors' Notes

LIBRARY REFERENCES
Pardon and Parole &=64.1.
Westlaw Topic No. 284.
C.J.S. Pardon and Parole § 59.
RESEARCH REFERENCES
Encyclopedias

Modification of Terms and Conditions, Fla. Jur. 2d Criminal Law Procedure § 3014.
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Treatises and Practice Aids

16 Florida Practice Series § 12:19, Parole--Eligibility for Parole.
16 Florida Practice Series § 12:22, Parole--Terms and Conditions of Parole.
16 Florida Practice Series § 12:24, Discharge from Parole Supervision or Release Supervision.

Notes of Decisions (2)

West's F. S. A. § 947.19, FL ST § 947.19
Current with chapters in effect from the 2013 1st Reg.Sess. of the 23rd Legislature through July 2,2013

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Florida Statutes Annotated
Title XLVII. Criminal Procedure and Corrections (Chapters 900-999) (Refs & Annos)
Chapter 947. Parole Commission (Refs & Annos)

West's F.S.A. § 947.20
947.20. Rules of commission

Currentness

The commission shall adopt general rules on the terms and conditions of parole and what shall constitute the violation thereof
and may make special rules to govern particular cases. Such rules, both general and special, may include, among other things,
a requirement that the parolee shall not leave the state or any definite area in Florida without the consent of the commission;
that the parolee shall contribute to the support of her or his dependents to the best of her or his ability; that the parolee shall
make reparation or restitution for her or his crime; that the parolee shall not associate with persons engaged in criminal activity;
and that the parolee shall carry out the instructions of her or his parole supervisor and, in general, comport herself or himself
in accordance with the terms and conditions of her or his parole.

Credits
Laws 1941, c. 20519, § 15; Laws 1978, c. 78-417, § 18. Amended by Laws 1997, c. 97-102, § 1679, eff. July 1, 1997.

Editors' Notes
LAW REVIEW AND JOURNAL COMMENTARIES

But what about the victim? 22 U.Fla.L Rev. 1 (1969).
Instruction as to possibility of parole as reversible error. 7 Miami L.Q. 120 (1952).

LIBRARY REFERENCES
Pardon and Parole &=64.1.
Westlaw Topic No. 284.
C.J.S. Pardon and Parole § 59.
RESEARCH REFERENCES
Encyclopedias

Particular Terms and Conditions, Fla. Jur. 2d Criminal Law Procedure § 3012.

Notes of Decisions (3)

West's F. S. A. § 947.20, FL ST § 947.20
Current with chapters in effect from the 2013 1st Reg.Sess. of the 23rd Legislature through July 2, 2013

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Florida Statutes Annotated
Title XLVII. Criminal Procedure and Corrections (Chapters 900-999) (Refs & Annos)
Chapter 947. Parole Commission (Refs & Annos)

West's F.S.A. § 947.21
947.21. Violations of parole

Currentness

(1) A violation of the terms of parole may render the parolee liable to arrest and a return to prison to serve out the term for
which the parolee was sentenced.

(2) An offender whose parole is revoked may, at the discretion of the commission, be credited with any portion of the time the
offender has satisfactorily served on parole.

Credits
Laws 1941, c. 20519, § 15; Laws 1974, c. 74-112, § 22. Amended by Laws 1997, c. 97-102, § 1680, eff. July 1, 1997.

Editors' Notes
LAW REVIEW AND JOURNAL COMMENTARIES

Parole revocation: Due process or star chamber? Richard A. Belz, 52 Fla.Bar J. 22 (1978).

LIBRARY REFERENCES
Pardon and Parole =69, 76.
Westlaw Topic No. 284.
C.J.S. Pardon and Parole §§ 65, 90 to 92.
RESEARCH REFERENCES
ALR Library

28 ALR 947, Parole as Suspending Running of Sentence.
Encyclopedias
Credit for Time Served or Gain Time, Fla. Jur. 2d Criminal Law Procedure § 3018.
Treatises and Practice Aids

16 Florida Practice Series § 12:22, Parole--Terms and Conditions of Parole.
16 Florida Practice Series § 12:23, Parole--Violations of Parole.
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Notes of Decisions (48)

West's F.S. A. § 94721, FL ST § 94721
Current with chapters in effect from the 2013 1st Reg.Sess. of the 23rd Legislature through July 2, 2013

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Florida Statutes Annotated
Title XLVII. Criminal Procedure and Corrections (Chapters 900-999) (Refs & Annos)
Chapter 947. Parole Commission (Refs & Annos)

West's F.S.A. § 947.22
947.22. Authority to arrest parole violators with or without warrant

Effective: October 1, 2002
Currentness

(1) If a member of the commission or a duly authorized representative of the commission has reasonable grounds to believe
that a parolee has violated the terms and conditions of her or his parole in a material respect, such member or representative
may issue a warrant for the arrest of such parolee. The warrant shall be returnable before a member of the commission or a
duly authorized representative of the commission. The commission, a commissioner, or a parole examiner with approval of
the parole examiner supervisor, may release the parolee on bail or her or his own recognizance, conditioned upon her or his
appearance at any hearings noticed by the commission. If not released on bail or her or his own recognizance, the parolee shall
be committed to jail pending hearings pursuant to s. 947.23. The commission, at its election, may have the hearing conducted
by one or more commissioners or by a duly authorized representative of the commission. Any parole and probation officer, any
officer authorized to serve criminal process, or any peace officer of this state is authorized to execute the warrant.

(2) Any parole and probation officer, when she or he has reasonable ground to believe that a parolee, control releasee, or
conditional releasee has violated the terms and conditions of her or his parole, control release, or conditional release in a
material respect, has the right to arrest the releasee or parolee without warrant and bring her or him forthwith before one or more
commissioners or a duly authorized representative of the Parole Commission or Control Release Authority; and proceedings
shall thereupon be had as provided herein when a warrant has been issued by a member of the commission or authority or a
duly authorized representative of the commission or authority.

(3) If a law enforcement officer has probable cause to believe that a parolee has violated the terms and conditions of his or her
parole, the officer shall arrest and take into custody the parolee without a warrant, and a warrant need not be issued in the case.

Credits

Laws 1941, c. 20519, § 16; Laws 1971,c. 71-111, § 1; Laws 1982, c. 82-171, § 16; Laws 1982, c. 82-193, § 1; Laws 1983, c.
83-216, § 191; Laws 1985, c. 85-295, § 5; Laws 1990, c. 90-337, § 13; Laws 1991, c. 91-280, § 12. Amended by Laws 1997,
c.97-102, § 1681, eff. July 1, 1997; Laws 2002, c. 2002-255, § 3, eff. Oct. 1,2002.

Editors' Notes
LAW REVIEW AND JOURNAL COMMENTARIES

Criminal law reform--1971. 45 Fla.Bar J. 405 (1971).
Parole revocation: Due process or star chamber? Richard A. Belz, 52 Fla.Bar J. 22 (1978).
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LIBRARY REFERENCES
Pardon and Parole =80, 81.
Westlaw Topic No. 284.
C.J.S. Pardon and Parole §§ 71 to 74.
RESEARCH REFERENCES
Encyclopedias

Who May Issue Warrant, Fla. Jur. 2d Criminal Law Procedure § 85.

Other Persons or Bodies, Fla. Jur. 2d Criminal Law Procedure § 93.

Parole and Probation Officers or Supervisors, Fla. Jur. 2d Criminal Law Procedure § 116.
Arrest of Parolee, Fla. Jur. 2d Criminal Law Procedure § 3017.

Forms

Florida Pleading and Practice Forms § 23:3, Arrest or Imprisonment by Law Enforcement Officer.
Florida Pleading and Practice Forms § 23:21, Complaint--Arrest and Imprisonment of Person Not on Probation on Warrant
of Probation Officer--Against Probation Officer Acting Without Jurisdiction.

Treatises and Practice Aids
16 Florida Practice Series § 9:71, Sentencing Alternatives for Violations of Probation/Community Control--General.
16 Florida Practice Series § 12:23, Parole--Violations of Parole.
Notes of Decisions (6)

West's F. S. A. § 947.22, FL ST § 947.22
Current with chapters in effect from the 2013 1st Reg.Sess. of the 23rd Legislature through July 2,2013

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Florida Statutes Annotated
Title XLVII. Criminal Procedure and Corrections (Chapters 900-999) (Refs & Annos)
Chapter 947. Parole Commission (Refs & Annos)

West's F.S.A. § 947.24
947.24. Discharge from parole supervision or release supervision

Effective: July 1, 2001
Currentness

(1) When a person is placed on parole, control release, or conditional release, the commission shall determine the period of
time the person will be under parole supervision or release supervision in the following manner:

(a) If the person is being paroled or released under supervision from a single or concurrent sentence, the period of time the
person will be under parole supervision or release supervision may not exceed 2 years unless the commission designates a
longer period of time, in which case it must advise the parolee or releasee in writing of the reasons for the extended period. In
any event, the period of parole supervision or release supervision may not exceed the maximum period for which the person
has been sentenced.

(b) If the person is being paroled or released under supervision from a consecutive sentence or sentences, the period of time
the person will be under parole supervision or release supervision will be for the maximum period for which the person was
sentenced.

(2) The commission shall review the progress of each person who has been placed on parole, control release, or conditional
release after 2 years of supervision in the community and biennially thereafter. The department shall provide to the commission
the information necessary to conduct such a review. Such review must include consideration of whether to modify the
reporting schedule, thereby authorizing the person under parole supervision or release supervision to submit reports quarterly,
semiannually, or annually. The commission, after having retained jurisdiction of a person for a sufficient length of time to
evidence satisfactory rehabilitation and cooperation, may further modify the terms and conditions of the person's parole, control
release, or conditional release, may discharge the person from parole supervision or release supervision, may relieve the person
from making further reports, or may permit the person to leave the state or country, upon finding that such action is in the best
interests of the person and society.

(3) This section does not affect the rights of a parolee to request modification of the terms and conditions of parole under s.
947.19.

Credits
Laws 1941, c. 20519, § 18; Laws 1963, c. 63-83, § 1; Laws 1974, c. 74-112, § 9; Laws 1977, c. 77-104, § 256; Laws 1985, c.
85-107, § 4; Laws 1988, c. 88-122,§ 27; Laws 1993, ¢.93-61, § 10. Amended by Laws 2001, c. 2001-124, § 6, eff. July 1,2001.
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Notes of Decisions (7)

West's F. S. A. § 94724, FL ST § 947.24
Current with chapters in effect from the 2013 1st Reg.Sess. of the 23rd Legislature through July 2, 2013

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Florida Statutes Annotated
Title XLVII. Criminal Procedure and Corrections (Chapters 900-999) (Refs & Annos)
Chapter 947. Parole Commission (Refs & Annos)

West's F.S.A. § 947.141

947.141. Violations of conditional release, control release, or
conditional medical release or addiction-recovery supervision

Effective: October 1, 2004
Currentness

(1) If a member of the commission or a duly authorized representative of the commission has reasonable grounds to believe that
an offender who is on release supervision under s. 947.1405,s. 947.146, s. 947.149, or s. 944 4731 has violated the terms and
conditions of the release in a material respect, such member or representative may cause a warrant to be issued for the arrest of
the releasee; if the offender was found to be a sexual predator, the warrant must be issued.

(2) Upon the arrest on a felony charge of an offender who is on release supervision under s. 947.1405, s. 947.146, s. 947.149,
or s. 944 4731, the offender must be detained without bond until the initial appearance of the offender at which a judicial
determination of probable cause is made. If the trial court judge determines that there was no probable cause for the arrest, the
offender may be released. If the trial court judge determines that there was probable cause for the arrest, such determination
also constitutes reasonable grounds to believe that the offender violated the conditions of the release. Within 24 hours after the
trial court judge's finding of probable cause, the detention facility administrator or designee shall notify the commission and
the department of the finding and transmit to each a facsimile copy of the probable cause affidavit or the sworn offense report
upon which the trial court judge's probable cause determination is based. The offender must continue to be detained without
bond for a period not exceeding 72 hours excluding weekends and holidays after the date of the probable cause determination,
pending a decision by the commission whether to issue a warrant charging the offender with violation of the conditions of
release. Upon the issuance of the commission's warrant, the offender must continue to be held in custody pending a revocation
hearing held in accordance with this section.

(3) Within 45 days after notice to the Parole Commission of the arrest of a releasee charged with a violation of the terms and
conditions of conditional release, control release, conditional medical release, or addiction-recovery supervision, the releasee
must be afforded a hearing conducted by a commissioner or a duly authorized representative thereof. If the releasee elects to
proceed with a hearing, the releasee must be informed orally and in writing of the following:

(a) The alleged violation with which the releasee is charged.

(b) The releasee's right to be represented by counsel.

(c) The releasee's right to be heard in person.
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(d) The releasee's right to secure, present, and compel the attendance of witnesses relevant to the proceeding.

(e) The releasee's right to produce documents on the releasee's own behalf.

(f) The releasee's right of access to all evidence used against the releasee and to confront and cross-examine adverse witnesses.

(g) The releasee's right to waive the hearing.

(4) Within a reasonable time following the hearing, the commissioner or the commissioner's duly authorized representative who
conducted the hearing shall make findings of fact in regard to the alleged violation. A panel of no fewer than two commissioners
shall enter an order determining whether the charge of violation of conditional release, control release, conditional medical
release, or addiction-recovery supervision has been sustained based upon the findings of fact presented by the hearing
commissioner or authorized representative. By such order, the panel may revoke conditional release, control release, conditional
medical release, or addiction-recovery supervision and thereby return the releasee to prison to serve the sentence imposed,
reinstate the original order granting the release, or enter such other order as it considers proper. Effective for inmates whose
offenses were committed on or after July 1, 1995, the panel may order the placement of a releasee, upon a finding of violation
pursuant to this subsection, into a local detention facility as a condition of supervision.

(5) Effective for inmates whose offenses were committed on or after July 1, 1995, notwithstanding the provisions of ss. 775.08,
former 921.001, 921.002, 921.187, 921.188, 944.02, and 951.23, or any other law to the contrary, by such order as provided
in subsection (4), the panel, upon a finding of guilt, may, as a condition of continued supervision, place the releasee in a local
detention facility for a period of incarceration not to exceed 22 months. Prior to the expiration of the term of incarceration,
or upon recommendation of the chief correctional officer of that county, the commission shall cause inquiry into the inmate's
release plan and custody status in the detention facility and consider whether to restore the inmate to supervision, modify the
conditions of supervision, or enter an order of revocation, thereby causing the return of the inmate to prison to serve the sentence
imposed. The provisions of this section do not prohibit the panel from entering such other order or conducting any investigation
that it deems proper. The commission may only place a person in a local detention facility pursuant to this section if there is a
contractual agreement between the chief correctional officer of that county and the Department of Corrections. The agreement
must provide for a per diem reimbursement for each person placed under this section, which is payable by the Department of
Corrections for the duration of the offender's placement in the facility. This section does not limit the commission's ability to
place a person in a local detention facility for less than 1 year.

(6) Whenever a conditional release, control release, conditional medical release, or addiction-recovery supervision is revoked
by a panel of no fewer than two commissioners and the releasee is ordered to be returned to prison, the releasee, by reason
of the misconduct, shall be deemed to have forfeited all gain-time or commutation of time for good conduct, as provided for
by law, earned up to the date of release. However, if a conditional medical release is revoked due to the improved medical or
physical condition of the releasee, the releasee shall not forfeit gain-time accrued before the date of conditional medical release.
This subsection does not deprive the prisoner of the right to gain-time or commutation of time for good conduct, as provided
by law, from the date of return to prison.
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(7) If a law enforcement officer has probable cause to believe that an offender who is on release supervision under s. 947.1405,
$.947.146,5.947.149, or 5. 944 4731 has violated the terms and conditions of his or her release by committing a felony offense,
the officer shall arrest the offender without a warrant, and a warrant need not be issued in the case.

Credits

Laws 1988, c. 88-122, § 20; Laws 1993, c. 93-61, § 5; Laws 1993, c. 93-277, § 5; Laws 1994, c. 94-121, § 1; Laws 1995, c.
95-283, §§ 40, 58. Amended by Laws 1997, c. 97-194, § 30, eff. Oct. 1, 1998; Laws 1997, c. 97-239, § 4, eff. May 30, 1997;
Laws 2001, c. 2001-110, § 15, eff. July 1, 2001; Laws 2002, c. 2002-255, § 2, eff. Oct. 1, 2002; Laws 2004, c. 2004-11, §
49, eff. Oct. 1, 2004.

Notes of Decisions (29)

West's F. S. A. § 947.141, FL ST § 947.141
Current with chapters in effect from the 2013 1st Reg.Sess. of the 23rd Legislature through July 2, 2013

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Florida Statutes Annotated
Title XLVII. Criminal Procedure and Corrections (Chapters 900-999) (Refs & Annos)
Chapter 947. Parole Commission (Refs & Annos)

West's F.S.A. § 947.146
947.146. Control Release Authority

Effective: October 1, 2012
Currentness

(1) There is created a Control Release Authority which shall be composed of the members of the Parole Commission and which
shall have the same chair as the commission. The authority shall utilize such commission staff as it determines is necessary
to carry out its purposes.

(2) The authority shall implement a system for determining the number and type of inmates who must be released into the
community under control release in order to maintain the state prison system between 99 and 100 percent of its total capacity
as defined in s. 944.023. No inmate has a right to control release. Control release is an administrative function solely used
to manage the state prison population within total capacity. An inmate may not receive an advancement of his or her control
release date by an award of control release allotments for any period of time before the date the inmate becomes statutorily
eligible for control release or before the subsequent date of establishment of the inmate's advanceable control release date.

(3) Within 120 days prior to the date the state correctional system is projected pursuant to s. 216.136 to exceed 99 percent of
total capacity, the authority shall determine eligibility for and establish a control release date for an appropriate number of parole
ineligible inmates committed to the department and incarcerated within the state who have been determined by the authority
to be eligible for discretionary early release pursuant to this section. In establishing control release dates, it is the intent of the
Legislature that the authority prioritize consideration of eligible inmates closest to their tentative release date. The authority shall
rely upon commitment data on the offender information system maintained by the department to initially identify inmates who
are to be reviewed for control release consideration. The authority may use a method of objective risk assessment in determining
if an eligible inmate should be released. Such assessment shall be a part of the department's management information system.
However, the authority shall have sole responsibility for determining control release eligibility, establishing a control release
date, and effectuating the release of a sufficient number of inmates to maintain the inmate population between 99 percent and
100 percent of total capacity. Inmates who are ineligible for control release are inmates who are parole eligible or inmates who:

(a) Are serving a sentence that includes a mandatory minimum provision for a capital offense or drug trafficking offense and
have not served the number of days equal to the mandatory minimum term less any jail-time credit awarded by the court;

(b) Are serving the mandatory minimum portion of a sentence enhanced under s. 775.087(2) or (3), or s. 784.07(3);

(c) Are convicted, or have been previously convicted, of committing or attempting to commit sexual battery, incest, or any of
the following lewd or indecent assaults or acts: masturbating in public; exposing the sexual organs in a perverted manner; or
nonconsensual handling or fondling of the sexual organs of another person;
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(d) Are convicted, or have been previously convicted, of committing or attempting to commit assault, aggravated assault,
battery, or aggravated battery, and a sex act was attempted or completed during commission of such offense;

(e) Are convicted, or have been previously convicted, of committing or attempting to commit kidnapping, burglary, or murder,
and the offense was committed with the intent to commit sexual battery or a sex act was attempted or completed during
commission of the offense;

(f) Are convicted, or have been previously convicted, of committing or attempting to commit false imprisonment upon a child
under the age of 13 and, in the course of committing the offense, the inmate committed aggravated child abuse, sexual battery
against the child, or a lewd or lascivious offense committed upon or in the presence of a person less than 16 years of age;

(g) Are sentenced, have previously been sentenced, or have been sentenced at any time under s. 775.084, or have been sentenced
at any time in another jurisdiction as a habitual offender;

(h) Are convicted, or have been previously convicted, of committing or attempting to commit assault, aggravated assault,
battery, aggravated battery, kidnapping, manslaughter, or murder against an officer as defined in s. 943.10(1), (2), (3), (6), (7),
(8), or (9); against a state attorney or assistant state attorney; or against a justice or judge of a court described in Art. V of the
State Constitution; or against an officer, judge, or state attorney employed in a comparable position by any other jurisdiction; or

(i) Are convicted, or have been previously convicted, of committing or attempting to commit murder in the first, second, or
third degree under s. 782.04(1), (2), (3), or (4), or have ever been convicted of any degree of murder or attempted murder in
another jurisdiction;

(j) Are convicted, or have been previously convicted, of DUI manslaughter under s. 316.193(3)(c) 3., and are sentenced, or have
been sentenced at any time, as a habitual offender for such offense, or have been sentenced at any time in another jurisdiction
as a habitual offender for such offense;

(k) 1. Are serving a sentence for an offense committed on or after January 1, 1994, for a violation of the Law Enforcement
Protection Act under s. 775.0823(2), (3), (4), (5), or (6), and the subtotal of the offender's sentence points is multiplied pursuant
to former s. 921.0014 or s. 921.0024;

2. Are serving a sentence for an offense committed on or after October 1, 1995, for a violation of the Law Enforcement Protection
Actunder s. 775.0823(2), (3),(4),(5),(6),(7),(8),o0r (9), and the subtotal of the offender's sentence points is multiplied pursuant
to former s. 921.0014 or s. 921.0024;

(I) Are serving a sentence for an offense committed on or after January 1, 1994, for possession of a firearm, semiautomatic
firearm, or machine gun in which additional points are added to the subtotal of the offender's sentence points pursuant to former
$.921.0014 or s. 921.0024; or
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(m) Are convicted, or have been previously convicted, of committing or attempting to commit manslaughter, kidnapping,
robbery, carjacking, home-invasion robbery, or a burglary under s. 810.02(2).

In making control release eligibility determinations under this subsection, the authority may rely on any document leading
to or generated during the course of the criminal proceedings, including, but not limited to, any presentence or postsentence
investigation or any information contained in arrest reports relating to circumstances of the offense.

(4) Control release dates shall be based upon a system of uniform criteria which shall include, but not be limited to, present
offenses for which the person is committed, past criminal conduct, length of cumulative sentences, and age of the offender at
the time of commitment, together with any aggravating or mitigating circumstances.

(5) Whenever the inmate population drops below 99 percent of total capacity and remains below 99 percent for 90 consecutive
days without requiring the release of inmates under this section, all control release dates shall become void and no inmate
shall be eligible for release under any previously established control release date. An inmate shall not have a right to a control
release date, nor shall the authority be required to establish or reestablish any additional control release dates except under the
provisions of subsection (2).

(6) For purpose of determining eligibility for control release, the mandatory minimum portion of a concurrent sentence will
begin on the date the sentence begins to run as provided in s. 921.161. The mandatory minimum portions of consecutive
sentences shall be served at the beginning of the maximum sentence as established by the Department of Corrections. With
respect to offenders who have more than one sentence with a mandatory minimum portion, each mandatory minimum portion
of consecutive sentences shall be served consecutively; provided, that in no case shall a sentence begin to run before the date
of imposition of that sentence.

(7) The authority has the power and duty to:

(a) Extend or advance the control release date of any inmate for whom a date has been established pursuant to subsection (2),
based upon one or more of the following:

1. Recently discovered information of:

a. Past criminal conduct;

b. Verified threats by inmates provided by victims, law enforcement, or the department;

c. Potential risk to or vulnerability of a victim;

d. Psychological or physical trauma to the victim due to the criminal offense;
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e. Court-ordered restitution;

f. History of abuse or addiction to a chemical substance verified by a presentence or postsentence investigation report;

g. The inmate's ties to organized crime;

h. A change in the inmate's sentence structure;

i. Cooperation with law enforcement;

j- Strong community support; and

k. A documented mental condition as a factor for future criminal behavior.

2. The recommendation of the department regarding:

a. A medical or mental health-related condition; or

b. Institutional adjustment of the inmate, which may include refusal by the inmate to sign the agreement to the conditions of
the release plan.

3. Total capacity of the state prison system.

(b) Authorize an individual commissioner to postpone a control release date for not more than 60 days without a hearing for any
inmate who has become the subject of a disciplinary proceeding, a criminal arrest, an information, or an indictment; who has
been terminated from work release; or about whom there is any recently discovered information as specified in paragraph (a).

(c) Determine the terms, conditions, and period of time of control release for persons released pursuant to this section.

(d) Determine violations of control release and what actions shall be taken with reference thereto.

(e) Provide for victim input into the decisionmaking process which may be used by the authority as aggravation or mitigation
in determining which persons shall be released on control release.
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(f) Make such investigations as may be necessary for the purposes of establishing, modifying, or revoking a control release date.

(g) Contract with a public defender or private counsel for representation of indigent persons charged with violating the terms
of control release.

(h) Adopt such rules as the authority deems necessary for implementation of the provisions of this section.

(8) The Department of Corrections shall select and contract with public or private organizations for the provision of basic support
services for inmates whose term of control release supervision does not exceed 180 days. Basic support services shall include,
but not be limited to, substance abuse counseling, temporary housing, family counseling, and employment support programs.

(9) The authority shall examine such records as it deems necessary of the department, the Department of Children and Family
Services, the Department of Law Enforcement, and any other such agency for the purpose of either establishing, modifying, or
revoking a control release date. The victim impact statement shall be included in such records for examination. Such agencies
shall provide the information requested by the authority for the purposes of fulfilling the requirements of this section.

(10) The authority shall adopt as a standard condition for all persons released pursuant to this section that such persons shall not
commit a violation which constitutes a felony. The authority shall determine the appropriate terms, conditions, and lengths of
supervision, if any, for persons placed on control release, except that such lengths of supervision shall be determined as provided
in s. 947.24 and may not exceed the maximum period for which the person has been sentenced. If the person's conviction was
for a controlled substance violation, the conditions must include a requirement that the person submit to random substance
abuse testing intermittently throughout the term of supervision, and, when warranted, a requirement that the person participate
in substance abuse assessment and substance abuse treatment services upon the direction of the correctional probation officer
as defined in s. 943.10(3). Effective July 1, 1994, and applicable for offenses committed on or after that date, the authority
may require, as a condition of control release, that the control releasee make payment of the debt due and owing to a county
or municipal detention facility under s. 951.032 for medical care, treatment, hospitalization, or transportation received by the
releasee while in that detention facility. The authority, in determining whether to order such repayment and the amount of
such repayment, shall consider the amount of the debt, whether there was any fault of the institution for the medical expenses
incurred, the financial resources of the releasee, the present and potential future financial needs and earning ability of the
releasee, and dependents, and other appropriate factors. If any inmate placed on control release supervision is also subject to
probation or community control, the department shall supervise such person according to the conditions imposed by the court,
and the authority shall defer to such supervision. If the court revokes the probation or community control, the authority, as the
result of the revocation, may vacate the grant of control release and resulting deferred control release supervision or take other
action it considers appropriate. If the term of control release supervision exceeds that of the probation or community control,
then supervision shall revert to the authority's conditions upon expiration of the probation or community control.

(11) If an inmate is released on control release supervision subject to a detainer for a pending charge and the pending charge
results in a new commitment to incarceration before expiration of the terms of control release supervision, the authority may
vacate the grant of control release and the control release supervision or take other action it considers appropriate.
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(12) When the authority has reasonable grounds to believe that an offender released under this section has violated the terms
and conditions of control release, such offender shall be subject to the provisions of s. 947.141 and shall be subject to forfeiture
of gain-time pursuant to s. 944.28(1).

(13) If it is discovered that any control releasee was placed on control release by error or while statutorily ineligible for such
release, the order of control release may be vacated and the Control Release Authority may cause a warrant to be issued for
the arrest and return of the control releasee to the custody of the Department of Corrections for service of the unserved portion
of the sentence or combined sentences.

(14) Effective July 1, 1996, all control release dates established prior to such date become void and no inmate shall be eligible
for release under any previously established control release date. Offenders who are under control release supervision as of
July 1, 1996, shall be subject to the conditions established by the authority until such offenders have been discharged from
supervision. Offenders who have warrants outstanding based on violation of supervision as of July 1, 1996, or who violate the
terms of their supervision subsequent to July 1, 1996, shall be subject to the provisions of s. 947.141.

Credits

Laws 1989, c. 89-526, § 2; Laws 1990, c. 90-77, § 3; Laws 1990, c. 90-186, § 2; Laws 1990, c. 90-211, § 7; Laws 1990, c.
90-337, § 12; Laws 1991, ¢.91-280, § 11; Laws 1992, ¢. 92-310, § 15; Laws 1993, ¢. 93-61, § 6; Laws 1993, ¢. 93-406, §§ 27,
30(1); Laws 1994, c. 94-111, § 1; Laws 1994, c. 94-121, § 2; Laws 1994, c. 94-294, § 2; Laws 1995, c. 95-184, § 27; Laws
1995, c. 95-251, § 4. Amended by Laws 1996, c. 96-422, § 19, eff. June 7, 1996; Laws 1997, c. 97-102, § 1873, eff. July 1,
1997; Laws 1997, c. 97-194, § 31, eff. Oct. 1, 1998; Laws 1998, c. 98-417, § 8, eff. Oct. 1, 1998; Laws 1999, c. 99-8, § 321,
eff. June 29, 1999; Laws 1999, c. 99-12, § 3, eff. July 1, 1999; Laws 1999, c. 99-201, § 12, eff. Oct. 1, 1999; Laws 2001, c.
2001-236, § 7, eff. Oct. 1,2001; Laws 2005, c. 2005-119, § 7, eff. Oct. 1, 2005; Laws 2007, c. 2007-212, § 3, eff. Oct. 1,2007;
Laws 2010, c. 2010-121, § 5, eff. Oct. 1,2010; Laws 2012, ¢. 2012-21, § 8, eff. Oct. 1, 2012.

Notes of Decisions (36)

West's F. S. A. § 947.146, FL ST § 947.146
Current with chapters in effect from the 2013 1st Reg.Sess. of the 23rd Legislature through July 2,2013
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West's Florida Statutes Annotated
Title XLVII. Criminal Procedure and Corrections (Chapters 900-999) (Refs & Annos)
Chapter 947. Parole Commission (Refs & Annos)

West's F.S.A. § 947.147
947.147. Victim restitution as condition of control release
Currentness
If the defendant is released under control release, any restitution ordered under s. 775.089 shall be a condition of such release.
The Control Release Authority may revoke the offender's control release if the defendant fails to comply with such order. In
determining whether to revoke control release, the Control Release Authority shall consider the defendant's employment status,

earning ability, and financial resources; the willfulness of the defendant's failure to pay; and any other special circumstances
that may have a bearing on the defendant's ability to pay.

Credits
Laws 1991, ¢.91-167, § 1; Laws 1993, c. 93-37, § 8.

West's F. S. A. § 947.147, FL ST § 947.147
Current with chapters in effect from the 2013 1st Reg.Sess. of the 23rd Legislature through July 2, 2013

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Florida Statutes Annotated
Title XLVII. Criminal Procedure and Corrections (Chapters 900-999) (Refs & Annos)
Chapter 947. Parole Commission (Refs & Annos)

West's F.S.A. § 947.149
947.149. Conditional medical release

Currentness

(1) The commission shall, in conjunction with the department, establish the conditional medical release program. An inmate
is eligible for consideration for release under the conditional medical release program when the inmate, because of an existing
medical or physical condition, is determined by the department to be within one of the following designations:

(a) “Permanently incapacitated inmate,” which means an inmate who has a condition caused by injury, disease, or illness which,
to a reasonable degree of medical certainty, renders the inmate permanently and irreversibly physically incapacitated to the
extent that the inmate does not constitute a danger to herself or himself or others.

(b) “Terminally ill inmate,” which means an inmate who has a condition caused by injury, disease, or illness which, to a
reasonable degree of medical certainty, renders the inmate terminally ill to the extent that there can be no recovery and death
is imminent, so that the inmate does not constitute a danger to herself or himself or others.

(2) Notwithstanding any provision to the contrary, any person determined eligible under this section and sentenced to the custody
of the department may, upon referral by the department, be considered for conditional medical release by the commission, in
addition to any parole consideration for which the inmate may be considered, except that conditional medical release is not
authorized for an inmate who is under sentence of death. No inmate has a right to conditional medical release or to a medical
evaluation to determine eligibility for such release.

(3) The authority and whether or not to grant conditional medical release and establish additional conditions of conditional
medical release rests solely within the discretion of the commission, in accordance with the provisions of this section, together
with the authority to approve the release plan to include necessary medical care and attention. The department shall identify
inmates who may be eligible for conditional medical release based upon available medical information and shall refer them to
the commission for consideration. In considering an inmate for conditional medical release, the commission may require that
additional medical evidence be produced or that additional medical examinations be conducted, and may require such other
investigations to be made as may be warranted.

(4) The conditional medical release term of an inmate released on conditional medical release is for the remainder of the inmate's
sentence, without diminution of sentence for good behavior. Supervision of the medical releasee must include periodic medical
evaluations at intervals determined by the commission at the time of release.
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(5)(a) If it is discovered during the conditional medical release that the medical or physical condition of the medical releasee
has improved to the extent that she or he would no longer be eligible for conditional medical release under this section, the
commission may order that the releasee be returned to the custody of the department for a conditional medical release revocation
hearing, in accordance with s. 947.141. If conditional medical release is revoked due to improvement in the medical or physical
condition of the releasee, she or he shall serve the balance of her or his sentence with credit for the time served on conditional
medical release and without forfeiture of any gain-time accrued prior to conditional medical release. If the person whose
conditional medical release is revoked due to an improvement in medical or physical condition would otherwise be eligible for
parole or any other release program, the person may be considered for such release program pursuant to law.

(b) In addition to revocation of conditional medical release pursuant to paragraph (a), conditional medical release may also be
revoked for violation of any condition of the release established by the commission, in accordance with s. 947.141, and the
releasee's gain-time may be forfeited pursuant to s. 944.28(1).

(6) The department and the commission shall adopt rules as necessary to implement the conditional medical release program.

Credits
Laws 1992, c. 92-310, § 16; Laws 1994, c. 94-121, § 2. Amended by Laws 1997, c. 97-102, § 1672, eff. July 1, 1997.

West's F. S. A. § 947.149, FL ST § 947.149
Current with chapters in effect from the 2013 1st Reg.Sess. of the 23rd Legislature through July 2, 2013
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West's Florida Statutes Annotated
Title XLVII. Criminal Procedure and Corrections (Chapters 900-999) (Refs & Annos)
Chapter 947. Parole Commission (Refs & Annos)

West's F.S.A. § 947.165
947.165. Objective parole guidelines

Effective: July 1, 2013
Currentness

(1) The commission shall develop and implement objective parole guidelines which shall be the criteria upon which parole
decisions are made. The objective parole guidelines shall be developed according to an acceptable research method and shall be
based on the seriousness of offense and the likelihood of favorable parole outcome. The guidelines shall require the commission
to aggravate or aggregate each consecutive sentence in establishing the presumptive parole release date. Factors used in arriving
at the salient factor score and the severity of offense behavior category shall not be applied as aggravating circumstances. If the
sentencing judge files a written objection to the parole release of an inmate as provided for in s. 947.1745(6), such objection
may be used by the commission as a basis to extend the presumptive parole release date.

(2) At least once a year, the commission shall review the objective parole guidelines and make any revisions considered
necessary by virtue of statistical analysis of commission actions, which analysis uses acceptable research and methodology.

Credits

Laws 1978, c. 78-417, § 12; Laws 1979, c. 79-42, § 6; Laws 1979, c. 79-310, § 3; Laws 1981, c. 81-259, § 499, Laws 1982,
c. 82-171, § 10; Laws 1985, c. 85-107, § 2; Laws 1986, c. 86-183, § 32; Laws 1993, c. 93-61, § 7. Amended by Laws 2013,
c.2013-119, § 4, eff. July 1, 2013.

Editors' Notes
LAW REVIEW AND JOURNAL COMMENTARIES

Parole. James H. Burke, Jr., 57 Fla.B.J. 245 (1983).
Sentencing guidelines. Samuel S. Jacobson, 57 Fla.B.J. 234 (1983).

LIBRARY REFERENCES
Pardon and Parole &=53.
Westlaw Topic No. 284.
C.J.S. Pardon and Parole §§ 48 to 51.
RESEARCH REFERENCES
ALR Library

77 ALR 1211, Right of Court to Hear Evidence for Purpose of Determining Sentence to be Imposed.
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Encyclopedias

Powers and Functions of Commission, Fla. Jur. 2d Criminal Law Procedure § 2982.

Notes of Decisions (29)

West's F. S. A. § 947.165, FL ST § 947.165
Current with chapters in effect from the 2013 1st Reg.Sess. of the 23rd Legislature through July 2, 2013
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West's Florida Statutes Annotated
Title XLVII. Criminal Procedure and Corrections (Chapters 900-999) (Refs & Annos)
Chapter 947. Parole Commission (Refs & Annos)

West's F.S.A. § 947.168
947.168. Consideration for persons serving parole-eligible and parole-ineligible sentences
Currentness

(1) A person serving a parole-eligible sentence who subsequently receives a parole-ineligible sentence shall be considered for
parole on the parole-eligible sentence.

