
THEFT STATUTES – OTHER SOUTHERN STATES 
 
 

ALABAMA 
 
 Alabama divides theft statutes into (1)theft of property, (2)theft of lost property, (3)theft of 
services/trade secrets, and (4)theft by charitable fraud. Each of these are sub-divided into first, second, 
and third degree classifications. Each degree is distinguished by values: less than $500, $500 – $2500, 
and more than $2500. 
 Alabama classifies any theft of trade secrets as Class C Felonies. 
 Alabama statutes single out specific items such as livestock, credit/debit cards, and firearms as 
automatic second degree offenses, regardless of their value. 
 
(1) Code of Ala. 13A-8-3 to 13A-8-5 
(2) Code of Ala. 13A-8-7 to 13A-8-9 
(3) Code of Ala. 13A-8-10.1 to 13A-8-10.4 
(4) Code of Ala. 13A-9-73 to 13A-9-75 
 
 
ARKANSAS 
 
 Arkansas theft statutes are divided into Class B, C, D Felonies, and Class 1 Misdemeanor, 
depending on the value of the theft. 
 Class B Felony dollar threshold is $25,000 in all cases except wireless service by manufacturer, 
distribution, or possession of devices for theft of wireless services ($2500). 
 Class C Felony falls between $5000 and $25,000. 
 Class D Felony falls between $1000 and $5000. 
 Misdemeanor is valued at anything less than $1000. 
(1) A.C.A 5-36-103 to  A.C.A 5-36-107 inclds. theft of property, services, lost property, by 
receiving, of trade secret. 
(2) A.C.A 5-36-108 is Unauthorized use of vehicle 
(3) A.C.A 5-36-120 is theft of motor fuel 
(4) A.C.A 5-36-121 is theft of recyclable materials 
(5) A.C.A 5-36-123 is theft of scrap metal 
(6) A.C.A 5-36-124 is theft by receiving of scrap metal 
(7) A.C.A 5-36-202 is theft of public benefits 
(8) A.C.A 5-36-303 is theft of wireless service 
(9) A.C.A 5-36-30 is facilitating wireless theft 

(10) A.C.A 5-36-304 is 
 
FLORIDA 
  
 Florida's theft laws spring from four primary categorical objectives of preservation: (1) senior – 
65 and over – citizens; (2) the vendor or producer; (3) the self-sustaining mechanism that is public 
transport; and (4) the properties, services, or materials otherwise designated for the efficient and 
 
(1) Fla. Stat. 812.0145 – Represents a demonstrative interest in the elders of the community and 



singling them out as being particularly worth protecting 
(2) Fla. Stat. 812.015 – Mentions the Farmer, Retailer, Merchant, and protecting their merchandise. 
The law acts affirmatively in its protection of goods and invested members in the state that produce 
and/or bring money to it. Not only protecting Merchants etc, but lending authority to them when no 
officer is present and there is probable cause to believe a theft of property is transpiring. 
(3) Fla. Stat. 812.015 
(4) Fla. Stat. 812.145 
 
 
GEORGIA 
 
 Majority of thefts are considered misdemeanors until a threshold value of $25,000.  
Theft of trade secrets, shoplifting, extortion, and livestock are less than $500 and can 
carry immediate time in prison. 

1) O.C.G.A. § 16-8-2 
2) O.C.G.A. § 16-8-3 
3) O.C.G.A. § 16-8-4 
4) O.C.G.A. § 16-8-5 
5) O.C.G.A. § 16-8-6 
6) O.C.G.A. § 16-8-7 
7) O.C.G.A. § 16-8-8 
8) O.C.G.A. § 16-8-9 
9) O.C.G.A. § 16-8-13 
10) O.C.G.A. § 16-8-14 
11) O.C.G.A. § 16-8-16 
12) O.C.G.A. § 16-8-20 
 
 

KANSAS 
 
 Kansas distinguishes between personal and non-personal theft. Personal theft is subdivided with 
respect to achievement through either deception or threat. Non-personal theft is categorized by 
monetary value of the thing stolen. 
 