(2) A grant of parole on the parole-eligible sentence shall result in the initiation of service of the parole-ineligible sentence,
which shall continue until expiration of sentence, expiration of sentence as reduced by accumulated gain-time, or an executive
order granting clemency.

(3) Actual terms of parole service shall not be initiated until the satisfactory completion of the parole-ineligible sentence and
subsequent review by the commission as provided in subsection (4).

(4) Following completion of the parole-ineligible sentence, the commission shall reinterview the offender and consider any
new information provided by the Department of Corrections. Upon an affirmative vote by the commission, the offender shall
be released on parole and required to meet any conditions set by the commission pursuant to s. 947.19.

Credits
Laws 1986, c. 86-183, § 38; Laws 1991, c. 91-239, § 2. Amended by Laws 1997, c. 97-194, §32, eff. Oct. 1, 1998.

Editors' Notes

LIBRARY REFERENCES
Pardon and Parole &=51.
Westlaw Topic No. 284.
C.J.S. Pardon and Parole §§ 48 to 51.
RESEARCH REFERENCES
Encyclopedias

Persons Serving Parole-Eligible and Parole-Ineligible Sentences, Fla. Jur. 2d Criminal Law Procedure § 2988.
Treatises and Practice Aids

16 Florida Practice Series § 12:19, Parole--Eligibility for Parole.
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West's Florida Statutes Annotated
Title XLVII. Criminal Procedure and Corrections (Chapters 900-999) (Refs & Annos)
Chapter 947. Parole Commission (Refs & Annos)

West's F.S.A. § 947.172
947.172. Establishment of presumptive parole release date

Currentness

(1) The hearing examiner shall conduct an initial interview in accordance with the provisions of s. 947.16. This interview shall
include introduction and explanation of the objective parole guidelines as they relate to presumptive and effective parole release
dates and an explanation of the institutional conduct record and satisfactory release plan for parole supervision as each relates
to parole release.

(2) Based on the objective parole guidelines and any other competent evidence relevant to aggravating and mitigating
circumstances, the hearing examiner shall, within 10 days after the interview, recommend in writing to a panel of no fewer
than two commissioners appointed by the chair a presumptive parole release date for the inmate. The chair shall assign cases to
such panels on a random basis, without regard to the inmate or to the commissioners sitting on the panel. If the recommended
presumptive parole release date falls outside the matrix time ranges as determined by the objective parole guidelines, the hearing
examiner shall include with the recommendation a statement in writing as to the reasons for the decision, specifying individual
particularities. If a panel fails to reach a decision on a recommended presumptive parole release date, the chair or any other
commissioner designated by the chair shall cast the deciding vote. Within 90 days after the date of the initial interview, the
inmate shall be notified in writing of the decision as to the inmate's presumptive parole release date.

(3) A presumptive parole release date shall become binding on the commission when agreement on the presumptive parole
release date is reached. Should the presumptive parole release date fall outside the matrix time ranges as determined by the
objective parole guidelines, the reasons for this decision shall be stated in writing with individual particularities.

Credits

Laws 1978, c. 78-417, §§ 13, 21; Laws 1979, c. 79-3, § 107; Laws 1979, c. 79-42, § 7; Laws 1981, c. 81-259, § 500; Laws
1981, c. 81-322, § 5; Laws 1982, c. 82-171, § 11; Laws 1985, c. 85-295, § 4. Amended by Laws 1997, c. 97-102, § 1674,
eff. July 1, 1997.

Editors' Notes
LIBRARY REFERENCES

Pardon and Parole =50, 60, 61.
Westlaw Topic No. 284.
C.J.S. Pardon and Parole §§ 48 to 52, 55 to 56.

RESEARCH REFERENCES
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Encyclopedias

Powers and Functions of Commission, Fla. Jur. 2d Criminal Law Procedure § 2982.
Generally; Effect of Sentencing Guidelines, Fla. Jur. 2d Criminal Law Procedure § 2984.
Inmate's Request for Review by Parole Commission, Fla. Jur. 2d Criminal Law Procedure § 3006.

Treatises and Practice Aids

16 Florida Practice Series § 12:20, Parole--Presumptive Parole Release Date.

Notes of Decisions (142)

West's F. S. A. § 947.172,FL ST § 947.172
Current with chapters in effect from the 2013 1st Reg.Sess. of the 23rd Legislature through July 2,2013
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West's Florida Statutes Annotated
Title XLVII. Criminal Procedure and Corrections (Chapters 900-999) (Refs & Annos)
Chapter 947. Parole Commission (Refs & Annos)

West's F.S.A. § 947.173
947.173. Review of presumptive parole release date
Currentness
(1) An inmate may request one review of his or her initial presumptive parole release date established according to s. 947.16(1)

if the inmate shows cause in writing, with individual particularities, within 60 days after the date the inmate is notified of the
decision on the presumptive parole release date.

(2) A panel of no fewer than two commissioners appointed by the chair shall review the inmate's request for review and shall
notify the inmate in writing of its decision within 60 days after the date of receipt of the request by the commission.

(3) The commission may affirm or modify the authorized presumptive parole release date. However, in the event of a decision to
modify the presumptive parole release date, in no case shall this modified date be after the date established under the procedures
of s.947.172. It is the intent of this legislation that, once set, presumptive parole release dates be modified only for good cause
in exceptional circumstances.

Credits
Laws 1978, c. 78-417, § 14; Laws 1979, c. 79-42, § 8; Laws 1979, c. 79-164, § 196; Laws 1982, c. 82-171, § 12; Laws 1993,
c.93-61, § 8. Amended by Laws 1996, c. 96-422, § 20, eff. June 7, 1996; Laws 1997, c. 97-102, § 1874, eff. July 1, 1997.

Editors' Notes

LIBRARY REFERENCES
Pardon and Parole &=62.
Westlaw Topic No. 284.
C.J.S. Pardon and Parole § 57.
RESEARCH REFERENCES
Encyclopedias

Proper Aggravating Factors--Objection by Judge, Fla. Jur. 2d Criminal Law Procedure § 3002.
Inmate's Request for Review by Parole Commission, Fla. Jur. 2d Criminal Law Procedure § 3006.
Review at Discretion of Parole Commission, Fla. Jur. 2d Criminal Law Procedure § 3008.

Treatises and Practice Aids

16 Florida Practice Series § 12:20, Parole--Presumptive Parole Release Date.
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16 Florida Practice Series § 12:21, Parole--Effective Parole Release Date.

Notes of Decisions (69)

West's F. S. A. § 947.173, FL ST § 947.173
Current with chapters in effect from the 2013 1st Reg.Sess. of the 23rd Legislature through July 2, 2013
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West's Florida Statutes Annotated
Title XLVII. Criminal Procedure and Corrections (Chapters 900-999) (Refs & Annos)
Chapter 947. Parole Commission (Refs & Annos)

West's F.S.A. § 947.174
947.174. Subsequent interviews

Effective: July 1, 2013
Currentness

(1)(a) For any inmate, except an inmate convicted of an offense enumerated in paragraph (b), whose presumptive parole release
date falls more than 2 years after the date of the initial interview, a hearing examiner shall schedule an interview for review
of the presumptive parole release date. Such interview shall take place within 2 years after the initial interview and every 2
years thereafter.

(b) For any inmate convicted of murder or attempted murder; sexual battery or attempted sexual battery; kidnapping or attempted
kidnapping; or robbery, burglary of a dwelling, burglary of a structure or conveyance, or breaking and entering, or the attempt
thereof of any of these crimes, in which a human being is present and a sexual act is attempted or completed, or any inmate
who has been sentenced to a 25-year minimum mandatory sentence previously provided in s. 775.082, and whose presumptive
parole release date is more than 7 years after the date of the initial interview, a hearing examiner shall schedule an interview for
review of the presumptive parole release date. The interview shall take place once within 7 years after the initial interview and
once every 7 years thereafter if the commission finds that it is not reasonable to expect that parole will be granted at a hearing
during the following years and states the bases for the finding in writing. For an inmate who is within 7 years of his or her
tentative release date, the commission may establish an interview date before the 7-year schedule.

(c) Such interviews shall be limited to determining whether or not information has been gathered which might affect the
presumptive parole release date. The provisions of this subsection shall not apply to an inmate serving a concurrent sentence
in another jurisdiction pursuant to s. 921.16(2).

(2) The commission, for good cause, may at any time request that a hearing examiner conduct a subsequent hearing according
to the procedures outlined in this section. Such request shall specify in writing the reasons for such review.

(3) The department shall, within a reasonable amount of time, make available and bring to the attention of the commission such
information as is deemed important to the review of the presumptive parole release date, including, but not limited to, current
progress reports, psychological reports, and disciplinary reports.

(4) The department or a hearing examiner may recommend that an inmate be placed in a work-release program prior to the
last 18 months of her or his confinement before the presumptive parole release date. If the commission does not deny the
recommendation within 30 days of the receipt of the recommendation, the inmate may be placed in such a program, and the
department shall advise the commission of the fact prior to such placement.

Mext



Graf, Vanessa 7/20/2013
For Educational Use Only

947.174. Subsequent interviews, FL ST § 947.174

(5) For purposes of this section, the commission shall develop and make available to all inmates guidelines which:

(a) Define what constitutes an unsatisfactory institutional record. In developing such guidelines, the commission shall consult
with the department.

(b) Define what constitutes a satisfactory release plan and what constitutes verification of the plan prior to placement on parole.

Credits

Laws 1978, c. 78-417, § 15; Laws 1979, c. 79-42, § 9; Laws 1979, c. 79-310, § 4; Laws 1981, c. 81-322, § 6; Laws 1982, c.
82-171, § 13; Laws 1988, c. 88-122, § 21. Amended by Laws 1997, c. 97-102, § 1675, eff. July 1, 1997; Laws 1997, c. 97-289,
§ 2, eff. Oct. 1, 1997; Laws 2010, c. 2010-95, § 2, eff. July 1,2010; Laws 2013, c. 2013-119, § 2, eff. July 1, 2013.

Editors' Notes

LIBRARY REFERENCES
Pardon and Parole =59, 62.
Westlaw Topic No. 284.
C.J.S. Pardon and Parole §§ 55, 57.
RESEARCH REFERENCES
Encyclopedias

Powers and Functions of Commission, Fla. Jur. 2d Criminal Law Procedure § 2982.
Subsequent Interviews, Fla. Jur. 2d Criminal Law Procedure § 3007.

Treatises and Practice Aids

16 Florida Practice Series § 12:19, Parole--Eligibility for Parole.

Notes of Decisions (20)

West's F. S. A. § 947.174,FL ST § 947.174
Current with chapters in effect from the 2013 1st Reg.Sess. of the 23rd Legislature through July 2, 2013
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West's Florida Statutes Annotated
Title XLVII. Criminal Procedure and Corrections (Chapters 900-999) (Refs & Annos)
Chapter 947. Parole Commission (Refs & Annos)

West's F.S.A. § 947.181
947.181. Fines, fees, restitution, or other costs ordered to be paid as conditions of parole

Effective: July 1, 2012
Currentness

(1) The commission shall require the payment of fines, fees, restitution, or other court-ordered costs as a condition of parole
unless the commission finds reasons to the contrary. Restitution to the aggrieved party for injury, damage, or loss caused by the
offense for which the parolee was imprisoned shall have first priority in the payment of amounts owed under this section. If the
commission does not require the payment of fines, fees, restitution, or other court-ordered costs or requires only partial payment
of the fines, fees, restitution, or other court-ordered costs, the commission shall state on the record the reasons for its decision.

(2) If the parolee fails to make the payments as required in subsection (1), it shall be considered by the commission as a violation
of parole as specified in s. 947.21 and may be cause for revocation of parole.

(3) If a defendant is paroled, any restitution ordered under s. 775.089 shall be a condition of such parole. The Parole Commission
may revoke parole if the defendant fails to comply with such order.

(4) In determining whether to revoke parole, the commission shall consider the defendant's employment status, earning ability,
and financial resources; the willfulness of the defendant's failure to pay; and any other special circumstances that may have a
bearing on the defendant's ability to pay.

Credits
Laws 1977,¢.77-150, § 3; Laws 1979, c. 79-400, § 304; Laws 1984, c. 84-363,88 5,10; Laws 1988, c. 88-122,§ 25; Laws 1993,
¢.93-37,§ 9. Amended by Laws 1997, c.97-102, § 1677, eff. July 1, 1997; Laws 2012, c¢. 2012-100, § 21, eff. July 1,2012.

Editors' Notes

LIBRARY REFERENCES
Pardon and Parole &=64.1.
Westlaw Topic No. 284.
C.]J.S. Pardon and Parole § 59.
RESEARCH REFERENCES
Encyclopedias
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Particular Terms and Conditions--Reparation or Restitution, Fla. Jur. 2d Criminal Law Procedure § 3013.
Treatises and Practice Aids

16 Florida Practice Series § 12:22, Parole--Terms and Conditions of Parole.

Notes of Decisions (4)

West's F. S. A. § 947.181, FL ST § 947.181
Current with chapters in effect from the 2013 1st Reg.Sess. of the 23rd Legislature through July 2, 2013
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West's Florida Statutes Annotated
Title XLVII. Criminal Procedure and Corrections (Chapters 900-999) (Refs & Annos)
Chapter 947. Parole Commission (Refs & Annos)

West's F.S.A. § 947.185
947.185. Application for intellectual disability services as condition of parole
Effective: July 1, 2013

Currentness

The Parole Commission may require as a condition of parole that any inmate who has been diagnosed as having an intellectual
disability as defined in s. 393.063 shall, upon release, apply for services from the Agency for Persons with Disabilities.

Credits
Laws 1983, c. 83-274,§ 9; Laws 1988, c. 88-122, § 26. Amended by Laws 1999, c. 99-8, § 322, eff. June 29, 1999; Laws 2006,
¢.2006-227, § 66, eff. July 1,2006; Laws 2013, c. 2013-162, § 44, eff. July 1,2013.

Editors' Notes
LAW REVIEW AND JOURNAL COMMENTARIES

Executing the mentally retarded: The status of Florida Law. David A. Davis, 65 Fla.B.J. 12 (Feb. 1991).

LIBRARY REFERENCES
Pardon and Parole &=64.1.
Westlaw Topic No. 284.
C.]J.S. Pardon and Parole § 59.
RESEARCH REFERENCES
Encyclopedias

Particular Terms and Conditions, Fla. Jur. 2d Criminal Law Procedure § 3012.
Treatises and Practice Aids
16 Florida Practice Series § 12:22, Parole--Terms and Conditions of Parole.

West's F. S. A. § 947.185, FL ST § 947.185
Current with chapters in effect from the 2013 1st Reg.Sess. of the 23rd Legislature through July 2,2013

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Florida Statutes Annotated
Title XLVII. Criminal Procedure and Corrections (Chapters 900-999) (Refs & Annos)
Chapter 947. Parole Commission (Refs & Annos)

West's F.S.A. § 947.1405
947.1405. Conditional release program

Effective: May 26, 2010
Currentness

(1) This section and s. 947.141 may be cited as the “Conditional Release Program Act.”

(2) Any inmate who:

(a) Is convicted of a crime committed on or after October 1, 1988, and before January 1, 1994, and any inmate who is convicted
of a crime committed on or after January 1, 1994, which crime is or was contained in category 1, category 2, category 3, or
category 4 of Rule 3.701 and Rule 3.988, Florida Rules of Criminal Procedure (1993), and who has served at least one prior
felony commitment at a state or federal correctional institution;

(b) Is sentenced as a habitual or violent habitual offender or a violent career criminal pursuant to s. 775.084; or

(c) Is found to be a sexual predator under s. 775.21 or former s. 775.23,

shall, upon reaching the tentative release date or provisional release date, whichever is earlier, as established by the Department
of Corrections, be released under supervision subject to specified terms and conditions, including payment of the cost of
supervision pursuant to s. 948.09. Such supervision shall be applicable to all sentences within the overall term of sentences
if an inmate's overall term of sentences includes one or more sentences that are eligible for conditional release supervision
as provided herein. Effective July 1, 1994, and applicable for offenses committed on or after that date, the commission may
require, as a condition of conditional release, that the releasee make payment of the debt due and owing to a county or municipal
detention facility under s. 951.032 for medical care, treatment, hospitalization, or transportation received by the releasee while
in that detention facility. The commission, in determining whether to order such repayment and the amount of such repayment,
shall consider the amount of the debt, whether there was any fault of the institution for the medical expenses incurred, the
financial resources of the releasee, the present and potential future financial needs and earning ability of the releasee, and
dependents, and other appropriate factors. If any inmate placed on conditional release supervision is also subject to probation or
community control, resulting from a probationary or community control split sentence within the overall term of sentences, the
Department of Corrections shall supervise such person according to the conditions imposed by the court and the commission
shall defer to such supervision. If the court revokes probation or community control and resentences the offender to a term of
incarceration, such revocation also constitutes a sufficient basis for the revocation of the conditional release supervision on any
nonprobationary or noncommunity control sentence without further hearing by the commission. If any such supervision on any
nonprobationary or noncommunity control sentence is revoked, such revocation may result in a forfeiture of all gain-time, and
the commission may revoke the resulting deferred conditional release supervision or take other action it considers appropriate.
If the term of conditional release supervision exceeds that of the probation or community control, then, upon expiration of
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the probation or community control, authority for the supervision shall revert to the commission and the supervision shall be
subject to the conditions imposed by the commission. A panel of no fewer than two commissioners shall establish the terms and
conditions of any such release. If the offense was a controlled substance violation, the conditions shall include a requirement
that the offender submit to random substance abuse testing intermittently throughout the term of conditional release supervision,
upon the direction of the correctional probation officer as defined in s. 943.10(3). The commission shall also determine whether
the terms and conditions of such release have been violated and whether such violation warrants revocation of the conditional
release.

(3) As part of the conditional release process, the commission, through review and consideration of information provided by
the department, shall determine:

(a) The amount of reparation or restitution.

(b) The consequences of the offense as reported by the aggrieved party.

(c) The aggrieved party's fear of the inmate or concerns about the release of the inmate.

(4) The commission shall provide to the aggrieved party information regarding the manner in which notice of any developments
concerning the status of the inmate during the term of conditional release may be requested.

(5) Within 180 days prior to the tentative release date or provisional release date, whichever is earlier, a representative of the
department shall review the inmate's program participation, disciplinary record, psychological and medical records, criminal
records, and any other information pertinent to the impending release. The department shall gather and compile information
necessary for the commission to make the determinations set forth in subsection (3). A department representative shall conduct a
personal interview with the inmate for the purpose of determining the details of the inmate's release plan, including the inmate's
planned residence and employment. The department representative shall forward the inmate's release plan to the commission
and recommend to the commission the terms and conditions of the conditional release.

(6) The commission shall review the recommendations of the department, and such other information as it deems relevant,
and may conduct a review of the inmate's record for the purpose of establishing the terms and conditions of the conditional
release. The commission may impose any special conditions it considers warranted from its review of the release plan and
recommendation. If the commission determines that the inmate is eligible for release under this section, the commission shall
enter an order establishing the length of supervision and the conditions attendant thereto. However, an inmate who has been
convicted of a violation of chapter 794 or found by the court to be a sexual predator is subject to the maximum level of
supervision provided, with the mandatory conditions as required in subsection (7), and that supervision shall continue through
the end of the releasee's original court-imposed sentence. The length of supervision must not exceed the maximum penalty
imposed by the court.

(7)(a) Any inmate who is convicted of a crime committed on or after October 1, 1995, or who has been previously convicted of
a crime committed on or after October 1, 1995, in violation of chapter 794, s. 800.04,s.827.071,s.847.0135(5), or 5. 847.0145,
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and is subject to conditional release supervision, shall have, in addition to any other conditions imposed, the following special
conditions imposed by the commission:

1. A mandatory curfew from 10 p.m. to 6 a.m. The commission may designate another 8-hour period if the offender's
employment precludes the above specified time, and such alternative is recommended by the Department of Corrections. If the
commission determines that imposing a curfew would endanger the victim, the commission may consider alternative sanctions.

2. If the victim was under the age of 18, a prohibition on living within 1,000 feet of a school, child care facility, park,
playground, designated public school bus stop, or other place where children regularly congregate. A releasee who is subject
to this subparagraph may not relocate to a residence that is within 1,000 feet of a public school bus stop. Beginning October 1,
2004, the commission or the department may not approve a residence that is located within 1,000 feet of a school, child care
facility, park, playground, designated school bus stop, or other place where children regularly congregate for any releasee who
is subject to this subparagraph. On October 1, 2004, the department shall notify each affected school district of the location of
the residence of a releasee 30 days prior to release and thereafter, if the releasee relocates to a new residence, shall notify any
affected school district of the residence of the releasee within 30 days after relocation. If, on October 1, 2004, any public school
bus stop is located within 1,000 feet of the existing residence of such releasee, the district school board shall relocate that school
bus stop. Beginning October 1, 2004, a district school board may not establish or relocate a public school bus stop within 1,000
feet of the residence of a releasee who is subject to this subparagraph. The failure of the district school board to comply with this
subparagraph shall not result in a violation of conditional release supervision. A releasee who is subject to this subparagraph
may not be forced to relocate and does not violate his or her conditional release supervision if he or she is living in a residence
that meets the requirements of this subparagraph and a school, child care facility, park, playground, designated public school
bus stop, or other place where children regularly congregate is subsequently established within 1,000 feet of his or her residence.

3. Active participation in and successful completion of a sex offender treatment program with qualified practitioners specifically
trained to treat sex offenders, at the releasee's own expense. If a qualified practitioner is not available within a 50-mile radius
of the releasee's residence, the offender shall participate in other appropriate therapy.

4. A prohibition on any contact with the victim, directly or indirectly, including through a third person, unless approved by the
victim, a qualified practitioner in the sexual offender treatment program, and the sentencing court.

5. If the victim was under the age of 18, a prohibition against contact with children under the age of 18 without review and
approval by the commission. The commission may approve supervised contact with a child under the age of 18 if the approval
is based upon a recommendation for contact issued by a qualified practitioner who is basing the recommendation on a risk
assessment. Further, the sex offender must be currently enrolled in or have successfully completed a sex offender therapy
program. The commission may not grant supervised contact with a child if the contact is not recommended by a qualified
practitioner and may deny supervised contact with a child at any time. When considering whether to approve supervised contact
with a child, the commission must review and consider the following:

a. A risk assessment completed by a qualified practitioner. The qualified practitioner must prepare a written report that must
include the findings of the assessment and address each of the following components:

(I) The sex offender's current legal status;

Mext



Brazil, Sean 7/29/2013
For Educational Use Only

947.1405. Conditional release program, FL ST § 947.1405

(IT) The sex offender's history of adult charges with apparent sexual motivation;

(III) The sex offender's history of adult charges without apparent sexual motivation;

(IV) The sex offender's history of juvenile charges, whenever available;

(V) The sex offender's offender treatment history, including a consultation from the sex offender's treating, or most recent
treating, therapist;

(VI) The sex offender's current mental status;

(VID) The sex offender's mental health and substance abuse history as provided by the Department of Corrections;

(VIII) The sex offender's personal, social, educational, and work history;

(IX) The results of current psychological testing of the sex offender if determined necessary by the qualified practitioner;

(X) A description of the proposed contact, including the location, frequency, duration, and supervisory arrangement;

(XI) The child's preference and relative comfort level with the proposed contact, when age-appropriate;

(XII) The parent's or legal guardian's preference regarding the proposed contact; and

(XIII) The qualified practitioner's opinion, along with the basis for that opinion, as to whether the proposed contact would likely
pose significant risk of emotional or physical harm to the child.

The written report of the assessment must be given to the commission.

b. A recommendation made as a part of the risk-assessment report as to whether supervised contact with the child should be
approved,

c. A written consent signed by the child's parent or legal guardian, if the parent or legal guardian is not the sex offender, agreeing
to the sex offender having supervised contact with the child after receiving full disclosure of the sex offender's present legal
status, past criminal history, and the results of the risk assessment. The commission may not approve contact with the child if
the parent or legal guardian refuses to give written consent for supervised contact;

Mext



Brazil, Sean 7/29/2013
For Educational Use Only

947.1405. Conditional release program, FL ST § 947.1405

d. A safety plan prepared by the qualified practitioner, who provides treatment to the offender, in collaboration with the sex
offender, the child's parent or legal guardian, and the child, when age appropriate, which details the acceptable conditions of
contact between the sex offender and the child. The safety plan must be reviewed and approved by the Department of Corrections
before being submitted to the commission; and

e. Evidence that the child's parent or legal guardian, if the parent or legal guardian is not the sex offender, understands the need
for and agrees to the safety plan and has agreed to provide, or to designate another adult to provide, constant supervision any
time the child is in contact with the offender.

The commission may not appoint a person to conduct a risk assessment and may not accept a risk assessment from a person
who has not demonstrated to the commission that he or she has met the requirements of a qualified practitioner as defined in
this section.

6. If the victim was under age 18, a prohibition on working for pay or as a volunteer at any school, child care facility, park,
playground, or other place where children regularly congregate, as prescribed by the commission.

7. Unless otherwise indicated in the treatment plan provided by a qualified practitioner in the sexual offender treatment program,
a prohibition on viewing, owning, or possessing any obscene, pornographic, or sexually stimulating visual or auditory material,
including telephone, electronic media, computer programs, or computer services that are relevant to the offender's deviant
behavior pattern.

8. Effective for a releasee whose crime is committed on or after July 1, 2005, a prohibition on accessing the Internet or other
computer services until a qualified practitioner in the offender's sex offender treatment program, after a risk assessment is
completed, approves and implements a safety plan for the offender's accessing or using the Internet or other computer services.

9. A requirement that the releasee must submit two specimens of blood to the Department of Law Enforcement to be registered
with the DNA database.

10. A requirement that the releasee make restitution to the victim, as determined by the sentencing court or the commission, for
all necessary medical and related professional services relating to physical, psychiatric, and psychological care.

11. Submission to a warrantless search by the community control or probation officer of the probationer's or community
controllee's person, residence, or vehicle.

(b) For a releasee whose crime was committed on or after October 1, 1997, in violation of chapter 794, s. 800.04, s. 827.071,
s. 847.0135(5), or s. 847.0145, and who is subject to conditional release supervision, in addition to any other provision of this
subsection, the commission shall impose the following additional conditions of conditional release supervision:
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1. As part of a treatment program, participation in a minimum of one annual polygraph examination to obtain information
necessary for risk management and treatment and to reduce the sex offender's denial mechanisms. The polygraph examination
must be conducted by a polygrapher who is a member of a national or state polygraph association and who is certified as a
postconviction sex offender polygrapher, where available, and at the expense of the releasee. The results of the examination
shall be provided to the releasee's probation officer and qualified practitioner and may not be used as evidence in a hearing to
prove that a violation of supervision has occurred.

2. Maintenance of a driving log and a prohibition against driving a motor vehicle alone without the prior approval of the
supervising officer.

3. A prohibition against obtaining or using a post office box without the prior approval of the supervising officer.

4. If there was sexual contact, a submission to, at the releasee's expense, an HIV test with the results to be released to the victim
or the victim's parent or guardian.

5. Electronic monitoring of any form when ordered by the commission. Any person who has been placed under supervision and
is electronically monitored by the department must pay the department for the cost of the electronic monitoring service at a rate
that may not exceed the full cost of the monitoring service. Funds collected under this subparagraph shall be deposited into the
General Revenue Fund. The department may exempt a person from the payment of all or any part of the electronic monitoring
service cost if the department finds that any of the factors listed in s. 948.09(3) exist.

(8) It is the finding of the Legislature that the population of offenders released from state prison into the community who
meet the conditional release criteria poses the greatest threat to the public safety of the groups of offenders under community
supervision. Therefore, the Department of Corrections is to provide intensive supervision by experienced correctional probation
officers to conditional release offenders. Subject to specific appropriation by the Legislature, caseloads may be restricted to
a maximum of 40 conditional release offenders per officer to provide for enhanced public safety and to effectively monitor
conditions of electronic monitoring or curfews, if so ordered by the commission.

(9) The commission shall adopt rules pursuant to ss. 120.536(1) and 120.54 necessary to implement the provisions of the
Conditional Release Program Act.

(10) Effective for areleasee whose crime was committed on or after September 1, 2005, in violation of chapter 794, s. 800.04(4),
(5),0r (6),s.827.071, or s. 847.0145, and the unlawful activity involved a victim who was 15 years of age or younger and the
offender is 18 years of age or older or for a releasee who is designated as a sexual predator pursuant tos. 775.21,in addition to any
other provision of this section, the commission must order electronic monitoring for the duration of the releasee's supervision.

(11) Effective for a releasee whose crime was committed on or after October 1,2008, and who has been found to have committed
the crime for the purpose of benefiting, promoting, or furthering the interests of a criminal gang, the commission shall, in
addition to any other conditions imposed, impose a condition prohibiting the releasee from knowingly associating with other
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criminal gang members or associates, except as authorized by law enforcement officials, prosecutorial authorities, or the court,
for the purpose of aiding in the investigation of criminal activity.

(12) In addition to all other conditions imposed, for a releasee who is subject to conditional release for a crime that was
committed on or after May 26, 2010, and who has been convicted at any time of committing, or attempting, soliciting, or
conspiring to commit, any of the criminal offenses listed in s. 943.0435(1)(a)1.a.(I), or a similar offense in another jurisdiction
against a victim who was under 18 years of age at the time of the offense, if the releasee has not received a pardon for any felony
or similar law of another jurisdiction necessary for the operation of this subsection, if a conviction of a felony or similar law
of another jurisdiction necessary for the operation of this subsection has not been set aside in any postconviction proceeding,
or if the releasee has not been removed from the requirement to register as a sexual offender or sexual predator pursuant to s.
943.04354, the commission must impose the following conditions:

(a) A prohibition on visiting schools, child care facilities, parks, and playgrounds without prior approval from the releasee's
supervising officer. The commission may also designate additional prohibited locations to protect a victim. The prohibition
ordered under this paragraph does not prohibit the releasee from visiting a school, child care facility, park, or playground for
the sole purpose of attending a religious service as defined in s. 775.0861 or picking up or dropping off the releasee's child or
grandchild at a child care facility or school.

(b) A prohibition on distributing candy or other items to children on Halloween; wearing a Santa Claus costume, or other
costume to appeal to children, on or preceding Christmas; wearing an Easter Bunny costume, or other costume to appeal to
children, on or preceding Easter; entertaining at children's parties; or wearing a clown costume without prior approval from
the commission.

Credits

Laws 1988, c. 88-122, § 19; Laws 1989, c¢. 89-531, § 12; Laws 1990, c. 90-337, § 11; Laws 1991, c. 91-225, § 2; Laws 1991,
¢.91-280, § 8; Laws 1992, c. 92-310, § 14; Laws 1993, c. 93-277, § 4; Laws 1993, c. 93-417, § 4; Laws 1994, c. 94-121, § 2;
Laws 1994, c. 94-294, § 3; Laws 1995, c. 95-264, § 5; Laws 1995, c. 95-283, § 57. Amended by Laws 1996, c. 96-388, § 64,
eff. July 1, 1996; Laws 1997, ¢c. 97-78, § 10, eff. May 23, 1997; Laws 1997, ¢. 97-102, § 1872, eff. July 1, 1997; Laws 1997, c.
97-308, § 1, eff. Oct. 1, 1997; Laws 2000, c. 2000-246, § 3, eff. Oct. 1,2000; Laws 2001, c. 2001-124, § 5, eff. July 1, 2001;
Laws 2004, c. 2004-55, § 1, eff. Oct. 1, 2004; Laws 2004, c. 2004-371, § 16, eff. July 1, 2004; Laws 2005, c. 2005-28, § 12,
eff. Sept. 1, 2005; Laws 2005, c. 2005-67, § 2, eff. Jan. 1,2006; Laws 2008, c. 2008-172, § 27, eff. Oct. 1,2008; Laws 2008, c.
2008-238, § 23, eff. Oct. 1,2008; Laws 2009, c. 2009-63, § 9, eff. July 1,2009; Laws 2010, c.2010-92, § 10, eff. May 26, 2010.

Notes of Decisions (66)

West's F. S. A. § 947.1405, FL ST § 947.1405
Current with chapters in effect from the 2013 1st Reg.Sess. of the 23rd Legislature through July 2, 2013
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West's Florida Statutes Annotated
Title XLVII. Criminal Procedure and Corrections (Chapters 900-999) (Refs & Annos)
Chapter 947. Parole Commission (Refs & Annos)

West's F.S.A. § 947.1745
947.1745. Establishment of effective parole release date

Effective: July 1, 2013
Currentness

If the inmate's institutional conduct has been satisfactory, the presumptive parole release date shall become the effective parole
release date as follows:

(1) Within 90 days before the presumptive parole release date, a hearing examiner shall conduct a final interview with the inmate
in order to establish an effective parole release date and parole release plan. If it is determined that the inmate's institutional
conduct has been unsatisfactory, a statement to this effect shall be made in writing with particularity and shall be forwarded to
a panel of no fewer than two commissioners appointed by the chair.

(2) If the panel finds that the inmate's parole release plan is unsatisfactory, this finding may constitute new information and
good cause in exceptional circumstances as described in s. 947.173, under which the panel may extend the presumptive parole
release date for not more than 1 year. The panel may review any subsequently proposed parole release plan at any time.

(3) Within 30 days after receipt of the inmate's parole release plan, the panel shall determine whether to authorize the effective
parole release date. The inmate must be notified of the decision in writing within 30 days after the decision by the panel.

(4) If an effective date of parole has been established, release on that date is conditioned upon the completion of a satisfactory
plan for parole supervision. An effective date of parole may be delayed for up to 60 days by a commissioner without a hearing
for the development and approval of release plans.

(5) An effective date of parole may be delayed by a commissioner for up to 60 days without a hearing based on:

(a) New information not available at the time of the effective parole release date interview.

(b) Unsatisfactory institutional conduct which occurred subsequent to the effective parole release date interview.

(c) The lack of a verified parole release plan.
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(6) Within 90 days before the effective parole release date interview, the commission shall send written notice to the sentencing
judge of any inmate who has been scheduled for an effective parole release date interview. If the sentencing judge is no longer
serving, the notice must be sent to the chief judge of the circuit in which the offender was sentenced. The chief judge may
designate any circuit judge within the circuit to act in the place of the sentencing judge. Within 30 days after receipt of the
commission's notice, the sentencing judge, or the designee, shall send to the commission notice of objection to parole release,
if the judge objects to such release. If there is objection by the judge, such objection may constitute good cause in exceptional
circumstances as described in s. 947.173, and the commission may schedule a subsequent review within 2 years, extending the
presumptive parole release date beyond that time. However, for an inmate who has been:

(a) Convicted of murder or attempted murder;

(b) Convicted of sexual battery or attempted sexual battery;

(c) Convicted of kidnapping or attempted kidnapping;

(d) Convicted of robbery, burglary of a dwelling, burglary of a structure or conveyance, or breaking and entering, or the attempt
thereof of any of these crimes, in which a human being is present and a sexual act is attempted or completed; or

(e) Sentenced to a 25-year minimum mandatory sentence previously provided in s. 775.082,

the commission may schedule a subsequent review under this subsection once every 7 years, extending the presumptive parole
release date beyond that time if the commission finds that it is not reasonable to expect that parole would be granted at a review
during the following years and states the bases for the finding in writing. For an inmate who is within 7 years of his or her
release date, the commission may schedule a subsequent review before the 7-year schedule. With any subsequent review the
same procedure outlined above will be followed. If the judge remains silent with respect to parole release, the commission may
authorize an effective parole release date. This subsection applies if the commission desires to consider the establishment of an
effective release date without delivery of the effective parole release date interview. Notice of the effective release date must
be sent to the sentencing judge, and either the judge's response to the notice must be received or the time period allowed for
such response must elapse before the commission may authorize an effective release date.

Credits

Laws 1982, c.82-171, § 14; Laws 1983, c. 83-216, § 190; Laws 1986, c. 86-183, § 33; Laws 1988, c. 88-122, § 22; Laws 1991,
c.91-110, § 53; Laws 1993, ¢. 93-61, § 9. Amended by Laws 1997, ¢c. 97-102, § 1676, eff. July 1, 1997; Laws 1997, c. 97-289,
§ 3, eff. Oct. 1, 1997; Laws 2010, c. 2010-95, § 3, eff. July 1,2010; Laws 2013, c.2013-119, § 3, eff. July 1, 2013.

Editors' Notes
LIBRARY REFERENCES

Pardon and Parole &=50, 54.
Westlaw Topic No. 284.
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C.J.S. Pardon and Parole §§ 48 to 51.
RESEARCH REFERENCES
ALR Library

143 ALR 1486, Statute Conferring Power Upon Administrative Body in Respect to the Parole of Prisoners, or the Discharge
of Parolees, as Unconstitutional Infringement of Power of Executive or Judiciary.

Encyclopedias

Effect of Sentencing Court's Objection to Date, Fla. Jur. 2d Criminal Law Procedure § 2999.
Proper Aggravating Factors--Objection by Judge, Fla. Jur. 2d Criminal Law Procedure § 3002.
Review at Discretion of Parole Commission, Fla. Jur. 2d Criminal Law Procedure § 3008.

Treatises and Practice Aids

16 Florida Practice Series § 12:19, Parole--Eligibility for Parole.
16 Florida Practice Series § 12:21, Parole--Effective Parole Release Date.
16 Florida Practice Series § 12:22, Parole--Terms and Conditions of Parole.

Notes of Decisions (20)

West's F. S. A. § 947.1745,FL ST § 947.1745
Current with chapters in effect from the 2013 1st Reg.Sess. of the 23rd Legislature through July 2,2013
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West's Florida Statutes Annotated
Title XLVII. Criminal Procedure and Corrections (Chapters 900-999) (Refs & Annos)
Chapter 947. Parole Commission (Refs & Annos)

West's F.S.A. § 947.1746
947.1746. Establishment of effective parole release date

Currentness
Within 30 days of the receipt of new information or upon receipt of a written recommendation from the department that an inmate
be considered for mitigation of the authorized presumptive parole release date, the commission may, at its discretion, provide

for a final interview to establish an effective parole release date or may review the official record and establish an effective
parole release date without provision of a final interview, unless an interview is requested by no fewer than two commissioners.

Credits
Laws 1983, c. 83-131, § 27.

Editors' Notes

LIBRARY REFERENCES
Pardon and Parole &=50.
Westlaw Topic No. 284.
C.J.S. Pardon and Parole §§ 48 to 51.
RESEARCH REFERENCES

Treatises and Practice Aids
16 Florida Practice Series § 12:22, Parole--Terms and Conditions of Parole.

West's F. S. A. § 947.1746, FL ST § 947.1746
Current with chapters in effect from the 2013 1st Reg.Sess. of the 23rd Legislature through July 2, 2013
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West's Florida Statutes Annotated
Title XLVII. Criminal Procedure and Corrections (Chapters 900-999) (Refs & Annos)
Chapter 947. Parole Commission (Refs & Annos)

West's F.S.A. § 947.1747
947.1747. Community control as a special condition of parole
Currentness
Upon the establishment of an effective parole release date as provided for in ss. 947.1745 and 947.1746, the commission may, as
a special condition of parole, require an inmate to be placed in the community control program of the Department of Corrections
as described in s. 948.10 for a period not exceeding 6 months. In every case in which the commission decides to place an inmate

on community control as a special condition of parole, the commission shall provide a written explanation of the reasons for
its decision.

Credits
Laws 1988, c. 88-122, § 68. Amended by Laws 2004, c. 2004-373, § 42, eff. July 1, 2004.

Editors' Notes

LIBRARY REFERENCES
Pardon and Parole &=64.1.
Westlaw Topic No. 284.
C.J.S. Pardon and Parole § 59.
RESEARCH REFERENCES

Treatises and Practice Aids
16 Florida Practice Series § 12:22, Parole--Terms and Conditions of Parole.

West's F. S. A. § 947.1747,FL ST § 947.1747
Current with chapters in effect from the 2013 1st Reg.Sess. of the 23rd Legislature through July 2,2013

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.

Mext



Brazil, Sean 7/29/2013
For Educational Use Only

§ 17-10-16. Sentence of death, life imprisonment without parole,..., GA ST § 17-10-16

West's Code of Georgia Annotated
Title 17. Criminal Procedure (Refs & Annos)
Chapter 10. Sentence and Punishment (Refs & Annos)
Article 1. Procedure for Sentencing and Imposition of Punishment (Refs & Annos)

Ga. Code Ann., § 17-10-16

§ 17-10-16. Sentence of death, life imprisonment without parole, or life
imprisonment; ineligibility for parole, work release, or leave programs

Currentness

(a) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a person who is convicted of an offense committed after May 1, 1993, for which
the death penalty may be imposed under the laws of this state may be sentenced to death, imprisonment for life without parole,
or life imprisonment as provided in Article 2 of this chapter.

(b) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, any person who is convicted of an offense for which the death penalty may
be imposed and who is sentenced to imprisonment for life without parole shall not be eligible for any form of parole during
such person's natural life unless the State Board of Pardons and Paroles or a court of this state shall, after notice and public
hearing, determine that such person was innocent of the offense for which the sentence of imprisonment for life without parole
was imposed. Such person shall not be eligible for any work release program, leave, or any other program administered by
the Department of Corrections the effect of which would be to reduce the term of actual imprisonment to which such person
was sentenced.

Credits
Laws 1993, p. 1654, § 3.

Notes of Decisions (12)

Ga. Code Ann., § 17-10-16, GA ST § 17-10-16
Current through the end of the 2013 Regular Session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Code of Georgia Annotated
Title 42. Penal Institutions
Chapter 4. Jails (Refs & Annos)
Article 1. General Provisions

Ga. Code Ann., § 42-4-7
§ 42-4-7. Record of inmates to be kept; earned allowances

Currentness

(a) The sheriff shall keep a record of all persons committed to the jail of the county of which he or she is sheriff. This record
shall contain the name of the person committed, such person's age, sex, race, under what process such person was committed
and from what court the process issued, the crime with which the person was charged, the date of such person's commitment
to jail, the day of such person's discharge, under what order such person was discharged, and the court from which the order
issued. This record shall be subject to examination by any person in accordance with the provisions of Article 4 of Chapter 18
of Title 50, relating to the inspection of public records.

(b)(1) The sheriff, chief jailer, warden, or other officer designated by the county as custodian of inmates confined as county
inmates for probation violations of felony offenses or as provided in subsection (a) of Code Section 17-10-3 may award earned
time allowances to such inmates based on institutional behavior. Earned time allowances shall not be awarded which exceed
one-half of the period of confinement imposed, except that the sheriff or other custodian may authorize the award of not more
than four days' credit for each day on which an inmate does work on an authorized work detail; provided, however, that such
increased credit for performance on a work detail shall not apply to an inmate who is incarcerated for:

(A) A second or subsequent offense of driving under the influence under Code Section 40-6-391 within a five-year period
of time, as measured from the date of any previous arrest for which a conviction was obtained or a plea of nolo contendere
was accepted to the date of the current arrest for which a conviction is obtained or a plea of nolo contendere is accepted;

(B) A misdemeanor of a high and aggravated nature; or

(C) A crime committed against a family member as defined in Code Section 19-13-1.

(2) While an inmate sentenced to confinement as a county inmate is in custody as a county inmate, the custodian of such
inmate may award an earned time allowance consistent with this subsection and subsection (b) of Code Section 17-10-4
based on the institutional behavior of such inmate while in custody as a county inmate.

(3) An inmate sentenced to confinement as a county inmate shall be released at the expiration of his or her sentence less the
time deducted for earned time allowances.
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(c) Commencing January 1, 1984, those provisions of subsection (b) of this Code section which provide for good-time
allowances to be awarded to inmates sentenced to confinement as county inmates as provided in subsection (a) of Code Section
17-10-3 shall apply to all such inmates in confinement on December 31, 1983, and all inmates who commit crimes on or
after January 1, 1984, and are subsequently convicted and sentenced to confinement as county inmates. Conversion of the
computation of the sentences of county inmates in confinement on December 31, 1983, from earned time governed sentences to
good-time governed sentences shall be made by the sheriff or other custodian of such inmates. Commencing July 1, 1994, those
provisions of subsection (b) of this Code section which provide for good-time allowances to be awarded to inmates sentenced
to confinement as county inmates for probation violations of felony offenses shall apply to all such inmates in confinement on
June 30, 1994, and all inmates whose probation is revoked or who commit crimes on or after July 1, 1994, and are subsequently
sentenced to confinement as county inmates. Commencing July 1, 2000, the award of earned time allowances pursuant to
subsection (b) of this Code section for persons who commit crimes on or after July 1,2000, and are subsequently convicted and
sentenced to confinement as county inmates and inmates whose probation is revoked on or after July 1, 2000, or who commit
crimes on or after July 1,2000, and are subsequently sentenced to confinement as county inmates is not automatic or mandatory
but shall be based upon institutional behavior.

Credits
Laws 1877, p. 111, § 1; Laws 1983, p. 1340, § 1; Laws 1993, p. 632, § 1; Laws 1994, p. 1955, § 1; Laws 2000, p. 1111, § 2;
Laws 2004, Act 457, § 1, eff. July 1,2004.

Formerly Code 1882, § 366a; Penal Code 1895, § 1125; Penal Code 1910, § 1154; Code 1933, § 77-108.

Notes of Decisions (4)

Ga. Code Ann., § 42-4-7, GA ST § 42-4-7
Current through the end of the 2013 Regular Session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Code of Georgia Annotated
Title 42. Penal Institutions
Chapter 5. Correctional Institutions of State and Counties (Refs & Annos)
Article 5. Awarding Earned-Time Allowances (Refs & Annos)

Ga. Code Ann., § 42-5-100
§ 42-5-100. Persons to whom earned-time allowances not applicable

Currentness

The earned-time allowances, which could have been awarded by the board to inmates based upon the performance of the inmate,
in effect on December 31, 1983, shall not apply to:

(1) Those persons who commit crimes on or after January 1, 1984, and who are subsequently convicted and sentenced to
the custody of the board;

(2) Those persons who have committed a crime prior to January 1, 1984, but who have not been convicted and sentenced
as of December 31, 1983, and who are subsequently sentenced to the custody of the board, including those whose sentences
have been probated or suspended, on or after January 1, 1984; however, such persons shall receive the full benefit of the
earned-time allowances, in effect on December 31, 1983, and shall receive a release or discharge date computed as if they
had been sentenced to the custody of the board, prior to December 31, 1983; or

(3) Those persons previously sentenced to the custody of the board, including those whose sentences have been probated or
suspended, as of December 31, 1983; however, such persons shall receive the full benefit of the earned-time allowances in
effect on December 31, 1983, and shall receive a release or discharge date the same as reflected in the records of such person
on December 31, 1983, less any creditable earned time that such person could have earned as a result of forfeited earned time.

Credits
Laws 1983, p. 1340, § 2; Laws 1984, p. 22, § 42.

Notes of Decisions (10)

Ga. Code Ann., § 42-5-100, GA ST § 42-5-100
Current through the end of the 2013 Regular Session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Code of Georgia Annotated
Title 42. Penal Institutions
Chapter 9. Pardons and Paroles (Refs & Annos)
Article 1. General Provisions

Ga. Code Ann., § 42-9-20

§ 42-9-20. Power of board to grant reprieves, pardons, and paroles; duty to
supervise parolees, aid parolees and probationers, and study prisoner cases

Currentness

In all cases in which the chairman of the board or any other member designated by the board has suspended the execution of
a death sentence to enable the full board to consider and pass on same, it shall be mandatory that the board act within a period
not exceeding 90 days from the date of the suspension order. In the cases which the board has power to consider, the board
shall be charged with the duty of determining which inmates serving sentences imposed by a court of this state may be released
on pardon or parole and fixing the time and conditions thereof. The board shall also be charged with the duty of supervising
all persons placed on parole, of determining violations thereof and of taking action with reference thereto, of making such
investigations as may be necessary, and of aiding parolees or probationers in securing employment. It shall be the duty of the
board personally to study the cases of those inmates whom the board has power to consider so as to determine their ultimate
fitness for such relief as the board has power to grant. The board by an affirmative vote of a majority of its members shall have
the power to commute a sentence of death to one of life imprisonment.

Credits
Laws 1943, p. 185, § 11; Laws 1973, p. 1294, § 1; Laws 1982, p. 3, § 42; Laws 1983, p. 500, § 6.

Editors' Notes
LIBRARY REFERENCES

Pardon and Parole &=23.1,45.1, 66, 68, 69.
Westlaw Topic No. 284.
C.J.S. Pardon and Parole §§ 1to2,5t0 6,11 to 16,22 to 26,29 to 30, 44, 60, 62, 65.

RESEARCH REFERENCES
Treatises and Practice Aids
Georgia Procedure Criminal Procedure § 33:4, Commutation.
Georgia Procedure Criminal Procedure § 33:10, Supervision and Search of Parolees.
Notes of Decisions (10)

Ga. Code Ann., § 42-9-20, GA ST § 42-9-20
Current through June 15,2013
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West's Code of Georgia Annotated
Title 42. Penal Institutions
Chapter 9. Pardons and Paroles (Refs & Annos)
Article 2. Grants of Pardons, Paroles, and Other Relief (Refs & Annos)

Ga. Code Ann., § 42-9-39
§ 42-9-39. Limitations on authority to grant pardons and paroles in certain cases
Effective: July 1, 2006

Currentness

(a) The provisions of this Code section shall be binding upon the board in granting pardons and paroles, notwithstanding any
other provisions of this article or any other law relating to the powers of the board.

(b) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (b) of Code Section 17-10-7, when a person is convicted of murder and sentenced
to life imprisonment and such person has previously been incarcerated under a life sentence, such person shall serve at least 30
years in the penitentiary before being granted a pardon and before becoming eligible for parole.

(c) When a person receives consecutive life sentences as the result of offenses occurring in the same series of acts and any
one of the life sentences is imposed for the crime of murder, such person shall serve consecutive 30 year periods for each such
sentence, up to a maximum of 60 years, before being eligible for parole consideration.

(d) Any other provisions of this Code section to the contrary notwithstanding, the board shall have the authority to pardon any
person convicted of a crime who is subsequently determined to be innocent of said crime.

Credits
Laws 1983, p. 523, § 1; Laws 1994, p. 1959, § 14; Laws 2006, Act 571, § 27, eff. July 1, 2006.

Notes of Decisions (4)

Ga. Code Ann., § 42-9-39, GA ST § 42-9-39
Current through the end of the 2013 Regular Session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Code of Georgia Annotated
Title 42. Penal Institutions
Chapter 9. Pardons and Paroles (Refs & Annos)
Article 2. Grants of Pardons, Paroles, and Other Relief (Refs & Annos)

Ga. Code Ann., § 42-9-40
§ 42-9-40. Parole guidelines system
Currentness
(a) The board shall adopt, implement, and maintain a parole guidelines system for determining parole action. The guidelines
system shall be used in determining parole actions on all inmates, except those serving life sentences, who will become
statutorily eligible for parole consideration. The system shall be consistent with the board's primary goal of protecting society
and shall take into consideration the severity of the current offense, the inmate's prior criminal history, the inmate's conduct,

and the social factors which the board has found to have value in predicting the probability of further criminal behavior and
successful adjustment under parole supervision.

(b) The guidelines system required by subsection (a) of this Code section shall be adopted by rules or regulations of the board.
The rules or regulations shall be adopted in conformity with Chapter 13 of Title 50, the “Georgia Administrative Procedure Act.”

Credits
Laws 1980, p. 404, 8§ 1.

Notes of Decisions (25)

Ga. Code Ann., § 42-9-40, GA ST § 42-9-40
Current through the end of the 2013 Regular Session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Code of Georgia Annotated
Title 42. Penal Institutions
Chapter 9. Pardons and Paroles (Refs & Annos)
Article 2. Grants of Pardons, Paroles, and Other Relief (Refs & Annos)

Ga. Code Ann., § 42-9-42

§ 42-9-42. Vote required to extend clemency; written opinions; prerequisites to
probation, pardon or parole; terms and conditions; status of parolees; peonage forbidden

Currentness

(a) No person shall be granted clemency, pardon, parole, or other relief from sentence except by a majority vote of the board. A
majority of the members of the board may commute a death sentence to life imprisonment, as provided in Code Section 42-9-20.

(b) A grant of clemency, pardon, parole, or other relief from sentence shall be rendered only by a written decision which shall be
signed by at least the number of board members required for the relief granted and which shall become a part of the permanent
record.

(c) Good conduct, achievement of a fifth-grade level or higher on standardized reading tests, and efficient performance of duties
by an inmate shall be considered by the board in his favor and shall merit consideration of an application for pardon or parole.
No inmate shall be placed on parole until and unless the board shall find that there is reasonable probability that, if he is so
released, he will live and conduct himself as a respectable and law-abiding person and that his release will be compatible with
his own welfare and the welfare of society. Furthermore, no person shall be released on pardon or placed on parole unless and
until the board is satisfied that he will be suitably employed in self-sustaining employment or that he will not become a public
charge. However, notwithstanding other provisions of this chapter, the board may, in its discretion, grant pardon or parole to
any aged or disabled persons.

(d)(1) Any person who is paroled shall be released on such terms and conditions as the board shall prescribe. The board shall
diligently see that no peonage is allowed in the guise of parole relationship or supervision. The parolee shall remain in the legal
custody of the board until the expiration of the maximum term specified in his sentence or until he is pardoned by the board.

(2) The board may require the payment of a parole supervision fee of at least $10.00 per month as a condition of parole or
other conditional release. The monthly amount shall be set by rule of the board and shall be uniform state wide. The board
may require or the parolee or person under conditional release may request that up to 24 months of the supervision fee be paid
in advance of the time to be spent on parole or conditional release. In such cases, any advance payments are nonreimbursable
in the event of parole or conditional release revocation or if parole or conditional release is otherwise terminated prior to
the expiration of the sentence being served on parole or conditional release. Such fees shall be collected by the board to be
paid into the general fund of the state treasury.

(e) If a parolee violates the terms of his parole, he shall be subject to rearrest or extradition for placement in the actual custody
of the board, to be redelivered to any state or county correctional institution of this state.
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Credits
Laws 1943, p. 185, § 13; Laws 1974, p. 474, § 1; Laws 1975, p. 795, § 1; Laws 1984, p. 775, § 1; Laws 1985, p. 414, § 1;
Laws 1986, p. 1596, § 3.

Notes of Decisions (17)

Ga. Code Ann., § 42-9-42, GA ST § 42-9-42
Current through the end of the 2013 Regular Session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Code of Georgia Annotated
Title 42. Penal Institutions
Chapter 9. Pardons and Paroles (Refs & Annos)
Article 2. Grants of Pardons, Paroles, and Other Relief (Refs & Annos)

Ga. Code Ann., § 42-9-42.1

§ 42-9-42.1. HIV testing of persons eligible for clemency, pardon, parole, or other relief
from sentence; conditions imposed where person determined to be infected with HIV

Currentness

(a) Any term used in this Code section and defined in Code Section 31-22-9.1 shall have the meaning provided for such term
in Code Section 31-22-9.1.

(b) The board is authorized to obtain from any penal institution, with at least 60 days prior notice to that institution, and any
such penal institution is authorized to provide the board with HIV test results regarding any person who applies or is eligible for
clemency, a pardon, a parole, or other relief from a sentence or to require such person to submit to an HIV test and to consider
the results of any such test in determining whether to grant clemency, a pardon, a parole, or other relief to such person. Test
results obtained pursuant to the authority of this Code section may not be the sole basis for determining whether to grant or
deny any such relief to such person, however. The board is further authorized to impose conditions upon any person to whom
the board grants clemency, a pardon, a parole, or other relief and who is determined by an HIV test to be infected with HIV,
which conditions may include without being limited to those designed to prevent the spread of HIV by that person.

Credits
Laws 1988, p. 1799, § 10.

Ga. Code Ann., § 42-9-42.1, GA ST § 42-9-42.1
Current through the end of the 2013 Regular Session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Code of Georgia Annotated
Title 42. Penal Institutions
Chapter 9. Pardons and Paroles (Refs & Annos)
Article 2. Grants of Pardons, Paroles, and Other Relief (Refs & Annos)

Ga. Code Ann., § 42-9-43
§ 42-9-43. Information to be used by board in considering cases. Disposition of prisoners pardoned or paroled

Effective: July 1, 2013
Currentness

(a) The board, in considering any case within its power, shall cause to be brought before it all pertinent information on the
person in question. Included therein shall be:

(1) A report by the superintendent, warden, or jailer of the jail or state or county correctional institution in which the person
has been confined upon the conduct of record of the person while in such jail or state or county correctional institution;

(2) The results of such physical and mental examinations as may have been made of the person;

(3) The extent to which the person appears to have responded to the efforts made to improve his or her social attitude;

(4) The industrial record of the person while confined, the nature of his or her occupations while so confined, and a
recommendation as to the kind of work he or she is best fitted to perform and at which he or she is most likely to succeed
when and if he or she is released;

(5) The educational programs in which the person has participated and the level of education which the person has attained
based on standardized reading tests; and

(6) The written, oral, audiotaped, or videotaped testimony of the victim, the victim's family, or a witness having personal
knowledge of the victim's personal characteristics.

(b)(1) As used in this subsection, the term:

(A) “Debilitating terminal illness' means a disease that cannot be cured or adequately treated and that is reasonably expected
to result in death within 12 months.

(B) “Entirely incapacitated” means an offender who:
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(i) Requires assistance in order to perform two or more necessary daily life functions or who is completely immobile; and

(i) Has such limited physical or mental ability, strength, or capacity that he or she poses an extremely low risk of
physical threat to others or to the community.

(C) ‘Necessary daily life function’ means eating, breathing, dressing, grooming, toileting, walking, or bathing.

(2) The board may issue a medical reprieve to an entirely incapacitated person suffering a progressively debilitating terminal
illness in accordance with Article IV, Section II, Paragraph II of the Constitution.

(c) The board may also make such other investigation as it may deem necessary in order to be fully informed about the person.

(d) Before releasing any person on parole, the board may have the person appear before it and may personally examine him or
her. Thereafter, upon consideration, the board shall make its findings and determine whether or not such person shall be granted
a pardon, parole, or other relief within the power of the board; and the board shall determine the terms and conditions thereof.
Notice of the determination shall be given to such person and to the correctional official having him or her in custody.

(e) If a person is granted a pardon or a parole, the correctional officials having the person in custody, upon notification thereof,
shall inform him or her of the terms and conditions thereof and shall, in strict accordance therewith, release the person.

(f) The board shall send written notification of the parole decision to the victim or, if the victim is no longer living, to the
family of the victim.

Credits
Laws 1943, p. 185, § 14; Laws 1986, p. 1596, § 4; Laws 2009, Act 55, § 2, eff. July 1, 2009; Laws 2013, Act 84, § 19, eff.
Dec. 1,2012.

Notes of Decisions (6)

Ga. Code Ann., § 42-9-43, GA ST § 42-9-43
Current through the end of the 2013 Regular Session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Code of Georgia Annotated
Title 42. Penal Institutions
Chapter 9. Pardons and Paroles (Refs & Annos)
Article 2. Grants of Pardons, Paroles, and Other Relief (Refs & Annos)

Ga. Code Ann., § 42-9-44

§ 42-9-44. Terms of parole; imposition of rules; penalty for violation; obtaining high school
diploma or general educational development equivalency diploma (GED) as condition of parole

Currentness

(a) The board, upon placing a person on parole, shall specify in writing the terms and conditions thereof. A certified copy
of the conditions shall be given to the parolee. Thereafter, a copy shall be sent to the clerk of the court in which the person
was convicted. The board shall adopt general rules concerning the terms and conditions of parole and concerning what shall
constitute a violation thereof and shall make special rules to govern particular cases. The rules, both general and special, may
include, among other things, a requirement that the parolee shall not leave this state or any definite area in this state without the
consent of the board; that the parolee shall contribute to the support of his or her dependents to the best of the parolee's ability;
that the parolee shall make reparation or restitution for his or her crime; that the parolee shall abandon evil associates and ways;
and that the parolee shall carry out the instructions of his or her parole supervisor, and, in general, so comport himself or herself
as the parolee's supervisor shall determine. A violation of the terms of parole may render the parolee liable to arrest and a return
to a penal institution to serve out the term for which the parolee was sentenced.

(b) Each parolee who does not have a high school diploma or a general educational development equivalency diploma (GED)
shall be required as a condition of parole to obtain a high school diploma or general educational development equivalency
diploma (GED) or to pursue a trade at a vocational or technical school. Any such parolee who demonstrates to the satisfaction of
the board an existing ability or skill which does in fact actually furnish the parolee a reliable, regular, and sufficient income shall
not be subject to this provision. Any parolee who is determined by the Department of Corrections or the board to be incapable of
completing such requirements shall only be required to attempt to improve their basic educational skills. Failure of any parolee
subject to this requirement to attend the necessary schools or courses or to make reasonable progress toward fulfillment of such
requirement shall be grounds for revocation of parole. The board shall establish regulations regarding reasonable progress as
required by this subsection. This subsection shall apply to paroles granted on or after July 1, 1995.

Credits
Laws 1943, p. 185, § 15; Laws 1995, p. 625, § 2.

Notes of Decisions (12)

Ga. Code Ann., § 42-9-44, GA ST § 42-9-44
Current through the end of the 2013 Regular Session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Code of Georgia Annotated
Title 42. Penal Institutions
Chapter 9. Pardons and Paroles (Refs & Annos)
Article 2. Grants of Pardons, Paroles, and Other Relief (Refs & Annos)

Ga. Code Ann., § 42-9-45

§ 42-9-45. Power to adopt rules and regulations; eligibility for parole; completion of
Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program or Family Violence Counseling Program

Currentness

(a) The board may adopt and promulgate rules and regulations, not inconsistent with this chapter, touching all matters dealt with
in this chapter, including, among others, the practice and procedure in matters pertaining to paroles, pardons, and remission of
fines and forfeitures. The rules and regulations shall contain an eligibility requirement for parole which shall set forth the time
when the automatic initial consideration for parole of inmates under the jurisdiction of the Department of Corrections shall take
place and also the times at which periodic reconsideration thereafter shall take place. Such consideration shall be automatic,
and no written or formal application shall be required.

(b) An inmate serving a misdemeanor sentence or misdemeanor sentences shall only be eligible for consideration for parole
after the expiration of six months of his or her sentence or sentences or one-third of the time of his or her sentence or sentences,
whichever is greater. Except as otherwise provided in Code Sections 17-10-6.1 and 17-10-7, an inmate serving a felony sentence
or felony sentences shall only be eligible for consideration for parole after the expiration of nine months of his or her sentence
or one-third of the time of the sentences, whichever is greater. Except as otherwise provided in Code Sections 17-10-6.1
and 17-10-7, inmates serving sentences aggregating 21 years or more shall become eligible for consideration for parole upon
completion of the service of seven years.

(c) The board shall adopt rules and regulations governing the granting of other forms of clemency, which shall include pardons,
reprieves, commutation of penalties, removal of disabilities imposed by law, and the remission of any part of a sentence, and
shall prescribe the procedure to be followed in applying for them. Applications for the granting of such other forms of clemency
and for exceptions to parole eligibility rules established by statute or promulgated by the board shall be made in such manner
as the board shall direct by rules and regulations.

(d) All rules and regulations adopted pursuant to this Code section shall be adopted, established, promulgated, amended,
repealed, filed, and published in accordance with the applicable provisions and procedure as set forth in Chapter 13 of Title 50,
the “Georgia Administrative Procedure Act.” The courts shall take judicial notice of the rules and regulations.

(e) For the purposes of this Code section, the words “rules and regulations” shall have the same meaning as the word “rule,” as
defined in Code Section 50-13-2, except that the words “rules and regulations” shall not be construed to include the terms and
conditions prescribed by the board to which a person paroled by the board may be subjected.
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(f) Except to correct a patent miscarriage of justice and not otherwise, no inmate serving a sentence imposed for any of the
crimes listed in this subsection shall be granted release on parole until and unless said inmate has served on good behavior
seven years of imprisonment or one-third of the prison term imposed by the sentencing court for the violent crime, whichsoever
first occurs. No inmate serving a sentence for any crime listed in this subsection shall be released on parole for the purpose of
regulating jail or prison populations. This subsection shall govern parole actions in sentences imposed for any of the following
crimes: voluntary manslaughter, statutory rape, incest, cruelty to children, arson in the first degree, homicide by vehicle while
under the influence of alcohol or as a habitual traffic violator, aggravated battery, aggravated assault, trafficking in drugs, and
violations of Chapter 14 of Title 16, the “Georgia RICO (Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations) Act.”

(g) No inmate serving a sentence for murder, armed robbery, kidnapping, rape, aggravated child molestation, aggravated
sodomy, or aggravated sexual battery shall be released on parole for the purpose of regulating jail or prison populations.

(h) An inmate whose criminal offense or history indicates alcohol or drug involvement shall not be considered for parole
until such inmate has successfully completed an Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program offered by the Department of
Corrections.

(i) An inmate who has committed an offense which has been identified to involve family violence as such term is defined in Code
Section 19-13-1 shall not be released on parole until such inmate has successfully completed a Family Violence Counseling
Program offered by the Department of Corrections.

Credits
Laws 1943, p. 185, § 23; Laws 1964, p. 487, § 1; Laws 1969, p. 948, § 1; Laws 1985,p. 283, § 1; Laws 1991,p. 94, § 42; Laws
1992, p. 3221, § 10; Laws 1994, p. 1959, § 15; Laws 1995, p. 625, § 3; Laws 1996, p. 1113, § 3.

Notes of Decisions (25)

Ga. Code Ann., § 42-9-45, GA ST § 42-9-45
Current through the end of the 2013 Regular Session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Code of Georgia Annotated
Title 42. Penal Institutions
Chapter 9. Pardons and Paroles (Refs & Annos)
Article 2. Grants of Pardons, Paroles, and Other Relief (Refs & Annos)

Ga. Code Ann., § 42-9-48
§ 42-9-48. Arrest of parolee or conditional releasee violating terms of parole or release; notice to board
Currentness
(a) If any member of the board shall have reasonable ground to believe that any parolee or conditional releasee has lapsed into

criminal ways or has violated the terms and conditions of his parole or conditional release in a material respect, the member
may issue a warrant for the arrest of the parolee or conditional releasee.

(b) The warrant, if issued by a member or the board, shall be returned before the board and shall command that the alleged
violator of parole or conditional release be brought before the board for a final hearing on revocation of parole or conditional
release within a reasonable time after the preliminary hearing provided for in Code Section 42-9-50.

(c) All officers authorized to serve criminal process, all peace officers of this state, and all employees of the board whom the
board specifically designates in writing shall be authorized to execute the warrant.

(d) Any parole supervisor, when he has reasonable ground to believe that a parolee or conditional releasee has violated the
terms or conditions of his parole or conditional release in a material respect, shall notify the board or some member thereof;
and proceedings shall thereupon be had as provided in this Code section.

Credits
Laws 1943, p. 185, § 16; Laws 1965, p. 478, § 1; Laws 1970, p. 187, § 1; Laws 1975, p. 786, § 1; Laws 1979, p. 1020, § 1.

Notes of Decisions (10)

Ga. Code Ann., § 42-9-48, GA ST § 42-9-48
Current through the end of the 2013 Regular Session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Code of Georgia Annotated
Title 42. Penal Institutions
Chapter 9. Pardons and Paroles (Refs & Annos)
Article 2. Grants of Pardons, Paroles, and Other Relief (Refs & Annos)

Ga. Code Ann., § 42-9-50
§ 42-9-50. Preliminary hearing

Currentness

(a) Whenever a parolee or conditional releasee is arrested on a warrant issued by a member of the board for an alleged violation
of parole or conditional release, an informal preliminary hearing in the nature of a court of inquiry shall be held at or near the
place of the alleged violation. However, a preliminary hearing is not required if the parolee or conditional releasee is not under
arrest on a warrant issued by the board, has absconded from supervision, has signed a waiver of a preliminary hearing, has
admitted any alleged violation to any representative of the board in the presence of a third party who is not a representative of
the board, or has been convicted of any crime in a federal court or in a court of this state or of another state.

(b) The proceeding shall commence within a reasonable time after the arrest of the parolee or conditional releasee. Its purpose
shall be to determine whether there is probable cause or reasonable grounds to believe that the arrested parolee or conditional
releasee has committed acts which would constitute a violation of his parole or conditional release.

(c) The preliminary hearing shall be conducted by a hearing officer designated by the board, who shall be some officer who
is not directly involved in the case. It shall be the duty of the officer conducting the hearing to make a summary or digest,
which may be in the form of a tape recording, of what transpires at the hearing in terms of the testimony and other evidence
given in support of or against revocation. In addition, the officer shall state the reasons for his decision that probable cause for
revocation does or does not exist and shall indicate the evidence relied upon.

(d) It shall be the responsibility of the officer selected to conduct the preliminary hearing to provide the alleged violator with
written notice of the time and place of the proceeding, its purpose, and the violations which have been alleged. This notice shall
allow a reasonable time for the alleged violator to prepare his case.

(e) The officer selected to conduct the preliminary hearing shall have the power to issue subpoenas to compel the attendance
of witnesses resident within the county of the alleged violation after notice of 24 hours. The subpoenas shall be issued without
discrimination between public and private parties. When a subpoena is disobeyed, any party may apply to the superior court of
the county in which the hearing provided for by this Code section is held for an order requiring obedience. Failure to comply
with the order shall be cause for punishment as for contempt of court. The manner of service of subpoenas and costs of securing
the attendance of witnesses, including fees and mileage, shall be determined, computed, and assessed in the same manner as
is prescribed by law for cases in the superior court.

(f) The officer selected to conduct the preliminary hearing shall also have power to issue subpoenas for the production of
documents or other written evidence at the hearing provided for by this Code section; but upon written request made promptly
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and before the hearing, the officer may quash or modify the subpoena if it is unreasonable or oppressive or may condition denial
of the request upon the advancement by the person in whose behalf the subpoena is issued of the reasonable cost of producing
the documents or other written evidence. Enforcement of the subpoenas may be sought in the same manner as is provided in
subsection (e) of this Code section for subpoenas to compel the attendance of witnesses.

(g) At the hearing, the alleged violator may appear and speak in his own behalf, may present witnesses to testify in his behalf,
and may bring letters, documents, or any other relevant information to the hearing officer. He shall also have the right to cross-
examine those who have given adverse information at the preliminary hearing relating to the alleged violation, provided that
the hearing officer may refuse to allow such questioning if he determines that the informant would be subjected to risk of harm
if his identity were disclosed.

(h) Should the hearing officer determine that probable cause for revocation exists, he shall then determine whether the alleged
violator should be incarcerated pending his final revocation hearing or whether he should be set free on his personal recognizance
pending that hearing. If an alleged violator who is set free on his personal recognizance subsequently fails to appear at his final
hearing, the board may summarily revoke his parole or conditional release.

(i) The decision of the hearing officer as to probable cause for revocation shall not be binding on the board but may be either
ratified or overruled by majority vote of the board. In the event that the board overrules a determination of the hearing officer
that probable cause did not exist, the board shall then determine whether the alleged violator should be incarcerated pending his
final hearing or whether he should be set free on his personal recognizance pending that hearing. If an alleged violator who is
set free on personal recognizance subsequently fails to appear at his final hearing, the board may summarily revoke his parole
or conditional release. Where a hearing officer has determined, after finding probable cause, that the alleged violator should
be set free on his personal recognizance, the board may overrule that decision and order the alleged violator to be incarcerated
pending his final hearing.

Credits
Laws 1975, p. 786, § 2; Laws 1981, p. 812,8 1.

Notes of Decisions (2)

Ga. Code Ann., § 42-9-50, GA ST § 42-9-50
Current through the end of the 2013 Regular Session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Code of Georgia Annotated
Title 42. Penal Institutions
Chapter 9. Pardons and Paroles (Refs & Annos)
Article 2. Grants of Pardons, Paroles, and Other Relief (Refs & Annos)

Ga. Code Ann., § 42-9-51
§ 42-9-51. Final hearing; finding of board; conviction of crime

Currentness

(a) A parolee who has allegedly violated the terms of his parole or conditional release shall, except as otherwise provided in
this subsection, have a right to a final hearing before the board, to be held within a reasonable time after the occurrence of
one of the events listed in this subsection. No final hearing shall be required or permitted if the parolee or conditional releasee
has been convicted of or entered any form of guilty plea or plea of nolo contendere in any federal or state court of record to
any felony crime, or misdemeanor involving physical injury, committed by the parolee or conditional releasee during a term of
parole or conditional release, and which new conviction results in imposition by the convicting court of a term of imprisonment,
and, in such cases, the board shall revoke the entire unexpired term of parole or conditional release. In no case shall a final
hearing be required if the parolee or conditional releasee has signed a waiver of final hearing. The final hearing, if any, shall
be held within a reasonable time:

(1) After an arrest warrant has been issued by a member of the board and probable cause for revocation has been found by
the preliminary hearing officer;

(2) After a majority of the board overrules a determination by the preliminary hearing officer that probable cause does not
exist;

(3) After the board or two of its members are informed of an alleged violation and decide to consider the matter of revocation
without issuing a warrant for the alleged violator's arrest; or

(4) After a determination has been made that no preliminary hearing is required under subsection (a) of Code Section 42-9-50.

(b) The purpose of the hearing shall be to determine whether the alleged violator has in fact committed any acts which would
constitute a violation of the terms and conditions of his parole or conditional release and whether those acts are of such a nature
as to warrant revocation of parole or conditional release.

(c) When a parolee or conditional releasee has been convicted of any crime, whether a felony or a misdemeanor, or has entered a
plea of guilty or nolo contendere thereto in a court of record, his parole or conditional release may be revoked without a hearing
before the board. Moreover, whenever it shall appear to the board that a parolee or conditional releasee either has absconded
or has been convicted of another crime in a federal court or in a court of record of another state, the board may issue an order
of temporary revocation of parole or conditional release, together with its warrant for such violator, which shall suspend the
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running of the parolee's or conditional releasee's time from the date of the temporary revocation of parole or conditional release
to the date of the determination by the board as to whether the temporary revocation shall be made permanent. If the board
determines that there has been no violation of the conditions of the parole or conditional release, then the parolee or the releasee
shall be reinstated upon his original parole or conditional release without any loss of time and the order of temporary revocation
of parole or conditional release and the warrant shall be withdrawn.