1) K.S.A. § 21-5801 
2) K.S.A. § 21-5802 
3) K.S.A. § 21-5805 
4) K.S.A. § 21-6107 
 
 
KENTUCKY 
 
 Kentucky separates thefts of property and services in various ways but consistently triggers the 
consequences depending on the value of the theft. Monetary presentation of value provides level of 
divisions across the board – do not particularly associate “like crimes” only the severity of deprivation 
in terms of money. 



 
Class C Felony if  > $10,000 
Class D Felony if $500 – $10,000 
Class A Misdemeanor if < $500 
 
Identity theft is Class D Felony and results in forfeit claim to identity information, property, or other 
realized benefit. 
1) KRS 433.865 
2) KRS 514.030 
3) KRS 514.040 
4) KRS 514.050 
5) KRS 514.060 
6) KRS 514.065 
7) KRS 514.070 
8) KRS 514.080 
9) KRS 514.090 
10) KRS 514.140 
11) KRS 514.160 
MISSISSIPPI 
 
 The statutes generally address animals or “live property” and in that vein suggest the offense is 
against the time and care the owner has spent personally preserving that animal or thing (Vehicles are 
associated with animals).  (1)Theft of dog, (2)livestock, (3)milk, (4)timber, (5)animals and vehicles 
generally.  The next division addresses (6)larceny – theft of rental property – and (7)theft from tenant in 
common. Mississippi also addresses (8)shoplifting; use of theft detection device remover. Last, (9)theft 
of telephone or other communication services. 
(1) Miss. Code Ann. 97-17-51 
(2) Miss. Code Ann. 97-17-53 
(3) Miss. Code Ann. 97-17-55 
(4) Miss. Code Ann. 97-17-59 
(5) Miss. Code Ann. 97-17-61 
(6) Miss. Code Ann. 97-17-62 
(7) Miss. Code Ann. 97-17-63 
(8) Miss. Code Ann. 97-23-93.1 
(9) Miss. Code Ann. 97-25-54 
 
 
 
MISSOURI 
 
 Missouri has only three statutes – (1)library theft; (2)identity theft; (3)theft of cable television 
service. The public, the private, and the economical/industrial sphere. Theft of industry is penalized the 
harshest, theft of identity next, and public the least. 
(1) R.S. Mo. St. 570.210 
(2) R.S. Mo. St. 570.223 
(3) R.S. Mo. St. 570.300 
 



 
 
 
NORTH CAROLINA 
 
 Breaks down theft into (1)retail, (2)financial transaction, and (3)identity. Also mentions (4) theft 
of cable, and (5) theft or destruction of property of public libraries, museums. 
(1) N.C. Gen. Stat 14-86.6 
(2) N.C. Gen. Stat 14-113.9 
(3) N.C. Gen. Stat 14-113.20 
(4) N.C. Gen. Stat 14-118.5 
(5) N.C. Gen. Stat 14-398 
 
OKLAHOMA 
 
 Three statutes: (1) Identity theft, (2) theft of domestic animals or implements of husbandry, (3) 
Library theft. 
(1) Okl. St. 1533.1 
(2) Okl. St. 1716 
(3) Okl. St. 1739 
 
 
 
SOUTH CAROLINA 
 
 Stipulates going through something with the intent to steal it, such as: (1) a bank, or (2) 
rummaging through household garbage.  Also concerned with (3) timber theft, (4) theft of electric 
current, and (5) a financial transaction by card or number theft. 
(1) S.C. Code Ann. 16-11-380 
(2) S.C. Code Ann. 16-11-725 
(3) S.C. Code Ann. 16-13-177 
(4) S.C. Code Ann. 16-13-380 
(5) S.C. Code Ann. 16-14-20 
 
 
 
TENNESEE 
 
 Nearly all thefts fall under statute 39-14-105 penalties. All thefts punished by 
monetary distinction. 
(1) Tenn. Code Ann. 39-14-103 