(d) In all cases in which there is a hearing before the board, the alleged violator shall be given written notice of the time and
place of the hearing and of the claimed violations of parole or conditional release. In addition, this notice shall advise him of
the following rights:

(1) His right to disclosure of evidence introduced against him; provided, however, this right shall not be construed to require
the board to disclose to an alleged violator confidential information contained in its files which has no direct bearing on the
matter of parole revocation;

(2) His opportunity to be heard in person and to present witnesses and documentary evidence;

(3) His right to confront and cross-examine adverse witnesses, unless a majority of the board determines that disclosure of a
particular informant's identity would cause that informant or a member of his family to suffer a risk of harm; and

(4) His right to subpoena witnesses and documents through the board as provided in subsections (e) and (f) of this Code
section.

The notice shall be served by delivering it to the alleged violator in person, by delivering it to a person 18 years or older at his
last known place of residence, or by depositing it in the mail properly addressed to his last known place of residence.

(e) The board shall have the power to issue subpoenas to compel the attendance of witnesses at the hearing provided for by this
Code section. The subpoenas shall be issued without discrimination between public and private parties. When a subpoena is
disobeyed, any party may apply to the superior court of the county in which the hearing provided for by this Code section is
held for an order requiring obedience. Failure to comply with the order shall be cause for punishment as for contempt of court.
The manner of service of subpoenas and costs of securing the attendance of witnesses, including fees and mileage, shall be
determined, computed, and assessed in the same manner as prescribed by law for cases in the superior court.

(f) The board shall have the power to issue subpoenas for the production of documents or other written evidence at the hearing
provided for by this Code section, but upon written request made promptly and before the hearing the board may quash or
modify the subpoena if it is unreasonable or oppressive or may condition denial of the request upon the advancement by the
person in whose behalf the subpoena is issued of the reasonable cost of producing the documents or other written evidence.
Enforcement of such subpoenas may be sought in the same manner as is provided in subsection (e) of this Code section for
subpoenas to compel attendance of witnesses.

(g) Within a reasonable time after the hearing provided for by this Code section, the board shall enter an order (1) rescinding
parole or conditional release and returning the parolee or conditional releasee to serve the sentence theretofore imposed upon
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him, with benefit of computing the time so served on parole or conditional release as a part of his sentence; or (2) reinstating
the parole or conditional release or shall enter such other order as it may deem proper. The board shall issue a written statement
which shall indicate its reasons for revoking or not reinstating parole or conditional release or for taking such other action as
it deems appropriate and shall also indicate the evidence relied upon in determining the facts which form the basis for these
reasons. The parolee or conditional releasee who is the subject of the board's decision shall be furnished with a copy of this
written statement.

Credits
Laws 1943, p. 185, § 17; Laws 1955, p. 351, § 1; Laws 1964, p. 497, § 1; Laws 1965, p. 478, § 2; Laws 1975, p. 786, § 3;
Laws 1981, p. 812, § 2; Laws 1992, p. 3221, § 11.

Notes of Decisions (23)

Ga. Code Ann., § 42-9-51, GA ST § 42-9-51
Current through the end of the 2013 Regular Session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Code of Georgia Annotated
Title 42. Penal Institutions
Chapter 9. Pardons and Paroles (Refs & Annos)
Article 2. Grants of Pardons, Paroles, and Other Relief (Refs & Annos)

Ga. Code Ann., § 42-9-52
§ 42-9-52. Time of discharge from parole. Granting privileges to, and pardoning, parolee

Currentness

No person who has been placed on parole shall be discharged therefrom by the board prior to the expiration of the term for
which he was sentenced or until he shall have been duly pardoned or otherwise released as provided in this Code section or
as otherwise provided by law. The board may adopt rules and regulations, policies, and procedures for the granting of earned
time to persons while serving their sentences on parole or other conditional release to the same extent and in the same amount
as if such person were serving the sentence in custody. The board shall also be authorized to withhold or to forfeit, in whole or
in part, any such earned-time allowance. The board may relieve a person on parole or other conditional release from making
further reports and may permit the person to leave the state or county if satisfied that this is for the parolee's or conditional
releasee's best interest and for the best interest of society. When a parolee or other conditional releasee has, in the opinion of
the board, so conducted himself as to deserve a pardon or a commutation of sentence or the remission in whole or in part of
any fine, forfeiture, or penalty, the board may grant such relief in cases within its power.

Credits
Laws 1943, p. 185, § 18; Laws 1965, p. 478, § 3; Laws 1980, p. 402, § 1.

Notes of Decisions (2)

Ga. Code Ann., § 42-9-52, GA ST § 42-9-52
Current through the end of the 2013 Regular Session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Code of Georgia Annotated
Title 42. Penal Institutions
Chapter 9. Pardons and Paroles (Refs & Annos)
Article 2. Grants of Pardons, Paroles, and Other Relief (Refs & Annos)

Ga. Code Ann., § 42-9-54
§ 42-9-54. Relief from disabilities; conditional pardons forbidden

Currentness

(a) All pardons shall relieve those pardoned from civil and political disabilities imposed because of their convictions.

(b) No conditional pardons shall be issued.

Credits
Laws 1943, p. 185, §§ 20, 26.

Notes of Decisions (6)

Ga. Code Ann., § 42-9-54, GA ST § 42-9-54
Current through the end of the 2013 Regular Session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Code of Georgia Annotated
Title 42. Penal Institutions
Chapter 9. Pardons and Paroles (Refs & Annos)
Article 2. Grants of Pardons, Paroles, and Other Relief (Refs & Annos)

Ga. Code Ann., § 42-9-56
§ 42-9-56. No power of Governor to grant pardons and paroles

Currentness

The Governor shall have no authority or power whatever over the granting of pardons or paroles.

Credits
Laws 1943, p. 185, § 21; Laws 1983, p. 500, § 7.

Ga. Code Ann., § 42-9-56, GA ST § 42-9-56
Current through the end of the 2013 Regular Session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Kansas Statutes Annotated
Chapter 21. Crimes and Punishments
Article 68. Revised Sentencing Guidelines

K.S.A. 21-6821
Formerly cited as K.S.A. 21-4722

21-6821. Good time and program credits; calculation; forfeiture; rules and regulations of secretary

Currentness

(a) The secretary of corrections is hereby authorized to adopt rules and regulations providing for a system of good time
calculations. Such rules and regulations shall provide circumstances upon which an inmate may earn good time credits and
for the forfeiture of earned credits. Such circumstances may include factors related to program and work participation and
conduct and the inmate's willingness to examine and confront past behavioral patterns that resulted in the commission of the

inmate's crimes.

(b) For purposes of determining release of an inmate, the following shall apply with regard to good time calculations:

(1) Good behavior by inmates is the expected norm and negative behavior will be punished; and

(2) the amount of good time which can be earned by an inmate and subtracted from any sentence is limited to:

(A) For a crime committed on or after July 1, 1993, an amount equal to 15% of the prison part of the sentence;

(B) for a nondrug severity level 7 through 10 crime committed on or after January 1, 2008, an amount equal to 20% of
the prison part of the sentence; or

(C) for a drug severity level 3 or 4 crime committed on or after January 1, 2008, but prior to July 1,2012, or a drug severity
level 4 or 5 crime committed on or after July 1,2012, an amount equal to 20% of the prison part of the sentence.

(c) Any time which is earned and subtracted from the prison part of the sentence of any inmate pursuant to good time calculation
shall be added to such inmate's postrelease supervision term.

(d) An inmate shall not be awarded good time credits pursuant to this section for any review period established by the secretary
of corrections in which a court finds that the inmate has done any of the following while in the custody of the secretary of

corrections:

(1) Filed a false or malicious action or claim with the court;
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(2) brought an action or claim with the court solely or primarily for delay or harassment;

(3) testified falsely or otherwise submitted false evidence or information to the court;

(4) attempted to create or obtain a false affidavit, testimony or evidence; or

(5) abused the discovery process in any judicial action or proceeding.

(e)(1) For purposes of determining release of an inmate who is serving only a sentence for a nondrug severity level 4 through
10 crime or a drug severity level 3 or 4 crime committed on or after January 1, 2008, but prior to July 1, 2012, or an inmate
who is serving only a sentence for a nondrug severity level 4 through 10 crime or a drug severity level 4 or 5 crime committed
on or after July 1, 2012, the secretary of corrections is hereby authorized to adopt rules and regulations regarding program
credit calculations. Such rules and regulations shall provide circumstances upon which an inmate may earn program credits and
for the forfeiture of earned credits and such circumstances may include factors substantially related to program participation
and conduct. In addition to any good time credits earned and retained, the following shall apply with regard to program credit
calculations:

(A) A system shall be developed whereby program credits may be earned by inmates for the successful completion of
requirements for a general education diploma, a technical or vocational training program, a substance abuse treatment
program or any other program designated by the secretary which has been shown to reduce offender's risk after release; and

(B) the amount of time which can be earned and retained by an inmate for the successful completion of programs and
subtracted from any sentence is limited to not more than 60 days.

(2) Any time which is earned and subtracted from the prison part of the sentence of any inmate pursuant to program credit
calculation shall be added to such inmate's postrelease supervision term, if applicable.

(3) When separate sentences of imprisonment for different crimes are imposed on a defendant on the same date, a defendant
shall only be eligible for program credits if such crimes are a nondrug severity level 4 through 10, a drug severity level 3 or
4 committed prior to July 1,2012, or a drug severity level 4 or 5 committed on or after July 1,2012.

(4) Program credits shall not be earned by any offender successfully completing a sex offender treatment program.

(5) The secretary of corrections shall report to the Kansas sentencing commission and the Kansas reentry policy council the
data on the program credit calculations.
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Credits
Laws 2010, ch. 136, § 302, eff. July 1, 2011; Laws 2011, ch. 30, § 83, eff. July 1, 2011; Laws 2012, ch. 150, § 37, eff. July
1,2012.

Notes of Decisions (7)

K.S.A.21-6821,KS ST 21-6821
Current through 2012 regular session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Kansas Statutes Annotated
Chapter 22. Criminal Procedure
Article 37. Release Procedures

K.S.A. 22-3712
22-3712. Placement in diagnostic or treatment facility as condition of release
Currentness
As a condition of probation, parole or postrelease supervision, a probationer, parolee or person on postrelease supervision may
be placed in a diagnostic, or treatment facility by order of the court or prisoner review board. Placement in a diagnostic or

treatment facility shall not exceed 90 days or the maximum period of the prison sentence that could be imposed, but may be
renewed for further ninety-day periods on certificates presented to the court by the director of such facility.

Credits
Laws 1970, ch. 129, § 22-3712; Laws 1972, ch. 317, § 85; Laws 1990, ch. 309, § 18; Laws 1992, ch. 239, § 269; Laws 1997,
ch.23,§ 4; Laws 2012, ch. 16, § 13, eff. July 1,2012.

K.S.A.22-3712,KS ST 22-3712
Current through 2012 regular session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.

Mext



Brazil, Sean 7/29/2013
For Educational Use Only

22-3713. Prisoner review board; hearings; personnel and accounting..., KS ST 22-3713

West's Kansas Statutes Annotated
Chapter 22. Criminal Procedure
Article 37. Release Procedures

K.S.A. 22-3713
22-3713. Prisoner review board; hearings; personnel and accounting services

Currentness

(a) The prisoner review board may authorize one or more of its members to conduct hearings on behalf of the board.

(b) The secretary of corrections shall provide the prisoner review board with necessary personnel and accounting services.

Credits
Laws 1970, ch. 129, § 22-3713; Laws 1972, ch. 317, § 86; Laws 1973, ch. 339, § 65; Laws 1990, ch. 309, § 19; Laws 1996,
ch.32,§ 1; Laws 2012, ch. 16, § 14, eff. July 1, 2012.

Notes of Decisions (2)

K.S.A.22-3713,KS ST 22-3713
Current through 2012 regular session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Kansas Statutes Annotated
Chapter 22. Criminal Procedure
Article 37. Release Procedures

K.S.A. 22-3716

22-3716. Arrest for violating condition of probation, assignment to community corrections, suspension
of sentence or nonprison sanction, procedure; time limitation on issuing warrant; limitations on serving
sentence in department of corrections' facility or serving period of postrelease supervision, exceptions

Currentness

(a) At any time during probation, assignment to a community correctional services program, suspension of sentence or pursuant
to subsection (d) for defendants who committed a crime prior to July 1, 1993, and at any time during which a defendant is
serving a nonprison sanction for a crime committed on or after July 1, 1993, or pursuant to subsection (d), the court may issue a
warrant for the arrest of a defendant for violation of any of the conditions of release or assignment, a notice to appear to answer
to a charge of violation or a violation of the defendant's nonprison sanction. The notice shall be personally served upon the
defendant. The warrant shall authorize all officers named in the warrant to return the defendant to the custody of the court or to
any certified detention facility designated by the court. Any court services officer or community correctional services officer
may arrest the defendant without a warrant or may deputize any other officer with power of arrest to do so by giving the officer
a written or verbal statement setting forth that the defendant has, in the judgment of the court services officer or community
correctional services officer, violated the conditions of the defendant's release or a nonprison sanction. A written statement
delivered to the official in charge of a county jail or other place of detention shall be sufficient warrant for the detention of
the defendant. After making an arrest, the court services officer or community correctional services officer shall present to
the detaining authorities a similar statement of the circumstances of violation. Provisions regarding release on bail of persons
charged with a crime shall be applicable to defendants arrested under these provisions.

(b) Upon arrest and detention pursuant to subsection (a), the court services officer or community correctional services officer
shall immediately notify the court and shall submit in writing a report showing in what manner the defendant has violated the
conditions of release or assignment or a nonprison sanction. Thereupon, or upon an arrest by warrant as provided in this section,
the court shall cause the defendant to be brought before it without unnecessary delay for a hearing on the violation charged. The
hearing shall be in open court and the state shall have the burden of establishing the violation. The defendant shall have the right
to be represented by counsel and shall be informed by the judge that, if the defendant is financially unable to obtain counsel, an
attorney will be appointed to represent the defendant. The defendant shall have the right to present the testimony of witnesses
and other evidence on the defendant's behalf. Relevant written statements made under oath may be admitted and considered by
the court along with other evidence presented at the hearing. Except as otherwise provided, if the violation is established, the
court may continue or revoke the probation, assignment to a community correctional services program, suspension of sentence
or nonprison sanction and may require the defendant to serve the sentence imposed, or any lesser sentence, and, if imposition of
sentence was suspended, may impose any sentence which might originally have been imposed. Except as otherwise provided,
no offender for whom a violation of conditions of release or assignment or a nonprison sanction has been established as provided
in this section shall be required to serve any time for the sentence imposed or which might originally have been imposed in a
state facility in the custody of the secretary of corrections for such violation, unless such person has already at least one prior
assignment to a community correctional services program related to the crime for which the original sentence was imposed,
except these provisions shall not apply to offenders who violate a condition of release or assignment or a nonprison sanction by
committing a new misdemeanor or felony offense. The provisions of this subsection shall not apply to adult felony offenders
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as described in subsection (a)(3) of K.S.A. 75-5291, and amendments thereto. The court may require an offender for whom a
violation of conditions of release or assignment or a nonprison sanction has been established as provided in this section to serve
any time for the sentence imposed or which might originally have been imposed in a state facility in the custody of the secretary
of corrections without a prior assignment to a community correctional services program if the court finds and sets forth with
particularity the reasons for finding that the safety of the members of the public will be jeopardized or that the welfare of the
inmate will not be served by such assignment to a community correctional services program. When a new felony is committed
while the offender is on probation or assignment to a community correctional services program, the new sentence shall be
imposed pursuant to the consecutive sentencing requirements of K.S.A. 21-6606, and amendments thereto, and the court may
sentence the offender to imprisonment for the new conviction, even when the new crime of conviction otherwise presumes a
nonprison sentence. In this event, imposition of a prison sentence for the new crime does not constitute a departure.

(c) A defendant who is on probation, assigned to a community correctional services program, under suspension of sentence
or serving a nonprison sanction and for whose return a warrant has been issued by the court shall be considered a fugitive
from justice if it is found that the warrant cannot be served. If it appears that the defendant has violated the provisions of the
defendant's release or assignment or a nonprison sanction, the court shall determine whether the time from the issuing of the
warrant to the date of the defendant's arrest, or any part of it, shall be counted as time served on probation, assignment to a
community correctional services program, suspended sentence or pursuant to a nonprison sanction.

(d) The court shall have 30 days following the date probation, assignment to a community correctional service program,
suspension of sentence or a nonprison sanction was to end to issue a warrant for the arrest or notice to appear for the defendant
to answer a charge of a violation of the conditions of probation, assignment to a community correctional service program,
suspension of sentence or a nonprison sanction.

(e) Notwithstanding the provisions of any other law to the contrary, an offender whose nonprison sanction is revoked and a term
of imprisonment imposed pursuant to either the sentencing guidelines grid for nondrug or drug crimes shall not serve a period
of postrelease supervision upon the completion of the prison portion of that sentence. The provisions of this subsection shall not
apply to offenders sentenced to a nonprison sanction pursuant to a dispositional departure, whose offense falls within a border
box of either the sentencing guidelines grid for nondrug or drug crimes, offenders sentenced for a “sexually violent crime” or
a “sexually motivated crime” as defined by K.S.A. 22-3717, and amendments thereto, offenders sentenced pursuant to K.S.A.
21-6804, and amendments thereto, wherein the sentence is presumptive imprisonment but a nonprison sanction may be imposed
without a departure or offenders whose nonprison sanction was revoked as a result of a conviction for a new misdemeanor
or felony offense. The provisions of this subsection shall not apply to offenders who are serving or are to begin serving a
sentence for any other felony offense that is not excluded from postrelease supervision by this subsection on the effective date
of this subsection. The provisions of this subsection shall be applied retroactively. The department of corrections shall conduct
a review of all persons who are in the custody of the department as a result of only a revocation of a nonprison sanction. On
or before September 1, 2000, the department shall have discharged from postrelease supervision those offenders as required
by this subsection.

(f) Offenders who have been sentenced pursuant to K.S.A. 21-6824, and amendments thereto, and who subsequently violate
a condition of the drug and alcohol abuse treatment program shall be subject to an additional nonprison sanction for any
such subsequent violation. Such nonprison sanctions shall include, but not be limited to, up to 60 days in a county jail, fines,
community service, intensified treatment, house arrest and electronic monitoring.
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West's Kansas Statutes Annotated
Chapter 22. Criminal Procedure
Article 37. Release Procedures

K.S.A. 22-3717

22-3717. Parole or postrelease supervision; eligibility; interviews, notices and
hearings; rules and regulations; conditions of parole or postrelease supervision

Currentness

(a) Except as otherwise provided by this section; K.S.A. 21-4628, prior to its repeal; K.S.A. 21-4635 through 21-4638, prior
to their repeal; K.S.A. 21-4624, prior to its repeal; K.S.A. 21-4642, prior to its repeal; K.S.A. 21-6617, 21-6620, 21-6623,
21-6624,21-6625 and 21-6626, and amendments thereto; and K.S.A. 8-1567, and amendments thereto; an inmate, including an
inmate sentenced pursuant to K.S.A. 21-4618, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A.21-6707, and amendments thereto, shall be eligible
for parole after serving the entire minimum sentence imposed by the court, less good time credits.

(b)(1) Except as provided by K.S.A. 21-4635 through 21-4638, prior to their repeal, and K.S.A. 21-6620,21-6623,21-6624 and
21-6625, and amendments thereto, an inmate sentenced to imprisonment for the crime of capital murder, or an inmate sentenced
for the crime of murder in the first degree based upon a finding of premeditated murder, committed on or after July 1, 1994,
shall be eligible for parole after serving 25 years of confinement, without deduction of any good time credits.

(2) Except as provided by subsection (b)(1) or (b)(4), K.S.A. 21-4628, prior to its repeal, K.S.A. 21-4635 through 21-4638,
prior to their repeal, and K.S.A. 21-6620, 21-6623, 21-6624 and 21-6625, and amendments thereto, an inmate sentenced to
imprisonment for an off-grid offense committed on or after July 1, 1993, but prior to July 1, 1999, shall be eligible for parole
after serving 15 years of confinement, without deduction of any good time credits and an inmate sentenced to imprisonment
for an off-grid offense committed on or after July 1, 1999, shall be eligible for parole after serving 20 years of confinement
without deduction of any good time credits.

(3) Except as provided by K.S.A. 21-4628, prior to its repeal, an inmate sentenced for a class A felony committed before July
1, 1993, including an inmate sentenced pursuant to K.S.A. 21-4618, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 21-6707, and amendments
thereto, shall be eligible for parole after serving 15 years of confinement, without deduction of any good time credits.

(4) An inmate sentenced to imprisonment for a violation of subsection (a) of K.S.A. 21-3402, prior to its repeal, committed
on or after July 1, 1996, but prior to July 1, 1999, shall be eligible for parole after serving 10 years of confinement without
deduction of any good time credits.

(5) An inmate sentenced to imprisonment pursuant to K.S.A.21-4643, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A.21-6627, and amendments
thereto, committed on or after July 1, 2006, shall be eligible for parole after serving the mandatory term of imprisonment
without deduction of any good time credits.
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(c)(1) Except as provided in subsection (e), if an inmate is sentenced to imprisonment for more than one crime and the sentences
run consecutively, the inmate shall be eligible for parole after serving the total of:

(A) The aggregate minimum sentences, as determined pursuant to K.S.A. 21-4608, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 21-6606,
and amendments thereto, less good time credits for those crimes which are not class A felonies; and

(B) an additional 15 years, without deduction of good time credits, for each crime which is a class A felony.

(2) If an inmate is sentenced to imprisonment pursuant to K.S.A. 21-4643, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 21-6627, and
amendments thereto, for crimes committed on or after July 1, 2006, the inmate shall be eligible for parole after serving the
mandatory term of imprisonment.

(d)(1) Persons sentenced for crimes, other than off-grid crimes, committed on or after July 1, 1993, or persons subject to
subparagraph (G), will not be eligible for parole, but will be released to a mandatory period of postrelease supervision upon
completion of the prison portion of their sentence as follows:

(A) Except as provided in subparagraphs (D) and (E), persons sentenced for nondrug severity levels 1 through 4 crimes,
drug severity levels 1 and 2 crimes committed on or after July 1, 1993, but prior to July 1,2012, and drug severity levels
1,2 and 3 crimes committed on or after July 1, 2012, must serve 36 months, plus the amount of good time and program
credit earned and retained pursuant to K.S.A. 21-4722, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 21-6821, and amendments thereto,
on postrelease supervision.

(B) Except as provided in subparagraphs (D) and (E), persons sentenced for nondrug severity levels 5 and 6 crimes, drug
severity level 3 crimes committed on or after July 1, 1993, but prior to July 1, 2012, and drug severity level 4 crimes
committed on or after July 1, 2012, must serve 24 months, plus the amount of good time and program credit earned
and retained pursuant to K.S.A. 21-4722, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 21-6821, and amendments thereto, on postrelease
supervision.

(C) Except as provided in subparagraphs (D) and (E), persons sentenced for nondrug severity levels 7 through 10 crimes,
drug severity level 4 crimes committed on or after July 1, 1993, but prior to July 1,2012, and drug severity level 5 crimes
committed on or after July 1, 2012, must serve 12 months, plus the amount of good time and program credit earned
and retained pursuant to K.S.A. 21-4722, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 21-6821, and amendments thereto, on postrelease
supervision.

(D)(i) The sentencing judge shall impose the postrelease supervision period provided in subparagraph (d)(1)(A), (d)(1)(B)
or (d)(1)(C), unless the judge finds substantial and compelling reasons to impose a departure based upon a finding that
the current crime of conviction was sexually motivated. In that event, departure may be imposed to extend the postrelease
supervision to a period of up to 60 months.
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(ii) If the sentencing judge departs from the presumptive postrelease supervision period, the judge shall state on the
record at the time of sentencing the substantial and compelling reasons for the departure. Departures in this section are
subject to appeal pursuant to K.S.A. 21-4721, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 21-6820, and amendments thereto.

(iii) In determining whether substantial and compelling reasons exist, the court shall consider:

(a) Written briefs or oral arguments submitted by either the defendant or the state;

(b) any evidence received during the proceeding;

(c) the presentence report, the victim's impact statement and any psychological evaluation as ordered by the court
pursuant to subsection (e) of K.S.A.21-4714, prior to its repeal, or subsection (e) of K.S.A.21-6813, and amendments
thereto; and

(d) any other evidence the court finds trustworthy and reliable.

(iv) The sentencing judge may order that a psychological evaluation be prepared and the recommended programming be
completed by the offender. The department of corrections or the prisoner review board shall ensure that court ordered
sex offender treatment be carried out.

(v) In carrying out the provisions of subparagraph (d)(1)(D), the court shall refer to K.S.A. 21-4718, prior to its repeal,
or K.S.A. 21-6817, and amendments thereto.

(vi) Upon petition, the prisoner review board may provide for early discharge from the postrelease supervision period
upon completion of court ordered programs and completion of the presumptive postrelease supervision period, as
determined by the crime of conviction, pursuant to subparagraph (d)(1)(A), (d)(1)(B) or (d)(1)(C). Early discharge from
postrelease supervision is at the discretion of the board.

(vii) Persons convicted of crimes deemed sexually violent or sexually motivated shall be registered according to the
offender registration act, K. S.A. 22-4901 through 22-4910, and amendments thereto.

(viii) Persons convicted of K.S.A.21-3510 or 21-3511, prior to their repeal,, or K.S.A.21-5508, and amendments thereto,
shall be required to participate in a treatment program for sex offenders during the postrelease supervision period.

(E) The period of postrelease supervision provided in subparagraphs (A) and (B) may be reduced by up to 12 months
and the period of postrelease supervision provided in subparagraph (C) may be reduced by up to six months based on
the offender's compliance with conditions of supervision and overall performance while on postrelease supervision. The
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reduction in the supervision period shall be on an earned basis pursuant to rules and regulations adopted by the secretary
of corrections.

(F) In cases where sentences for crimes from more than one severity level have been imposed, the offender shall serve
the longest period of postrelease supervision as provided by this section available for any crime upon which sentence was
imposed irrespective of the severity level of the crime. Supervision periods will not aggregate.

(G) Except as provided in subsection (u), persons convicted of a sexually violent crime committed on or after July 1, 2006,
and who are released from prison, shall be released to a mandatory period of postrelease supervision for the duration of
the person's natural life.

(2) As used in this subsection, “sexually violent crime” means:

(A) Rape, K.S.A. 21-3502, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 21-5503, and amendments thereto;

(B) indecent liberties with a child, K.S.A.21-3503, prior to its repeal, or subsection (a) of K.S.A.21-5506, and amendments
thereto;

(C) aggravated indecent liberties with a child, K.S.A. 21-3504, prior to its repeal, or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 21-5506,
and amendments thereto;

(D) criminal sodomy, subsection (a)(2) and (a)(3) of K.S.A. 21-3505, prior to its repeal, or subsection (a)(3) and (a)(4)
of K.S.A. 21-5504, and amendments thereto;

(E) aggravated criminal sodomy, K.S.A.21-3506, prior to its repeal, or subsection (b) of K.S.A.21-5504, and amendments
thereto;

(F) indecent solicitation of a child, K.S.A.21-3510, prior to its repeal, or subsection (a) of K.S.A.21-5508, and amendments
thereto;

(G) aggravated indecent solicitation of a child, K.S.A. 21-3511, prior to its repeal, or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 21-5508,
and amendments thereto;

(H) sexual exploitation of a child, K.S.A. 21-3516, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 21-5510, and amendments thereto;

() aggravated sexual battery, K.S.A. 21-3518, prior to its repeal, or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 21-5505, and amendments
thereto;
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(J) aggravated incest, K.S.A. 21-3603, prior to its repeal, or subsection (b) of K.S.A.21-5604, and amendments thereto; or

(K) an attempt, conspiracy or criminal solicitation, as defined in K.S.A.21-3301, 21-3302 or 21-3303, prior to their repeal,
or K.S.A.21-5301, 21-5302 or 21-5303, and amendments thereto, of a sexually violent crime as defined in this section.

(3) As used in this subsection, “sexually motivated” means that one of the purposes for which the defendant committed the
crime was for the purpose of the defendant's sexual gratification.

(e) If an inmate is sentenced to imprisonment for a crime committed while on parole or conditional release, the inmate shall
be eligible for parole as provided by subsection (c), except that the prisoner review board may postpone the inmate's parole
eligibility date by assessing a penalty not exceeding the period of time which could have been assessed if the inmate's parole
or conditional release had been violated for reasons other than conviction of a crime.

(f) If a person is sentenced to prison for a crime committed on or after July 1, 1993, while on probation, parole, conditional
release or in a community corrections program, for a crime committed prior to July 1, 1993, and the person is not eligible for
retroactive application of the sentencing guidelines and amendments thereto pursuant to K.S.A. 21-4724, prior to its repeal, the
new sentence shall not be aggregated with the old sentence, but shall begin when the person is paroled or reaches the conditional
release date on the old sentence. If the offender was past the offender's conditional release date at the time the new offense was
committed, the new sentence shall not be aggregated with the old sentence but shall begin when the person is ordered released
by the prisoner review board or reaches the maximum sentence expiration date on the old sentence, whichever is earlier. The
new sentence shall then be served as otherwise provided by law. The period of postrelease supervision shall be based on the
new sentence, except that those offenders whose old sentence is a term of imprisonment for life, imposed pursuant to K.S.A.
21-4628, prior to its repeal, or an indeterminate sentence with a maximum term of life imprisonment, for which there is no
conditional release or maximum sentence expiration date, shall remain on postrelease supervision for life or until discharged
from supervision by the prisoner review board.

(g) Subject to the provisions of this section, the prisoner review board may release on parole those persons confined in
institutions who are eligible for parole when: (1) The board believes that the inmate should be released for hospitalization,
deportation or to answer the warrant or other process of a court and is of the opinion that there is reasonable probability that the
inmate can be released without detriment to the community or to the inmate; or (2) the secretary of corrections has reported to
the board in writing that the inmate has satisfactorily completed the programs required by any agreement entered under K.S.A.
75-5210a, and amendments thereto, or any revision of such agreement, and the board believes that the inmate is able and willing
to fulfill the obligations of a law abiding citizen and is of the opinion that there is reasonable probability that the inmate can be
released without detriment to the community or to the inmate. Parole shall not be granted as an award of clemency and shall
not be considered a reduction of sentence or a pardon.

(h) The prisoner review board shall hold a parole hearing at least the month prior to the month an inmate will be eligible for
parole under subsections (a), (b) and (c). At least one month preceding the parole hearing, the county or district attorney of the
county where the inmate was convicted shall give written notice of the time and place of the public comment sessions for the
inmate to any victim of the inmate's crime who is alive and whose address is known to the county or district attorney or, if the
victim is deceased, to the victim's family if the family's address is known to the county or district attorney. Except as otherwise
provided, failure to notify pursuant to this section shall not be a reason to postpone a parole hearing. In the case of any inmate
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convicted of an off-grid felony or a class A felony, the secretary of corrections shall give written notice of the time and place
of the public comment session for such inmate at least one month preceding the public comment session to any victim of such
inmate's crime or the victim's family pursuant to K.S.A. 74-7338, and amendments thereto. If notification is not given to such
victim or such victim's family in the case of any inmate convicted of an off-grid felony or a class A felony, the board shall
postpone a decision on parole of the inmate to a time at least 30 days after notification is given as provided in this section.
Nothing in this section shall create a cause of action against the state or an employee of the state acting within the scope of the
employee's employment as a result of the failure to notify pursuant to this section. If granted parole, the inmate may be released
on parole on the date specified by the board, but not earlier than the date the inmate is eligible for parole under subsections
(a), (b) and (c). At each parole hearing and, if parole is not granted, at such intervals thereafter as it determines appropriate, the
board shall consider: (1) Whether the inmate has satisfactorily completed the programs required by any agreement entered under
K.S.A.75-5210a, and amendments thereto, or any revision of such agreement; and (2) all pertinent information regarding such
inmate, including, but not limited to, the circumstances of the offense of the inmate; the presentence report; the previous social
history and criminal record of the inmate; the conduct, employment, and attitude of the inmate in prison; the reports of such
physical and mental examinations as have been made, including, but not limited to, risk factors revealed by any risk assessment
of the inmate; comments of the victim and the victim's family including in person comments, contemporaneous comments and
prerecorded comments made by any technological means; comments of the public; official comments; any recommendation
by the staff of the facility where the inmate is incarcerated; proportionality of the time the inmate has served to the sentence
a person would receive under the Kansas sentencing guidelines for the conduct that resulted in the inmate's incarceration; and
capacity of state correctional institutions.

(1) In those cases involving inmates sentenced for a crime committed after July 1, 1993, the prisoner review board will review
the inmate’s proposed release plan. The board may schedule a hearing if they desire. The board may impose any condition they
deem necessary to insure public safety, aid in the reintegration of the inmate into the community, or items not completed under
the agreement entered into under K.S.A. 75-5210a, and amendments thereto. The board may not advance or delay an inmate's
release date. Every inmate while on postrelease supervision shall remain in the legal custody of the secretary of corrections
and is subject to the orders of the secretary.

(j)(1) Before ordering the parole of any inmate, the prisoner review board shall have the inmate appear either in person or
via a video conferencing format and shall interview the inmate unless impractical because of the inmate's physical or mental
condition or absence from the institution. Every inmate while on parole shall remain in the legal custody of the secretary of
corrections and is subject to the orders of the secretary. Whenever the board formally considers placing an inmate on parole
and no agreement has been entered into with the inmate under K.S.A.75-5210a, and amendments thereto, the board shall notify
the inmate in writing of the reasons for not granting parole. If an agreement has been entered under K.S.A. 75-5210a, and
amendments thereto, and the inmate has not satisfactorily completed the programs specified in the agreement, or any revision
of such agreement, the board shall notify the inmate in writing of the specific programs the inmate must satisfactorily complete
before parole will be granted. If parole is not granted only because of a failure to satisfactorily complete such programs, the board
shall grant parole upon the secretary's certification that the inmate has successfully completed such programs. If an agreement
has been entered under K.S.A. 75-5210a, and amendments thereto, and the secretary of corrections has reported to the board in
writing that the inmate has satisfactorily completed the programs required by such agreement, or any revision thereof, the board
shall not require further program participation. However, if the board determines that other pertinent information regarding
the inmate warrants the inmate's not being released on parole, the board shall state in writing the reasons for not granting the
parole. If parole is denied for an inmate sentenced for a crime other than a class A or class B felony or an off-grid felony, the
board shall hold another parole hearing for the inmate not later than one year after the denial unless the board finds that it is
not reasonable to expect that parole would be granted at a hearing if held in the next three years or during the interim period
of a deferral. In such case, the board may defer subsequent parole hearings for up to three years but any such deferral by the
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board shall require the board to state the basis for its findings. If parole is denied for an inmate sentenced for a class A or class
B felony or an off-grid felony, the board shall hold another parole hearing for the inmate not later than three years after the
denial unless the board finds that it is not reasonable to expect that parole would be granted at a hearing if held in the next 10
years or during the interim period of a deferral. In such case, the board may defer subsequent parole hearings for up to 10 years
but any such deferral shall require the board to state the basis for its findings.

(2) Inmates sentenced for a class A or class B felony who have not had a board hearing in the five years prior to July 1,2010,
shall have such inmates' cases reviewed by the board on or before July 1, 2012. Such review shall begin with the inmates
with the oldest deferral date and progress to the most recent. Such review shall be done utilizing existing resources unless
the board determines that such resources are insufficient. If the board determines that such resources are insufficient, then
the provisions of this paragraph are subject to appropriations therefor.

(k)(1) Parolees and persons on postrelease supervision shall be assigned, upon release, to the appropriate level of supervision
pursuant to the criteria established by the secretary of corrections.

(2) Parolees and persons on postrelease supervision are, and shall agree in writing to be, subject to search or seizure by a
parole officer or a department of corrections enforcement, apprehension and investigation officer, at any time of the day or
night, with or without a search warrant and with or without cause. Nothing in this subsection shall be construed to authorize
such officers to conduct arbitrary or capricious searches or searches for the sole purpose of harassment.

(3) Parolees and persons on postrelease supervision are, and shall agree in writing to be, subject to search or seizure by any
law enforcement officer based on reasonable suspicion of the person violating conditions of parole or postrelease supervision
or reasonable suspicion of criminal activity. Any law enforcement officer who conducts such a search shall submit a written
report to the appropriate parole officer no later than the close of the next business day after such search. The written report
shall include the facts leading to such search, the scope of such search and any findings resulting from such search.

(1) The prisoner review board shall promulgate rules and regulations in accordance with K.S.A.77-415 et seq., and amendments
thereto, not inconsistent with the law and as it may deem proper or necessary, with respect to the conduct of parole hearings,
postrelease supervision reviews, revocation hearings, orders of restitution, reimbursement of expenditures by the state board
of indigents' defense services and other conditions to be imposed upon parolees or releasees. Whenever an order for parole or
postrelease supervision is issued it shall recite the conditions thereof.

(m) Whenever the prisoner review board orders the parole of an inmate or establishes conditions for an inmate placed on
postrelease supervision, the board:

(1) Unless it finds compelling circumstances which would render a plan of payment unworkable, shall order as a condition
of parole or postrelease supervision that the parolee or the person on postrelease supervision pay any transportation expenses
resulting from returning the parolee or the person on postrelease supervision to this state to answer criminal charges or
a warrant for a violation of a condition of probation, assignment to a community correctional services program, parole,
conditional release or postrelease supervision;
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(2) to the extent practicable, shall order as a condition of parole or postrelease supervision that the parolee or the person
on postrelease supervision make progress towards or successfully complete the equivalent of a secondary education if the
inmate has not previously completed such educational equivalent and is capable of doing so;

(3) may order that the parolee or person on postrelease supervision perform community or public service work for local
governmental agencies, private corporations organized not-for-profit or charitable or social service organizations performing
services for the community;

(4) may order the parolee or person on postrelease supervision to pay the administrative fee imposed pursuant to
K.S.A. 22-4529, and amendments thereto, unless the board finds compelling circumstances which would render payment
unworkable;

(5) unless it finds compelling circumstances which would render a plan of payment unworkable, shall order that the parolee
or person on postrelease supervision reimburse the state for all or part of the expenditures by the state board of indigents'
defense services to provide counsel and other defense services to the person. In determining the amount and method of
payment of such sum, the prisoner review board shall take account of the financial resources of the person and the nature
of the burden that the payment of such sum will impose. Such amount shall not exceed the amount claimed by appointed
counsel on the payment voucher for indigents' defense services or the amount prescribed by the board of indigents' defense
services reimbursement tables as provided in K.S.A.22-4522, and amendments thereto, whichever is less, minus any previous
payments for such services;

(6) shall order that the parolee or person on postrelease supervision agree in writing to be subject to search or seizure by a
parole officer or a department of corrections enforcement, apprehension and investigation officer, at any time of the day or
night, with or without a search warrant and with or without cause. Nothing in this subsection shall be construed to authorize
such officers to conduct arbitrary or capricious searches or searches for the sole purpose of harassment; and

(7) shall order that the parolee or person on postrelease supervision agree in writing to be subject to search or seizure by any
law enforcement officer based on reasonable suspicion of the person violating conditions of parole or postrelease supervision
or reasonable suspicion of criminal activity.

(n) If the court which sentenced an inmate specified at the time of sentencing the amount and the recipient of any restitution
ordered as a condition of parole or postrelease supervision, the prisoner review board shall order as a condition of parole or
postrelease supervision that the inmate pay restitution in the amount and manner provided in the journal entry unless the board
finds compelling circumstances which would render a plan of restitution unworkable.

(o) Whenever the prisoner review board grants the parole of an inmate, the board, within 14 days of the date of the decision
to grant parole, shall give written notice of the decision to the county or district attorney of the county where the inmate was
sentenced.
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(p) When an inmate is to be released on postrelease supervision, the secretary, within 30 days prior to release, shall provide the
county or district attorney of the county where the inmate was sentenced written notice of the release date.

(q) Inmates shall be released on postrelease supervision upon the termination of the prison portion of their sentence. Time
served while on postrelease supervision will vest.

(r) An inmate who is allocated regular good time credits as provided in K.S.A. 22-3725, and amendments thereto, may receive
meritorious good time credits in increments of not more than 90 days per meritorious act. These credits may be awarded by
the secretary of corrections when an inmate has acted in a heroic or outstanding manner in coming to the assistance of another
person in a life threatening situation, preventing injury or death to a person, preventing the destruction of property or taking
actions which result in a financial savings to the state.

(s) The provisions of subsections (d)(1)(A), (d)(1)(B), (d)(1)(C) and (d)(1)(E) shall be applied retroactively as provided in
subsection (t).

(t) For offenders sentenced prior to May 25, 2000, who are eligible for modification of their postrelease supervision obligation,
the department of corrections shall modify the period of postrelease supervision as provided for by this section for offenders
convicted of severity levels 9 and 10 crimes on the sentencing guidelines grid for nondrug crimes and severity level 4 crimes on
the sentencing guidelines grid for drug crimes on or before September 1, 2000; for offenders convicted of severity levels 7 and
8 crimes on the sentencing guidelines grid for nondrug crimes on or before November 1, 2000; and for offenders convicted of
severity levels 5 and 6 crimes on the sentencing guidelines grid for nondrug crimes and severity level 3 crimes on the sentencing
guidelines grid for drug crimes on or before January 1, 2001.

(u) An inmate sentenced to imprisonment pursuant to K.S.A. 21-4643, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 21-6627, and amendments
thereto, for crimes committed on or after July 1, 2006, shall be placed on parole for life and shall not be discharged from
supervision by the prisoner review board. When the board orders the parole of an inmate pursuant to this subsection, the board
shall order as a condition of parole that the inmate be electronically monitored for the duration of the inmate's natural life.

(v) Whenever the prisoner review board orders a person to be electronically monitored pursuant to this section, or the court
orders a person to be electronically monitored pursuant to subsection (r) of K.S.A. 21-6604, and amendments thereto, the board
shall order the person to reimburse the state for all or part of the cost of such monitoring. In determining the amount and method
of payment of such sum, the board shall take account of the financial resources of the person and the nature of the burden that
the payment of such sum will impose.

(w)(1) On and after July 1, 2012, for any inmate who is a sex offender, as defined in K.S.A. 22-4902, and amendments thereto,
whenever the prisoner review board orders the parole of such inmate or establishes conditions for such inmate placed on
postrelease supervision, such inmate shall agree in writing to not possess pornographic materials.

(A) As used in this subsection, “pornographic materials” means: Any obscene material or performance depicting sexual
conduct, sexual contact or a sexual performance; and any visual depiction of sexually explicit conduct.

Mext



Brazil, Sean 7/29/2013
For Educational Use Only

22-3717. Parole or postrelease supervision; eligibility; interviews,..., KS ST 22-3717

(B) As used in this subsection, all other terms have the meanings provided by K.S.A. 21-5510, and amendments thereto.

(2) The provisions of this subsection shall be applied retroactively to every sex offender, as defined in K.S.A. 22-4902, and
amendments thereto, who is on parole or postrelease supervision on July 1, 2012. The prisoner review board shall obtain the
written agreement required by this subsection from such offenders as soon as practicable.

Credits

Laws 1970, ch. 129, § 22-3717; Laws 1972, ch. 317, § 90; Laws 1973, ch. 339, § 88; Laws 1974, ch. 403, § 10; Laws 1975,
ch.203,§ 1; Laws 1976, ch. 168, § 2; Laws 1978, ch. 120, § 13; Laws 1979, ch. 94, § 2; Laws 1981, ch. 156, § 1; Laws 1982,
ch. 137, § 3; Laws 1982, ch. 150, § 2; Laws 1983, ch. 116, § 1; Laws 1984, ch. 131, § 1; Laws 1985,ch. 111, § 2; Laws 1986,
ch. 128, § 3; Laws 1986, ch. 123, § 25; Laws 1986, ch. 136, § 3; Laws 1987,ch. 118, § 1; Laws 1988, ch. 115, § 1; Laws 1989,
ch. 103, § 1; Laws 1990, ch. 99, § 13; Laws 1990, ch. 113, § 2; Laws 1991, ch. 94, § 1; Laws 1992, ch. 239, § 270; Laws 1993,
ch. 253, § 11; Laws 1993, ch. 291, § 281; Laws 1994, ch. 21, § 1; Laws 1994, ch. 341, § 13; Laws 1995, ch. 121, § 4; Laws
1996, ch. 158, § 8; Laws 1996, ch. 267, § 15; Laws 1997, ch. 23, § 5; Laws 1997, ch. 181, § 20; Laws 1998, ch. 186, § 3;
Laws 1999, ch. 164, § 20; Laws 2000, ch. 182, § 9; Laws 2001, ch. 200, § 15; Laws 2002, ch. 163, § 5; Laws 2004, ch. 102,
§ 5; Laws 2006, ch. 212, § 19; Laws 2007, ch. 197, § 4, eff. July 1, 2007; Laws 2008, ch. 116, § 1, eff. July 1, 2008; Laws
2010, ch. 147, § 7, eff. July 1, 2010; Laws 2011, ch. 30, § 136, eff. July 1, 2011; Laws 2012, ch. 70, § 2, eff. July 1, 2012;
Laws 2012, ch. 150, § 43, eff. July 1,2012.

Editors' Notes
VALIDITY

<Subsection (d)(1)(G) of this section has been held unconstitutional as applied in the case of State v. Proctor, 280
P.3d 839,2012 WL 2620525, (Kan.App. Jul 06, 2012) >

Notes of Decisions (280)

K.S.A.22-3717,KS ST 22-3717
Current through 2012 regular session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Kansas Statutes Annotated
Chapter 22. Criminal Procedure
Article 37. Release Procedures

K.S.A. 22-3718
22-3718. Conditional release; notice

Currentness

Upon release, an inmate who has served the inmate's maximum term or terms, less such work and good behavior credits as have
been earned, shall be subject to such written rules and conditions as the prisoner review board may impose, until the expiration
of the maximum term or terms for which the inmate was sentenced or until the inmate is otherwise discharged. If the court which
sentenced an inmate specified at the time of sentencing the amount and the recipient of any restitution ordered as a condition of
release pursuant to this section, the board may set aside restitution as a condition of release payment of restitution, if the board
finds compelling circumstances which would render a plan of restitution unworkable. If the court which sentenced an inmate
specified reimbursement of all or part of the expenditures by the state board of indigents' defense services as a condition of
release, the board may set aside such reimbursement, if the board finds compelling circumstances which would render a plan
of reimbursement unworkable. Prior to the release of any inmate on parole, conditional release or expiration of sentence, if an
inmate is released into the community under a program under the supervision of the secretary of corrections, the secretary shall
give written notice of such release to any victim or victim's family as provided in K.S.A. 22-3727, and amendments thereto.

Credits
Laws 1970, ch. 129, § 22-3718; Laws 1972, ch. 317, § 91; Laws 1986, ch. 128, § 4; Laws 1989, ch. 103, § 2; Laws 1993, ch.
166, § 8; Laws 1995, ch. 257, § 4; Laws 1997, ch. 23, § 6; Laws 1997, ch. 181, § 21; Laws 2012, ch. 16, § 16, eff. July 1,2012.

Notes of Decisions (13)

K.S.A.22-3718,KS ST 22-3718
Current through 2012 regular session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Kansas Statutes Annotated
Chapter 22. Criminal Procedure
Article 37. Release Procedures

K.S.A. 22-3722
22-3722. Service on parole, conditional release and postrelease supervision; discharge; restoration of civil rights

Currentness

The period served on parole or conditional release shall be deemed service of the term of confinement, and, subject to the
provisions contained in K.S.A. 75-5217, and amendments thereto, relating to an inmate who is a fugitive from or has fled from
justice, the total time served may not exceed the maximum term or sentence. The period served on postrelease supervision shall
vest in and be subject to the provisions contained in K.S.A. 75-5217, and amendments thereto, relating to an inmate who is
a fugitive from or has fled from justice. The total time served shall not exceed the postrelease supervision period established
at sentencing.

When an inmate on parole or conditional release has performed the obligations of the release for such time as shall satisfy the
prisoner review board that final release is not incompatible with the best interest of society and the welfare of the individual,
the board may make a final order of discharge and issue a certificate of discharge to the inmate but no such order of discharge
shall be made in any case within a period of less than one year after the date of release except where the sentence expires
earlier thereto. When an inmate has reached the end of the postrelease supervision period, the board shall issue a certificate of
discharge to the releasee. Such discharge, and the discharge of an inmate who has served the inmate's term of imprisonment,
shall have the effect of restoring all civil rights lost by operation of law upon commitment, and the certification of discharge
shall so state. Nothing herein contained shall be held to impair the power of the governor to grant a pardon or commutation
of sentence in any case.

Credits
Laws 1970, ch. 129, § 22-3722; Laws 1972, ch. 317, § 95; Laws 1973, ch. 339, § 68; Laws 1990, ch. 309, § 22; Laws 1992,
ch. 239, § 271; Laws 2012, ch. 16, § 19, eff. July 1, 2012.

Notes of Decisions (20)

K.S.A.22-3722,KS ST 22-3722
Current through 2012 regular session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Kansas Statutes Annotated
Chapter 22. Criminal Procedure
Article 37. Release Procedures

K.S.A. 22-3727
22-3727. Secretary of corrections; prior to release, information to victims

Currentness

(a) Prior to the release of any inmate on parole, conditional release, expiration of sentence or postrelease supervision, if an
inmate is released into the community under a program under the supervision of the secretary of corrections, or after the escape
of an inmate or death of an inmate while in the secretary of corrections' custody, the secretary of corrections shall give written
notice of such release, escape or death to any victim of the inmate's crime who is alive and whose address is known to the
secretary or, if the victim is deceased, to the victim's family if the family's address is known to the secretary. Such notice shall
be required to be given to the victim or the victim's family only if the inmate was convicted of any crime in article 33, 34,35 or
36 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, prior to their repeal, or articles 53, 54, 55 or 56 of chapter 21 of the Kansas
Statutes Annotated, or K.S.A. 21-6104, 21-6325, 21-6326 or 21-6418 through 21-6421, and amendments thereto. Failure to
notify the victim or the victim's family as provided in this section shall not be a reason for postponement of parole, conditional
release or other forms of release.

(b) As used in this section, “victim's family” means a spouse, surviving spouse, children, parents, legal guardian, siblings,
stepparent or grandparents.

Credits
Laws 1993, ch. 166, § 7; Laws 2010, ch. 61, § 8, eff. July 1, 2010; Laws 2011, ch. 30, § 138, eff. July 1,2011.

K.S.A.22-3727,KS ST 22-3727
Current through 2012 regular session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Kansas Statutes Annotated
Chapter 22. Criminal Procedure
Article 37. Release Procedures

K.S.A. 22-3727a
22-3727a. Notification to victims of the escape or death of certain committed defendants or inmates; when

Currentness

(a) The secretary of corrections shall, as soon as practicable, provide notification as provided in K.S.A. 22-3303, 22-3305,
22-3428, 22-3428a, 22-3430, 22-3431 and 22-3727, and amendments thereto, and upon the escape or death of a committed
defendant or inmate while in the custody of the secretary of social and rehabilitation services, to any victim of the defendant or
inmate's crime whose address is known to the secretary of corrections, and the victim's family, if so requested and the family's
addresses are known to the secretary of corrections. Such notice shall be required to be given only if the defendant was charged
with, or the inmate was convicted of, any crime in article 33, 34, 35 or 36 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, prior
to their repeal, or articles 53, 54, 55 or 56 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, or K.S.A.21-6104,21-6325,21-6326
or 21-6418 through 21-6421, and amendments thereto.

(b) As used in this section, “victim's family” means a spouse, surviving spouse, children, parents, legal guardian, siblings,
stepparent or grandparents.

Credits
Laws 2010, ch. 61, § 1, eff. July 1,2010; Laws 2011, ch. 30, § 139, eff. July 1, 2011.

Editors' Notes
CHANGE OF NAME

<The department of social and rehabilitation services is renamed the Kansas department for children and families
and the secretary of social and rehabilitation services is renamed the secretary for children and families, pursuant to
Executive Reorganization Order No. 41, Laws 2012, ch. 185, § 2, eff. July 1, 2012, K.S.A. 39-1902 >

K.S. A.22-3727a,KS ST 22-3727a
Current through 2012 regular session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Kansas Statutes Annotated
Chapter 22. Criminal Procedure
Article 37. Release Procedures

K.S.A. 22-3728
22-3728. Functional incapacitation release; procedures; notice; conditions; supervision upon release

Currentness

(a)(1) Upon application of the secretary of corrections, the prisoner review board may grant release to any person deemed to
be functionally incapacitated, upon such terms and conditions as prescribed in the order granting such release.

(2) The secretary of corrections shall adopt rules and regulations governing the prisoner review board's procedure for
initiating, processing, reviewing and establishing criteria for review of applications filed on behalf of persons deemed to
be functionally incapacitated. Such rules and regulations shall include criteria and guidelines for determining whether the
functional incapacitation precludes the person from posing a threat to the public.

(3) Subject to the provisions of subsections (a)(4) and (a)(5), a functional incapacitation release shall not be granted until at
least 30 days after written notice of the application has been given to: (A) The prosecuting attorney and the judge of the court
in which the person was convicted; and (B) any victim of the person's crime or the victim's family. Notice of such application
shall be given by the secretary of corrections to the victim who is alive and whose address is known to the secretary, or if
the victim is deceased, to the victim's family if the family's address is known to the secretary. Subject to the provisions of
subsection (a)(4), if there is no known address for the victim, if alive, or the victim's family, if deceased, the board shall not
grant or deny such application until at least 30 days after notification is given by publication in the county of conviction.
Publication costs shall be paid by the department of corrections.

(4) All applications for functional incapacitation release shall be referred to the board. The board shall examine each case
and may approve such application and grant a release. An application for release shall not be approved unless the board
determines that the person is functionally incapacitated and does not represent a future risk to public safety. The board shall
determine whether a hearing is necessary on the application. The board may request additional information or evidence it
deems necessary from a medical or mental health practitioner.

(5) The board shall establish any conditions related to the release of the person. The release shall be conditional, and be
subject to revocation pursuant to K.S.A.75-5217, and amendments thereto, if the person's functional incapacity significantly
diminishes, if the person fails to comply with any condition of release, or if the board otherwise concludes that the person
presents a threat or risk to public safety. The person shall remain on release supervision until the release is revoked, expiration
of the maximum sentence, or discharged by the board. Subject to the provisions of subsection (f) of K.S.A. 75-5217, and
amendments thereto, the person shall receive credit for the time during which the person is on functional incapacitation release
supervision towards service of the prison and postrelease supervision obligations of determinate sentences or indeterminate
sentences.
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(6) The secretary of corrections shall cause the person to be supervised upon release, and shall have the authority to initiate
revocation of the person at any time for the reasons indicated in subsection (a)(5).

(7) The decision of the board on the application or any revocation shall be final and not subject to review by any administrative
agency or court.

(8) In determining whether a person is functionally incapacitated, the board shall consider the following:

(A) The person's current condition as confirmed by medical or mental health care providers, including whether the
condition is terminal;

(B) the person's age and personal history;

(C) the person's criminal history;

(D) the person's length of sentence and time the person has served;

(E) the nature and circumstances of the current offense;

(F) the risk or threat to the community if released;

(G) whether an appropriate release plan has been established; and

(H) any other factors deemed relevant by the board.

(b) Nothing in this section shall be construed to limit or preclude submission of an application for pardon or commutation of
sentence pursuant to K.S.A. 22-3701, and amendments thereto.

(c) Nothing in this section shall apply to the release of people with terminal medical conditions as described in K.S.A. 22-3729,
and amendments thereto.

(d) This section does not apply to any person sentenced to imprisonment for an off-grid offense.

Credits
Laws 2002, ch. 57, § 1; Laws 2010, ch. 107, § 1, eff. July 1, 2010; Laws 2012, ch. 16, § 21, eff. July 1,2012.
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K.S. A.22-3728,KS ST 22-3728
Current through 2012 regular session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Kansas Statutes Annotated
Chapter 22. Criminal Procedure
Article 37. Release Procedures

K.S.A. 22-3729
22-3729. Terminal medical release; procedures; notice; conditions; revocation; supervision upon release

Currentness

(a)(1) Upon application of the secretary of corrections, the chairperson of the prisoner review board may grant release to any
person deemed by a doctor licensed to practice medicine and surgery in Kansas to have a terminal medical condition likely to
cause death within 30 days upon such terms and conditions as prescribed in the order granting such release.

(2) The secretary of corrections shall adopt rules and regulations governing the prisoner review board's procedure for
initiating, processing, reviewing and establishing criteria for review of applications filed on behalf of persons deemed to
have a terminal medical condition likely to cause death within 30 days. Such rules and regulations shall include criteria and
guidelines for determining whether the terminal medical condition precludes the person from posing a threat to the public.

(3) All applications for a terminal medical condition release shall be referred to the chairperson of the board. The chairperson
of the board shall examine each case and may approve such application and grant a release. An application for release shall
not be approved unless the chairperson of the board determines that the person has been deemed by a doctor licensed to
practice medicine and surgery in Kansas to have a terminal medical condition likely to cause death within 30 days and does
not represent a future risk to public safety. The chairperson of the board may request additional information or evidence the
chairperson of the board deems necessary from a doctor licensed to practice medicine and surgery in Kansas.

(4) The chairperson of the board shall establish any conditions related to the release of the person. The release shall be
conditional, and be subject to revocation pursuant to K.S.A. 75-5217, and amendments thereto, if the person's illness or
condition significantly improves, the person does not die within 30 days of release, if the person fails to comply with any
condition of release, or if the board otherwise concludes that the person presents a threat or risk to public safety. The person
shall remain on release supervision until the release is revoked, expiration of the maximum sentence or discharged by the
board. Subject to the provisions of subsection (f) of K.S.A. 75-5217, and amendments thereto, the person shall receive credit
for the time during which the person is on terminal medical condition release supervision towards service of the prison and
postrelease supervision obligations of determinate sentences or indeterminate sentences.

(5) The secretary of corrections shall cause the person to be supervised upon release, and shall have the authority to initiate
revocation of the person at any time for the reasons indicated in subsection (a)(4).

(6) The decision of the chairperson of the board on the application and the decision of the board regarding any revocation
shall be final and not subject to review by any administrative agency or court.
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(7) In determining whether a person meets the criteria to be released under this section, the chairperson of the board shall
consider the following:

(A) The person's current condition as confirmed by a doctor licensed to practice medicine and surgery in Kansas, including
whether the condition is terminal and likely to cause death within 30 days;

(B) the person's age and personal history;

(C) the person's criminal history;

(D) the person's length of sentence and time the person has served;

(E) the nature and circumstances of the current offense;

(F) the risk or threat to the community if released;

(G) whether an appropriate release plan has been established; and

(H) any other factors deemed relevant by the board member.

(b) Nothing in this section shall be construed to limit or preclude submission of an application for pardon or commutation of
sentence pursuant to K.S.A. 22-3701, and amendments thereto.

(c) The secretary shall give notice of the granting of a terminal medical condition release to: (1) The prosecuting attorney and
the judge of the court in which the person was convicted; and (2) any victim of the person's crime if alive or the victim's family
if the victim is deceased, whose address is known by the secretary.

(d) This section does not apply to any person sentenced to imprisonment for an off-grid offense.

Credits
Laws 2010, ch. 107, § 2, eff. July 1,2010; Laws 2012, ch. 16, § 22, eff. July 1,2012.

K.S.A.22-3729,KS ST 22-3729
Current through 2012 regular session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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Kansas Administrative Regulations Currentness
Agency 44. Department of Corrections
Article 6. Good Time Credits and Sentence Computation

K.A.R. 44-6-114¢

44-6-114c Parole eligibility computation.

(a) For concurrent and aggregated consecutive terms not involving class A felonies, parole eligibility shall be set at the minimum
term less any award for good time credits. The minimum term, less good time credits awarded and retained, shall determine the
parole eligibility date for concurrent and aggregated consecutive sentences for crimes committed before July 1, 1993, including
sentences pursuant to K.S.A. 21-4618 and amendments thereto, but not including class A felonies.

(b) Concurrent class A felony sentences shall have a fixed parole eligibility date of 15 years, except as follows:

(1) For capital murder offenses committed on or after July 1, 1990 but before July 1, 1994, with a sentence imposed under
former K.S.A. 21-4628, a parole eligibility date of 40 years shall be established.

(2) For capital murder offenses committed on or after July 1, 1994, but before July 1, 1999, if a death sentence is not
imposed, then under K.S.A. 21-4635 and 21-4638, and amendments thereto, a parole eligibility date of 40 years shall be
established.

(3) For capital murder offenses committed on or after July 1, 1999, if a death sentence is not imposed, then under K.S.A.
21-4635 and 21-4638, and amendments thereto, a parole eligibility date of 50 years shall be established.

(c) Parole eligibility for consecutive sentences that include one or more class A felonies shall be determined by the following:

(1) Computing the parole eligibility on the aggregate minimum terms for crimes that are not class A felonies; and

(2) adding an additional 15 years for each class A felony or, in the case of an offender whose class A felony was committed
before July 1, 1994, and who was sentenced pursuant to the provisions of former K.S.A. 21-4628, an additional 40 years.
A class A felony sentence shall be served first with the 15-year or 40-year parole eligibility period, as appropriate, added
to the sentence begins date, to determine the parole eligibility date on the class A felony sentence. An additional 15 or
40 years, as appropriate, shall be added for each additional consecutive class A felony sentence. Good time credits shall
not be applied to class A felony sentences. Good time credits shall be applied to non-class A felony sentences only after
service of the fixed parole eligibility requirements for the class A felonies.

(d)(1) Except for a violation of K.S.A. 21-3402(a) and amendments thereto committed on or after July 1, 1996, but before July
1, 1999, parole eligibility for off-grid crimes shall be computed as follows:
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(A) For off-grid crimes committed on or after July 1, 1993, but before July 1, 1994, parole eligibility shall be computed
in the same manner as for class A felonies.

(B) For off-grid crimes committed on or after July 1, 1994, but before July 1, 1999, parole eligibility shall be computed
in the same manner as for class A felonies except that the fixed parole eligibility date shall be at 15, 25, or 40 years, as
specified by the court.

(C) For off-grid crimes committed on or after July 1, 1999, parole eligibility shall be computed in the same manner as for
class A felonies except that the fixed parole eligibility date shall be at 20, 25, or 50 years, as specified by the court.

(2) For violations of K.S.A.21-3402(a) committed on or after July 1, 1996, but before July 1, 1999, a fixed parole eligibility
date of 10 years shall be established.

(3) Good time credits shall not be applied to that portion of a sentence controlled by a fixed parole eligibility date and shall
be applied to sentencing grid crime sentences pursuant to K.S.A. 21-4722 and amendments thereto only after service of
the fixed parole eligibility requirements for off-grid crimes.

Credits
(Authorized by K.S.A. 75-5210, 75-5251; implementing K.S.A. 2001 Supp. 22-3717,K.S.A.75-5210, 75-5251; effective Nov.
12, 1990; amended Sept. 30, 1991; amended Sept. 6, 2002.)

Current through Volume 32, No. 26 June 27,2013

K.AR. 44-6-114c,KS ADC 44-6-114c

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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Kansas Administrative Regulations Currentness
Agency 44. Department of Corrections
Article 6. Good Time Credits and Sentence Computation

K.A.R. 44-6-114e

44-6-114e. Guidelines release date.

(a) Except for off-grid crimes, the prison portion of sentences for crimes committed on or after July 1, 1993 but before April 20,
1995, crimes at non-drug severity levels 7 through 10 committed on or after January 1, 2008, crimes at drug grid severity level
3 or 4 committed on or after January 1, 2008 but before July 1, 2012, and crimes at drug grid severity level 4 or 5 committed
on or after July 1,2012, may be reduced by no more than 20% through awarded and retained good time credits.

(b) Except for off-grid crimes, the prison portion of sentences for all crimes committed on or after April 20, 1995 but before
January 1, 2008, crimes at non-drug grid severity levels 1 through 6 and drug grid severity levels 1 and 2 committed on or after
January 1, 2008, and crimes at drug severity level 3 committed on or after July 1, 2012, may be reduced by no more than 15%
through awarded and retained good time credits. Partial days shall be rounded to the next whole number, but over the length of
the sentence no more than 15% of the imprisonment portion of the sentence may be awarded as good time.

(c) Concurrent and consecutive sentences for off-grid crimes committed on or after July 1, 1993 shall not be subject to reduction
through application of good time credits.

(d) For determinate sentences that are concurrent or consecutive with indeterminate sentences, good time may be awarded on
the indeterminate sentence term as described in these regulations and applicable law.

(e) Good time credits awarded and retained on the prison portion of a determinate sentence shall be added to the period of
postrelease supervision applicable to the offender's sentence.

(f) The following charts shall establish the good time credit rate for a 20% reduction of the prison portion of a determinate
sentence.

(1) Total good time credits available for the length of sentence imposed.

(2) Except as provided in subsection (h), allocation of good time credits available during the service of sentence.

TOTAL GOOD TIME AVAILABLE (20% RATE) OFFENSES
COMMITTED ON OR AFTER JULY 1,1993 THROUGH APRIL 19, 1995

Length of Sentence Possible Good Time Earned Time To Serve [All GT Kept]

Mext



Brazil, Sean 7/29/2013
For Educational Use Only

44-6-114e. Guidelines release date., KS ADC 44-6-114e

[Months] Years Months Days Years Months Days
5 0 1 0 0 4 0
6 0 1 6 0 4 24
7 0 1 12 0 5 18
8 0 1 18 0 6 12
9 0 1 24 0 7 6
10 0 2 0 0 8 0
11 0 2 6 0 8 24
12 0 2 12 0 9 18
13 0 2 18 0 10 12
14 0 2 24 0 11 6
15 0 3 0 1 0 0
16 0 3 6 1 0 24
17 0 3 12 1 1 18
18 0 3 18 1 2 12
19 0 3 24 1 3 6
20 0 4 0 1 4 0
21 0 4 6 1 4 24
22 0 4 12 1 5 18
23 0 4 18 1 6 12
24 0 4 24 1 7 6
25 0 5 0 1 8 0
26 0 5 6 1 8 24
27 0 5 12 1 9 18
28 0 5 18 1 10 12
29 0 5 24 1 11 6
30 0 6 0 2 0 0
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93 1 11 08
94 1 11 15
95 1 11 23
96 2 00 00
97 2 00 08
98 2 00 15
99 2 00 23
100 2 01 00

(g) The following charts shall establish the good time credit rate for a 15% reduction of the prison portion of a determinate
sentence.

(1) Total good time credits available for the length of sentence imposed.

(2) Except as provided in subsection (h), allocation of good time credits available during the service of sentence.

TOTAL GOOD TIME AVAILABLE (15% RATE) OFFENSES COMMITTED ON OR AFTER APRIL 20, 1995

Length of Sentence Possible Good Time Earned Time To Serve [All GT Kept]
[Months] Years Months Days Years Months Days
5 0 0 23 0 4 7
6 0 0 27 0 5 3
7 0 1 2 0 5 28
8 0 1 6 0 6 24
9 0 1 11 0 7 19
10 0 1 15 0 8 15
11 0 1 20 0 9 10
12 0 1 24 0 10 6
13 0 1 29 0 11 1
14 0 2 3 0 11 27
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98 1 2 21 0 83
99 1 2 26 0 84
100 1 3 0 0 85

ALLOCATION OF GOOD TIME CREDITS AVAILABLE DURING THE SERVICE OF
SENTENCE-15% RATE OFFENSES COMMITTED ON OR AFTER APRIL 20, 1995
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77 1 01 17
78 1 01 23
79 1 01 28
80 1 02 03
81 1 02 08
82 1 02 14
83 1 02 19
84 1 02 24
85 1 03 00
86 1 03 05
87 1 03 10
88 1 03 16
89 1 03 21
90 1 03 26
91 1 04 01
92 1 04 06
93 1 04 12
94 1 04 17
95 1 04 23
96 1 04 28
97 1 05 03
98 1 05 08
99 1 05 14
100 1 05 19

(h) The charts in subsections (f) and (g) shall be used to compute the total pool of good time credits available on composite
sentences for crimes committed on or after January 1, 2008, except that good time credit shall be allocated over the period
of time equal to the inmate's composite sentence term less a number that is the sum of the total pool of available good time
credits and four months.
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(Authorized by and implementing K.S.A. 2011 Supp. 21-6821, as amended by L. 2012, Ch. 150, §37, K.S.A. 2011 Supp.
75-5210,K.S.A. 2011 Supp. 75-5251; effective Sept. 6, 2002; amended Aug. 8,2008; amended Feb. 1,2013.)
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Kansas Administrative Regulations Currentness
Agency 45. Kansas Parole Board
Article 400. Release to Supervision

K.A.R. 45-400-1

45-400-1 General provisions.

(a) Following each parole hearing, the parole board's findings and recommendations shall be prepared in writing. These findings
and recommendations shall be used to prepare a final action notice. Appropriate department of corrections personnel shall be
provided with copies of the final action notice. The final action notice shall not be divulged to any other party until notice of
the board's action has been sent to the inmate.

(b) The release condition or conditions established by the board, if any, shall not be modified or waived except by order of
the board.

(c) If the board needs additional information after the parole hearing concerning the inmate or the inmate's parole plan, the
decision on the inmate's parole hearing may be delayed for a reasonable length of time so the necessary information can be
obtained.

(d) Each inmate who is on postrelease supervision or parole shall remain in the legal custody of the secretary of corrections
and subject to orders of the secretary.

Credits
(Authorized by and implementing K.S.A.2001 Supp. 22-3717, as amended by L. 2002, Ch. 163, Sec. 5; effective Nov.22,2002.)

Current through Volume 32, No. 26 June 27, 2013

K.AR. 45-400-1,KS ADC 45-400-1

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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Kansas Administrative Regulations Currentness
Agency 45. Kansas Parole Board
Article 400. Release to Supervision

K.A.R. 45-400-3

45-400-3 Release.

(a) Release dates.

(1) Any inmate who has been granted parole and has been assigned to a specific parole office may receive a release date
when placement arrangements are completed and approved.

(2) A specific release date may be designated by the board in order to comply with statutory parole eligibility or for any
other special cause as determined on a case-by-case basis. Requests for advance release may be considered by the board
for valid reasons, subject to investigation and confirmation by proper authorities.

(3) If an inmate's release date falls on a Saturday or Sunday, or on a holiday observed by the department of corrections,
the inmate may be released on the last workday before the computed release date.

(b) Interstate compact release. Each inmate who has been granted parole for out-of-state supervision under an interstate compact
agreement shall remain in confinement until the receiving state has entered its report with the compact administrator of the
secretary, who shall refer it to the board for final determination and authorization of release. If the interstate compact agreement
is disapproved, the decision to parole the inmate under the compact agreement shall be deemed void. A notice shall then be
issued by the board advising the inmate that the interstate compact agreement has been disapproved and the inmate's parole
suitability will be reconsidered at a scheduled parole hearing.

(c) Changes in parole plan. Each inmate who is on continued status and who elects to change the parole plan shall present this
information to the unit team, which shall forward it to the board for its approval and advice.

(d) Release to detainer.

(1) Each inmate who has been granted parole to a detainer only shall remain in confinement until sufficient arrangements
have been made to determine when the detaining authority will assume custody.

(2) Unless otherwise ordered by the board, a decision to parole an inmate to a detainer only shall be deemed void if the
detainer is thereafter cancelled. A notice to the inmate shall be issued by the board stating that the detainer has been
cancelled and the inmate's parole suitability will be reconsidered at a scheduled parole hearing.
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Credits
(Authorized by and implementing K.S.A.2001 Supp.22-3717, as amended by L.2002,Ch. 163, Sec. 5; effective Nov.22,2002.)
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Kansas Administrative Regulations Currentness
Agency 45. Kansas Parole Board
Article 400. Release to Supervision

K.A.R. 45-400-4

45-400-4 Deferred release.

(a) The release of any inmate who has been granted parole may be deferred or the parole may be rescinded on the basis of any
one or more of the following factors:

(1) Department of corrections staff finds that there is probable cause to believe that the inmate committed a facility
infraction before being released.

(2) The parole plan does not provide for sufficient supervision or does not adequately provide for public safety or for the
successful integration of the inmate.

(3) Information that was not available at the hearing indicates that the inmate cannot reasonably lead a law-abiding life.

(b) If the board so orders, the inmate shall not be released until the facility's fact-finding or disciplinary process is completed
and the board is provided copies of the findings and recommendations. The report may contain a recommendation to the board
concerning the inmate's parole status.

(c) If probable cause is found to believe that an inmate committed a facility infraction before being released, the board's decision
to reconsider the inmate's parole suitability may also take into account the following factors:

(1) The date of the alleged infraction;

(2) the nature of the alleged violation charged and its penalty classification; and

(3) the facility's report containing recommendations concerning the inmate's parole status.

(d) If the board is considering whether or not to rescind a decision to grant an inmate's parole, defer the inmate's established
release date, or both, the inmate shall be provided with the following by the board:

(1) A special hearing before the board or one or more of its members;
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(2) written notice, at least 24 hours before the hearing, of the purpose of the hearing and the grounds upon which the board
is considering the proposed action;

(3) an opportunity for each of the following:

(A) To appear;

(B) to respond to the allegations which are the basis for the board's proposed action.

(e) Following the special hearing, a written statement of the board's order, including the reasons for its determination, shall
be issued by the board.

Credits
(Authorized by and implementing K.S.A.2001 Supp.22-3717, as amended by L.2002,Ch. 163, Sec. 5; effective Nov.22,2002.)
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Article 700. Release of Functionally Incapacitated Inmates

K.A.R. 45-700-2

45-700-2 Review and consideration of application for release.

(a) On receipt of the secretary's application for release of a functionally incapacitated inmate, a member of the board shall
review the application and, with assistance from DOC staff, shall ensure that the following steps are taken:

(1) The written notification of the application provided by the secretary to each prosecuting attorney and the judge of
each court in which the inmate was convicted shall include confidential copies of each medical or mental health report
documenting the incapacitating condition. The confidentiality of these reports shall be maintained.

(2) The written notification of the application provided by the secretary to each victim or, if any victim is deceased, to
one or more members of the victim's family with known addresses shall not include any of the confidential medical or
mental health reports documenting the incapacitating condition. However, a general description of the inmate's incapacity
shall be included in the written notification.

(b)(1) At the discretion of the board member reviewing the application, the final decision on the application may be entered
with or without a formal hearing after considering all available information, including the following:

(A) The documentation required by subsection (a) of K.A.R. 45-700-1;

(B) any comments received from any prosecuting attorney, judge, crime victim, or member of the victim's family; and

(C) the factors identified in paragraph (a)(8) of L. 2002, Ch. 57, Sec. 1, and amendments thereto, and the following
additional factors:

(i) The inmate's age and medical condition;

(ii) the health care needs of the inmate;

(iii) the inmate's custody classification and level of risk of violence; and

(iv) the inmate's effective capacity to cause physical harm.
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An inmate's need for long-term care may be considered in reaching a determination that an inmate has a functional
incapacitation, but shall not be determinative in itself.

(2) If a hearing is scheduled, additional information or evidence may be requested from any of the medical or mental
health providers who prepared reports for the application, or from any other person or persons having relevant information
or knowledge.

(c) If the board finds that the inmate is functionally incapacitated and does not represent a risk to public safety, the release of
the inmate may be ordered by the board under the terms of the approved release plan and any additional terms and conditions
of release deemed necessary by the board, subject to the following voting requirements:

(1) The statutory requirements for voting to parole inmates sentenced for a class A or class B felony or for off-grid crimes
committed on or after July 1, 1993; and

(2) a vote to release the inmate by a majority of the members of the board under either of the following circumstances:

(A) The inmate is serving a sentence for a severity level 1, 2, or 3 felony on the sentencing guidelines grid for non-drug
crimes.

(B) A formal hearing regarding the application for release, with the inmate present, has not been held.

Credits
(Authorized by and implementing L. 2002, Ch. 57, Sec. 1; effective, T-45-7-26-02, July 26, 2002; effective Nov. 22,2002.)
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West's Kansas Statutes Annotated
Chapter 75. State Departments; Public Officers and Employees
Article 52. Department of Corrections
Secretary of Corrections

K.S.A. 75-5217

75-5217. Violation of conditions of release; notice to appear or arrest,
procedure; detention; hearing and order of board, rules and regulations

Currentness

(a) At any time during release on parole, conditional release or postrelease supervision, the secretary of corrections may issue
a warrant for the arrest of a released inmate for violation of any of the conditions of release, or a notice to appear to answer
to a charge of violation. Such notice shall be served personally upon the released inmate. The warrant shall authorize any law
enforcement officer to arrest and deliver the released inmate to a place as provided by subsection (g). Any parole officer may
arrest such released inmate without a warrant, or may deputize any other officer with power of arrest to do so by giving such
officer a written or verbal arrest and detain order setting forth that the released inmate, in the judgment of the parole officer,
has violated the conditions of the inmate's release. A written arrest and detain order delivered to the official in charge of the
institution or place to which the released inmate is brought for detention shall be sufficient warrant for detaining the inmate.
After making an arrest the parole officer shall present to the detaining authorities a similar arrest and detain order and statement
of the circumstances of violation. Pending a hearing, as provided in this section, upon any charge of violation the released
inmate shall remain incarcerated in the institution or place to which the inmate is taken for detention.

(b) Upon such arrest and detention, the parole officer shall notify the secretary of corrections, or the secretary's designee, within
five days and shall submit in writing a report showing in what manner the released inmate had violated the conditions of release.
After such notification is given to the secretary of corrections, or upon an arrest by warrant as herein provided, and the finding of
probable cause pursuant to procedures established by the secretary of a violation of the released inmate's conditions of release,
the secretary or the secretary's designee may cause the released inmate to be brought before the prisoner review board, its
designee or designees, for a hearing on the violation charged, under such rules and regulations as the board may adopt, or may
dismiss the charges that the released inmate has violated the conditions of release and order the released inmate to remain on
parole, conditional release or post release supervision. It is within the discretion of the board whether such hearing requires
the released inmate to appear personally before the board when such inmate's violation results from a conviction for a new
felony or misdemeanor. An offender under determinant sentencing whose violation does not result from a conviction of a new
felony or misdemeanor may waive the right to a final revocation hearing before the board under such conditions and terms
as may be prescribed by rules and regulations promulgated by the secretary of corrections. Relevant written statements made
under oath shall be admitted and considered by the board, its designee or designees, along with other evidence presented at the
hearing. If the violation is established to the satisfaction of the board, the board may continue or revoke the parole or conditional
release, or enter such other order as the board may see fit. The revocation of release of inmates who are on a specified period
of postrelease supervision shall be for a six-month period of confinement from the date of the revocation hearing before the
board or the effective date of waiver of such hearing by the offender pursuant to rules and regulations promulgated by the
board, if the violation does not result from a conviction for a new felony or misdemeanor. Such period of confinement may be
reduced by not more than three months based on the inmate's conduct, work and program participation during the incarceration
period. The reduction in the incarceration period shall be on an earned basis pursuant to rules and regulations adopted by the
secretary of corrections.
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(c) If the violation results from a conviction for a new felony, upon revocation, the inmate shall serve the entire remaining
balance of the period of postrelease supervision even if the new conviction did not result in the imposition of a new term of
imprisonment.

(d) If the violation results from a conviction for a new misdemeanor, upon revocation, the inmate shall serve a period of
confinement, to be determined by the prisoner review board, which shall not exceed the remaining balance of the period of
postrelease supervision.

(e) In the event the released inmate reaches conditional release date as provided by K.S.A. 22-3718, and amendments thereto,
after a finding of probable cause, pursuant to procedures established by the secretary of corrections of a violation of the released
inmate's conditions of release, but prior to a hearing before the prisoner review board, the secretary of corrections shall be
authorized to detain the inmate until the hearing by the board. The secretary shall then enforce the order issued by the board.

(f) If the secretary of corrections issues a warrant for the arrest of a released inmate for violation of any of the conditions of
release and the released inmate is subsequently arrested in the state of Kansas, either pursuant to the warrant issued by the
secretary of corrections or for any other reason, the released inmate's sentence shall not be credited with the period of time from
the date of the issuance of the secretary's warrant to the date of the released inmate's arrest.

If a released inmate for whom a warrant has been issued by the secretary of corrections for violation of the conditions of release
is subsequently arrested in another state, and the released inmate has been authorized as a condition of such inmate's release
to reside in or travel to the state in which the released inmate was arrested, and the released inmate has not absconded from
supervision, the released inmate's sentence shall not be credited with the period of time from the date of the issuance of the
warrant to the date of the released inmate's arrest. If the released inmate for whom a warrant has been issued by the secretary of
corrections for violation of the conditions of release is subsequently arrested in another state for reasons other than the secretary's
warrant and the released inmate does not have authorization to be in the other state or if authorized to be in the other state has
been charged by the secretary with having absconded from supervision, the released inmate's sentence shall not be credited with
the period of time from the date of the issuance of the warrant by the secretary to the date the released inmate is first available to
be returned to the state of Kansas. If the released inmate for whom a warrant has been issued by the secretary of corrections for
violation of a condition of release is subsequently arrested in another state pursuant only to the secretary's warrant, the released
inmate's sentence shall not be credited with the period of time from the date of the issuance of the secretary's warrant to the
date of the released inmate's arrest, regardless of whether the released inmate's presence in the other state was authorized or
the released inmate had absconded from supervision.

The secretary may issue a warrant for the arrest of a released inmate for violation of any of the conditions of release and may
direct that all reasonable means to serve the warrant and detain such released inmate be employed including, but not limited to,
notifying the federal bureau of investigation of such violation and issuance of warrant and requesting from the federal bureau
of investigation any pertinent information it may possess concerning the whereabouts of the released inmate.

(g) Law enforcement officers shall execute warrants issued by the secretary of corrections, and shall deliver the inmate named
in the warrant to the jail used by the county where the inmate is arrested unless some other place is designated by the secretary,
in the same manner as for the execution of any arrest warrant.
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(h) For the purposes of this section, an inmate or released inmate is an individual under the supervision of the secretary of
corrections, including, but not limited to, an individual on parole, conditional release, postrelease supervision, probation granted
by another state or an individual supervised under any interstate compact in accordance with the provisions of the uniform act
for out-of-state parolee supervision, K.S.A. 22-4101 et seq., and amendments thereto.

Credits

Laws 1973, ch. 339, § 23; Laws 1977, ch. 306, § 1; Laws 1978, ch. 120, § 18; Laws 1981, ch. 350, § 3; Laws 1987, ch. 350,
§ 1; Laws 1991, ch. 264, § 1; Laws 1992, ch. 239, § 289; Laws 1994, ch. 291, § 82; Laws 1995, ch. 121, § 5; Laws 1996, ch.
267, § 16; Laws 1998, ch. 186, § 4; Laws 1999, ch. 54, § 1; Laws 1999, ch. 164, § 35; Laws 2000, ch. 35, § 1; Laws 2007, ch.
48, § 1, eff. July 1,2007; Laws 2008, ch. 183, § 11, eff. July 1, 2008; Laws 2012, ch. 16, § 36, eff. July 1, 2012.

Editors' Notes
VALIDITY

<Subsection (c) of this section has been held unconstitutional as applied in the case of State v. Proctor, 280 P.3d 839,
2012 WL 2620525, (Kan.App. Jul 06,2012) >

Notes of Decisions (39)

K.S.A.75-5217,KS ST 75-5217
Current through 2012 regular session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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Baldwin's Kentucky Revised Statutes Annotated
Title XVII. Economic Security and Public Welfare
Chapter 197. Penitentiaries (Refs & Annos)

KRS § 197.045

197.045 Credit on sentence for prior confinement, educational accomplishment, good behavior,
or meritorious service; requirement of completion of sex offender treatment program for
eligible sexual offenders; forfeiture of credit for certain dismissals of inmates’ civil actions

Effective: July 12, 2012
Currentness

(1) Any person convicted and sentenced to a state penal institution:

(a) Shall receive a credit on his or her sentence for:

1. Prior confinement as specified in KRS 532.120;

2. Successfully receiving a general equivalency diploma or a high school diploma, a two (2) or four (4) year college degree,
a two (2) year or four (4) year certification in applied sciences, a technical education diploma as provided and defined
by the department, or a civics education program that requires passing a final exam, in the amount of ninety (90) days
per diploma, degree, or certification received; and

3. Successfully completing a drug treatment program or other program as defined by the department that requires
participation for a minimum of six (6) months, in the amount of ninety (90) days for each program completed; and

(b) May receive a credit on his or her sentence for:

1. Good behavior in an amount not exceeding ten (10) days for each month served, to be determined by the department
from the conduct of the prisoner;

2. Performing exceptionally meritorious service or performing duties of outstanding importance in connection with
institutional operations and programs, awarded at the discretion of the commissioner in an amount not to exceed seven
(7) days per month; and

3. Acts of exceptional service during times of emergency, awarded at the discretion of the commissioner in an amount
not to exceed seven (7) days per month.
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(2) Except for a sentencing credit awarded for prior confinement, the department may forfeit any sentencing credit awarded
under subsection (1) of this section previously earned by the prisoner or deny the prisoner the right to earn future sentencing
credit in any amount if during the term of imprisonment, a prisoner commits any offense or violates the rules of the institution.

(3) When two (2) or more consecutive sentences are to be served, the several sentences shall be merged and served in the
aggregate for the purposes of the sentencing credit computation or in computing dates of expiration of sentence.

(4) Until successful completion of the sex offender treatment program, an eligible sexual offender may earn sentencing
credit. However, the sentencing credit shall not be credited to the eligible sexual offender's sentence. Upon the successful
completion of the sex offender treatment program, as determined by the program director, the offender shall be eligible for
all sentencing credit earned but not otherwise forfeited under administrative regulations promulgated by the Department of
Corrections. After successful completion of the sex offender treatment program, an eligible sexual offender may continue to
earn sentencing credit in the manner provided by administrative regulations promulgated by the Department of Corrections.
Any eligible sexual offender, as defined in KRS 197.410, who has not successfully completed the sex offender treatment
program as determined by the program director shall not be entitled to the benefit of any credit on his or her sentence. A sexual
offender who does not complete the sex offender treatment program for any reason shall serve his or her entire sentence
without benefit of sentencing credit, parole, or other form of early release. The provisions of this section shall not apply to
any sexual offender convicted before July 15, 1998, or to any sexual offender with an intellectual disability.

(5) (a) The Department of Corrections shall, by administrative regulation, specify the length of forfeiture of sentencing credit
and the ability to earn sentencing credit in the future for those inmates who have civil actions dismissed because the court
found the action to be malicious, harassing, or factually frivolous.

(b) Penalties set by administrative regulation pursuant to this subsection shall be as uniform as practicable throughout all
institutions operated by, under contract to, or under the control of the department and shall specify a specific number of
days or months of sentencing credit forfeited as well as any prohibition imposed on the future earning of sentencing credit.

Credits

HISTORY: 2012 c 146, § 27, eff. 7-12-12; 2011 ¢ 2, § 36, eff. 6-8-11; 2010 ¢ 107, § 3, eff. 7-15-10; 2006 ¢ 182, § 22, eff.
7-12-06; 2000 ¢ 345, § 3, eff. 7-14-00; 1998 ¢ 606, § 24, eff. 7-15-98; 1996 ¢ 118, § 6, ¢ 145, § 6, eff. 7-15-96; 1992 ¢ 445, §
7,c211, 8§42, eff. 7-14-92; 1990 ¢ 497, § 12; 1982 ¢ 344, § 23; 1974 ¢ 146, 8§ 1; 1970 ¢ 90, § 1; 1962 ¢ 109, § 1; 1956 ¢ 102

Notes of Decisions (36)

KRS § 197.045,KY ST § 197.045
Current through the end of 2012 Regular Session and the 2012 First Extraordinary Session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.

Mext



Brazil, Sean 7/29/2013
For Educational Use Only

439.330 Duties of board, KY ST § 439.330

Baldwin's Kentucky Revised Statutes Annotated
Title XL. Crimes and Punishments
Chapter 439. Probation and Parole (Refs & Annos)

KRS § 439.330
439.330 Duties of board

Effective: June 8, 2011
Currentness

(1) The board shall:

(a) Study the case histories of persons eligible for parole, and deliberate on that record;

(b) Conduct reviews and hearings on the desirability of granting parole;

(c) Impose upon the parolee or conditional releasee such conditions as it sees fit;

(d) Order the granting of parole;

(e) Issue warrants for persons charged with violations of parole and postincarceration supervision and conduct hearings on
such charges, subject to the provisions of KRS 439.341, 532.043, and 532.400;

(f) Determine the period of supervision for parolees, which period may be subject to extension or reduction after
recommendation of the cabinet is received and considered; and

(g) Grant final discharge to parolees.

(2) The board shall adopt an official seal of which the courts shall take judicial notice.

(3) The orders of the board shall not be reviewable except as to compliance with the terms of KRS 439.250 to 439.560.

(4) The board shall keep a record of its acts, an electronic record of its meetings, a written record of the votes of individual
members, and the reasons for denying parole to inmates. These records shall be public records in accordance with KRS
61.870 to 61.884. The board shall notify each institution of its decisions relating to the persons who are or have been confined
therein, and shall submit to the Governor a report with statistical and other data of its work at the close of each fiscal year.

Mext



Brazil, Sean 7/29/2013
For Educational Use Only

439.330 Duties of board, KY ST § 439.330

Credits
HISTORY: 2011 ¢ 2, § 101, eff. 6-8-11; 2011 ¢ 2, § 87, eff. 3-3-11; 2005 ¢ 129, § 3, eff. 3-18-05; 1994 ¢ 179, § 4, eff. 4-4-94
1982 ¢ 344, § 43, eff. 7-15-82; 1980 ¢ 208, § 2; 1978 ¢ 259, § 1; 1956 ¢ 101,§ 9

Legislative Research Commission Note (6-8-11): This section was amended by 2011 Ky. Acts ch. 2, secs. 87 and 101, which
do not appear to be in conflict and have been codified together.

Notes of Decisions (8)

KRS § 439.330,KY ST § 439.330
Current through the end of 2012 Regular Session and the 2012 First Extraordinary Session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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Baldwin's Kentucky Revised Statutes Annotated
Title XL. Crimes and Punishments
Chapter 439. Probation and Parole (Refs & Annos)

KRS § 439.331
439.331 Risk and needs assessment of criminal risk factors of parole-eligible inmates

Effective: June 8, 2011
Currentness

The department shall:

(1) Administer a validated risk and needs assessment to assess the criminal risk factors of all inmates who are eligible for parole,
or a reassessment of a previously administered risk and needs assessment, before the case is considered by the board;

(2) Provide the results of the most recent risk and needs assessment to the board before an inmate appears before the board; and

(3) Incorporate information from an inmate's criminal risk and needs assessment into the development of his or her case plan.

Credits
HISTORY: 2011 ¢ 2, § 30, eff. 6-8-11

KRS § 439.331,KY ST § 439.331
Current through the end of 2012 Regular Session and the 2012 First Extraordinary Session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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Baldwin's Kentucky Revised Statutes Annotated
Title XL. Crimes and Punishments
Chapter 439. Probation and Parole (Refs & Annos)

KRS § 439.335

439.335 Scientific means of personality analysis to be used to
establish level, intensity, terms, and conditions of supervision

Effective: July 12, 2012
Currentness

(1) In considering the granting of parole and the terms of parole, the parole board shall use the results from an inmate's validated
risk and needs assessment and any other scientific means for personality analysis that may hereafter be developed.

(2) The department shall use the results from an inmate's validated risk and needs assessment and any other scientific means for
personality analysis that may hereafter be developed to define the level or intensity of supervision for parole, and to establish
any terms or conditions of supervision imposed by the department in accordance with the administrative regulations adopted
by the department pursuant to KRS 439.470 or as otherwise authorized by law. The terms and intensity of supervision shall be
based on an individual's level of risk to public safety, criminal risk factors, and the need for treatment and other interventions.

Credits
HISTORY: 2012 ¢ 156, § 13, eff. 7-12-12; 2011 ¢ 2, § 31, eff. 6-8-11; 1998 ¢ 606, § 167, eff. 7-15-98; 1966 ¢ 143, § 1, eff.
6-16-66

KRS § 439.335,KY ST § 439.335
Current through the end of 2012 Regular Session and the 2012 First Extraordinary Session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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Baldwin's Kentucky Revised Statutes Annotated
Title XL. Crimes and Punishments
Chapter 439. Probation and Parole (Refs & Annos)

KRS § 439.340
439.340 Parole of prisoners confined in adult penal or correctional institutions

Effective: June 8, 2011
Currentness

(1) The board may release on parole persons confined in any adult state penal or correctional institution of Kentucky or sentenced
felons incarcerated in county jails eligible for parole. All paroles shall issue upon order of the board duly adopted. As soon as
practicable after his or her admission to an adult state penal or correctional institution or county jail if he or she is a sentenced
felon, and at such intervals thereafter as it may determine, the Department of Corrections shall obtain all pertinent information
regarding each prisoner, except those not eligible for parole. The information shall include the results of his or her most
recent risk and needs assessment, his or her criminal record, his or her conduct, employment, and the reports of physical
and mental examinations that have been made. The Department of Corrections shall furnish the circumstances of his or her
offense, the results of his or her most recent risk and needs assessment, and his or her previous social history to the board.
The Department of Corrections shall prepare a report on any information it obtains. It shall be the duty of the Department of
Corrections to supplement this report with any material the board may request and submit the report to the board.

(2) Before granting the parole of any prisoner, the board shall consider the pertinent information regarding the prisoner, including
the results of his or her most recent risk and needs assessment, and shall have him or her appear before it for interview and
hearing. The board in its discretion may hold interviews and hearings for prisoners convicted of Class C felonies not included
within the definition of “violent offender” in KRS 439.3401 and Class D felonies. The board in its discretion may request
the parole board of another state confining prisoners pursuant to KRS 196.610 to interview eligible prisoners and make a
parole recommendation to the board. A parole shall be ordered only for the best interest of society and not as an award of
clemency, and it shall not be considered a reduction of sentence or pardon. A prisoner shall be placed on parole only when
arrangements have been made for his or her proper employment or for his or her maintenance and care, and when the board
believes he or she is able and willing to fulfill the obligations of a law abiding citizen. Notwithstanding any statute to the
contrary, including KRS 440.330, when a prisoner is otherwise eligible for parole and the board has recommended parole for
that prisoner for the reasons set forth in this subsection, the board may grant parole to any prisoner wanted as a fugitive by
any other jurisdiction, and the prisoner shall be released to the detainer from that jurisdiction. Such parole shall not constitute
a relinquishment of jurisdiction over the prisoner, and the board in all cases expressly reserves the right to return the prisoner
to confinement in a correctional institution of the Commonwealth if the prisoner violates the terms of his or her parole.

(3) (a) A nonviolent offender convicted of a Class D felony with an aggregate sentence of one (1) to five (5) years who is
confined to a state penal institution or county jail shall have his or her case reviewed by the Parole Board after serving fifteen
percent (15%) or two (2) months of the original sentence, whichever is longer.

(b) Except as provided in this section, the board shall adopt administrative regulations with respect to the eligibility of
prisoners for parole, the conduct of parole and parole revocation hearings and all other matters that come before it, or
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conditions to be imposed upon parolees. Regulations governing the eligibility of prisoners for parole shall be in accordance
with professionally accepted ideas of correction and reform and may utilize in part objective, performance-based criteria
and risk and needs assessment information; however, nothing herein contained shall preclude the board from utilizing its
present regulations in conjunction with other factors involved that would relate to the inmate's needs and the safety of
the public.

(4) The board shall insure that all sentenced felons who have longer than ninety (90) days to serve in state penal institutions,
halfway houses, and county jails are considered for parole not less than sixty (60) days prior to their parole eligibility date,
and the Department of Corrections shall provide the necessary assistance and information to the board in order for it to
conduct timely parole reviews.

(5) In addition to or in conjunction with each hearing conducted under subsection (2) of this section for any prisoner convicted
of a Class A, B, or C felony and prior to the granting of a parole to any such prisoner, the parole board shall conduct a
hearing of which the following persons shall receive not less than forty-five (45) nor more than ninety (90) days' notice:
the Commonwealth's attorney who shall notify the sheriff of every county and the chief of police of every city and county
in which the prisoner committed any Class A, B, or C felony for which he or she is imprisoned, and all identified victims
of the crimes or the next of kin of any victim who is deceased. Notice to the Commonwealth's attorney shall be by mail,
fax, or electronic means at the discretion of the board, and shall be in a manner that ensures receipt at the Commonwealth
attorney's business office. Notices received by chiefs of police and sheriffs shall be posted in a conspicuous location where
police employed by the department may see it. Notices shall be posted in a manner and at a time that will allow officers to
make comment thereon to the Parole Board. Notice to victims or their next of kin shall be made, for prisoners incarcerated
prior to July 15, 1986, by mail, fax, or electronic means at the discretion of the board, and shall be in a manner that ensures
receipt by the Commonwealth's attorney, who shall forward the notice promptly to the victims or their next of kin at their last
known address. For prisoners incarcerated on or after July 15, 1986, notice to the victims or their next of kin shall be by mail
from the Parole Board to their last known address as provided by the Commonwealth's attorney to the Parole Board at the
time of incarceration of the prisoner. Notice to the victim or the next of kin of subsequent considerations for parole after the
initial consideration shall not be sent if the victim or the next of kin gives notice to the board that he or she no longer wants to
receive such notices. The notice shall include the time, date, and place of the hearing provided for in this subsection, and the
name and address of a person to write if the recipient of the notice desires to attend the hearing or to submit written comments.

(6) Persons receiving notice as provided for in subsection (5) of this section may submit comments, in person or in writing,
to the board upon all issues relating to the parole of the prisoner. The board shall read and consider all comments prior to
making its parole decision, if they are received by the board not less than seven (7) days before the date for the hearing.
The board shall retain all comments in the prisoner's permanent Parole Board file, and shall consider them in conjunction
with any subsequent parole decisions affecting the prisoner. In addition to officers listed in subsection (5) of this section,
the crime victims or the next of kin of any victim who is deceased or who is disabled and cannot attend the hearing or the
parent or legal guardian of any victim who is a minor may attend the hearing provided for in subsection (5) of this section
and present oral and written comments upon all issues relating to the parole of the prisoner, if they have advised the board,
in writing received by the board not less than seven (7) days prior to the date set for the hearing, of their intention to attend
the hearing. The board shall receive and consider all comments, shall make a record of them which it shall retain in the
prisoner's permanent Parole Board file, and shall consider them in conjunction with any subsequent parole decision affecting
the prisoner. Persons appearing before the Parole Board pursuant to this subsection may elect to make their presentations
outside of the presence of the prisoner.
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(7) Victims of Class D felonies may submit comments in person or in writing to the board upon all issues relating to the parole
of a prisoner.

(8) Any hearing provided for in subsections (5), (6), and (7) of this section shall be open to the public unless the persons having
a right to appear before the board as specified in those subsections request closure of hearing for reasons of personal safety,
in which event the hearing shall be closed. The time, date, and location of closed hearings shall not be disclosed to the public.

(9) Except as specifically set forth in this section, nothing in this section shall be deemed to expand or abridge any existing
rights of persons to contact and communicate with the Parole Board or any of its members, agents, or employees.

(10) The unintentional failure by the Parole Board, sheriff, chief of police, or any of its members, agents, or employees or by
a Commonwealth's attorney or any of his or her agents or employees to comply with any of the provisions of subsections
(5), (6), and (8) of this section shall not affect the validity of any parole decision or give rise to any right or cause of action
by the crime victim, the prisoner, or any other person.

(11) No eligible sexual offender within the meaning of KRS 197.400 to 197.440 shall be granted parole unless he or she has
successfully completed the Sexual Offender Treatment Program.

(12) Any prisoner who is granted parole after completion of the Sexual Offender Treatment Program shall be required, as a
condition of his or her parole, to participate in regular treatment in a mental health program approved or operated by the
Department of Corrections.

(13) When the board grants parole contingent upon completion of a program, the commissioner, or his or her designee, shall
determine the most appropriate placement in a program operated by the department or a residential or nonresidential program
within the community approved by the department. If the department releases a parolee to a nonresidential program, the
department shall release the parolee only if he or she will have appropriate community housing pursuant to KRS 439.3408.

(14) If the parole board does not grant parole to a prisoner, the maximum deferment for a prisoner convicted of a non-violent,
non-sexual Class C or Class D felony shall be twenty-four (24) months. For all other prisoners who are eligible for parole:

(a) No parole deferment greater than five (5) years shall be ordered unless approved by a majority vote of the full board; and

(b) No deferment shall exceed ten (10) years, except for life sentences.

(15) When an order for parole is issued, it shall recite the conditions thereof.

Credits
HISTORY: 2011 ¢ 2, § 32, eff. 6-8-11; 2010 ¢ 107, § 5, eff. 7-15-10
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Legislative Research Commission Note (7-15-10): 2008 Ky. Acts ch. 107, sec. 12, provides that “The intent of the General
Assembly in repealing and reenacting KRS 439.320, 439.340, and 532.200 in Sections 4, 5, and 10 of this Act is to affirm the
amendments made to these sections in 2008 Ky. Acts ch. 158. The specific textual provisions of Sections 4, 5, and 10 of this
Act which reflect amendments made to those sections by 2008 Ky. Acts ch. 158 shall be deemed effective as of April 24,2008,
and those provisions are hereby made expressly retroactive to that date, with the remainder of the text from those sections being
unaffected by the provisions of this section.” This statute is affected by that language.

Notes of Decisions (38)

KRS § 439.340,KY ST § 439.340
Current through the end of 2012 Regular Session and the 2012 First Extraordinary Session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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Baldwin's Kentucky Revised Statutes Annotated
Title XL. Crimes and Punishments
Chapter 439. Probation and Parole (Refs & Annos)

KRS § 439.341
439.341 Preliminary revocation hearings of probation, parole, and postincarceration supervision violators
Effective: March 3, 2011

Currentness

Preliminary revocation hearings of probation, parole, and postincarceration supervision violators shall be conducted by hearing
officers. These hearing officers shall be attorneys, appointed by the board and admitted to practice in Kentucky, who shall
perform the aforementioned duties and any others assigned by the board.

Credits
HISTORY: 2011 ¢ 2, § 88, eff. 3-3-11; 1980 c 208, § 3, eff. 7-15-80; 1978 ¢ 259, § 3

Notes of Decisions (1)

KRS § 439.341,KY ST § 439.341
Current through the end of 2012 Regular Session and the 2012 First Extraordinary Session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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Baldwin's Kentucky Revised Statutes Annotated
Title XL. Crimes and Punishments
Chapter 439. Probation and Parole (Refs & Annos)

KRS § 439.342
439.342 Retention of prisoner on parole

Currentness

The board may retain any prisoner on parole for a period of at least one (1) year.

Credits
HISTORY: 1962 ¢ 82, § 1, eff. 6-14-62

Notes of Decisions (1)

KRS § 439.342,KY ST § 439.342
Current through the end of 2012 Regular Session and the 2012 First Extraordinary Session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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Baldwin's Kentucky Revised Statutes Annotated
Title XL. Crimes and Punishments
Chapter 439. Probation and Parole (Refs & Annos)

KRS § 439.344

439.344 Effect of parole time on sentence; exceptions

Effective: April 12, 2010
Currentness

The period of time spent on parole shall count as a part of the prisoner's sentence, except when a parolee is:

(1) Returned to prison as a parole violator for a new felony conviction;

(2) Returned to prison as a parole violator after charges have been filed or an indictment has been returned for a felony offense
committed while on parole and the prisoner is subsequently convicted of that offense;

(3) Returned to prison as a parole violator and is subsequently convicted of a felony offense committed while on parole;

(4) Returned to prison as a parole violator for absconding from parole supervision, except that the time spent on parole prior
to absconding shall count as part of the prisoner's sentence;

(5) Returned to prison as a parole violator and it is subsequently determined that he or she owes restitution pursuant to KRS
439.563 and has an arrearage on that restitution. Any credit withheld pursuant to this subsection shall be reinstated when
the arrearage is paid in full;

(6) Classified as a violent offender pursuant to KRS 439.3401; or

(7) A registered sex offender pursuant to KRS 17.500 to 17.580.

Credits
HISTORY: 2010 ¢ 107, § 6, eff. 4-12-10; 2009 c 57, § 2, eff. 6-25-09; 1962 ¢ 82, § 2, eff. 6-14-62

Notes of Decisions (11)

KRS § 439.344,KY ST § 439.344
Current through the end of 2012 Regular Session and the 2012 First Extraordinary Session.
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Baldwin's Kentucky Revised Statutes Annotated
Title XL. Crimes and Punishments
Chapter 439. Probation and Parole (Refs & Annos)

KRS § 439.345

439.345 Compliance credits for parolees; administrative regulations

Effective: June 8, 2011
Currentness

(1) A supervised individual on parole shall receive compliance credits to be applied toward the individual's sentence, if the
paroled individual does all of the following:

(a) Fulfills the terms of his or her case plan;

(b) Has no new arrests; and

(c) Makes scheduled monthly payments for restitution.

(2) The department shall promulgate administrative regulations for the awarding of earned compliance credits to a supervised
individual who is on parole.

Credits
HISTORY: 2011 ¢ 2, § 55, eff. 6-8-11

KRS § 439.345,KY ST § 439.345
Current through the end of 2012 Regular Session and the 2012 First Extraordinary Session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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Baldwin's Kentucky Revised Statutes Annotated
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Chapter 439. Probation and Parole (Refs & Annos)

KRS § 439.348
439.348 Paroled prisoner under supervision of department; cessation
Currentness
Paroled prisoners shall be under the supervision of the department and subject to its direction for the duration of parole.

Supervision of the parolee by the department shall cease at the time of recommitment of the prisoner to prison as a parole
violator, or at the time a final discharge from parole is granted to the parolee by the board.

Credits
HISTORY: 1992 ¢ 211, § 109, eff. 7-14-92; 1982 ¢ 344, § 46; 1962 ¢ 82, § 4

Notes of Decisions (4)

KRS § 439.348,KY ST § 439.348
Current through the end of 2012 Regular Session and the 2012 First Extraordinary Session.
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KRS § 439.354
439.354 Final discharge of paroled prisoner; conditions

Effective: June 25, 2009
Currentness

(1) Except as provided in subsection (2) of this section, when any paroled prisoner has performed the obligations of his or her
parole during his or her period of active parole supervision the board may, at the termination of such period to be determined
by the board, issue a final discharge from parole to the prisoner. Unless ordered earlier by the board, a final discharge shall
be issued when the prisoner has been out of prison on parole a sufficient period of time to have been eligible for discharge
from prison by minimum expiration of sentence had he or she not been paroled, provided before this date he or she had not
absconded from parole supervision or that a warrant for parole violation had not been issued by the board.

(2) When any paroled prisoner classified as a violent offender pursuant to KRS 439.3401, or registered as a sex offender pursuant
to KRS 17.500 to 17.580, has performed the obligations of his or her parole, the board shall issue a final discharge from
parole to the prisoner when the prisoner has been out of prison on parole a sufficient period of time to have been eligible for
discharge from prison by maximum expiration of sentence had he or she not been paroled, provided before this date he or
she had not absconded from parole supervision or that a warrant for parole violation had not been issued by the board.

Credits
HISTORY: 2009 ¢ 57, § 3, eff. 6-25-09; 1962 ¢ 82, § 6, eff. 6-14-62

Notes of Decisions (6)

KRS § 439.354,KY ST § 439.354
Current through the end of 2012 Regular Session and the 2012 First Extraordinary Session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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KRS § 439.358
439.358 Final discharge provisions; application
Currentness
The provisions of granting final discharges from parole, and the release from being again confined on the same sentence in
the penitentiary following the granting of such discharge or following the restoration of the parolee's civil rights, as set out in

KRS 439.342 to 439.358, shall be followed in all cases of those persons confined or paroled before, on, or committed after
June 14, 1962.

Credits
HISTORY: 1962 c 82, § 8, eff. 6-14-62

Notes of Decisions (1)

KRS § 439.358,KY ST § 439.358
Current through the end of 2012 Regular Session and the 2012 First Extraordinary Session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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KRS § 439.3401

439.3401 Parole for violent offenders; applicability of section to victim of
domestic violence or abuse; time of offense; prohibition against award of credit

Effective: June 8, 2011
Currentness

(1) As used in this section, “violent offender” means any person who has been convicted of or pled guilty to the commission of:

(a) A capital offense;

(b) A Class A felony;

(c) A Class B felony involving the death of the victim or serious physical injury to a victim;

(d) The commission or attempted commission of a felony sexual offense described in KRS Chapter 510;

(e) Use of a minor in a sexual performance as described in KRS 531.310;

(f) Promoting a sexual performance by a minor as described in KRS 531.320;

(g) Unlawful transaction with a minor in the first degree as described in KRS 530.064(1)(a);

(h) Human trafficking under KRS 529.100 involving commercial sexual activity where the victim is a minor;

(i) Criminal abuse in the first degree as described in KRS 508.100;

(j) Burglary in the first degree accompanied by the commission or attempted commission of an assault described in KRS
508.010, 508.020, 508.032, or 508.060;

(k) Burglary in the first degree accompanied by commission or attempted commission of kidnapping as prohibited by KRS
509.040; or
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(1) Robbery in the first degree.

The court shall designate in its judgment if the victim suffered death or serious physical injury.

(2) A violent offender who has been convicted of a capital offense and who has received a life sentence (and has not been
sentenced to twenty-five (25) years without parole or imprisonment for life without benefit of probation or parole), or a Class
A felony and receives a life sentence, or to death and his sentence is commuted to a life sentence shall not be released on
probation or parole until he has served at least twenty (20) years in the penitentiary. Violent offenders may have a greater
minimum parole eligibility date than other offenders who receive longer sentences, including a sentence of life imprisonment.

(3) A violent offender who has been convicted of a capital offense or Class A felony with a sentence of a term of years or
Class B felony who is a violent offender shall not be released on probation or parole until he has served at least eighty-five
percent (85%) of the sentence imposed.

(4) A violent offender shall not be awarded any credit on his sentence authorized by KRS 197.045(1)(b)1. In no event shall a
violent offender be given credit on his sentence if the credit reduces the term of imprisonment to less than eighty-five percent
(85%) of the sentence.

(5) This section shall not apply to a person who has been determined by a court to have been a victim of domestic violence
or abuse pursuant to KRS 533.060 with regard to the offenses involving the death of the victim or serious physical injury
to the victim. The provisions of this subsection shall not extend to rape in the first degree or sodomy in the first degree by
the defendant.

(6) This section shall apply only to those persons who commit offenses after July 15, 1998.

(7) For offenses committed prior to July 15, 1998, the version of this statute in effect immediately prior to that date shall
continue to apply.

(8) The provisions of subsection (1) of this section extending the definition of “violent offender” to persons convicted of or
pleading guilty to robbery in the first degree shall apply only to persons whose crime was committed after July 15, 2002.

Credits
HISTORY:2011c¢2,§99,eff. 6-8-11;2007 ¢ 19, § 11, eff. 6-26-07; 2006 ¢ 182, § 27, eff. 7-12-06; 2002 ¢ 120, § 2, eff. 7-15-02;
2000 ¢ 401, § 3, eff. 7-14-00; 1998 ¢ 606, § 77, eff. 7-15-98; 1992 ¢ 173, § 4, eff. 7-14-92; 1991 Istexs,c 3,8 1; 1986 ¢ 358,§ 1

Notes of Decisions (89)

KRS § 439.3401,KY ST § 439.3401
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Current through the end of 2012 Regular Session and the 2012 First Extraordinary Session.
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Baldwin's Kentucky Revised Statutes Annotated
Title XL. Crimes and Punishments
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KRS § 439.3403

439.3403 Reconsideration of parole of inmate given deferment
or serve-out longer than sixty months; exceptions; hearings

Effective: June 8, 2011
Currentness

(1) Except as provided in subsection (2) of this section, the board shall reconsider the parole of any prisoner as of June 8§, 2011,
who was given a deferment or serve-out of longer than sixty (60) months at the prisoner's most recent parole hearing.

(2) No reconsideration shall be required under this section for any prisoner who has received a deferment or serve-out of longer
than sixty (60) months if:

(a) The deferment or serve-out was approved by a majority vote of the full board; or

(b) The prisoner stands convicted of a criminal offense currently defined as a violent offense in KRS 439.3401 or as a sex
crime in KRS 17.500, regardless of the date the crime was committed or the date of conviction.

(3) The board shall schedule parole hearings for prisoners eligible for reconsideration of parole under this section according
to the following schedule:

(a) For a prisoner who has served less than sixty (60) months of his or her sentence as of June 8,2011, the board shall schedule
and conduct a parole hearing during the month the prisoner has served sixty (60) months of his or her sentence; and

(b) For a prisoner who has served more than sixty (60) months of his or her sentence as of June 8, 2011, the board shall
schedule and conduct a parole hearing within twelve (12) months of June 8, 2011.

(4) The department shall provide all necessary assistance and information to the board in accordance with KRS 439.340 in
order for the board to conduct timely hearings under subsection (1) of this section.

(5) Parole hearings required under subsection (1) of this section shall be conducted in accordance with and subject to the
provisions of KRS 439.250 to 439.560, including but not limited to the requirements relating to notification of victims, the
authority of the board to conduct hearings by panels of the board, and the requirement to keep records relating to the hearings.
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HISTORY: 2011 ¢ 2, § 33, eff. 6-8-11

KRS § 439.3403,KY ST § 439.3403
Current through the end of 2012 Regular Session and the 2012 First Extraordinary Session.
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Title XL. Crimes and Punishments
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KRS § 439.3405
439.3405 Parole of prisoners with documented terminal medical conditions; hearing

Effective: June 8, 2011
Currentness

(1) Notwithstanding any statute eliminating parole or establishing minimum time for parole eligibility for a certain class or
status of offender, including KRS 439.340(11), 439.3401, 532.080(7), and 533.060, the board, with the written consent of a
majority of the full board, may review the case of any prisoner and release that prisoner on parole despite any elimination
of or minimum time for parole eligibility, when the prisoner has a documented terminal medical condition likely to result
in death within one (1) year or severe chronic lung disease, end-stage heart disease, severe neuro-muscular disease such as
multiple sclerosis; or has severely limited mobility as a result of stroke, disease, or trauma; or is dependent on external life
support systems and would not pose a threat to society if paroled.

(2) Medical information considered under this section shall be limited to the medical findings supplied by Department of
Corrections medical staff. The medical staff shall provide in writing the prisoner's diagnosis and prognosis in support of
the conclusion that the prisoner suffers from a terminal medical condition likely to result in death within one (1) year or
because of the conditions set forth in subsection (1) of this section he or she is substantially dependent on others for the
activities of daily living.

(3) The medical information prepared by the Department of Corrections medical staff under this section shall be forwarded
to the medical director of the Department of Corrections who shall submit that information and a recommendation for or
against parole review under this section to the commissioner of the Department of Corrections or his or her designee. With
the approval of the commissioner of the Department of Corrections, a request for parole review under this section, along with
the medical information and medical director's recommendation, shall be submitted to the board.

(4) Medical information presented under this section shall be considered along with other information relevant to a decision
regarding the granting of parole and shall not constitute the only reason for granting parole.

(5) Notwithstanding KRS 439.340(5), in addition to or in conjunction with each review conducted under subsection (1) of this
section for any prisoner convicted of a Class A or B felony, or of a Class C felony involving violence or a sexual offense and
prior to the granting of parole to any such prisoner, the Parole Board shall conduct a hearing of which the following persons
shall receive not less than fifteen (15) nor more than thirty (30) days' notice:

(a) The Commonwealth's attorney, who shall notify the sheriff of every county and the chief of police of every city and
county in which the prisoner committed any Class A, B, or C felony for which he or she is imprisoned; and
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(b) All identified victims of the crimes or the next of kin of any victim who is deceased.

Notice to the Commonwealth's attorney shall be by mail, fax, or electronic means, at the discretion of the board, and shall
be in a manner that ensures receipt at the Commonwealth attorney's business office. Notices received by chiefs of police
and sheriffs shall be posted in a conspicuous location where police employed by the department may see it. Notices shall be
posted in a manner and at a time that will allow officers to make comment thereon to the Parole Board. Notice to victims or
their next of kin shall be made by mail, fax, or electronic means, at the discretion of the board, to their last known address
or telephone number as provided by the Commonwealth's attorney to the Parole Board at the time of incarceration of the
prisoner. Notice to the victim or the next of kin of subsequent considerations for parole after the initial consideration shall
not be sent if the victim or the next of kin gives notice to the board that he or she no longer wants to receive such notices.
The notice shall include the time, date, and place of the hearing provided for in this subsection, and the name and address of
a person to write if the recipient of the notice desires to attend the hearing or to submit written comments.

Credits
HISTORY: 2011 ¢ 2, § 28, eff. 6-8-11;2007 ¢ 128, § 1, eff. 6-26-07; 1998 ¢ 606, § 78, eff. 7-15-98; 1994 ¢ 179, § 5, eff. 4-4-94

KRS § 439.3405,KY ST § 439.3405
Current through the end of 2012 Regular Session and the 2012 First Extraordinary Session.
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Baldwin's Kentucky Revised Statutes Annotated
Title XL. Crimes and Punishments
Chapter 439. Probation and Parole (Refs & Annos)

KRS § 439.3406

439.3406 Mandatory reentry supervision for inmate not granted discretionary parole six months
prior to expiration of sentence; exceptions; terms of supervision; no credit for time absconding; report

Effective: July 12, 2012
Currentness

(1) The board shall order mandatory reentry supervision for an inmate who has not been granted discretionary parole six (6)
months prior to the inmate's minimum expiration of sentence.

(2) The provisions of subsection (1) of this section shall not apply to an inmate who:

(a) Is not eligible for parole by statute;

(b) Has been convicted of a capital offense or a Class A felony;

(c) Has a maximum or close security classification as defined by administrative regulations promulgated by the department;

(d) Has been sentenced to two (2) years or less of incarceration;

(e) Is subject to the provisions of KRS 532.043; or

(f) Has six (6) months or less to be served after his or her sentencing by a court or recommitment to prison for a violation
of probation, shock probation, parole, or conditional discharge.

(3) An inmate granted mandatory reentry supervision pursuant to this section may be returned by the board to prison for violation
of the conditions of supervision and shall not again be eligible for mandatory reentry supervision during the same period
of incarceration.

(4) An inmate released to mandatory reentry supervision shall be considered to be released on parole.

(5) Mandatory reentry supervision is not a commutation of sentence or any other form of clemency.
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(6) No hearing shall be required for the board to order an inmate to mandatory reentry supervision pursuant to subsection (1)
of this section. Terms of supervision for inmates released on mandatory reentry supervision shall be established as follows:

(a) The board shall adopt administrative regulations establishing general conditions applicable to each inmate ordered to
mandatory reentry supervision pursuant to subsection (1) of this section. If an inmate is ordered to mandatory reentry
supervision, the board's order shall set forth the general conditions and shall require the inmate to comply with the general
conditions and any requirements imposed by the department in accordance with this section;

(b) Upon intake of an inmate ordered to mandatory reentry supervision by the board, the department shall use the results of
the risk and needs assessment administered pursuant to KRS 439.3104(1) to establish appropriate terms and conditions of
supervision, taking into consideration the level of risk to public safety, criminal risk factors, and the need for treatment
and other interventions. The terms and conditions imposed by the department under this paragraph shall not conflict with
the general conditions adopted by the board pursuant to paragraph (a) of this subsection; and

(c) The powers and duties assigned to the commissioner in relation to probation or parole under KRS 439.470 shall be
assigned to the commissioner in relation to mandatory reentry supervision.

(7) Subject to subsection (3) of this section, the period of mandatory reentry supervision shall conclude upon completion of
the individual's minimum expiration of sentence.

(8) If the board issues a warrant for the arrest of an inmate for absconding from supervision during the mandatory reentry
supervision period, and the inmate is subsequently returned to prison as a violator of conditions of supervision for absconding,
the inmate shall not receive credit toward the remainder of his or her sentence for the time spent absconding.

(9) The department shall report the results of the mandatory reentry supervision program to the Interim Joint Committee on
Judiciary by February 1, 2015.

Credits
HISTORY: 2012 ¢ 156, § 14, eff. 7-12-12; 2011 ¢ 2, § 34, eff. 1-1-12

KRS § 439.3406, KY ST § 439.3406
Current through the end of 2012 Regular Session and the 2012 First Extraordinary Session.
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KRS § 439.3407

439.3407 Conditional parole of state inmates to be served
in local facility; administrative regulations; work release

Effective: June 8, 2011
Currentness

(1) The department may promulgate administrative regulations to implement conditional parole of state inmates incarcerated in
state corrections institutions or local correctional facilities or county jails to place those individuals closer to their communities
prior to release. A parolee placed on conditional parole shall serve that term in a local correctional facility or county jail
in a county in which the fiscal court has agreed to house parolees if beds are available in the local correctional facility or
county jail.

(2) The department may authorize parolees on conditional parole to be placed on work release. If a person placed in a county
jail on conditional parole under subsection (1) of this section is granted work release, he or she shall pay the work release
fees required by law to the jailer. The amount of work release fees paid by a parolee shall be deducted from the amount which
the Department of Corrections shall pay for the placement of that parolee.

(3) Local correctional facilities or county jails housing parolees under subsection (1) of this section shall have the same rights
and obligations as county jails housing felons pursuant to KRS 532.100.

(4) Administrative regulations promulgated pursuant to subsection (1) of this section relating to eligibility of an individual for
conditional parole shall take into consideration, at a minimum, the following information about the individual:

(a) The offense for which the individual was convicted and his or her rehabilitation efforts while incarcerated;

(b) The security classification while incarcerated in the state correctional institution;

(c) Conduct while incarcerated in the state correctional institution;

(d) Ability to find employment in the community; and

(e) The availability of additional applicable education, treatment or intervention, and training for employment in the local
correctional facility or county jail, if needed by the individual.
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Credits
HISTORY: 2011 ¢ 2, § 39, eff. 6-8-11

KRS § 439.3407, KY ST § 439.3407
Current through the end of 2012 Regular Session and the 2012 First Extraordinary Session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.

vMext



Brazil, Sean 7/29/2013
For Educational Use Only

439.3408 Department to approve any acceptable housing for parolees, KY ST § 439.3408

Baldwin's Kentucky Revised Statutes Annotated
Title XL. Crimes and Punishments
Chapter 439. Probation and Parole (Refs & Annos)

KRS § 439.3408
439.3408 Department to approve any acceptable housing for parolees

Effective: June 8, 2011
Currentness

When considering appropriate housing options for a person considered for parole or a person who is being paroled, the
department shall approve any form of acceptable housing, including but not limited to apartments, shelters for homeless or other
persons, county jails or restricted custody facilities that a county approves for parolees, educational institutions with dormitories
if the parolee is enrolled or accepted for enrollment at an educational institution, halfway houses, residential treatment or other
programs in which the parolee is enrolled or accepted for enrollment, and other forms of transitional housing meeting the
requirements of applicable statutes.

Credits
HISTORY: 2011 ¢ 2, § 41, eff. 6-8-11

KRS § 439.3408, KY ST § 439.3408
Current through the end of 2012 Regular Session and the 2012 First Extraordinary Session.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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| § 15:571.3. Diminution of sentence for good behavior

A.

(1) Every prisoner in a parish prison convicted of an offense and sentenced to imprison-
ment without hard labor, except a prisoner convicted a second time of a crime of vio-
lence as defined by R.S. /4:2(B), may earn a diminution of sentence, to be known
as “good time”, by good behavior and performance of work or self-improvement activi-
ties, or both. The amount of diminution of sentence allowed under this Paragraph
shall be at the rate of thirty days for every thirty days in actual custody, except for a pris-
oner convicted a first time of a crime of violence, as defined in R.S. /4:2(B), who
shall earn diminution of sentence at the rate of three days for every seventeen days in ac-
tual custody held on the imposed sentence, including, in either case, time spent in cus-
tody with good behavior prior to sentencing for the particular sentence imposed as au-
thorized by Code of Criminal Procedure Article 880.

(2) The sheriff of the parish in which the conviction was had shall have the sole author-
ity to determine when good time has been earned in accordance with the sheriff’s regu-
lations and the provisions of this Section.

(3) In the event that the prisoner is confined in a parish or multiparish correctional facil-
ity not operated by the sheriff, the superintendent of the correctional facility shall
have the sole power to determine when good time has been earned or when diminu-
tion of sentence may be allowed in accordance with the provisions of this Section.

B. (1) (a) Unless otherwise prohibited, every inmate in the custody of the department who
has been convicted of a felony, except an inmate convicted a second time of a crime of vio-
lence as defined by R.S. 14:2(B), and sentenced to imprisonment for a stated number of
years or months, may earn, in lieu of incentive wages, a diminution of sentence by good be-
havior and performance of work or self-improvement activities, or both, to be known as
”g0o0d time”. Those inmates serving life sentences will be credited with good time earned
which will be applied toward diminution of their sentences at such time as the life sen-
tences might be commuted to a specific number of years. The secretary shall establish regu-
lations for awarding and recording of good time and shall determine when good time has been
earned toward diminution of sentence. The amount of diminution of sentence allowed un-
der the provisions of this Section shall be at the rate of one and one half-day for every
one day in actual custody served on the imposed sentence, including time spent in custody
with good behavior prior to sentencing for the particular sentence imposed as authorized
by the provisions of Code of Criminal Procedure Article 880.

(b) The provisions of Subparagraph (a) of this Paragraph shall be applicable to persons con-
victed of offenses on or after January 1, 1992 and who are not serving a sentence for
the following offenses:

(i) A sex offense as defined in R.S. 15:541.
(ii) A crime of violence as defined in R.S. /4:2(B).
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(iii) Any offense which would constitute a crime of violence as defined in R.S.
14:2(B) or a sex offense as defined in R.S. 15:541, regardless of the date of convic-
tion.

(2

3

C))

An inmate convicted a first time of a crime of violence as defined in R.S.
14:2(B), shall earn diminution of sentence at a rate of three days for every sev-
enteen days in actual custody held on the imposed sentence, including time spent
in custody with good behavior prior to sentencing for the particular sentence
imposed as authorized by Code of Criminal Procedure Article 880.

A person shall not be eligible for diminution of sentence for good behavior if
he has been convicted of or pled guilty to, or where adjudication has been de-
ferred or withheld for, a violation of any one of the following offenses:

(a) Rape (R.S. 14:41).

(b) Aggravated rape (R.S. 14:42).

(¢) Forcible rape (R.S. 14:42.1).

(d) Simple rape (R.S. 14:43).

(e) Sexual battery (R.S. 14:43.1).

(f) Second degree sexual battery (R.S. 14:43.2).

(g) Oral sexual battery (R.S. 14:43.3).

(h) Intentional exposure to AIDS virus (R.S. 14:43.5).
(i) Incest (R.S. 14:78).

(j) Aggravated incest (R.S. 14:78.1).

(k) Felony carnal knowledge of a juvenile (R.S. 14:80).
(I) Indecent behavior with juveniles (R.S. 14:81).
(m) Pornography involving juvenile (R.S. 14:81.1).

(n) Molestation of a juvenile or a person with a physical or mental disability
(R.S. 14:81.2).

(0) Computer-aided solicitation of a minor (R.S. 14:81.3).
(p) Crime against nature (R.S. 14:89(A)).

(q) Aggravated crime against nature (R.S. 14:89.1).

(r) Sexual battery of the infirm (R.S. 14:93.5).

Diminution of sentence shall not be allowed an inmate in the custody of the De-
partment of Public Safety and Corrections if the inmate has been convicted
one or more times under the laws of this state, any other state, or the federal gov-
ernment of any one or more of the following crimes or attempts to commit
any of the following crimes:

(a) Felony carnal knowledge of a juvenile.
(b) Indecent behavior with juveniles.

(c) Molestation of a juvenile or a person with a physical or mental disabil-
ity.
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(d) Incest.
(e) Aggravated incest.

C. Diminution of sentence shall not be allowed an inmate in the custody of the Department
of Public Safety and Corrections if any of the following apply:

(1) The inmate has been sentenced as an habitual offender under the Habitual Offender
Law as set forth in R.S. 15:529.1.

(2) The trial court, in its discretion, prohibits the earning of such diminution of sentence
for any person convicted of a violation of R.S. 14:40.2.

D. Diminution of sentence shall not be allowed an inmate in the custody of the Department
of Public Safety and Corrections if the instant offense is a second offense crime of vio-
lence as defined by R.S. 14:2(B).

E. Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, any offender in the custody of
the Department of Public Safety and Corrections who has been sentenced as an habitual of-
fender pursuant to the provisions of R.S. 15:529.1 may earn additional good time for par-
ticipation in certified treatment and rehabilitation programs as provided for in R.S. 15:828(B),
unless the offender was convicted of a sex offense as defined by R.S. 15:541 or a crime
of violence as defined by R.S. 14:2(B).

| History

Amended by Acts 1991, No. 138, § 1, eff. Jan. 1, 1992; Acts 1992, No. 1011, § 1; Acts 1994,
3rd Ex. Sess., No. 110, § 1; Acts 1994, 3rd Ex. Sess., No. 149, § 1; Acts 1994, 3rd Ex. Sess.,
No. 150, § 1; Acts 1995, No. 946, § 3; Acts 1995, No. 1099, § 1, eff. Jan. 1, 1997; Acts 1997,
No. 832, § 1, eff. Aug. 15, 1997; Acts 1999, No. 223, § 1, eff. Aug. 15, 1999; Acts 1999, No.
963, § 2, eff. Aug. 15, 1999; Acts 2001, No. 809, § 1, eff. June 26, 2001; Acts 2003, No. 636, §
1, eff. Aug. 15, 2003; Acts 2006, No. 174, § 1, eff. Aug. 15, 2006; Acts 2006, No. 220, § 1, eff.
Aug. 15, 2006; Acts 2006, No. 572, § 1, eff. Aug. 15, 2006; Acts 2008, No. 30, § 1, eff. Aug.

15, 2008; Acts 2010, No. 649, § 1, eff. Oct. 15, 2010; Acts 2011, No. 186, § 2, eff. Aug. 15, 2011;
Acts 2012, No. 110, § 1, eff. Aug. 1, 2012; Acts 2012, No. 181, § 1, eff. Aug. 1, 2012.
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| § 15:571.4. Forfeiture of diminution of sentence

A. Determination shall be made by the secretary as to whether good time or credits toward
the reduction of the projected good time parole supervision date has been earned by in-
mates in the department’s custody. Good time, or credits toward the reduction of the pro-
jected good time parole supervision date, which has been earned by inmates in the cus-
tody of the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, hereinafter referred to as the
“department”, shall not be forfeited except as provided in Subsection D of this Section.

(1) An inmate who is sentenced to the custody of the Department of Public Safety and Cor-
rections and who commits a simple or aggravated escape, as defined in R.S. 14:110,
from any correctional facility, work-release facility or from the lawful custody of any
law enforcement officer or officer of the department, or, in the case of an inmate serv-
ing a sentence and participating in a work-release program authorized by law, fails to re-
port to or return from his planned employment or other activity under the program, may
forfeit all good time and credits toward the reduction of the projected good time pa-
role supervision date earned on that portion of his sentence served prior to his es-
cape.

(2) An inmate who has been returned to the custody of the department because of a viola-
tion of the terms of parole granted by the Board of Parole shall forfeit all good time
earned or credits toward the reduction of the projected good time parole supervision date
on that portion of the sentence served prior to the granting of parole.

(3) An inmate who is sentenced to the custody of the department and who commits a bat-
tery on an employee of the Department of Public Safety and Corrections or any police of-
ficer as defined in R.S. 14.:34.2 may forfeit good time earned or credits toward the re-
duction of the projected good time parole supervision date on that portion of the
sentence served prior to committing the battery of such person, up to a maximum of
one hundred eighty days.

(4) In all other cases, forfeiture of good time or credits toward the reduction of the pro-
jected good time parole supervision date may include up to a maximum of one hun-
dred eighty days.

C. The secretary may promulgate rules and regulations regarding the restoration of previ-
ously forfeited good time for disciplinary violations or credits toward the reduction of
the projected good time parole supervision date. In order to be eligible for restoration of
good time or credits toward the reduction of the projected good time parole supervision date
which has been previously forfeited, the inmate shall not have been found guilty of any dis-
ciplinary violation for a consecutive twenty-four month period. Restoration of previ-
ously forfeited good time or credits toward the reduction of the projected good time pa-
role supervision date shall not exceed five hundred forty days.

D. The department shall adopt rules to govern the imposition of the forfeiture of good time
or credits toward the reduction of the projected good time parole supervision date for the
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causes enumerated in Subsection B of this Section and the restoration of good time or cred-
its toward the reduction of the projected good time parole supervision date under the con-
ditions enumerated in Subsection C of this Section. The rules shall be adopted in accor-
dance with the Administrative Procedure Act. The rules shall provide that an inmate has the
right to a hearing on any charges which are punishable by the forfeiture of good time or cred-
its toward the reduction of the projected good time parole supervision date and that the in-
mate may waive that right. The rules shall be consistent with and shall implement the pro-
visions of the constitutional, statutory, and jurisprudential requirements which govern the
forfeiture of good time or credits toward the reduction of the projected good time parole su-
pervision date.

| History |

Amended by Acts 1991, No. 138, § 1, eff. Jan. 1, 1992; Acts 1992, No. 689, § 1; Acts 1992,
No. 1011, § 1; Acts 1993, No. 78, § 1; Acts 1993, No. 854, § 1; Acts 1995, No. 980, § 1; Acts
1997, No. 820, § 1, eff. Aug. 15, 1997; Acts 2000, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 68, § 1, eff. June 6, 2000;
Acts 2004, No. 43, § 1, eff. Aug. 15, 2004; Acts 2009, No. 17, § 1, eff. Aug. 15, 2009; Acts
2011, No. 186, § 3, eff. Aug. 15, 2011.
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§ 15:571.7. Supervision upon release from parish prison after diminution of sentence for good behavior;
conditions of release; revocation

A. When a prisoner who has been sentenced to a parish prison in Orleans Parish is released
because of diminution of sentence pursuant to this Part, he shall be released as if released
on parole.

B. A prisoner released in accordance with Subsection A herein shall be supervised by the sher-
iff, the keeper of the parish prison if not the sheriff, or, in Orleans Parish, the criminal sher-
iff of Orleans Parish. Such supervision shall be for the remainder of the original full
term of the prisoner’s sentence and shall be performed in the same manner and to the
same extent as supervision of a prisoner committed to the Department of Public Safety
and Corrections who is released on parole.

C. The supervisor may make rules for the conduct of a prisoner while he is on release and
may also require, either at the time of release or at any time while on release, that the pris-
oner conform to any of the following conditions:

(1) Residence in a community rehabilitation center.

(2) Restitution to a victim of the crime for which release is being sought, if such victim
has suffered a direct pecuniary loss as a result of the crime. The supervisor shall take
into account the prisoner’s ability to pay and shall not revoke release based upon this con-
dition unless the prisoner has willfully failed to comply.

(3) Community service work, as determined by the supervisor.

(4) Payment into a victim compensation fund, if such fund is established, in a manner and
amount specified by law.

(5) Obtaining gainful employment.
(6) Continuing education or vocational training.

(7) Participation in a substance abuse treatment facility program or other counselling pro-
gram.

(8) Any other condition which may presently be applied under R.S. 15:574.4(H) and (L)
to a prisoner committed to the Department of Public Safety and Corrections who is re-
leased on parole.

D. A prisoner released in accordance with this Section shall be subject to having the release re-
voked for violation of the release conditions. The supervisor shall establish rules and regu-
lations governing the revocation of release.

E. Upon revocation of release, the prisoner shall be recommitted to the parish prison and
shall serve the remaining full term of his sentence.

| History
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Added by Acts 1982, No. 574, § 1; Amended by Acts 1989, No. 194, § 2; Acts 1991, No. 289, §
7; Acts 2011, Ist Ex. Sess., No. 18, § 1, eff. June 12, 2011.
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| § 15:571.13. Supervised release of parish prisoners; rules of conduct; revocation

A. When a prisoner who has been sentenced to a parish prison is released pursuant to this
Part, he may be released as if on parole.

B. A prisoner released in accordance with Subsection A herein shall be supervised by the sher-
iff, the keeper of the parish prison if not the sheriff, or, in Orleans Parish, the criminal sher-
iff of Orleans Parish. Such supervision shall be for the remainder of the original full
term of the prisoner’s sentence and shall be performed in the same manner and to the
same extent as supervision of a prisoner committed to the Department of Public Safety
and Corrections who is released on parole.

C. The supervisor may make rules for the conduct of a prisoner while he is on release and
may also require, either at the time of release or at any time while on release, that the pris-
oner conform to the following conditions:

(1) Residence in a community rehabilitation or work release center.

(2) Restitution to a victim of the crime for which release is being sought, if such victim
has suffered a direct pecuniary loss as a result of the crime.

(3) Community service work, as determined by the supervisor.
(4) Payment into a victim compensation or service fund.

(5) Obtaining gainful employment.

(6) Continuing education or vocational training.

(7) Participation in a substance abuse treatment facility program or other counselling pro-
gram.

(8) Defraying the cost, or any portion thereof, of his supervision by making payments to
the supervisor in a sum and manner to be determined by the supervisor, based on his abil-
ity to pay.

(9) Any other condition which may be applied under R.S. 15:574.4(H) to a prisoner com-
mitted to the Department of Public Safety and Corrections who is released on pa-
role.

D. A prisoner released in accordance with this Section shall be subject to having the release re-
voked for violation of the release conditions. The supervisor shall establish rules and regu-
lations governing the revocation of release.

E. Upon revocation of release, the prisoner shall be recommitted to the parish prison in order
to serve the full term of his sentence.

| History

Acts 1985, No. 712, § 1.
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| § 15:574.4. Parole; eligibility |

A. (1) (a) Unless eligible at an earlier date and except as provided for in Subparagraph (b) of
this Paragraph and Subsection B of this Section, a person, otherwise eligible for parole, con-
victed of a first felony offense shall be eligible for parole consideration upon serving thirty
-three and one-third percent of the sentence imposed. Upon conviction of a second
felony offense, such person shall be eligible for parole consideration upon serving fifty per-
cent of the sentence imposed. A person convicted of a third or subsequent felony offense
shall not be eligible for parole.

(b)

(i) Notwithstanding the provisions of Subparagraph (a) of this Paragraph, a person, oth-
erwise eligible for parole, convicted of a first felony offense shall be eligible for pa-
role consideration upon serving twenty-five percent of the sentence imposed. The
provisions of this Subparagraph shall not apply to any person who has been con-
victed of a crime of violence as defined in R.S. /4:2(B), has been convicted of a
sex offense as defined in R.S. 15:541, has been sentenced as a habitual offender pur-
suant to R.S. 15:529.1, or is otherwise ineligible for parole.

(ii) Notwithstanding the provisions of Subparagraph (a) of this Paragraph, a person, oth-
erwise eligible for parole, convicted of a second felony offense shall be eligible
for parole consideration upon serving thirty-three and one-third percent of the sen-
tence imposed. The provisions of this Item shall not apply to any person who
has been convicted of a crime of violence as defined in R.S. /4.:2(B), has been con-
victed of a sex offense as defined in R.S. 15:541, has been sentenced as a ha-
bitual offender pursuant to R.S. 15:529.1, or is otherwise ineligible for parole.

(iii) Any person eligible for parole pursuant to the provisions of this Subparagraph
shall not be eligible for parole pursuant to the provisions of Subparagraph (a) of
this Paragraph.

(iv) Nothing in this Subparagraph shall prevent a person from reapplying for parole
as provided by rules adopted in accordance with the Administrative Procedure
Act.

(2) Notwithstanding the provisions of Paragraph (1) of this Subsection or any
other law to the contrary, unless eligible for parole at an earlier date, a per-
son committed to the Department of Public Safety and Corrections for a term
or terms of imprisonment with or without benefit of parole for thirty years
or more shall be eligible for parole consideration upon serving at least twenty
years of the term or terms of imprisonment in actual custody and upon reach-
ing the age of forty-five. This provision shall not apply to a person serving a life
sentence unless the sentence has been commuted to a fixed term of years.

The provisions of this Paragraph shall not apply to any person who has been con-
victed under the provisions of R.S. 14:64.
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(3) Notwithstanding the provisions of Paragraph (A)(1) or (2) of this Section or
any other provision of law to the contrary, unless eligible for parole at an ear-
lier date, a person committed to the Department of Public Safety and Correc-
tions serving a life sentence for the production, manufacturing, distribution, or
dispensing or possessing with intent to produce, manufacture, or distribute
heroin shall be eligible for parole consideration upon serving at least fifteen
years of imprisonment in actual custody.

(4) Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, unless eligible for pa-
role at an earlier date, a person committed to the Department of Public Safety
and Corrections for a term or terms of imprisonment with or without benefit
of parole who has served at least ten years of the term or terms of imprison-
ment in actual custody shall be eligible for parole consideration upon reach-
ing the age of sixty years if all of the following conditions are met:

(a) The offender has not been convicted of a crime of violence as defined in
R.S. 14:2(B) or a sex offense as defined in R.S. 15:541, or convicted of
an offense which would constitute a crime of violence as defined in R.S.
14:2(B) or a sex offense as defined in R.S. 15:541, regardless of the date of
conviction.

(b) The offender has not committed any disciplinary offenses in twelve con-
secutive months prior to the parole eligibility date.

(¢) The offender has completed the mandatory minimum of one hundred
hours of prerelease programming in accordance with the provisions of R.S.
15:827.1 if such programming is available at the facility where the of-
fender is incarcerated.

(d) The offender has completed substance abuse treatment as applicable.

(e) The offender has obtained a GED credential, unless the offender has previ-
ously obtained a high school diploma or is deemed by a certified educator
as being incapable of obtaining a GED credential due to a learning dis-
ability. If the offender is deemed incapable of obtaining a GED credential,
the offender shall complete at least one of the following: a literacy pro-
gram, an adult basic education program, or a job-skills training program.

(f) The offender has obtained a low-risk level designation determined by a vali-
dated risk assessment instrument approved by the secretary of the Depart-
ment of Public Safety and Corrections.

(1) No person shall be eligible for parole consideration who has been convicted of armed
robbery and denied parole eligibility under the provisions of R.S. /4:64. Except as pro-
vided in Paragraph (2) of this Subsection, and except as provided in Subsection D of
this Section, no prisoner serving a life sentence shall be eligible for parole consider-
ation until his life sentence has been commuted to a fixed term of years. No pris-
oner sentenced as a serial sexual offender shall be eligible for parole. No prisoner may
be paroled while there is pending against him any indictment or information for any
crime suspected of having been committed by him while a prisoner. Notwithstanding any
other provisions of law to the contrary, a person convicted of a crime of violence
and not otherwise ineligible for parole shall serve at least eighty-five percent of the sen-
tence imposed, before being eligible for parole. The victim or victim’s family shall
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be notified whenever the offender is to be released provided that the victim or vic-
tim’s family has completed a Louisiana victim notice and registration form as pro-
vided in R.S. 46:1841 et seq., or has otherwise provided contact information and has in-
dicated to the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Crime Victims Services
Bureau, that they desire such notification.

(2) Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, any person serving a life sen-
tence, with or without the benefit of parole, who has not been convicted of a crime of vio-
lence as defined by R.S. 14:2(B), a sex offense as defined by R.S. 15:541, or an of-
fense, regardless of the date of conviction, which would constitute a crime of violence
as defined by R.S. 14:2(B) or a sex offense as defined by R.S. 15:541, shall be eli-
gible for parole consideration as follows:

(a) If the person was at least eighteen years of age and under the age of twenty-five
years at the time he was sentenced to life imprisonment, he shall be eligible for pa-
role consideration if all of the following conditions have been met:

(i) The person has served at least twenty-five years of the sentence imposed.

(ii) The offender has obtained a low-risk level designation determined by a vali-
dated risk assessment instrument approved by the secretary of the Department
of Public Safety and Corrections.

(iii) The person has not committed any disciplinary offenses in the twelve consecu-
tive months prior to the parole eligibility date.

(iv) The person has completed the mandatory minimum of one hundred hours of pre
-release programming in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 15:827.1, if
such programming is available.

(v) The person has completed substance abuse treatment, if applicable and such
treatment is available.

(vi) The person has obtained a GED credential, unless the prisoner has previously
obtained a high school diploma or is deemed by a certified educator as being in-
capable of obtaining a GED credential due to a learning disability or because
such programming is not available. If the prisoner is deemed incapable of ob-
taining a GED credential, the person shall complete at least one of the follow-
ing: a literacy program, an adult basic education program, or a job skills train-
ing program.

(b) If the person was at least twenty-five years of age and under the age of thirty-five
years at the time he was sentenced to life imprisonment, he shall be eligible for pa-
role consideration if all of the following conditions have been met:

(i) The person has served at least twenty years of the sentence imposed.

(ii) The person has obtained a low risk level designation determined by a vali-
dated risk assessment instrument approved by the secretary of the Depart-
ment of Public Safety and Corrections.

(iii) The person has not committed any disciplinary offenses in the twelve consecu-
tive months prior to the parole eligibility date.

(iv) The person has completed the mandatory minimum of one hundred hours of pre
-release programming in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 15:827.1, if
such programming is available.
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(v) The person has completed substance abuse treatment, if applicable and such
treatment is available.

(vi) The person has obtained a GED credential, unless the prisoner has previously
obtained a high school diploma or is deemed by a certified educator as being in-
capable of obtaining a GED credential due to a learning disability or because
such programming is not available. If the prisoner is deemed incapable of ob-
taining a GED credential, the person shall complete at least one of the follow-
ing: a literacy program, an adult basic education program, or a job skills train-
ing program.

If the person was at least thirty-five years of age and under the age of fifty years
at the time he was sentenced to life imprisonment, he shall be eligible for parole con-
sideration if all of the following conditions have been met:

(i) The person has served at least fifteen years of the sentence imposed.

(ii) The person has obtained a low risk level designation determined by a vali-
dated risk assessment instrument approved by the secretary of the Depart-
ment of Public Safety and Corrections.

(iii) The person has not committed any disciplinary offenses in the twelve consecu-
tive months prior to the parole eligibility date.

(iv) The person has completed the mandatory minimum of one hundred hours of pre
-release programming in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 15:827.1, if
such programming is available.

(v) The person has completed substance abuse treatment, if applicable and such
treatment is available.

(vi) The person has obtained a GED credential, unless the prisoner has previously
obtained a high school diploma or is deemed by a certified educator as being in-
capable of obtaining a GED credential due to a learning disability or because
such programming is not available. If the prisoner is deemed incapable of ob-
taining a GED credential, the person shall complete at least one of the follow-
ing: a literacy program, an adult basic education program, or a job skills train-
ing program.

If the person was at least fifty years of age at the time he was sentenced to life im-
prisonment, he shall be eligible for parole consideration if all of the following con-
ditions have been met:

(i) The person has served at least ten years of the sentence imposed.

(ii) The person has obtained a low risk level designation determined by a vali-
dated risk assessment instrument approved by the secretary of the Depart-
ment of Public Safety and Corrections.

(iii) The person has not committed any disciplinary offenses in the twelve consecu-
tive months prior to the parole eligibility date.

(iv) The person has completed the mandatory minimum of one hundred hours of pre
-release programming in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 15:827.1, if
such programming is available.

(v) The person has completed substance abuse treatment if applicable and such treat-
ment is available.
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(vi) The person has obtained a GED credential, unless the prisoner has previously
obtained a high school diploma or is deemed by a certified educator as being in-
capable of obtaining a GED credential due to a learning disability or because
such programming is not available. If the prisoner is deemed incapable of ob-
taining a GED credential, the person shall complete at least one of the follow-
ing: a literacy program, an adult basic education program, or a job skills train-
ing program.

(1) At such intervals as it determines, the board or a member thereof shall consider all per-
tinent information with respect to each prisoner eligible for parole, including the na-
ture and circumstances of the prisoner’s offense, his prison records, the presentence in-
vestigation report, any recommendations of the chief probation and parole officer,
and any information and reports of data supplied by the staff.Aparole hearing shall be
held if, after such consideration, the board determines that a parole hearing is appro-
priate or if such hearing is requested in writing by its staff.

(2) (a) In cases where the offender has been convicted of, or where adjudication has
been deferred or withheld for the perpetration or attempted perpetration of a violation of
a sex offense as defined in R.S. 15:541 and parole is permitted by law and the of-
fender is otherwise eligible, the board shall consider reports, assessments, and clinical in-
formation, as available, including any testing and recommendations by mental health
professionals, as to all of the following:

(i) Whether the offender has successfully completed the sex offender program.

(ii) Whether, in the expert’s opinion, there is a likelihood that the offender will or
will not repeat the criminal conduct and that the offender will or will not be a dan-
ger to society.

(b) The board shall render its decision ordering or denying the release of the pris-
oner on parole only after considering this clinical evidence where such clini-
cal evidence is available.

D. (1) Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, any person serving a sentence
of life imprisonment who was under the age of eighteen years at the time of the commis-
sion of the offense, except for a person serving a life sentence for a conviction of first de-
gree murder (R.S. 14:30) or second degree murder (R.S. /4:30.1), shall be eligible for pa-
role consideration pursuant to the provisions of this Subsection if all of the following
conditions have been met:

(a) The offender has served thirty years of the sentence imposed.

(b) The offender has not committed any disciplinary offenses in the twelve consecutive
months prior to the parole eligibility date.

(c) The offender has completed the mandatory minimum of one hundred hours of prere-
lease programming in accordance with R.S. 15:827.1.

(d) The offender has completed substance abuse treatment as applicable.

(e) The offender has obtained a GED certification, unless the offender has previously ob-
tained a high school diploma or is deemed by a certified educator as being incapable
of obtaining a GED certification due to a learning disability. If the offender is deemed in-
capable of obtaining a GED certification, the offender shall complete at least one of
the following:
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(i) A literacy program.
(ii) An adult basic education program.
(iii) A job skills training program.

(f) The offender has obtained a low-risk level designation determined by a validated risk as-
sessment instrument approved by the secretary of the Department of Public Safety and
Corrections.

(g) The offender has completed a reentry program to be determined by the Department of
Public Safety and Corrections.

(h) If the offender was convicted of aggravated rape, he shall be designated a sex of-
fender and upon release shall comply with all sex offender registration and notifica-
tion provisions as required by law.

(2) For each offender eligible for parole consideration pursuant to the provisions of
this Subsection, the board shall meet in a three-member panel and each member
of the panel shall be provided with and shall consider a written evaluation of the of-
fender by a person who has expertise in adolescent brain development and behav-
ior and any other relevant evidence pertaining to the offender.

(3) The panel shall render specific findings of fact in support of its decision.

| History |

Amended by Acts Acts 1994, 3rd Ex. Sess., No. 58, § 1, eff. July 7, 1994; Acts 1995, No. 605,
§ 2, eff. June 18, 1995; Acts 1995, No. 1099, § 1, eff. Jan. 1, 1997; Acts 1995, No. 1290, § 2;
Acts 1995, No. 1303, § 1; Acts 1997, No. 134, § 2, eff. Aug. 15, 1997; Acts 1997, No. 137, § 2,
eff. Aug. 15, 1997; Acts 1997, No. 820, § 1, eff. Aug. 15, 1997; Acts 1997, No. 870, § 1, eff.
Aug. 15, 1997; Acts 1997, No. 1148, § 2, eff. July 14, 1997; Acts 1997, No. 1396, § 1, eff. July
15, 1997; Acts 1999, No. 119, § 1, eff. Aug. 15, 1999; Acts 1999, No. 359, § 1, eff. Aug. 15,
1999; Acts 1999, No. 923, § 1, eff. Aug. 15, 1999; Acts 1999, No. 1150, § 1, eff. Aug. 15, 1999;
Acts 1999, No. 1209, § 1, eff. Aug. 15, 1999; Acts 2001, No. 253, § 1, eff. Aug. 15, 2001; Acts
2001, No. 611, § 1, eff. Aug 15, 2001; Acts 2001, No. 1206, § 1, eff. Aug. 15, 2001; Acts 2003,
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| § 15:574.4.1. Parole consideration and hearings

A.

(1) The parole hearings shall be conducted in a formal manner in accordance with the
rules formulated by the board and with the provisions of this Part. Before the parole
of any prisoner is ordered, such prisoner shall appear before and be interviewed by the
board, except those incarcerated in parish prisons or parish correctional centers, in
which case one board member may conduct the interview. The board may order a re-
consideration of the case or a rehearing at any time.

(2) The crime victim or the victim’s family, a victim advocacy group, and the district at-
torney or his representatives, may appear before the Board of Parole by means of tele-
phone communication from the office of the local district attorney.

B. The board shall render its decision ordering or denying the release of the prisoner on pa-
role within thirty days after the hearing. A parole shall be ordered only for the best inter-
est of society, not as an award of clemency, and upon determination by the board that there
is reasonable probability that the prisoner is able and willing to fulfill the obligations of
a law-abiding citizen so that he can be released without detriment to the community or to him-
self.

C. All paroles shall issue upon order of the board and each order of parole shall recite the con-
ditions thereof; provided, however, that before any prisoner is released on parole he shall
be provided with a certificate of parole that enumerates the conditions of parole. These con-
ditions shall be explained to the prisoner and the prisoner shall agree in writing to such con-
ditions.

D. The release date of the prisoner shall be fixed by the board, but such date shall not be
later than six months after the parole hearing or the most recent reconsideration of the pris-
oner’s case.

| History

Acts 2010, No. 241, § 1, eff. Aug. 15, 2010.

LOUISIANA STATUTES ANNOTATED

Copyright © 2013 by Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved.



La. R.S. 15:574.4.2

This document is current through the 2012 Regular Session. Annotations are current through

May 16, 2013.

Louisiana Statutes, Annotated by LexisNexis(TM) > LOUISIANA REVISED STATUTES
> TITLE 15. > CHAPTER 5. > PART 2. > (1) COMMITTEE ON PAROLE AND

RULES OF PAROLE

§ 15:574.4.2. Decisions of committee on parole; nature, order, and conditions of parole; rules of conduct;
infectious disease testing

A.

(1) The committee on parole may make rules for the conduct of persons heretofore or here-
after granted parole. When a prisoner is released on parole, the committee shall re-
quire as a condition of his parole that he refrain from engaging in criminal conduct.

(2) The committee may also require, either at the time of his release on parole or at any
time while he remains on parole, that he conform to any of the following conditions
of parole which are deemed appropriate to the circumstances of the particular case:

(a)

Report, no later than forty-eight hours after being placed on parole, to the division
of probation and parole office of the Department of Public Safety and Corrections
which is listed on the certificate of parole.

(b) Reside at the address listed on the certificate of parole. Obtain written permission

(¢

(d)

(e)

®

(2

(h)

0)

from the probation and parole officer prior to moving from this address or written
permission prior to leaving the state of Louisiana.

Submit a monthly report by the fifth day of every month until supervision is com-
pleted and report when ordered to do so by the probation and parole officer.

Not engage in any criminal activity, nor associate with people who are known to
be involved in criminal activity. Avoid bars and casinos and refrain from the use
of illegal drugs or alcohol.

Pay supervision fees in an amount set by the Department of Public Safety and Cor-
rections as provided by law. Payments are due on the first day of each month.

Be employed at a lawful occupation. Employment shall be approved by the proba-
tion and parole officer. If employment is terminated, immediately report this to
the probation and parole officer.

Truthfully and promptly answer all questions as directed by the probation and pa-
role officer.

Submit to available medical, mental health or substance abuse exams, treatment,
or both when ordered to do so by the probation and parole officer. Submit to drug
and alcohol screens at personal expense.

Agree to visits at residence or place of employment by the probation and parole of-
ficer at any time. Further agrees to searches of person, property, residence, or ve-
hicle, when reasonable suspicion exists that criminal activity has been engaged in
while on parole.

Not possess or be in control of any firearms or dangerous weapons.
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(k) Waive extradition to the state of Louisiana from any jurisdiction in or outside of
the United States and agree not to contest any effort by any jurisdiction for return
to the state of Louisiana.

(3) For those persons who have been convicted of a “sex offense” as defined in R.S.
15:541, agree to searches of his person, his property, his place of residence, his ve-
hicle, or his personal effects, or any or all of them, at any time, by a law enforcement of-
ficer, duly commissioned in the parish or municipality where the sex offender resides
or is domiciled, designated by his agency to supervise sex offenders, with or without a
warrant of arrest or with or without a search warrant, when the officer has reason-
able suspicion to believe that the person who is on parole is engaged in or has been en-
gaged in criminal activity for which the person has not been charged or arrested
while on parole.

(4) No offender, who is the parent, stepparent, or has legal custody and physical custody
of the child who is the victim, shall be released on parole unless the victim has re-
ceived psychological counseling prior to the offender’s release if the offender is return-
ing to the residence or community in which the child resides. Such psychological coun-
seling shall include an attempt by the health care provider to ease the psychological
impact upon the child of the notice required by the provisions of R.S. 15:574.4.3, in-
cluding assisting the child in coping with potential insensitive comments and actions by
the child’s neighbors and peers. The cost of such counseling shall be paid by the of-
fender.

(5) If parole is revoked for any reason, all good time earned or any additional credits
earned or which could have been earned on that portion of the sentence served prior
to the granting of parole shall be forfeited, and the parolee shall serve the remainder of
the sentence as of the date of release on parole.

At the time these written conditions are given, the committee shall notify the parolee that:

(1) If he is arrested while on parole, the committee has the authority to place a detainer
against him which will in effect prevent him from making bail pending any new
charges against him; and

(2) Should his parole be revoked for any reason, good time earned prior to parole and
good time that would have been earned if parole had not been granted will be for-
feited, as required by R.S. 15:571.4.

(1) When a victim of the crime for which parole is being considered has suffered a di-
rect pecuniary loss other than damage to or loss of property, the parole committee
may impose as a condition of parole that restitutions to the victim be made. When such
a condition is imposed, the committee shall take into account the defendant’s ability
to pay and shall not revoke parole based upon this condition unless the parolee has will-
fully failed to comply. When the victim’s loss consists of damage to or loss of prop-
erty, the committee shall impose as a condition of parole payment of restitution, either
in a lump sum or in monthly installments based on the earning capacity and assets
of the defendant. If the victim was paid for such property loss or damage with monies
from the Crime Victims Reparations Fund, the committee shall order the parolee to
make such payments as reimbursement to the fund in the same amount as was paid from
the fund to the victim. This condition of parole shall continue until such time as the res-
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titution is paid or the parolee is discharged from parole in accordance with R.S.
15:574.6.

(2) Nothing herein shall affect a victim’s civil remedy except that funds actually received
shall be credited to any civil judgment arising out of the same offense.

D. If the prisoner has not paid and is liable for any costs of court or costs of the prosecution
or proceeding in which he was convicted or any fine imposed as a part of his sentence,
the committee on parole shall require as a condition of parole the payment of such costs or
fine, either in a lump sum or according to a schedule of payments established by the com-
mittee and based upon the prisoner’s ability to pay.

E. Before the committee on parole places a person on parole, the committee shall determine
if he has a high school diploma or its equivalent and, if he does not, the committee shall con-
dition parole upon the parolee’s enrolling in and attending an adult education or reading pro-
gram until he obtains a GED credential, or until he completes such educational pro-
grams required by the committee, and has attained a sixth grade reading level, or until his
term of parole expires, whichever occurs first. All costs shall be paid by the parolee. If
the committee finds that there are no adult education or reading programs in the parish in
which the parolee is domiciled, the parolee is unable to afford such a program, or atten-
dance would create an undue hardship on the parolee, the committee may suspend this con-
dition of parole. The provisions of this Subsection shall not apply to those parolees who
are mentally, physically, or by reason of age, infirmity, dyslexia, or other such learning dis-
orders, unable to participate.

F. The collection of the supervision fee imposed pursuant to Subparagraph (A)(2)(o) of this Sec-
tion shall be suspended upon the transfer of an offender to another state for parole supervi-

sion in that state, pursuant to the interstate compact for out-of-state parolee supervision
as provided in R.S. 15:574.31 et seq.

(1) Before placing a person on parole, the committee on parole shall require that person
to submit to a test designed to determine whether he is infected with a sexually trans-
mitted disease, acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS), the human immuno-
deficiency virus (HIV), HIV-1 antibodies, or any other probable causative agent of AIDS
and viral hepatitis.

(2) The procedure or test shall be performed by a qualified physician or other qualified per-
son who shall notify the parolee of the test results.

(3) If the person tested under the provisions of this Subsection tests positive for a sexu-
ally transmitted disease, AIDS, HIV, HIV-1 antibodies, or any other probable causative
agent of AIDS and viral hepatitis, he shall be referred to the appropriate health care
and support services. If the person tested positive, the granting of the parole shall be con-
ditioned upon the person seeking advice and counseling from the appropriate health
care and support services. Failure to seek or follow that advice shall result in the revo-
cation of that person’s parole.

(4) The costs associated with this testing shall be paid by the person tested.

(5) The provisions of this Subsection shall not apply to inmates released because of dimi-
nution of sentence under R.S. 15:571.3.

| History |
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[ § 15:574.4.3. Parole requirements for certain sex offenders

A.

(1) Before having a parole hearing for any offender who has been convicted of a viola-
tion of a sex offense as defined in R.S. 15:541, when the law permits parole consider-
ation for that offense, and when according to law an offender convicted of one of
those offenses is otherwise eligible for parole, the committee shall give written notice
of the date and time of the parole hearing at least three days prior to the hearing to
the victim or the victim’s parent or guardian, unless the victim, parent, or guardian has
advised the committee on parole in writing that such notification is not desired.

(2) The victim or the victim’s parent or guardian who desires to do so shall be given a rea-
sonable opportunity to attend the hearing and to be heard.

If a person who is otherwise eligible for intensive parole supervision pursuant to R.S.

15:574.4.4, has been convicted of one of the sexual offenses enumerated in this Section

and the intensive parole supervision is applicable to any of those enumerated crimes, then
the provisions of this Section shall apply.

If a person, who is otherwise eligible for diminution of sentence for good behavior pursu-
ant to R.S. 15:571.3, has been convicted of one of the sexual offenses enumerated in this Sec-
tion and the diminution of sentence for good behavior is applicable to any of those enu-
merated crimes, then the provisions of this Section shall apply.

(1) In cases where the offender has been convicted of or where adjudication has been de-
ferred or withheld for the perpetration or attempted perpetration of a violation of a sex of-
fense as defined in R.S. 15:541, including criminal sexual offenders under the super-
vision and legal authority of the Department of Public Safety and Corrections pursuant
to the terms and conditions of the Interstate Compact for Adult Offender Supervision
provided for in R.S. 15:574.31 through 574.44, and parole is permitted by law and the of-
fender is otherwise eligible, and when the committee releases an offender on parole,
the committee shall order the offender to register as a sex offender and provide notifi-
cation in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 15:540 et seq.

(2) The committee shall mail notice within three days after it makes a decision to release
a sexual offender, as enumerated and pursuant to the circumstances in this Paragraph,
on parole. The notice shall contain the address where the defendant will reside, a state-
ment that the offender will be released on parole, and the date he will be released
and shall be mailed to the victim or the victim’s parent or guardian if the victim or a rela-
tive was not present at the parole hearing of the offender, and the notice shall be
sent to their last known address by registered or certified letter, unless the victim or rela-
tive has signed a written waiver of notification.
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In cases where parole is permitted by law and the offender is otherwise eligible, the com-
mittee on Parole shall not grant parole to any sex offender either by an order of the com-
mittee on Parole or office of adult services pursuant to R.S. 75:571.3 until the Depart-
ment of Public Safety and Corrections, division of probation and parole, has assessed
and approved the suitability of the residence plan of such offender. In approving the resi-
dence plan of the offender, the department shall consider the likelihood that the of-
fender will be able to comply with all of the conditions of his parole.

For purposes of this Section, “sex offender” shall mean any offender who has been con-
victed of, or where adjudication has been deferred or withheld for, the perpetration or at-
tempted perpetration of a violation of a sex offense as defined in R.S. 15:541.

In cases where the offender has been convicted of or where adjudication has been de-
ferred or withheld for the perpetration or attempted perpetration of a sex offense as de-
fined in R.S. 15:541 and the victim of that offense is a minor, the committee may, if
the department has the equipment and appropriately trained personnel, as an additional
condition of parole, authorize the use of truth verification examinations to determine
if the offender has violated a condition of parole. If ordered by the committee as a con-
dition of parole, the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, division of proba-
tion and parole, is hereby authorized to administer a truth verification examination pur-
suant to the committee’s order and the provisions of this Subsection.

Any examination conducted pursuant to the provisions of this Subsection shall be sub-
sequent to an allegation that the offender has violated a condition of parole or at the dis-
cretion of the parole officer who has reason to believe that the offender has violated
a condition of parole.

The truth verification examination shall be conducted by a trained certified polygra-
phist or voice stress examiner.

The results of the truth verification examination may be considered in determining
the level of supervision and treatment needed by the offender and in the determina-
tion of the parole officer as to whether the offender has violated a condition of parole;
however, such results shall not be used by the committee as the basis for a finding
that a violation of a condition of parole has occurred.

The sexual offender may request a second truth verification examination to be con-
ducted by a trained and certified polygraphist or voice stress examiner of his choice.
The cost of the second examination shall be borne by the offender.

For purposes of this Subsection:

(a) "Polygraph examination” shall mean an examination conducted with the use of an in-
strument or apparatus for simultaneously recording cardiovascular pressure, pulse
and respiration, and variations in electrical resistance of the skin.

(b) “Truth verification examination” shall include a polygraph examination or a voice
stress analysis.

(¢) ”Voice stress analysis” shall mean an examination conducted with the use of an in-
strument or apparatus which records psychophysiological stress responses that are
present in a human voice when a person suffers psychological stress in response
to a stimulus.
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| § 15:574.4.4. Parole; intensive parole supervision; eligibility

A. Notwithstanding the provisions of R.S. 15:574.4(A)(1), a person, otherwise eligible for pa-
role, convicted of a nonviolent first felony offense and committed to the Department of Pub-
lic Safety and Corrections, or of a nonviolent second felony offense and committed to
the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, may be eligible for intensive parole su-
pervision upon successful completion of intensive incarceration. In addition, any person con-
victed of a first or second offense for possession of amphetamine or methamphetamine
or cocaine or oxycodone or methadone or of a first offense for distribution, dispensing, or
possession with intent to produce, manufacture, distribute, or dispense amphetamine or
methamphetamine or cocaine or oxycodone or methadone, in violation of R.S. 40:967(B)(1)
or R.S. 40:967(B)(4)(b) when the amount of amphetamine or methamphetamine or co-
caine or oxycodone or methadone involved was twenty-eight grams or less, may be eli-
gible to participate in the intensive incarceration program. Notwithstanding the provisions
of R.S. 40:967(B)(4)(b), a person otherwise eligible for participation in the intensive in-
carceration program may be eligible for intensive parole supervision upon successful comple-
tion of intensive incarceration. The intensive incarceration and intensive parole supervi-
sion program shall be established and administered by the department. The offender may
be considered for participation in the program if all of the following conditions are met:

(1) The offender is sentenced to be committed to the Department of Public Safety and Cor-
rections to serve ten years or less.

(2) The department, through the division of probation and parole within the office of
adult services, recommends to the sentencing court that the offender is particularly likely
to respond affirmatively to participation in the program.

(3) The court at sentencing recommends that the offender be considered for participation
in the program.

(4) The secretary of the department, or his designee, finds, after an evaluation, that the of-
fender is particularly likely to respond affirmatively to participation in the program.

(5) The offender voluntarily enrolls in the program after having been advised by the depart-
ment of the rules and regulations governing participation in the program.

(6) The court sentences an offender in the drug division probation program pursuant to
R.S. 13:5304.

B. Notwithstanding the provisions of R.S. 15:574.4(A)(1), an offender who is otherwise eli-
gible for intensive incarceration and intensive parole supervision, but who has not been rec-
ommended for participation in the intensive incarceration and intensive parole supervi-
sion program by the division of probation and parole or the sentencing judge, as provided
for in Paragraphs (A)(2) and (3) of this Section, may additionally be placed in the inten-
sive incarceration and intensive parole supervision program if all of the following condi-
tions are met:
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(1) The staff at the adult reception and diagnostic center, after a thorough evaluation, deter-
mines that the offender is suitable and appropriate for participation.

(2) The warden at the adult reception and diagnostic center concurs with the staff recom-
mendation.

(3) The warden of the facility where the offender would be placed concurs with the recom-
mendation of the staff and warden of the adult reception and diagnostic center.

(4) The offender meets other conditions of participation as set forth in Paragraphs (A)(1),
(4), and (5) of this Section.

(1) Notwithstanding the provisions of R.S. 15:574.4(A)(1), a person, otherwise eligible
for parole, convicted of a first felony offense and committed to the Department of Pub-
lic Safety and Corrections, or of a second felony offense and committed to the Depart-
ment of Public Safety and Corrections, may be eligible for intensive parole supervi-
sion upon successful completion of intensive incarceration. The intensive incarceration
and intensive parole supervision program shall be established and administered by the de-
partment.

(2) The court may sentence an offender directly to the program if the court commits the of-
fender to the Department of Public Safety and Corrections to serve ten years or
less.

For purposes of this Section, a “first offender” shall not have been convicted previously
of another felony as provided in R.S. 15:572(C) and shall not have been granted an auto-
matic pardon as provided in R.S. 15:572(B).

. The duration of intensive incarceration shall not be less than one hundred eighty calendar
days.

The participating offender shall be evaluated by the program staff on a continual basis
throughout the entire period of intensive incarceration. The evaluation shall include the of-
fender’s performance while incarcerated, the likelihood of successful adjustment on pa-
role, and other factors deemed relevant by the Board of Parole or the program staff. The
evaluation shall provide the basis for the recommendations by the department to the Board
of Parole upon the offender’s completion of intensive incarceration. Violation of any insti-
tutional or program rules or regulations may subject the participant to removal from the pro-
gram by the department.

(1) If an offender is denied entry into the intensive incarceration program for physical or
mental health reasons or for failure to meet the department’s suitability criteria, the de-
partment shall notify the sentencing court, and based upon the court’s order, shall ei-
ther return the offender to court for resentencing in accordance with the provisions of the
Code of Criminal Procedure Article 881.1 or return the offender to a prison to serve
the remainder of his sentence as provided by law.

(2) If an offender enters the intensive incarceration program and is subsequently removed
for physical or mental health reasons or for failure to meet the department’s suitability
criteria, the department shall notify the sentencing court and, based upon the court’s or-
der, shall either return the offender to court for resentencing in accordance with the pro-
visions of Code of Criminal Procedure Article 881.1 or return the offender to a
prison to serve the remainder of his sentence as provided by law. If an offender enters
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the intensive incarceration program and is removed for violating any institutional or pro-
gram rules or regulations, the offender shall be assigned to the general population to
serve the remainder of his sentence as provided by law.

H. When an offender completes intensive incarceration, the Board of Parole shall review the
case of the offender and recommend either that the offender be released on intensive pa-
role supervision or that the offender serve the remainder of his sentence as provided by law.
When the offender is released to intensive parole supervision by the board, the board
shall require the offender to comply with the following conditions of intensive parole super-
vision in addition to any other conditions of parole ordered by the board:

(1) Be subject to multiple monthly visits with his supervising officers without prior no-
tice.

(2) Abide by any curfew set by his supervising officers.

(3) Perform at least one hundred hours of unpaid community service work during the pe-
riod of intensive parole supervision and, if unemployed, perform additional hours as in-
structed by his supervising officers.

(4) Refrain from using or possessing any controlled dangerous substance or alcoholic bev-
erage and submit, at his own expense, to screening, evaluation, and treatment for con-
trolled dangerous substance or alcohol abuse as directed by his supervising offi-
cers.

(5) Pay any costs as ordered by the sentencing court or Board of Parole.

I. In cases in which the Board of Parole determines that there is victim opposition to parole,
that the offender has a questionable disciplinary record, or that other extraordinary circum-
stances exist, the board may conduct a hearing to consider intensive parole supervision
for the offender having successfully completed intensive incarceration, which shall be pub-
lic and conducted in the same manner as parole hearings as otherwise provided in this
Part. Otherwise the decision shall be made upon the approval or disapproval of a majority
of the members of the board without necessity of a hearing, after a review of all avail-
able information on the offender, including the pre-parole report prepared by the depart-
ment.

J. In cases in which the court sentences a defendant in the drug division probation program
for a technical violation of probation, the offender shall return to active supervised proba-
tion with the drug division probation program for a period as ordered by the court, sub-
ject to any additional conditions imposed by the court.

K. Notwithstanding the provisions of R.S. 15:574.4(A)(1), a person otherwise eligible for pa-
role who is convicted of a nonviolent first felony offense may be committed to the Depart-
ment of Public Safety and Corrections pursuant to the provisions of Code of Criminal Pro-
cedure Article 895(B)(3) to serve a sentence of not more than six months without
diminution of sentence in the intensive incarceration program pursuant to the provisions of
this Section.

| History |

Acts 2008, No. 266, § 2, eff. Aug. 15, 2008; Acts 2009, No. 168, § 2, eff. Aug. 15, 2009; Acts
2009, No. 182, § 2, eff. Aug. 15, 2009; Redesignated from R.S. 15:574.4.1 by Acts 2010, No. 241,
§ 2, eff. Aug. 15, 2010.
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| § 15:574.6. Parole term; automatic discharge

The parole term, when the board orders a prisoner released on parole, shall be for the remain-
der of the prisoner’s sentence, without any diminution of sentence for good behavior. When
the parolee has completed his full parole term, he shall be discharged from parole by the De-
partment of Public Safety and Corrections without order by the board, provided that:

(1) No warrant has been issued by the board for the arrest of the parolee.

(2) No detainer has been issued by the parole officer for the detention of the parolee pend-
ing revocation proceedings.

(3) No indictment or bill of information is pending for any felony the parolee is suspected
to have committed while on parole.

| History |

Acts 1968, No. 191, § 1; Acts 1991, No. 117, § 1.
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§ 15:574.7. Custody and supervision of parolees; modification or suspension of supervision; violation of
conditions of parole; sanctions; alternative conditions; administrative sanctions

A. Each parolee shall remain in the legal custody of the Department of Public Safety and
Corrections, corrections services, and shall be subject to the orders and supervision of
the board. At the direction of the board, the chief probation and parole officer shall be re-
sponsible for the investigation and supervision of all parolees. The board may modify or
suspend such supervision upon a determination that a parolee who had conducted himself in
accordance with the conditions of his parole no longer needs the guidance and supervi-
sion originally imposed.

B. (1) At the time a defendant is released on parole, the Board of Parole may make a determi-
nation as to whether a defendant is eligible for the imposition of administrative sanctions
as provided for in this Section. If authorized to do so by the board, each time a parolee vio-
lates a condition of parole, a parole officer may use administrative sanctions to address a
technical violation committed by a parolee when all of the following occur:

(a) The parolee, after receiving written notification of his right to a hearing before a court
and right to counsel, provides a written waiver of a parole violation hearing.

(b) The parolee admits to the violation or affirmatively chooses not to contest the viola-
tion alleged in the parole violation report.

(c) The parolee consents to the imposition of administrative sanctions by the Department
of Public Safety and Corrections.

(2) The department shall promulgate rules to implement the provisions of this Subsec-
tion to establish the following:

(a) A system of structured, administrative sanctions which shall be imposed for tech-
nical violations of parole and which shall take into consideration the follow-
ing factors:

(i) The severity of the violation behavior.

(ii) The prior violation history.

(iii) The severity of the underlying criminal conviction.

(iv) The criminal history of the parolee.

(v) Any special circumstances, characteristics, or resources of the parolee.
(vi) Protection of the community.

(vii) Deterrence.

(viii) The availability of appropriate local sanctions, including but not limited
to jail, treatment, community service work, house arrest, electronic surveil-
lance, restitution centers, work release centers, day reporting centers, or
other local sanctions.
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Procedures to provide a parolee with written notice of the right to a parole vio-
lation hearing to determine whether the parolee violated the conditions of pa-
role alleged in the violation report and the right to be represented by counsel at
state expense at that hearing if financially eligible.

Procedures for a parolee to provide written waiver of the right to a parole vio-
lation hearing, to admit to the violation or affirmatively choose not to contest
the violation alleged in the parole violation report, and to consent to the impo-
sition of administrative sanctions by the department.

The level and type of sanctions that may be imposed by parole officers and
other supervisory personnel.

The level and type of violation behavior that warrants a recommendation to
the board that parole be revoked.

Procedures notifying the parolee and the Board of Parole of a violation admit-
ted by the parolee and the administrative sanctions imposed.

Such other policies and procedures as are necessary to implement the provi-
sions of this Subsection and to provide adequate parole supervision.

(3) If the administrative sanction imposed pursuant to the provisions of this Subsec-
tion is jail confinement, the confinement shall not exceed ten days per violation
and shall not exceed a total of sixty days per year.

(4) For purposes of this Subsection, “technical violation” means any violation of a con-
dition of parole as defined in R.S. 15:574.9(G)(2).

(1) If the chief probation and parole officer, upon recommendation by a parole officer, has
reasonable cause to believe that a parolee has violated the conditions of parole, he shall no-
tify the board, and shall cause the appropriate parole officer to submit the parolee’s re-
cord to the board. After consideration of the record submitted, and after such further inves-
tigation as it may deem necessary, the board may order:

(a) The issuance of a reprimand and warning to the parolee.

(b) That the parolee be required to conform to one or more additional conditions of pa-
role which may be imposed in accordance with R.S. 15:574.4.

(c) That the parolee be arrested, and upon arrest be given a prerevocation hearing within
a reasonable time, at or reasonably near the place of the alleged parole violation or ar-
rest, to determine whether there is probable cause to detain the parolee pending or-
ders of the parole board.

(2) Upon receiving a summary of the prerevocation proceeding, the board may order
the following:

(a)

(b)

The parolee’s return to the physical custody of the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, corrections services, to await a hearing to determine
whether his parole should be revoked.

As an alternative to revocation, that the parolee, as a condition of parole, be com-
mitted to a community rehabilitation center or a substance abuse treatment pro-
gram operated by, or under contract with, the department, for a period of

time not to exceed six months, without benefit of good time, provided that
such commitment does not extend the period of parole beyond the full parole
term. Upon written request of the department that the offender be removed for
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violations of the rules or regulations of the community rehabilitation center or
substance abuse program, the board shall order that the parole be revoked,
with credit for time served in the community rehabilitation center.

| History

Added by Acts 1968, No. 191, § 1; Amended by Acts 1974, No. 120, § 1; Acts 1988, No. 380, §
1; Acts 1992, No. 301, § 1; Acts 2010, No. 861, § 7, eff. Aug. 15, 2010; Acts 2011, No. 104, §
1, eff. Aug. 15, 2011.

LOUISIANA STATUTES ANNOTATED

Copyright © 2013 by Matthew Bender & Company, Inc., a member of the LexisNexis Group. All rights reserved.



La. R.S. 15:574.8

This document is current through the 2012 Regular Session. Annotations are current through
May 16, 2013.

Louisiana Statutes, Annotated by LexisNexis(TM) > LOUISIANA REVISED STATUTES
> TITLE 15. > CHAPTER 5. > PART 2. > (1) COMMITTEE ON PAROLE AND
RULES OF PAROLE

| § 15:574.8. Parole officers; powers of arrest; summary arrest and detention of parolees

A. Parole officers shall be deemed to be peace officers and shall have the same powers with
respect to criminal matters and the enforcement of the law relating thereto as sheriffs, con-
stables, and police officers have in their respective jurisdictions. They have all the immu-
nities and matters of defense now available or hereafter made available to sheriffs, con-
stables, and police officers in any suit brought against them in consequence of acts done
in the course of their employment.

B. If a parole officer has reasonable cause to believe that a parolee has violated or is attempt-
ing to violate a condition of his parole and that an emergency exists, so that awaiting ac-
tion by the board under R.S. 15:574.7 would create an undue risk to the public or to the pa-
rolee, such parole officer may arrest the parolee without a warrant or may authorize any
peace officer to do so. The authorization may be in writing or oral, but if not written, shall
be subsequently confirmed by a written statement. The written authorization or subse-
quent confirmation shall set forth that, in the judgment of the parole officer, the person to
be arrested has violated or was attempting to violate a condition of his parole. The pa-
rolee arrested hereunder, if detained, shall be held in a local jail, state prison, or other de-
tention facility, pending action by the board. Immediately after such arrest and deten-
tion, the parole officer concerned shall notify the chief probation and parole officer and
submit a written report of the reason for the arrest. After consideration of the written re-
port, the chief probation and parole officer shall, with all practicable speed, make a prelimi-
nary determination, and shall either order the parolee’s release from detention or proceed
promptly in accordance with R.S. 15:574.7.

| History |

Added by Acts 1952, No. 162, § 7; Amended by Acts 1956, No. 66, § 1; Acts 1968, No. 191, §
1; Acts 2001, No. 608, § 1, eff. Aug. 15, 2001; Acts 2010, No. 924, § 2, eff. July 2, 2010.
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§ 15:574.9. Revocation of parole for violation of condition; board panels; return to custody hearing;
duration of reimprisonment and reparole after revocation; credit for time served; revocation for a technical
violation

A. When a parolee has been returned to the physical custody of the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, office of corrections services, the board shall hold a hearing to de-
termine whether his parole should be revoked, unless said hearing is expressly waived
in writing by the parolee. A waiver shall constitute an admission of the findings of the pre-
revocation proceeding and result in immediate revocation. If the revocation hearing is
not waived, the parolee shall be permitted to consult with and be advised and represented
by his own legal counsel or legal counsel appointed under the provisions of R.S. 15:179.
At the hearing the parolee may admit, deny, or explain the violation charged, and he may pres-
ent proof, including affidavits and other evidence, in support of his contentions. Upon re-
quest of the parolee, the parole board may postpone the rendering of its decision for a speci-
fied reasonable time pending receipt of further information necessary to a final
determination.

B. The board may order revocation of parole upon a determination that:

(1) The parolee has failed, without a satisfactory excuse, to comply with a condition of
his parole; and

(2) The violation of condition involves the commission of another felony, or misconduct in-
cluding a substantial risk that the parolee will commit another felony, or misconduct in-
dicating that the parolee is unwilling to comply with proper conditions of parole.

C. Other than for conviction of a felony committed while on parole, action revoking a parol-
ee’s parole and recommitting him for violation of the condition of parole must be initiated be-
fore the expiration of his parole term. When a warrant for arrest is issued by the Board
of Parole or a detainer is issued by the parole officer, the running of the period of parole
shall cease as of the time the warrant or detainer is issued. A parolee under supervision in this
state or another state, who has absented himself from the supervising jurisdiction, or
from his place of residence, without proof of permission for such absence, shall be deemed
a fugitive from justice and shall be returned to the physical custody of the Department of
Public Safety and Corrections for a revocation hearing by the Board of Parole, without ne-
cessity of a prerevocation or probable cause hearing, at or near the place of the arrest or vio-
lation. No credit shall be applied toward completing the full parole term for the period
of time the parolee was a fugitive from justice.

D. Parole revocation shall require two votes of a three-member panel of parole board mem-
bers or, if the number of members present exceeds a three-member panel, a majority vote
of those members present and voting, and the order of revocation shall be reduced to writ-
ing and preserved.

E. When the parole of a parolee has been revoked by the board for violation of the condi-
tions of parole, the parolee shall be returned to the physical custody of the Department of
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Public Safety and Corrections, corrections services, and serve the remainder of his sen-
tence as of the date of his release on parole, and any credit for time served for good behav-
ior while on parole. The parolee shall be given credit for time served prior to the revoca-
tion hearing for time served in actual custody while being held for a parole violation in a local
detention facility, state institution, or out-of-state institution pursuant to Code of Criminal
Procedure Article 880.

F. Any such prisoner whose parole has been revoked may be considered by the board for repa-
role in accordance with the provisions of this Part.

G. (1) (a) Except as provided in Subparagraph (b) of this Paragraph, any offender who has
been released on parole and whose parole supervision is being revoked under the provi-
sions of this Subsection for his first technical violation of the conditions of parole as deter-
mined by the Board of Parole, shall be required to serve not more than ninety days with-
out diminution of sentence or credit for time served prior to the revocation for a technical
violation. The term of the revocation for the technical violation shall begin on the date
the Board of Parole orders the revocation. Upon completion of the imposed technical revo-
cation sentence, the offender shall return to active parole supervision for the remainder
of the original term of supervision. The provisions of this Subsection shall apply only to
an offender’s first revocation for a technical violation.

(b) The provisions of Subparagraph (a) of this Paragraph shall not apply to the following of-
fenders:

(i) Any offender released on parole for the conviction of a crime of violence as de-

fined in R.S. 14:2(B).

(ii) Any offender released on parole for the conviction of a sex offense as defined in
R.S. 15:541.

(iii) Any offender released on parole who is subject to the sex offender registration
and notification requirements of R.S. 15:541 et seq.

(2) A "technical violation”, as used in this Subsection, means any violation except
it shall not include any of the following:

(a) Being arrested, charged, or convicted of any of the following:
(i) A felony.
(i) Repealed by Acts 2010, No. 510, § 1, effective Aug